Skip to content

A Study of Atezolizumab Plus Cobimetinib and Vemurafenib Versus Placebo Plus Cobimetinib and Vemurafenib in Previously Untreated BRAFv600 Mutation-Positive Patients With Metastatic or Unresectable Locally Advanced Melanoma

A Phase III, Double-Blinded, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Study of Atezolizumab Plus Cobimetinib and Vemurafenib Versus Placebo Plus Cobimetinib and Vemurafenib in Previously Untreated BRAFV600 Mutation-Positive Patients With Unresectable Locally Advanced or Metastatic Melanoma

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02908672
Enrollment
514
Registered
2016-09-21
Start date
2017-01-13
Completion date
2024-07-01
Last updated
2025-07-20

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Melanoma

Brief summary

This is a Phase III, double-blinded, placebo-controlled, randomized, multicenter study designed to evaluate the efficacy, safety, and pharmacokinetics of atezolizumab + cobimetinib + vemurafenib compared with placebo + cobimetinib + vemurafenib in patients with previously untreated BRAFv600 mutation-positive metastatic or unresectable locally advanced melanoma.

Interventions

DRUGAtezolizumab

Will be administered as per the schedule described in individual arm.

Will be administered as per the schedule described in individual arm.

DRUGCobimetinib

Will be administered as per the schedule described in individual arm.

DRUGVemurafenib

Will be administered as per the schedule described in individual arm.

DRUGVemurafenib Placebo

Will be administered as per the schedule described in individual arm.

Sponsors

Hoffmann-La Roche
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Females of child bearing potential and males with female partners must and use of contraceptive methods with a failure rate of less than or equal to (\</=)1% per year is required during treatment and for 6 months post treatment. Males should not expose pregnant partners to sperm and refrain from donating sperm for 6 months post treatment. Women must refrain from donating eggs during this same period * Histologically confirmed Stage IV (metastatic) or unresectable Stage IIIc (locally advanced) melanoma * Naive to prior systemic anti-cancer therapy for melanoma (example: chemotherapy, hormonal therapy, targeted therapy, immunotherapy, or other biologic therapies) except adjuvant treatment with interferon (IFN), interleukin (IL)-2, or vaccine therapies or herbal therapies * Documentation of BRAFv600 mutation-positive status in melanoma tumor tissue (archival or newly obtained) through use of a clinical mutation test approved by the local health authority * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group Performance (ECOG) Status of 0 or 1 * Measurable disease according to RECIST v1.1 (must be outside central nervous system (CNS)) * Life expectancy \>/=18 weeks * For participants not receiving therapeutic anticoagulation: International normalized ratio (INR) or activated partial thromboplastin time (aPTT) less than or equal to (\</=) 1.5\*upper limit of normal (ULN) within 28 days prior to initiation of study treatment * For participants receiving therapeutic anticoagulation: stable anticoagulant regimen and stable INR during the 28 days immediately preceding initiation of study treatment

