Skip to content

A Study of Acalabrutinib vs Investigator's Choice of Idelalisib Plus Rituximab or Bendamustine Plus Rituximab in R/R CLL

A Randomized, Multicenter, Open-Label, Phase 3 Study of Acalabrutinib (ACP-196) Versus Investigator's Choice of Either Idelalisib Plus Rituximab or Bendamustine Plus Rituximab in Subjects With R/R Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02970318
Enrollment
310
Registered
2016-11-22
Start date
2017-02-02
Completion date
2027-10-01
Last updated
2026-07-24

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia

Keywords

CLL, BTK, Bruton Tyrosine Kinase, acalabrutinib, ACP-196

Brief summary

This study is designed to evaluate the efficacy of acalabrutinib compared with rituximab in combination with idelalisib or bendamustine in previously treated subjects with chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL).

Interventions

Acalabrutinib monotherapy

DRUGRituximab

Rituximab in combination with idelalisib or bendamustine

DRUGIdelalisib

Idelalisib in combination with rituximab

DRUGBendamustine

Bendamustine in combination with rituximab

Sponsors

Acerta Pharma BV
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
SINGLE (Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Men and women ≥ 18 years of age. 2. ECOG performance status of 0 to 2. 3. Diagnosis of CLL that meets published diagnostic criteria (Hallek 2008): 1. Monoclonal B-cells (either kappa or lambda light chain restricted) that are clonally co-expressing ≥ 1 B-cell marker (CD19, CD20, or CD23) and CD5. 2. Prolymphocytes may comprise ≤ 55% of blood lymphocytes. 3. Presence of ≥ 5 x 10\^9 B lymphocytes/L (5000/μL) in the peripheral blood (at any point since initial diagnosis). 4. Must have documented CD20-positive CLL. 5. Active disease meeting ≥ 1 of the following IWCLL 2008 criteria for requiring treatment: 1. Evidence of progressive marrow failure as manifested by the development of, or worsening of, anemia (hemoglobin \< 10 g/dL) and/or thrombocytopenia (platelets \< 100,000/μL). 2. Massive (i.e., ≥ 6 cm below the left costal margin), progressive, or symptomatic splenomegaly. 3. Massive nodes (i.e., ≥ 10 cm in the longest diameter), progressive, or symptomatic lymphadenopathy. 4. Progressive lymphocytosis with an increase of \> 50% over a 2-month period or a LDT of \< 6 months. LDT may be obtained by linear regression extrapolation of ALC obtained at intervals of 2 weeks over an observation period of 2 to 3 months. In subjects with initial blood lymphocyte counts of \< 30 x 10\^9/L (30,000/μL), LDT should not be used as a single parameter to define indication for treatment. In addition, factors contributing to lymphocytosis or lymphadenopathy other than CLL (e.g., infections) should be excluded. 5. Autoimmune anemia and/or thrombocytopenia that is poorly responsive to standard therapy. 