Skip to content

Peripheral Nerve Stimulation for Shoulder Pain: Dose Response

Implanted PNS for Shoulder Pain in Stroke

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02928055
Enrollment
23
Registered
2016-10-07
Start date
2016-10-31
Completion date
2019-10-30
Last updated
2021-06-18

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Shoulder Pain, Stroke

Keywords

Stroke, Shoulder Pain, Electrical stimulation, Neuromuscular stimulation, Intramuscular stimulation

Brief summary

The primary objective of this RCT is explore the mechanism for Hemiplegic Shoulder Pain (HSP) reduction due to treatment with peripheral nerve stimulation. We will explore the association of subject-specific clinical and demographic information and pain relief from PNS. We will explore the possible role of central sensitization mechanisms in perpetuating pain via measures of sensory and pain perception. Lastly, we will explore the dose-response association of muscle-contraction from PNS and pain reduction, completion of activities of daily living (ADLs), and improvement in quality of life.

Detailed description

Hemiplegic shoulder pain (HSP) affects up to 60% of moderate to severely impaired stroke survivors. HSP is associated with poor rehabilitation outcomes, including interference with activities of daily living (ADLs) and poor quality of life (QoL). While many treatments for HSP have been proposed, most do not result in long-term relief of pain. The investigators developed the use of intramuscular peripheral nerve stimulation (PNS) for the treatment of HSP, which involves the temporary placement of a percutaneous intramuscular electrode to stimulate the axillary nerve motor points to the deltoid muscle. The deltoid muscle is stimulated for 6 hours per day for 3 weeks, causing comfortable, non-fatiguing contractions. This treatment, which occurs in the community setting, results in pain relief for up to 12 months when compared to treatment with a hemisling. A systematic review of randomized controlled trials (RCT) with pain as the primary outcome concluded that intramuscular PNS was the only treatment to provide long-term relief of pain for those with HSP. We have completed two RCTs that have demonstrated that a short-term PNS treatment (i.e., 3 or 6 weeks) provides pain relief. The first trial demonstrated efficacy in long-term pain relief in more than 60% of subjects for greater than 12 months. The second trial corroborated the finding that more than 60% of subjects receiving PNS achieved long-term pain reduction, and also showed that PNS reduces pain more than that achieved with physical therapy. The mechanism of action of PNS in reduction of HSP is not yet known. Thus, the primary objective of this RCT is explore the mechanism for HSP reduction. The mechanisms behind PNS for the treatment of HSP are not known. First, individual variation may contribute to response to PNS, thus we will explore the association of subject-specific clinical and demographic information and pain relief from PNS. Secondly, our team and others have found that in the chronic stage central sensitization mechanisms may also have a role in perpetuating pain, as it does in other forms of chronic shoulder pain. These mechanisms will be explored via measures of sensory and pain perception. Finally, our approach to delivering PNS for HSP is different from other treatments in which PNS is delivered through skin surface electrodes (e.g., transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation or TENS) in that our treatment produces repeated muscle contraction over the course of weeks. Treatments such as TENS generates tingling sensations (paresthesias) over the painful area, and pain relief following stimulation is short-lived, seldom lasting more than a few hours. We postulate that long-term pain relief for HSP after PNS treatment is due to the repeated muscle contraction that occurs daily over the course of treatment, thus we will explore the dose-response association of muscle-contraction from PNS and pain reduction, completion of activities of daily living (ADLs), and improvement in quality of life.

Interventions

DEVICEPeripheral Nerve Stimulation

The stimulation system includes an external stimulator, percutaneous lead and pad. The stimulator snaps onto the pad. The pad has an embedded power source but also serves as the anode. The 1-channel stimulator outputs a biphasic current waveform with current pulse parameter ranges suitable for PNS. The percutaneous lead is inserted using an introducer (like a hypodermic needle) which is withdrawn and the lead is retained in the muscle by a barb at its tip. After a 1-week stabilization period, stimulation is initiated (daily dose is Group-dependent). Stimulus parameters may be adjusted by the research staff as deemed appropriate. The treatment period is 3 weeks after which the lead will be removed. Total time of electrode implantation is no more than 29 days.

Sponsors

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
CollaboratorNIH
Case Western Reserve University
CollaboratorOTHER
MetroHealth Medical Center
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
SINGLE (Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
21 Years to 89 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* shoulder pain localized to the glenohumeral joint, subacromial area or deltoid insertion associated with: a) rest; b) passive abduction or external rotation range of motion (ROM); c) active abduction ROM; or, d) manual palpation; * shoulder pain onset or worsening after the most recent stroke; * weakness of shoulder abductors (≤4/5 on MRC if isolated movement is present); * ≥ 21-yrs old; \< 90-yrs old; * time of stroke ≥ 3-mo; * duration of HSP ≥3-mo; * HSP with moderate to severe pain (BPI SF-3 ≥ 4); * cognitive and communication ability to fulfill study requirements (cognitive ability based upon a score of ≥24 on the Mini Mental Status Exam (MMSE)); * availability of reliable adult who can assist with study procedures if necessary; * willing and able to report shoulder pain and other conditions and complete study visits throughout the 4 month study period.

