Skip to content

AMPLATZER™ LAA Occluder Post Approval Study (PAS)

AMPLATZER™ LAA Occluder Post Approval Study

Status
Completed
Phases
Unknown
Study type
Observational
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02964208
Enrollment
520
Registered
2016-11-16
Start date
2016-12-08
Completion date
2022-08-10
Last updated
2024-03-29

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Atrial Fibrillation, Stroke, Thromboembolism

Keywords

Atrial Fibrillation, Stroke, Left Atrial Appendage, Cardiac Plug, Amulet, Thromboembolism

Brief summary

The aim of this multicenter, non-randomized observational post-approval is to compile real world outcome data on the use of an AMPLATZER LAA Occluder in subjects with non-valvular atrial fibrillation (NVAF). The AMPLATZER LAA Occluders is a transcatheter, self-expanding nitinol device intended for use in preventing thrombus embolization from the LAA.

Interventions

DEVICEAMPLATZER™ LAA Occluder

The AMPLATZER™ LAA Occluder is intended to prevent thrombus embolization from the left atrial appendage (LAA) in patients who have nonvalvular Atrial Fibrillation (AF). It may be considered for use in patients who have a high risk of stroke and bleeding and are deemed by their physician to have an appropriate rationale to seek a non-pharmacologic alternative to long term anticoagulants.

Sponsors

Abbott Medical Devices
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Observational model
COHORT
Time perspective
PROSPECTIVE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* 18 years of age or older * Documented history of nonvalvular atrial fibrillation * Subjects in whom an AMPLATZER LAA Occluder device is intended to be implanted or Subjects who underwent an AMPLATZER LAA Occluder implant attempt after the device was approved in the applicable geography

Exclusion criteria

* Women of childbearing potential who are, or plan to become, pregnant during the time of the study

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Primary Effectiveness Endpoint 1: Composite Rate of Stroke (Including Ischemic or Hemorrhagic), Systemic Embolism and Cardiovascular or Unexplained DeathImplant through 24 monthsThe occurrence of one or more the composite of stroke (including ischemic or hemorrhagic), systemic embolism, or cardiovascular or unexplained death at 24 months from the time of enrollment
Primary Effectiveness Endpoint 2: Composite Rate of Ischemic Stroke or Systemic EmbolismImplant through 24 monthsThe occurrence of ischemic stroke or systemic embolism at 24 months from the time of enrollment
Primary Safety Endpoint: Number of Subjects With All Cause Death, Ischemic Stroke, Systemic Embolism, or Device or Procedure-Related Events Requiring Open Cardiac Surgery or Major Endovascular RepairImplant through 7 daysThe occurrence of one of the following events between the time of implant and within 7 days of the procedure or by hospital discharge, whichever is later: all-cause death, ischemic stroke, systemic embolism, or device or procedure-related events requiring open cardiac surgery or major endovascular repair

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Comparison of the Relative Risk Decrease Of Observed Rate of Ischemic Stroke at 24 Months With the CHA2DS2-VASc Predicted Rate for the Implant PopulationImplant through 24 monthsThe secondary endpoint comparing the observed rate of ischemic stroke at 24 months with the congestive heart failure, hypertension, age ≥ 75 years, diabetes mellitus, stroke or transient ischemic attack (TIA), vascular disease, age 65 to 74 years, sex category (CHA2DS2-VASc) score predicted rate for the implant population. The following calculation was used to calculate the Relative Risk Decrease: (Predicted Rate minus Observed Rate) divided by Predicted Rate = Relative Risk Decrease.

Countries

Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Germany, Italy, Spain

Participant flow

Recruitment details

A total of 520 patients were enrolled and underwent Amplatzer LAA Occluder implant attempt at 22 investigational sites between December 8, 2016 and July 2, 2020.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
LAA Occluder PAS
Subjects who were treated with AMPLATZER LAA Occluders will be included.
520
Total520

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyAnatomical Heart Structure of the Patient; LAA Occluder Was Not Implanted; Heart Transplant3
Overall StudyDeath103
Overall StudyDevice Explant1
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up6
Overall StudyUnsuccessful Procedure5
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject6

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicLAA Occluder PAS
Age, Continuous75.90 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
48 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
248 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
224 Participants
Medical History
HAS-BLED score
520 Participants
Medical History
History of Major Bleeding
392 Participants
Medical History
History of Stroke
160 Participants
Medical History
History of TIA
65 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
16 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
11 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
187 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
303 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
185 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
335 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
103 / 520
other
Total, other adverse events
3 / 520
serious
Total, serious adverse events
201 / 520

Outcome results

Primary

Primary Effectiveness Endpoint 1: Composite Rate of Stroke (Including Ischemic or Hemorrhagic), Systemic Embolism and Cardiovascular or Unexplained Death

The occurrence of one or more the composite of stroke (including ischemic or hemorrhagic), systemic embolism, or cardiovascular or unexplained death at 24 months from the time of enrollment

Time frame: Implant through 24 months

Population: The number of participants analyzed includes subjects for whom data were available at that time of analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
LAA Occluder PASPrimary Effectiveness Endpoint 1: Composite Rate of Stroke (Including Ischemic or Hemorrhagic), Systemic Embolism and Cardiovascular or Unexplained Death14.28 percentage of participants
Primary

Primary Effectiveness Endpoint 2: Composite Rate of Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Embolism

The occurrence of ischemic stroke or systemic embolism at 24 months from the time of enrollment

Time frame: Implant through 24 months

Population: The number of participants analyzed includes subjects for whom data were available at that time of analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
LAA Occluder PASPrimary Effectiveness Endpoint 2: Composite Rate of Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Embolism4.41 percentage of participants
Primary

Primary Safety Endpoint: Number of Subjects With All Cause Death, Ischemic Stroke, Systemic Embolism, or Device or Procedure-Related Events Requiring Open Cardiac Surgery or Major Endovascular Repair

The occurrence of one of the following events between the time of implant and within 7 days of the procedure or by hospital discharge, whichever is later: all-cause death, ischemic stroke, systemic embolism, or device or procedure-related events requiring open cardiac surgery or major endovascular repair

Time frame: Implant through 7 days

Population: The number of participants analyzed includes subjects for whom data were available at that time of analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
LAA Occluder PASPrimary Safety Endpoint: Number of Subjects With All Cause Death, Ischemic Stroke, Systemic Embolism, or Device or Procedure-Related Events Requiring Open Cardiac Surgery or Major Endovascular Repair3 Participants
Secondary

Comparison of the Relative Risk Decrease Of Observed Rate of Ischemic Stroke at 24 Months With the CHA2DS2-VASc Predicted Rate for the Implant Population

The secondary endpoint comparing the observed rate of ischemic stroke at 24 months with the congestive heart failure, hypertension, age ≥ 75 years, diabetes mellitus, stroke or transient ischemic attack (TIA), vascular disease, age 65 to 74 years, sex category (CHA2DS2-VASc) score predicted rate for the implant population. The following calculation was used to calculate the Relative Risk Decrease: (Predicted Rate minus Observed Rate) divided by Predicted Rate = Relative Risk Decrease.

Time frame: Implant through 24 months

Population: The number of participants analyzed includes subjects for whom data were available at that time of analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
LAA Occluder PASComparison of the Relative Risk Decrease Of Observed Rate of Ischemic Stroke at 24 Months With the CHA2DS2-VASc Predicted Rate for the Implant Population-70 percent change in the rate

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026