6. Constitutional symptoms documented in the subject's chart with supportive objective measures, as appropriate, defined as ≥ 1 of the following disease-related symptoms or signs: i. Unintentional weight loss ≥ 10% within the previous 6 months before screening. ii. Significant fatigue (ECOG performance score 2; inability to work or perform usual activities). iii. Fevers higher than 100.5°F or 38.0°C for ≥ 2 weeks before screening without evidence of infection. iv. Night sweats for \> 1 month before screening without evidence of infection. 6. Meet the following laboratory parameters: 1. ANC ≥ 750 cells/μL (0.75 x 10\^9/L), or ≥ 500 cells/μL (0.50 x 10\^9/L) in subjects with documented bone marrow involvement, and independent of growth factor support 7 days before assessment. 2. Platelet count ≥ 50,000 cells/μL (50 x 10\^9/L), or ≥ 30,000 cells/μL (30 x 10\^9/L) in subjects with documented bone marrow involvement, and without transfusion support 7 days before assessment. Subjects with transfusion-dependent thrombocytopenia are excluded. If an Investigator has chosen bendamustine/rituximab as the Arm B treatment, platelets must be ≥ 75,000 cells/μL (75 x 10\^9/L). 3. Serum AST and ALT ≤ 2.0 x ULN. 4. Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x ULN. 5. Estimated creatinine clearance of ≥ 30 mL/min, calculated using the formula of Cockcroft and Gault \[(140-Age) • Mass (kg)/(72 • creatinine mg/dL); multiply by 0.85 if female\]. 7. Must have received ≥ 1 prior systemic therapies for CLL. Note: Single-agent steroids or localized radiation are not considered a prior line of therapy. If a single-agent anti-CD20 antibody was previously administered, subjects must have received ≥ 2 doses. 8. Women who are sexually active and can bear children must agree to use highly effective forms of contraception while on the study and for 2 days after the last dose of acalabrutinib, 90 days after the last dose of idelalisib, 6 months after the last dose of bendamustine, or 12 months after the last dose of rituximab, whichever is longer. Highly effective forms of contraception are defined in Section 9.2.5. 9. Men who are sexually active and can beget children must agree to use highly effective forms of contraception during the study and for 90 days after the last dose of idelalisib, 6 months after the last dose of bendamustine, or 12 months after the last dose of rituximab, whichever is longer. Highly effective forms of contraception are defined in Section 9.2.5. 10. Men must agree to refrain from sperm donation during the study and for 90 days after the last dose of idelalisib, 6 months after the last dose of bendamustine, or 12 months after the last dose of rituximab, whichever is longer. 11. Willing and able to participate in all required evaluations and procedures in this study protocol, including swallowing capsules without difficulty. 12. Ability to understand the purpose and risks of the study and provide signed and dated informed consent and authorization to use protected health information (in accordance with national and local patient privacy regulations).

