Skip to content

Neoadjuvant Enoblituzumab (MGA271) in Men With Localized Intermediate and High-Risk Prostate Cancer

A Phase II Trial of Neoadjuvant Enoblituzumab (MGA271) in Men With Localized Intermediate- and High-Risk Prostate Cancer

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02923180
Enrollment
33
Registered
2016-10-04
Start date
2017-02-14
Completion date
2027-07-01
Last updated
2026-08-21

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Prostate Cancer

Keywords

enobilituzumab

Brief summary

This study evaluates the safety, anti-tumor effect, and immunogenicity of Enoblituzumab given before radical prostatectomy. All patients will receive Enoblituzumab for 6 weekly doses beginning 50 days prior to radical prostatectomy.

Detailed description

This is a single-center, single arm, open-label phase II study evaluating the safety, anti-tumor effect, and immunogenicity of neoadjuvant MGA271 given prior to radical prostatectomy in men with intermediate and high-risk localized prostate cancer. Eligible patients will receive MGA271 at a dose of 15mg/kg IV given weekly for 6 doses beginning 50 days prior to radical prostatectomy. 14 days after the last dose of MGA271, prostate glands will be harvested at the time of radical prostatectomy, and prostate tissue will be examined for the secondary endpoints. Follow-up evaluation for adverse events will occur 30 days and 90 days after surgery. Patients will then be followed by their urologists according to standard institutional practices, but will require PSA evaluations every 3 (±1) months during year 1 and every 6 (±2) months during years 2-3. In Amendment 1, the study was expanded to enroll an additional 16 patients for a total of 32 patients to continue evaluating safety and better estimate the clinical benefit of Enoblituzumab in terms of undetectable PSA level (\<0.1 ng/mL) at 12 months following radical prostatectomy.

Interventions

Enoblituzumab 15mg/kg IV (in the vein) weekly for 6 doses beginning 50 days prior to radical prostatectomy.

Sponsors

Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins
Lead SponsorOTHER
MacroGenics
CollaboratorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
MALE
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the prostate (clinical stage T1c-T3b, N0, M0) without involvement of lymph nodes, bone, or visceral organs * Initial prostate biopsy is available for central pathologic review, and is confirmed to show at least 2 positive cores and a Gleason sum of ≥7 * Radical prostatectomy has been scheduled at Johns Hopkins Hospital * Age ≥18 years * ECOG performance status 0-1, or Karnofsky score ≥ 70% (see Appendix A) * Adequate bone marrow, hepatic, and renal function: * WBC \>3,000 cells/mm3 * ANC \>1,500 cells/mm3 * Hemoglobin \>9.0 g/dL * Platelet count \>100,000 cells/mm3 * Serum creatinine \<1.5 × upper limit of normal (ULN) * Serum bilirubin \<1.5 × ULN * ALT \<3 × ULN * AST \<3 × ULN * Alkaline phosphatase \<3 × ULN * The etiology of abnormal bilirubin and transaminase levels should be evaluated prior to study entry. * Willingness to provide written informed consent and HIPAA authorization for the release of personal health information, and the ability to comply with the study requirements (note: HIPAA authorization will be included in the informed consent) * Willingness to use barrier contraception from the time of first dose of MGA271 until the time of prostatectomy.

Exclusion criteria

* Presence of known lymph node involvement or distant metastases * Other histologic types of prostate cancers such as ductal, sarcomatous, lymphoma, small cell, and neuroendocrine tumors * Prior radiation therapy, hormonal therapy, biologic therapy, or chemotherapy for prostate cancer * Prior immunotherapy/vaccine therapy for prostate cancer * Prior use of experimental agents for prostate cancer * Concomitant treatment with other hormonal therapy or 5α-reductase inhibitors * Current use of systemic corticosteroids or use of systemic corticosteroids within 4 weeks of enrollment (inhaled corticosteroids for asthma or COPD are permitted as are other non-systemic steroids such as topical corticosteroids) * History or presence of autoimmune disease requiring systemic immunosuppression (including but not limited to: inflammatory bowel disease, systemic lupus erythematosus, vasculitis, rheumatoid arthritis, scleroderma, multiple sclerosis, hemolytic anemia, Sjögren syndrome, and sarcoidosis) * History of malignancy within the last 3 years, with the exception of non-melanoma skin cancers and superficial bladder cancer * Uncontrolled major active infectious, cardiovascular, pulmonary, hematologic, or psychiatric illnesses that would make the patient a poor study candidate * Known prior or current history of HIV and/or hepatitis B/C