Exclusion criteria

* joint or overlying skin infection or history of recurrent skin infections; * insensate skin; * need to take \> 1 opioid and \> 1 nonopioid analgesic medication for HSP; * regular intake of pain medications for another chronic pain; * botox injection or subacromial steroid injections to the shoulder within the past 12 wks; * receiving OT or PT for HSP; * bleeding disorder or INR \> 3.0; * sensitivity to skin surface electrodes and/or medical-grade adhesives, gels, tapes; * medical instability; * pregnancy; * uncontrolled seizures (\>1/mo for 6-mo); * history of cardiac arrhythmia with hemodynamic instability; * history of lidocaine allergy; * history of Parkinson's disease, SCI, TBI, MS, or ipsilateral UE lower motor neuron lesion; * history of complex regional pain syndrome, myofacial pain syndrome, other pain conditions (investigator discretion); * cardiac pacemaker or other implanted electronic device; * history of valvular heart disease (artificial valves, requiring antibiotics for procedures, etc.); * severely impaired communication.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Brief Pain Inventory (BPI)- Short Form (SF) Question 3 (BPI-SF3)End of Treatment (EOT), EOT + 3 moBrief Pain Inventory(BPI) Short Form 3: The BPI has excellent psychometrics and is recommended for the assessment of pain in clinical trials. The developers of the BPI recommend BPI SF-3, the pain worst rating, as the primary response metric. The question asks participants to rate their worst pain in the prior 7-d on a 0 to 10 numeric rating scale, where 0 indicates No pain and 10 indicates Pain as bad as you can imagine. A lower score is better.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Adverse Events (Related)Electrode Implant, Start of Stimulation, 1 week after start of stimulation, 2 weeks after start of stimulation, end of treatment (EOT), EOT + 1mo, EOT + 2 mo, EOT + 3 moRelated adverse events are documented as Safety data.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
PNS (3 hr/Day)
The PNS (3 hr/day) Group will receive peripheral nerve stimulation treatment for three weeks (3 hours daily) with an Intramuscular Electrical Stimulator following a one week electrode stabilization period.
8
PNS (6 hr/Day)
The PNS (6 hr/day) Group will receive peripheral nerve stimulation treatment for three weeks (6 hours daily) with an Intramuscular Electrical Stimulator following a one week electrode stabilization period.
8
PNS (9 hr/Day)
The PNS (9 hr/day) Group will receive peripheral nerve stimulation treatment for three weeks (9 hours daily) with an Intramuscular Electrical Stimulator following a one week electrode stabilization period.
7
Total23

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPNS (3 hr/Day)PNS (6 hr/Day)PNS (9 hr/Day)Total
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants1 Participants3 Participants4 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
8 Participants7 Participants4 Participants19 Participants
Age, Continuous55.75 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.25
57.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.64
62.86 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.64
58.52 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.35
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
8 Participants8 Participants6 Participants22 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
4 Participants4 Participants2 Participants10 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
3 Participants4 Participants5 Participants12 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
8 participants8 participants7 participants23 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
5 Participants4 Participants3 Participants12 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
3 Participants4 Participants4 Participants11 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 80 / 80 / 7
other
Total, other adverse events
6 / 86 / 87 / 7
serious
Total, serious adverse events
3 / 82 / 80 / 7

Outcome results

Primary

Brief Pain Inventory (BPI)- Short Form (SF) Question 3 (BPI-SF3)

Brief Pain Inventory(BPI) Short Form 3: The BPI has excellent psychometrics and is recommended for the assessment of pain in clinical trials. The developers of the BPI recommend BPI SF-3, the pain worst rating, as the primary response metric. The question asks participants to rate their worst pain in the prior 7-d on a 0 to 10 numeric rating scale, where 0 indicates No pain and 10 indicates Pain as bad as you can imagine. A lower score is better.

Time frame: End of Treatment (EOT), EOT + 3 mo

Population: numbers analyzed differ at 3 month follow up due to study drop out of some subjects at 3 month follow up

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)
PNS (3 hr/Day)Brief Pain Inventory (BPI)- Short Form (SF) Question 3 (BPI-SF3)End of Treatment Score5.6 score on a scale
PNS (3 hr/Day)Brief Pain Inventory (BPI)- Short Form (SF) Question 3 (BPI-SF3)3 month follow up score6.5 score on a scale
PNS (6 hr/Day)Brief Pain Inventory (BPI)- Short Form (SF) Question 3 (BPI-SF3)End of Treatment Score6 score on a scale
PNS (6 hr/Day)Brief Pain Inventory (BPI)- Short Form (SF) Question 3 (BPI-SF3)3 month follow up score5.2 score on a scale
PNS (9 hr/Day)Brief Pain Inventory (BPI)- Short Form (SF) Question 3 (BPI-SF3)End of Treatment Score5.67 score on a scale
PNS (9 hr/Day)Brief Pain Inventory (BPI)- Short Form (SF) Question 3 (BPI-SF3)3 month follow up score4.4 score on a scale
Other Pre-specified

Adverse Events (Related)

Related adverse events are documented as Safety data.

Time frame: Electrode Implant, Start of Stimulation, 1 week after start of stimulation, 2 weeks after start of stimulation, end of treatment (EOT), EOT + 1mo, EOT + 2 mo, EOT + 3 mo

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026