Exclusion criteria

1. Known CNS lymphoma or leukemia. 2. Known prolymphocytic leukemia or history of, or currently suspected, Richter's syndrome. 3. Uncontrolled AIHA or ITP defined as declining hemoglobin or platelet count secondary to autoimmune destruction within the screening period or requirement for high doses of steroids (\> 20 mg daily of prednisone or equivalent). 4. Prior exposure to a BCL-2 inhibitor (e.g., venetoclax/ABT-199) or a BCR inhibitor (e.g., BTK inhibitors or PI3K inhibitors). Prior bendamustine is allowed if Investigator's choice for treatment in Arm B is idelalisib with rituximab. Bendamustine retreatment is allowed if the prior response to bendamustine lasted \> 24 months. 5. Received any chemotherapy, external beam radiation therapy, anticancer antibodies, or investigational drug within 30 days before first dose of study drug. 6. Corticosteroid use \> 20 mg daily prednisone equivalent within 1 week before first dose of study drug, except as indicated for other medical conditions such as inhaled steroid for asthma, topical steroid use, or as premedication for administration of study drug or contrast. For example, subjects requiring steroids at daily doses \> 20 mg prednisone equivalent systemic exposure daily, or those who are administered steroids for leukemia control or white blood cell count lowering are excluded. 7. Prior radio- or toxin-conjugated antibody therapy. 8. Prior allogeneic stem cell transplant or prior autologous transplant within 6 months of first dose of study drug(s) or presence of graft-vs-host disease or receiving treatment for graft-vs-host disease. 9. Major surgical procedure within 30 days of first dose of study drug. Note: If a subject had major surgery, they must have recovered adequately from any toxicity and/or complications from the intervention before the first dose of study drug. 10. History of prior malignancy except for the following: 1. Malignancy treated with curative intent and with no evidence of active disease present for more than 2 years before screening and felt to be at low risk for recurrence by treating physician. 2. Adequately treated lentigo maligna melanoma without current evidence of disease or adequately controlled nonmelanomatous skin cancer. 3. Adequately treated carcinoma in situ without current evidence of disease. 11. Significant cardiovascular disease such as uncontrolled or untreated symptomatic arrhythmias, congestive heart failure, or myocardial infarction within 6 months of screening, or any Class 3 or 4 cardiac disease as defined by the New York Heart Association Functional Classification, or QTc \> 480 msec (calculated using Fridericia's formula: QT/RR\^0.33) at screening. Exception: Subjects with controlled, asymptomatic atrial fibrillation during screening are allowed to enroll on study. 12. Malabsorption syndrome, disease significantly affecting gastrointestinal function, or resection of the stomach, or extensive small bowel resection that is likely to affect absorption, symptomatic inflammatory bowel disease, or partial or complete bowel obstruction, or gastric restrictions and bariatric surgery, such as gastric bypass. 13. Received a live virus vaccination within 28 days of first dose of study drug. 14. Known history of infection with HIV or any uncontrolled active systemic infection (e.g., bacterial, viral, or fungal). For study sites in Germany: active infection with human immunodeficiency virus (seropositivity for HIV-1 or HIV-2 antibodies, and if positive, reactivity against the HIV-specific p24 antigen). 15. Active CMV infection (active viremia as evidenced by positive polymerase chain reaction \[PCR\] result for CMV DNA). 16. Serologic status reflecting active hepatitis B or C infection. 1. Subjects who are anti-HBc positive and who are surface antigen negative will need to have a negative PCR result before randomization. Those who are HbsAg-positive or hepatitis B PCR positive will be excluded. 2. Subjects who are hepatitis C antibody positive will need to have a negative PCR result before randomization. Those who are hepatitis C PCR positive will be excluded. 17. Ongoing, drug-induced liver injury, alcoholic liver disease, non-alcoholic steatohepatitis, primary biliary cirrhosis, ongoing extrahepatic obstruction caused by cholelithiasis, cirrhosis of the liver, or portal hypertension. 18. History of or ongoing drug-induced pneumonitis. 19. History of serious allergic reactions including anaphylaxis and toxic epidermal necrolysis. 20. History of stroke or intracranial hemorrhage within 6 months before first dose of study drug. 21. History of bleeding diathesis (e.g., hemophilia, von Willebrand disease). 22. Requires or receiving anticoagulation with warfarin or equivalent vitamin K antagonists (e.g., phenprocoumon) within 7 days of first dose of study drug. 23. Presence of a gastrointestinal ulcer diagnosed by endoscopy within 3 months before screening. 24. Requires treatment with a strong CYP3A inhibitor/inducer. 25. Requires treatment with proton-pump inhibitors (e.g., omeprazole, esomeprazole, lansoprazole, dexlansoprazole, rabeprazole, or pantoprazole). Subjects receiving proton-pump inhibitors who switch to H2-receptor antagonists or antacids are eligible for enrollment to this study. 26. Breast feeding or pregnant. 27. Concurrent participation in another therapeutic clinical trial. 28. Prothrombin time/INR or aPTT (in the absence of a Lupus anticoagulant) \> 2.0 x ULN. Exception: Subjects receiving warfarin are excluded, however, those receiving other anticoagulant therapy who have a higher INR/aPTT may be permitted to enroll to this study after discussion with the medical monitor. 29. History of confirmed progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (PML)