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Efficacy of Neoadjuvant Enoblituzumab as Assessed by PSA0 Response Rate12 monthsNumber of participants with undetectable Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA \<0.1 ng/mL) at 12 months following radical prostatectomy
Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events2 yearsNumber of participants with treatment-related adverse events as assessed by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE)v4.0

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Regulatory T Cell (Treg) Infiltration3 years post-prostatectomyMean staining percentage of Treg cells in tumor tissue of treated patients, assessed through immunohistochemistry.
CD4+ T Cell Infiltration3 years post-prostatectomyMean staining percentage of CD4+ T-cells in tumor tissue of treated patients, assessed through immunohistochemistry.
Natural Killer (NK) Cell Density3 years post-prostatectomyMean staining percentage of NK cells in harvested prostate glands.
Enoblituzumab (MGA271) Drug Distribution Evaluated by Detection of MGA271 in Tumor Tissue3 yearsNumber of participants with positive or negative MGA271 detection in post-treatment prostate tumor specimens, as evaluated by IHC of fresh frozen sections.
Pathological Complete Responses (pCR)3 yearsNumber of participants who achieve pCR, defined as absence of tumor identification on standard histological analysis of resected prostate specimens.
PSA Response Rates3 months post-prostatectomyNumber of participants with undetectable PSA (\<0.1 ng/mL) at 3 months after prostatectomy.
Time to PSA Recurrenceup to 37 months post-prostatectomyMedian time (months) from prostatectomy to time when PSA is ≥ 0.2 ng/mL. Estimated using Kaplan-Meier method.
Mean Staining Percentage of Markers of Cell Proliferation3 years post-prostatectomyQuantify markers of cell proliferation in prostate tumor specimens of treated patients using Ki-67 staining and expressed by the mean staining percentage in tumor tissue
Quantify Markers of Apoptosis in Prostate Tumor Specimens of Treated Patientsup to 5 years post-prostatectomyQuantify markers of apoptosis in prostate tumor specimens of treated patients using TUNEL staining and expressed as the mean staining percentage in tumor tissue
Gleason Grade Group ChangeDay 50Number of participants with change in Gleason grade group from pre-treatment biopsy vs. post-treatment biopsy. "Downgrade" refers to a net grade group change less than zero, "upgrade" refers to net grade group change more than zero, and "no change" refers to stable Gleason grade group. Gleason grade groups are defined as grade group 1 (Gleason score ≤ 6), grade group 2 (Gleason score 3+4=7), grade group 3 (Gleason score 4+3=7), grade group 4 (Gleason score 8), and grade group 5 (Gleason scores 9-10).The lower the grade group, the better the outcome.
CD8+ T Cell Infiltration3 years post-prostatectomyMean staining percentage of CD8+ T-cells in harvested prostate glands from treated patients
Number of Participants With PSA Percentage Decrease Prior to Radical Prostatectomy.50 DaysThe PSA percentage change is calculated as the difference from the PSA at day 50 prior to prostatectomy and PSA at screening. A negative value of PSA percentage change ("PSA percentage \< 0") indicates a decrease in PSA from screening, and a positive value (PSA percentage change \>= 0) indicates an increase in PSA from screening.
PD-L1 Expression3 years post-prostatectomyMean staining percentage of PD-L1 in tumor tissue, assessed by immunohistochemistry (IHC) in the primary core specimens (pre-treatment) and the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment).

