Skip to content

Lerapolturev in Recurrent Malignant Glioma

A Multicenter Phase 2 Study of Oncolytic Polio/Rhinovirus Recombinant (Lerapolturev) in Recurrent WHO Grade IV Malignant Glioma Patients

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02986178
Enrollment
121
Registered
2016-12-08
Start date
2017-06-01
Completion date
2023-02-03
Last updated
2025-07-11

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Malignant Glioma

Keywords

Glioblastoma, Glioma, PVSRIPO, Duke, Pro00077024, Brain tumor, Istari, Recurrent, GBM, rGBM

Brief summary

This is a phase 2 study of lerapolturev, an oncolytic polio/rhinovirus recombinant, in adult patients with recurrent World Health Organization (WHO) grade IV malignant glioma.

Detailed description

This is a Phase 2 study of lerapolturev, an oncolytic polio/rhinovirus recombinant, in adult patients with recurrent World Health Organization (WHO) grade IV malignant glioma. The objective of this study is to investigate the safety and efficacy (anti-tumor response and survival) of lerapolturev in recurrent WHO grade IV malignant glioma. Patients will be administered lerapolturev intratumorally via convection-enhanced delivery (CED) using an intracerebral catheter placed within the enhancing portion of the tumor. Retreatment with lerapolturev is allowed, provided retreatment eligibility criteria are met.

Interventions

BIOLOGICALlerapolturev

A single dose of lerapolturev, an oncolytic polio/rhinovirus recombinant

DRUGLomustine

one cycle of oral lomustine

Sponsors

Duke University
CollaboratorOTHER
Istari Oncology, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Intervention model description

Study began as parallel (randomized two arm study) and was revised to single group.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

SUMMARY: 1. Patients must have a recurrent (first or second recurrence only, including this recurrence; transformation from a lower grade tumor to a WHO grade IV malignant glioma will be considered a first recurrence) supratentorial WHO grade IV malignant glioma based on imaging studies with measurable disease (a minimum measurement of 1 cm and maximum of 5.5 cm of contrast-enhancing tumor) with prior histopathology consistent with a WHO grade IV malignant glioma confirmed by the site's neuropathologist or the neuropathologist's designate. 2. Male patients who are sexually active are eligible if he and/or his partner(s) meets the criteria outlined in the protocol. Female subjects are eligible if he and/or his partner(s) meets the criteria outlined in the protocol. 3. Age ≥ 18 years of age. 4. Karnofsky Performance Status (KPS) Score ≥ 70%. 5. Prothrombin and Partial Thromboplastin Times ≤ 1.2 x normal prior to biopsy. 6. Total bilirubin, serum glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase (SGOT), serum glutamic pyruvic transaminase (SGPT), alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2.5 x normal prior to biopsy. 7. Neutrophil count ≥ 1000 prior to biopsy. 8. Hemoglobin ≥ 9 prior to biopsy. 9. Platelet count ≥ 100,000/μL unsupported is necessary for eligibility on study; however, because of risks of intracranial hemorrhage with catheter placement, platelet count ≥ 125,000/μL is required for the patient to undergo biopsy and catheter insertion, which can be attained with the help of platelet transfusion. 10. Creatinine ≤ 1.2 x normal range prior to biopsy. 11. Positive serum anti-PV titer prior to biopsy. 12. The patient must have received a boost immunization with trivalent inactivated IPOL™ (Sanofi-Pasteur) at least 1 week, but less than 6 weeks, prior to administration of the study agent. 13. At the time of biopsy, prior to administration of virus, the presence of recurrent tumor must be confirmed by histopathological analysis. 14. A signed IRB-approve informed consent form (ICF). 15. Able to undergo brain MRI with and without contrast.

Exclusion criteria

SUMMARY: 1. Females who are pregnant or breast-feeding. 2. Patients with an impending, life-threatening cerebral herniation syndrome, based on the assessment of the study neurosurgeons, their designate, and the reviewer designated by the sponsor. 3. Patients with severe, active co-morbidity, defined as in the protocol. 4. Patients with a previous history of neurological complications due to PV infection. 5. Patients who have not recovered from the toxic effects of prior chemo- and/or radiation therapy. Guidelines for this recovery period are dependent upon the specific therapeutic agent being used. 6. Patients may not have received tumor treating fields (≤ 1 week), chemotherapy or bevacizumab ≤ 4 weeks \[except for nitrosourea and lomustine (≤ 6 weeks); metronomic dosed chemotherapy, such as daily temozolomide, etoposide or cyclophosphamide (≤ 1 week)\] prior to starting the study drug. 7. Patients may not have received immunotherapy ≤ 4 weeks prior to starting the study drug unless patients have recovered from side effects of such therapy. 8. Patients may not be less than 12 weeks from radiation therapy of the brain, unless progressive disease outside of the radiation field or 2 progressive scans at least 4 weeks apart or histopathologic confirmation. 9. Prior to enrollment, has not completed all standard of care treatments, including surgical procedure and radiation therapy (at least 59Gy) as outlined in the protocol. 10. Patients with neoplastic lesions in the brainstem, cerebellum, or spinal cord; radiological evidence of multiple areas of active (growing) disease (active multifocal disease); tumors with contrast-enhancing tumor component crossing the midline (crossing the corpus callosum); extensive subependymal disease (tumor touching subependymal space is allowed); or extensive leptomeningeal disease (tumor touching leptomeninges is allowed). 11. Patients with undetectable anti-tetanus toxoid immunoglobulin G (IgG). 12. Patients with known history of agammaglobulinemia. 13. Patients on greater than 4 mg per day of dexamethasone within the 2 weeks prior to admission for lerapolturev infusion. 14. Patients with worsening steroid myopathy (history of gradual progression of bilateral proximal muscle weakness, and atrophy of proximal muscle groups). 15. Patients with prior, unrelated malignancy requiring current active treatment with the exception of cervical carcinoma in situ and adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin. 16. For patients randomized prior to V7, a known history of hypersensitivity to lomustine, dacarbazine, or any components of lomustine. 17. Patients with active autoimmune disease requiring systemic immunomodulatory treatment within the past 3 months.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Objective Radiographic Responseup to 5 yearsAssess objective anti-tumor response based on iRANO criteria.
Duration of Objective Radiographic Responseup to 5 yearsAssess time of confirmed response to confirmed disease progression or death