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-free Survival (PFS) Per Independent Review Committee (IRC) AssessmentIRC assessments from randomization date until disease progression or death or IRC discontinuation on 15Jan2019 (as IA per this data cutoff showed crossing superiority boundary) whichever came first, up to 22 months of follow-upTo evaluate the efficacy of acalabrutinib monotherapy (Arm A) compared with idelalisib/rituximab or bendamustine/rituximab (Arm B) based on Independent Review Committee (IRC) assessment of progression-free survival (PFS) per International Workshop on Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (IWCLL) 2008 criteria (Hallek 2008) with incorporation of the clarification for treatment-related lymphocytosis (Cheson 2012) hereafter referred to as IWCLL 2008 criteria in subjects with relapsed or refractory (R/R) chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL). As planned and reported in the interim clinical study report (dated 17 July 2019), because the study did cross the boundary at interim analysis. IRC assessments were discontinued after the interim analysis. All IRC-related efficacy analyses in this clinical study report were based on the interim analysis data cutoff date of 15 January 2019. All other efficacy analyses were based on the final analysis data cutoff date of 03 September 2021.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-free Survival (PFS) Per Investigator AssessmentFrom randomization date to date of disease progression or death due to any cause or data cutoff date on 03Sep2021, whichever came first, regardless of use of subsequent anticancer therapy, until 53 months of follow-up.PFS per investigator assessment based on the final analysis data cutoff date of 03 September 2021.
IRC-assessed Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per IWCLL 2008 Criteria Based on Data Cutoff 15 January 2019 From Interim AnalysisIRC assessments from randomization date until disease progression or death or IRC discontinuation on 15Jan2019 (as IA per this data cutoff showed crossing superiority boundary) whichever came first, up to 22 months of follow-upIRC-assessed overall response rate (ORR) including complete response (CR), CR with incomplete blood count recovery (CRi) nodular PR (nPR), and Partial Response (PR)
Investigator Assessed Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per IWCLL 2008 Criteria Based on Data Cutoff 03 September 2021Investigator assessments were done from randomization date until date of death or date of exit from study or data cut off date on 03Sep2021, whichever came first, up to 53 months of follow-up.IRC-assessed overall response rate (ORR) including complete response (CR), CR with incomplete blood count recovery (CRi) nodular PR (nPR), and Partial Response (PR)
Overall Survival (OS)From randomization date to date of death due to any cause, or date of study discontinuation, or date of data cutoff on 03Sep2021, whichever came first until 54 months of follow-up.Overall Survival (OS) was based on data cutoff date of 03Sep2021
Duration of Response (DOR) Per Independent Review Committee (IRC) Assessment Based on 15 January 2019 Data Cutoff From Interim Analysis.IRC assessments from randomization date until disease progression or death or IRC discontinuation on 15Jan2019 (as IA per this data cutoff showed crossing superiority boundary) whichever came first, up to 22 months of follow-upDuration of Response (DOR) is defined as from the first documentation of CR, CRi, PR, or nPR to the earlier of the first documentation of disease progression or death from any cause.
Duration of Response (DOR) Per Investigator Assessment Based on 03 September 2021 Data CutoffInvestigator assessments were done from randomization date until date of death or study discontinuation or data cutoff date on 03Sep2021, whichever came first up to 53 months of follow-up.Duration of Response (DOR) is defined as from the first documentation of CR, CRi, PR, or nPR to the earlier of the first documentation of disease progression or death from any cause.
Time to Next Treatment (TTNT) Based on 03 September 2021 Data CutoffFrom randomization date to start of non-protocol specified subsequent anticancer therapy for CLL or death due to any cause or study discontinuation or data cutoff date on 03Sep2021,, whichever came first up to 53 months of follow-up.Time to Next Treatment (TTNT) is defined as the time from date of randomization to date of institution of non-protocol-specified treatment for CLL (or first dose date of acalabrutinib for Arm B subjects crossing over to receive acalabrutinib) or death due to any cause, whichever comes first.

Countries

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czechia, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Israel, Italy, New Zealand, Poland, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORAcerta Clinical Trials

1-888-292-9613; acertamc@dlss.com

Participant flow

Recruitment details

A Randomized, Multicenter, Open-Label, Phase 3 Study of Acalabrutinib (ACP-196) Versus Investigator's Choice of Either Idelalisib Plus Rituximab or Bendamustine Plus Rituximab in Subjects with Relapsed or Refractory Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia. A total of 310 subjects met the eligibility criteria and were randomized to the acalabrutinib arm (N = 155) and IR/BR arm (N = 155). All but 3 subjects (1 randomized to acalabrutinib and 2 randomized to IR/BR) received study treatment.

Pre-assignment details

310 patients were enrolled in this study and agreed to move forward in participating in the trial.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm A- Acala. 100 mg BID
Arm A- Acalabrutinib 100 mg BID
155
Arm B: Investigator Choice (IR or BR)-Main Study Period
IR or BR data not presented separately similar to combined treatment arms approved for D8223C00009
155
Total310