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOREugene Shenderov, MD, PhD

Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

33 subjects signed consent to be screened for eligibility. \- 1 subject signed consent, but did not meet the eligibility criteria to start the study (screen failure)

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Enoblituzumab
Men with localized intermediate and high-risk prostate cancer will be given neoadjuvant Enoblituzumab 15mg/kg IV weekly for 6 weeks followed by radical prostatectomy on day 50, with follow-up visits 30 days and 90 days post-prostatectomy. PSA values will be tracked for 3 years post-prostatectomy.
32
Total32

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicEnoblituzumab
Age, Continuous65 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.82
Body-mass index (kg/m^2)
Normal (BMI 18.5 - 24.9)
6 Participants
Body-mass index (kg/m^2)
Obese (BMI ≥ 30.0)
12 Participants
Body-mass index (kg/m^2)
Overweight (BMI 25.0 - 29.9)
14 Participants
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status
0
31 Participants
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status
1
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
32 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Family History of Prostate Cancer
No
25 Participants
Family History of Prostate Cancer
Yes
7 Participants
Gleason Group / Gleason sum at biopsy
Grade Group 3: 4+3
5 Participants
Gleason Group / Gleason sum at biopsy
Grade Group 4: 4+4
8 Participants
Gleason Group / Gleason sum at biopsy
Grade Group 5: 4+5, 5+4, or 5+5
19 Participants
Previous Therapy0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
30 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
32 Participants
Smoking History
No
23 Participants
Smoking History
Yes
9 Participants
Stage T3 at initial diagnosis
No
9 Participants
Stage T3 at initial diagnosis
Yes
23 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 32
other
Total, other adverse events
32 / 32
serious
Total, serious adverse events
3 / 32

Outcome results

Primary

Efficacy of Neoadjuvant Enoblituzumab as Assessed by PSA0 Response Rate

Number of participants with undetectable Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA \<0.1 ng/mL) at 12 months following radical prostatectomy

Time frame: 12 months

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
EnoblituzumabEfficacy of Neoadjuvant Enoblituzumab as Assessed by PSA0 Response RatePSA < 0.1 ng/mL21 Participants
EnoblituzumabEfficacy of Neoadjuvant Enoblituzumab as Assessed by PSA0 Response RatePSA ≥ 0.1 ng/mL11 Participants
Primary

Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events

Number of participants with treatment-related adverse events as assessed by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE)v4.0

Time frame: 2 years

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
EnoblituzumabNumber of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse EventsGrade 131 Participants
EnoblituzumabNumber of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse EventsGrade 212 Participants
EnoblituzumabNumber of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse EventsGrade 34 Participants
EnoblituzumabNumber of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse EventsGrade 40 Participants
Secondary

CD4+ T Cell Infiltration

Mean staining percentage of CD4+ T-cells in tumor tissue of treated patients, assessed through immunohistochemistry.

Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy

Population: Only 30 of the 32 participants enrolled in the trial had evaluable tissue samples.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
EnoblituzumabCD4+ T Cell Infiltration11.68 staining percentageStandard Deviation 0.71
Secondary

CD8+ T Cell Infiltration

Mean staining percentage of CD8+ T-cells in harvested prostate glands from treated patients

Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy

Population: Only 30 of the 32 participants enrolled in the trial had evaluable tissue samples.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
EnoblituzumabCD8+ T Cell Infiltration11.68 staining percentageStandard Deviation 0.71
Secondary

Enoblituzumab (MGA271) Drug Distribution Evaluated by Detection of MGA271 in Tumor Tissue

Number of participants with positive or negative MGA271 detection in post-treatment prostate tumor specimens, as evaluated by IHC of fresh frozen sections.

