Skip to content

Real-Time Assessment Of Breast Cancer Surgical Specimen Margins With Nonlinear Microscopy

Real-Time Assessment Of Breast Cancer Lumpectomy Specimen Margins With Nonlinear Microscopy

Status
Terminated
Phases
Unknown
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02926729
Enrollment
56
Registered
2016-10-06
Start date
2019-07-17
Completion date
2025-07-14
Last updated
2026-09-16

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Breast Cancer

Keywords

Breast Cancer

Brief summary

This research is studying a new investigative imaging instrument called a nonlinear microscope (NLM). A nonlinear microscope can produce images similar to an ordinary pathologist's microscope, but without first processing tissue to make slides. This study will determine if a NLM can be used to evaluate tissue during lumpectomy surgery for breast cancer in order to reduce the probability that standard pathologic examination of the specimen after the end of the operation will find close or positive margins, thus possibly requiring the patient to have additional breast surgery.

Detailed description

The purpose of this research study is to improve the treatment of breast cancer and reduce the number of patients who require repeat surgical procedures to completely remove breast malignancy. In standard procedures, pathologists evaluate tissue samples on a microscope after the surgery is over. The new investigative imaging instrument is an advanced type of microscope that enables evaluation during surgery. The microscope will not be used directly on the participant or in the operating room, but instead will be used to image tissue immediately after excision but prior to the conclusion of surgery. If pathologic examination using NLM concludes that there is invasive cancer or ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) at or close to the margin of the specimen, the surgeon will be notified and may decide to do additional surgical shavings before the patient leaves the operating room, in order to improve the likelihood of achieving clean margins and reduce the probability that the patient will be advised to have another operation to achieve clean margins. For both patients on the experimental arm (NLM) and the control arm (without NLM), standard pathologic evaluation of the specimen will be done some days after the lumpectomy is completed. That pathologic evaluation will decide whether or not to recommend that the patient has additional surgery in order to achieve clean margins. The primary outcome measure is the percentage of patients in each group who are advised to have additional surgery for this reason.

Interventions

DEVICEnonlinear microscopy imaging of excised surgical margins

Following standard lumpectomy excision, excised tissue will be imaged with NLM. If invasive cancer or ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) is detected on or close to the margin, additional excision may be performed. Following surgery, final margins will be evaluated using paraffin embedded histopathology as per standard procedure. Paraffin embedded histopathology will be used to make a final margin determination.

PROCEDUREstandard lumpectomy without nonlinear microscopy imaging

Lumpectomy with postoperative paraffin embedded histopathology to make a final margin determination.

Sponsors

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Lead SponsorOTHER
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
CollaboratorOTHER
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
CollaboratorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
FEMALE
Age
21 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patient scheduled to undergo lumpectomy for breast cancer at BIDMC. * Core needle biopsy revealing invasive breast cancer or DCIS. * Female. * Minimum age of 21 years. * Eligible for breast conserving surgery, lumpectomy and radiation. * Estrogen receptor positive (ER+) on core needle biopsy, or if estrogen receptor negative (ER-), have evaluable estrogen receptor status with positive internal control on core biopsy. * Progesterone receptor positive (PR+) on core needle biopsy if biopsy indicates invasive cancer, or if progesterone receptor negative (PR-) on biopsy indicating invasive cancer, have evaluable progesterone receptor status with positive internal control on core biopsy. * HER2 IHC and/or FISH ordered on core biopsy, if biopsy indicates invasive cancer. * Oncotype DX or other genetic assay performed on core biopsy or not requested. * Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document.

Exclusion criteria

* Contraindicated for radiation therapy. * Pregnancy. (Pregnant women will be excluded from this study because radiation therapy is contraindicated during pregnancy.) * Current invasive cancer or DCIS at the site of a previous surgery. * Any systemic neoadjuvant (or preoperative) therapy between the core biopsy and lumpectomy. * Involvement in another therapeutic trial for breast cancer at Dana Farber or elsewhere. * Risk of poor cosmetic outcome after initial lumpectomy and possible additional excision, as assessed by a study surgeon. * Recommendation for mastectomy based on radiology. * Patients that have complex DCIS as indicated on radiology, which would require excising a large tissue volume. * No or equivocal ER, PR or HER2 testing performed prior to surgery if biopsy indicates invasive cancer. * No or equivocal ER testing performed prior to surgery if biopsy indicates ductal carcinoma in situ.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Rate of Recommendation for Repeat Surgery on Postoperative HistopathologyFrom surgery to postoperative pathology reporting, up to 1 monthThe number of participants in each arm with a recommendation for additional surgery due to positive or close margins on standard postoperative histopathology, as defined by SSO-ASTRO-ASCO guidelines ("no ink on tumor" for invasive cancer with or without DCIS; \<2 mm for DCIS).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Diagnostic AccuracyFrom surgery to postoperative pathology reporting, up to 1 monthThe diagnostic accuracy of intraoperative nonlinear microscopy compared to reference standard postoperative pathology evaluation of the original (pre-shave) lumpectomy margins.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORLiza Quintana, MD

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants were recruited from the surgical practice of the study surgeon at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and were enrolled if they met the study eligibility criteria. Subjects were enrolled between July 2019 and May 2022. Enrollment was temporarily paused from February 2020 to September 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Pre-assignment details

Of 56 participants enrolled, 5 withdrew prior to randomization and did not proceed to surgery: 1 elected a different surgical procedure, 1 transferred care to another institute, 1 withdrew consent, 1 had their surgery rescheduled due to a COVID-19 research pause, and 1 could not have the study procedure completed due to personnel unavailability.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
24 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
27 Participants
Age, Continuous61 Years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
24 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
10 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
36 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
25 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
0 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 250 / 26
other
Total, other adverse events
3 / 253 / 26
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 250 / 26

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Sep 17, 2026