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm A- Acala. 100 mg BIDTotalArm B: Investigator Choice (IR or BR)-Main Study Period
Age, Customized
Age >=65 years
97 Participants195 Participants98 Participants
Age, Customized
Age < 65 Years
58 Participants115 Participants57 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants8 Participants6 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
147 Participants276 Participants129 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
6 Participants26 Participants20 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
7 Participants14 Participants7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants9 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
145 Participants286 Participants141 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Australia
6 Participants12 Participants6 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Europe
131 Participants263 Participants132 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Hong Kong
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Korea, Republic Of
3 Participants7 Participants4 Participants
Region of Enrollment
New Zealand
3 Participants4 Participants1 Participants
Region of Enrollment
North America
8 Participants17 Participants9 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Singapore
3 Participants5 Participants2 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Taiwan, Province Of China
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
47 Participants102 Participants55 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
108 Participants208 Participants100 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
41 / 15533 / 15520 / 80
other
Total, other adverse events
149 / 154145 / 15373 / 80
serious
Total, serious adverse events
70 / 15486 / 15331 / 80

Outcome results

Primary

Progression-free Survival (PFS) Per Independent Review Committee (IRC) Assessment

To evaluate the efficacy of acalabrutinib monotherapy (Arm A) compared with idelalisib/rituximab or bendamustine/rituximab (Arm B) based on Independent Review Committee (IRC) assessment of progression-free survival (PFS) per International Workshop on Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (IWCLL) 2008 criteria (Hallek 2008) with incorporation of the clarification for treatment-related lymphocytosis (Cheson 2012) hereafter referred to as IWCLL 2008 criteria in subjects with relapsed or refractory (R/R) chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL). As planned and reported in the interim clinical study report (dated 17 July 2019), because the study did cross the boundary at interim analysis. IRC assessments were discontinued after the interim analysis. All IRC-related efficacy analyses in this clinical study report were based on the interim analysis data cutoff date of 15 January 2019. All other efficacy analyses were based on the final analysis data cutoff date of 03 September 2021.

Time frame: IRC assessments from randomization date until disease progression or death or IRC discontinuation on 15Jan2019 (as IA per this data cutoff showed crossing superiority boundary) whichever came first, up to 22 months of follow-up

Population: Intent-to-treat population including all randomized participants

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Acalabrutinib MonotherapyProgression-free Survival (PFS) Per Independent Review Committee (IRC) AssessmentNA Months
Arm B: Investigators ChoiceProgression-free Survival (PFS) Per Independent Review Committee (IRC) Assessment16.5 Months
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.2, 0.49]Log Rank
Secondary

Duration of Response (DOR) Per Independent Review Committee (IRC) Assessment Based on 15 January 2019 Data Cutoff From Interim Analysis.

Duration of Response (DOR) is defined as from the first documentation of CR, CRi, PR, or nPR to the earlier of the first documentation of disease progression or death from any cause.

Time frame: IRC assessments from randomization date until disease progression or death or IRC discontinuation on 15Jan2019 (as IA per this data cutoff showed crossing superiority boundary) whichever came first, up to 22 months of follow-up

Population: Intent to treat (ITT) population including all randomized participants

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Acalabrutinib MonotherapyDuration of Response (DOR) Per Independent Review Committee (IRC) Assessment Based on 15 January 2019 Data Cutoff From Interim Analysis.NA Months
Arm B: Investigators ChoiceDuration of Response (DOR) Per Independent Review Committee (IRC) Assessment Based on 15 January 2019 Data Cutoff From Interim Analysis.13.6 Months
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.19, 0.59]Log Rank
Secondary

Duration of Response (DOR) Per Investigator Assessment Based on 03 September 2021 Data Cutoff

Duration of Response (DOR) is defined as from the first documentation of CR, CRi, PR, or nPR to the earlier of the first documentation of disease progression or death from any cause.

Time frame: Investigator assessments were done from randomization date until date of death or study discontinuation or data cutoff date on 03Sep2021, whichever came first up to 53 months of follow-up.

Population: Intent to treat (ITT) population including all randomized participants

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Acalabrutinib MonotherapyDuration of Response (DOR) Per Investigator Assessment Based on 03 September 2021 Data CutoffNA Months
Arm B: Investigators ChoiceDuration of Response (DOR) Per Investigator Assessment Based on 03 September 2021 Data Cutoff18.3 Months
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.16, 0.33]Log Rank
Secondary

Investigator Assessed Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per IWCLL 2008 Criteria Based on Data Cutoff 03 September 2021

IRC-assessed overall response rate (ORR) including complete response (CR), CR with incomplete blood count recovery (CRi) nodular PR (nPR), and Partial Response (PR)

Time frame: Investigator assessments were done from randomization date until date of death or date of exit from study or data cut off date on 03Sep2021, whichever came first, up to 53 months of follow-up.