Time frame: 3 years

Population: The Overall Number of Participants Analyzed represents those evaluable for this outcome. Of the 32 participants who received study treatment, data from 2 subjects was not evaluable.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
EnoblituzumabEnoblituzumab (MGA271) Drug Distribution Evaluated by Detection of MGA271 in Tumor TissuePositive28 Participants
EnoblituzumabEnoblituzumab (MGA271) Drug Distribution Evaluated by Detection of MGA271 in Tumor TissueNegative2 Participants
Secondary

Gleason Grade Group Change

Number of participants with change in Gleason grade group from pre-treatment biopsy vs. post-treatment biopsy. Downgrade refers to a net grade group change less than zero, upgrade refers to net grade group change more than zero, and no change refers to stable Gleason grade group. Gleason grade groups are defined as grade group 1 (Gleason score ≤ 6), grade group 2 (Gleason score 3+4=7), grade group 3 (Gleason score 4+3=7), grade group 4 (Gleason score 8), and grade group 5 (Gleason scores 9-10).The lower the grade group, the better the outcome.

Time frame: Day 50

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
EnoblituzumabGleason Grade Group ChangeDowngrade (< 0 net grade group change)16 Participants
EnoblituzumabGleason Grade Group ChangeNo Change (= 0 net grade group change)12 Participants
EnoblituzumabGleason Grade Group ChangeUpgrade (> 0 net grade group change)4 Participants
Secondary

Mean Staining Percentage of Markers of Cell Proliferation

Quantify markers of cell proliferation in prostate tumor specimens of treated patients using Ki-67 staining and expressed by the mean staining percentage in tumor tissue

Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy

Population: Only 30 of the 32 participants enrolled in the trial had evaluable tissue samples.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
EnoblituzumabMean Staining Percentage of Markers of Cell Proliferation11.92 staining percentageStandard Deviation 0.82
Secondary

Natural Killer (NK) Cell Density

Mean staining percentage of NK cells in harvested prostate glands.

Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy

Population: Only 30 of the 32 participants enrolled in the trial had evaluable tissue samples.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
EnoblituzumabNatural Killer (NK) Cell Density11.92 staining percentageStandard Deviation 0.82
Secondary

Number of Participants With PSA Percentage Decrease Prior to Radical Prostatectomy.

The PSA percentage change is calculated as the difference from the PSA at day 50 prior to prostatectomy and PSA at screening. A negative value of PSA percentage change (PSA percentage \< 0) indicates a decrease in PSA from screening, and a positive value (PSA percentage change \>= 0) indicates an increase in PSA from screening.

Time frame: 50 Days

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
EnoblituzumabNumber of Participants With PSA Percentage Decrease Prior to Radical Prostatectomy.PSA percentage change < 016 Participants
EnoblituzumabNumber of Participants With PSA Percentage Decrease Prior to Radical Prostatectomy.PSA percentage change >= 016 Participants
Secondary

Pathological Complete Responses (pCR)

Number of participants who achieve pCR, defined as absence of tumor identification on standard histological analysis of resected prostate specimens.

Time frame: 3 years

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
EnoblituzumabPathological Complete Responses (pCR)0 Participants
Secondary

PD-L1 Expression

Mean staining percentage of PD-L1 in tumor tissue, assessed by immunohistochemistry (IHC) in the primary core specimens (pre-treatment) and the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment).

Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy

Population: Only 30 of the 32 participants enrolled in the trial had evaluable tissue samples.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
EnoblituzumabPD-L1 Expression10.66 staining percentageStandard Deviation 0.82
Secondary

PSA Response Rates

Number of participants with undetectable PSA (\<0.1 ng/mL) at 3 months after prostatectomy.

Time frame: 3 months post-prostatectomy

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
EnoblituzumabPSA Response RatesPSA <0.1 ng/mL26 Participants
EnoblituzumabPSA Response RatesPSA ≥0.1 ng/mL6 Participants
Secondary

Quantify Markers of Apoptosis in Prostate Tumor Specimens of Treated Patients

Quantify markers of apoptosis in prostate tumor specimens of treated patients using TUNEL staining and expressed as the mean staining percentage in tumor tissue

Time frame: up to 5 years post-prostatectomy

Secondary

Regulatory T Cell (Treg) Infiltration

Mean staining percentage of Treg cells in tumor tissue of treated patients, assessed through immunohistochemistry.

Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy

Population: Only 30 of the 32 participants enrolled in the trial had evaluable tissue samples.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
EnoblituzumabRegulatory T Cell (Treg) Infiltration9.36 staining percentageStandard Deviation 0.9
Secondary

Time to PSA Recurrence

Median time (months) from prostatectomy to time when PSA is ≥ 0.2 ng/mL. Estimated using Kaplan-Meier method.

Time frame: up to 37 months post-prostatectomy

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
EnoblituzumabTime to PSA Recurrence30 months
Other Pre-specified

Androgen Receptor (AR) Quantification

Mean staining percentage of AR in harvested prostate tissue, assessed by immunohistochemistry (IHC) staining for AR protein.

Time frame: up to 3 years post-prostatectomy

Other Pre-specified

B7-H3 Expression

Number of participants with B7-H3 expression in prostate tumor specimens will be assessed by IHC (immunohistochemistry) in the primary core specimens (pre-treatment) and in the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment).

Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
EnoblituzumabB7-H3 Expression28 Participants
Other Pre-specified

FC Receptor Genotyping

Number of participants with CD16A, CD32A, and CD32B on Fc receptor.

Time frame: up to 3 years post-prostatectomy

Other Pre-specified

Global Expression Profiling of Tumor Tissues

Number of participants with changes in cellular composition, upregulation and downregulation of immune checkpoints, and other markers of activity versus exhaustion.

Time frame: up to 3 years post-prostatectomy

Other Pre-specified

IHC Analyses of CD137, CD16 and/or CD107A

CD137, CD107A, and CD16 expression in prostate tumor specimens will be assessed by immunohistochemistry (IHC) in the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment). This endpoint will be expressed as the mean staining percentage of each of these in tumor tissue

Time frame: up to 3 years post-prostatectomy

Other Pre-specified

PBLs

Number of participants with upregulation and downregulation of immune checkpoints and other markers of activity versus exhaustion, as assessed by flow cytometry at treatment day 1 (pre-treatment), treatment day 36 (post-treatment), and 30 days post-prostatectomy.

Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy

Other Pre-specified

PD-1, LAG3, and TIM3 Expression

PD-1, LAG3, and TIM3 expression in prostate tumor specimens will be assessed by IHC (immunohistochemistry) in the primary core specimens (pre-treatment) and in the prostatectomy surgical specimens (post-treatment). This endpoint will be expressed as the mean staining percentage in tumor tissue.

Time frame: 3 Years post-prostatectomy

Other Pre-specified

Quantify Antigen-spread

Number of participants with antigen-spread to on-target and off-target antigens.

Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
EnoblituzumabQuantify Antigen-spreadNumber of participants with IgG reactivity1 Participants
EnoblituzumabQuantify Antigen-spreadNumber of participants with IgM reactivity1 Participants
EnoblituzumabQuantify Antigen-spreadNumber of participants without antigen reactivity30 Participants
Other Pre-specified

TCR Repertoire

Fraction of peripherally expanded clones that are tumor associated for each participant.

Time frame: 3 years post-prostatectomy

Population: Only 30 of the 32 participants enrolled in the trial had evaluable samples.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
EnoblituzumabTCR RepertoireNumber of participants with 100% peripheral expanded clones associated with tumor7 Participants
EnoblituzumabTCR RepertoireNumber of participants with 99% or less peripheral expanded clones associated with tumor23 Participants
Other Pre-specified

Tissue Androgen Concentrations

Concentration (picogram/3 mg) of testosterone and 5α-dihydrotestosterone (DHT) in prostate tissue.

Time frame: up to 3 years post prostatectomy

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Aug 22, 2026