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Median Overall Survivalup to 5 yearsOverall Survival (months), calculated using the Kaplan-Meier method
Landmark Survivalat 24 and 36 months post-lerapolturev infusionOverall survival (months) at 24 and 36 months, calculated using the Kaplan-Meier method
Disease Control Rateup to 5 yearsthe percentage of participants achieving complete response, partial response, or stable disease
Safety of Lerapolturevup to 52 weeksNumber of participants experiencing Grade 3, 4 or 5 adverse events considered possibly, probably, or definitely related to protocol treatment

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

The lerapolturev + lomustine arm was closed after interim review. Recruitment to the lerapolturev alone arm remained open.

Pre-assignment details

Safety set includes all enrolled participants who had an infusion catheter placed. Full-analysis set includes all randomized participants who received lerapolturev treatment.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Lerapolturev
lerapolturev administered once intratumorally by convection-enhanced delivery
93
Lerapolturev + Lomustine
lerapolturev administered once intratumorally by convection-enhanced delivery plus one dose of lomustine at 8 weeks post-lerapolturev dosing
27
Total120

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicLerapolturevLerapolturev + LomustineTotal
Age, Continuous56 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.4
50 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.6
54 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.8
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
87 Participants27 Participants114 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Karnofsky Performance Status
100
7 Participants2 Participants9 Participants
Karnofsky Performance Status
70
5 Participants0 Participants5 Participants
Karnofsky Performance Status
80
21 Participants8 Participants29 Participants
Karnofsky Performance Status
90
60 Participants17 Participants77 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
4 Participants1 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
5 Participants0 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
83 Participants26 Participants109 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
93 participants27 participants120 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
28 Participants11 Participants39 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
65 Participants16 Participants81 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
8 / 944 / 2612 / 121
other
Total, other adverse events
94 / 9426 / 26121 / 121
serious
Total, serious adverse events
37 / 9412 / 2650 / 121

Outcome results

Primary

Duration of Objective Radiographic Response

Assess time of confirmed response to confirmed disease progression or death

Time frame: up to 5 years

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
LerapolturevDuration of Objective Radiographic ResponseNA months
Lerapolturev + LomustineDuration of Objective Radiographic ResponseNA months
Primary

Number of Participants With Objective Radiographic Response

Assess objective anti-tumor response based on iRANO criteria.

Time frame: up to 5 years

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
LerapolturevNumber of Participants With Objective Radiographic Response5 Participants
Lerapolturev + LomustineNumber of Participants With Objective Radiographic Response2 Participants
Secondary

Disease Control Rate

the percentage of participants achieving complete response, partial response, or stable disease

Time frame: up to 5 years

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
LerapolturevDisease Control Rate51 percentage of participants
Lerapolturev + LomustineDisease Control Rate48 percentage of participants
Secondary

Landmark Survival

Overall survival (months) at 24 and 36 months, calculated using the Kaplan-Meier method

Time frame: at 24 and 36 months post-lerapolturev infusion

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
LerapolturevLandmark SurvivalProbability of being alive at 24 months0.12 proportion probability
LerapolturevLandmark SurvivalProbability of being alive at 36 months0.07 proportion probability
Lerapolturev + LomustineLandmark SurvivalProbability of being alive at 24 months0.19 proportion probability
Lerapolturev + LomustineLandmark SurvivalProbability of being alive at 36 months0.11 proportion probability
Secondary

Median Overall Survival

Overall Survival (months), calculated using the Kaplan-Meier method

Time frame: up to 5 years

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
LerapolturevMedian Overall Survival7.0 months
Lerapolturev + LomustineMedian Overall Survival7.1 months
Secondary

Safety of Lerapolturev

Number of participants experiencing Grade 3, 4 or 5 adverse events considered possibly, probably, or definitely related to protocol treatment

Time frame: up to 52 weeks

Population: The safety set includes all participants who had an infusion catheter placed.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
LerapolturevSafety of Lerapolturev17 Participants
Lerapolturev + LomustineSafety of Lerapolturev8 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 10, 2026