Population: Intent-to-treat population including all randomized participants

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm A: Acalabrutinib MonotherapyInvestigator Assessed Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per IWCLL 2008 Criteria Based on Data Cutoff 03 September 2021128 Participants
Arm B: Investigators ChoiceInvestigator Assessed Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per IWCLL 2008 Criteria Based on Data Cutoff 03 September 2021130 Participants
p-value: 0.73495% CI: [-9.6, 7]Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel
Secondary

IRC-assessed Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per IWCLL 2008 Criteria Based on Data Cutoff 15 January 2019 From Interim Analysis

IRC-assessed overall response rate (ORR) including complete response (CR), CR with incomplete blood count recovery (CRi) nodular PR (nPR), and Partial Response (PR)

Time frame: IRC assessments from randomization date until disease progression or death or IRC discontinuation on 15Jan2019 (as IA per this data cutoff showed crossing superiority boundary) whichever came first, up to 22 months of follow-up

Population: Intent-to-treat population including all randomized participants

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm A: Acalabrutinib MonotherapyIRC-assessed Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per IWCLL 2008 Criteria Based on Data Cutoff 15 January 2019 From Interim Analysis126 Participants
Arm B: Investigators ChoiceIRC-assessed Overall Response Rate (ORR) Per IWCLL 2008 Criteria Based on Data Cutoff 15 January 2019 From Interim Analysis117 Participants
p-value: 0.224895% CI: [-3.3, 14.9]Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

Overall Survival (OS) was based on data cutoff date of 03Sep2021

Time frame: From randomization date to date of death due to any cause, or date of study discontinuation, or date of data cutoff on 03Sep2021, whichever came first until 54 months of follow-up.

Population: Intent-to treat (ITT) population including all randomized participants

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Acalabrutinib MonotherapyOverall Survival (OS)NA Months
Arm B: Investigators ChoiceOverall Survival (OS)NA Months
Comparison: Analysis stratified by factors recorded in IXRS data including presence of deletion 17 p (yes / no), ECOG (0-1/2), # of prior therapies (1-3/4+).p-value: 0.078395% CI: [0.46, 1.04]Log Rank
Secondary

Progression-free Survival (PFS) Per Investigator Assessment

PFS per investigator assessment based on the final analysis data cutoff date of 03 September 2021.

Time frame: From randomization date to date of disease progression or death due to any cause or data cutoff date on 03Sep2021, whichever came first, regardless of use of subsequent anticancer therapy, until 53 months of follow-up.

Population: Intent-to-treat population including all randomized participants

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Acalabrutinib MonotherapyProgression-free Survival (PFS) Per Investigator AssessmentNA Months
Arm B: Investigators ChoiceProgression-free Survival (PFS) Per Investigator Assessment16.8 Months
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.2, 0.38]Log Rank
Secondary

Time to Next Treatment (TTNT) Based on 03 September 2021 Data Cutoff

Time to Next Treatment (TTNT) is defined as the time from date of randomization to date of institution of non-protocol-specified treatment for CLL (or first dose date of acalabrutinib for Arm B subjects crossing over to receive acalabrutinib) or death due to any cause, whichever comes first.

Time frame: From randomization date to start of non-protocol specified subsequent anticancer therapy for CLL or death due to any cause or study discontinuation or data cutoff date on 03Sep2021,, whichever came first up to 53 months of follow-up.

Population: Intent to treat (ITT) population including all randomized participants

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Acalabrutinib MonotherapyTime to Next Treatment (TTNT) Based on 03 September 2021 Data CutoffNA Months
Arm B: Investigators ChoiceTime to Next Treatment (TTNT) Based on 03 September 2021 Data Cutoff22.5 Months
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.21, 0.4]Log Rank

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jul 25, 2026