Exclusion criteria

Cancer-Related

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-Free Survival (PFS), as Determined by Investigator Using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Version 1.1Baseline up to PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 33 months)PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the first occurrence of PD, as determined by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters (SOD) of target lesions, taking as reference smallest sum on study, including baseline. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the SOD must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 millimeters (mm).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Objective Response (OR), as Determined by Investigator Using RECIST V1.1Baseline up to PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 56 months)OR rate was defined as percentage of participants with partial response (PR) or complete response (CR) on 2 consecutive occasions ≥ 4 weeks apart as determined by the investigator using RECIST v.1.1. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions or any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) having a reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD.
Duration of Response (DOR), as Determined by Investigator Using RECIST v1.1Baseline up to PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 56 months)DOR was defined as the time from the first occurrence of a documented OR to PD, as determined by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference smallest sum on study, including baseline. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the SOD must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions or any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) having a reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD.
Overall Survival (OS)Baseline up to death due to any cause (up to approximately 85 months)OS was defined as the time from randomization to death from any cause.
Percentage of Participants Who Have Survived at 2 Years2 yearsPercentage of participants with OS which was defined as the time from randomization to death from any cause. The Kaplan-Meier approach was used to estimate 2-year landmark survival rate. The 95% CI of landmark survival rate was calculated using the standard error derived from Greenwood's formula.
Time to Deterioration in Global Health Status (GHS) Determined Using the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire Core 30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) Scale ScoreBaseline up to PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 33 months)Time to deterioration in GHS/health related quality of life (HRQoL) was defined as the time from randomization to first observed ≥ 10-point decrease in EORTC QLQ-C30 linearly transformed GHS/HRQoL scale score that is sustained for two consecutive assessments or followed by death while the participant is on treatment. EORTC QLQ-C30 consists of 30 questions that assess five aspects of participant functioning (physical, emotional, role, cognitive, and social), three symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain), GHS/QoL, and six single items (dyspnea, insomnia, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties). The GHS/QoL are scored on a 7-point scale (1=Very Poor to 7=Excellent). The obtained scores are linearly transformed to a score range of 0-100, where higher scores indicate a higher response level and better QoL.
Time to Deterioration in Physical Functioning (PF) Determined Using EORTC QLQ-C30 Scale ScoreBaseline up to PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 33 months)Time to deterioration in PF = time from randomization to first observed ≥ 10-point decrease in EORTC QLQ-C30 linearly transformed PF scale score that is sustained for two consecutive assessments or followed by death while the participant is on treatment. EORTC QLQ-C30 consists of 30 questions that assess 5 aspects of participant functioning (physical, emotional, role, cognitive, and social), three symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain), GHS/QoL, and six single items (dyspnea, insomnia, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties). PF scale has 5 questions about participant's PF and daily activities (strenuous activities, long walks, short walks, bed/chair rest & needing help with eating, dressing, washing themselves, or using the toilet). PF are scored on a 4-point scale (1=Not at All to 4=Very Much). The obtained scores are linearly transformed to a score range of 0-100, where higher scores indicate a higher response level, functioning/support.
PFS as Determined by Independent Review Committee (IRC) Using RECIST v1.1Baseline up to PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 33 months)PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the first occurrence of disease progression, as determined by the IRC according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference smallest sum on study, including baseline. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the SOD must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm.
Serum Concentration of AtezolizumabPre-infusion Day 1 of Cycles 1-4; 30 minutes post-infusion Day 1 of Cycles 1 and 4; at Atezolizumab discontinuation (up to approximately 33 months) (1 Cycle = 28 days)
Plasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 20/40 mgPre-dose (0 hour) and 3 to 6 hours post dose on Day 15 of Cycles 1 and 4 (1 Cycle = 28 days)
Plasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 60 mgPre-dose (0 hour) and 3 to 6 hours post dose on Day 15 of Cycles 1 and 4 (1 Cycle = 28 days)
Plasma Concentration of VemurafenibPre-dose (0 hour) and 3 to 6 hours post dose on Day 15 of Cycles 1 and 4 (1 Cycle = 28 days)
Percentage of Participants Positive for Anti-drug Antibodies (ADA) to AtezolizumabPre-infusion Day 1 of Cycles 1-4 (1 Cycle=28 days); at Atezolizumab discontinuation (approximately up to 33 months)Presence of ADAs against atezolizumab during the study relative to the presence of ADAs at baseline. The percentage of ADA-positive participants after drug administration were determined for participants exposed to atezolizumab. For determining post-baseline incidence, participants were considered to be ADA-positive if they were ADA-negative or had missing data at baseline but developed an ADA response following study drug exposure, or if they were ADA-positive at baseline and the titer of 1 or more post-baseline samples was at least 0.60 titer units (t.u.) greater than the baseline titer result.
Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)Up to approximately 85 monthsAn AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a participant when administered a pharmaceutical product regardless of the causal relationship with this treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom/disease temporally associated with the use of an investigational product, whether or not considered related to the investigational product. A SAE is any significant hazard, contraindication, side effect that is fatal or life-threatening, requires hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect, is medically significant or requires intervention to prevent one or other of the outcomes listed above. All AEs were reported until 30 days and SAEs until 90 days after the final dose of study treatment or until initiation of subsequent anti-cancer therapy, whichever occurred first.

Countries

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Russia, South Korea, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

A total of 514 participants with B-Raf proto-oncogene serine/threonine kinase (BRAF) V600 mutation positive metastatic or unresectable locally advanced melanoma took part in the study. The study had 2 periods: 28-day run-in period & a triple combination period. The study was closed early by the sponsor due to the low likelihood of OS achieving statistical significance at final analysis & slower-than-anticipated OS event accumulation. Hence, the study was considered to be completed.

Pre-assignment details

Participants received either Placebo + Cobimetinib + Vemurafenib (Pbo+Cobi+Vem) or Atezolizumab + Cobimetinib + Vemurafenib (Atezo+Cobi+Vem). 26 participants were included in pbo+cobi+vem arm for safety analysis (22 in atezo+cobi+vem arm stopped run-in treatment & received no atezo & 4 in atezo+cobi+vem arm completed the run-in treatment but did not receive atezo). During the study, 2 participants in pbo+cobi+vem arm received atezo & were included in the atezo+cobi+vem arm for safety analysis.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + Vem
Participants received vemurafenib, 960 mg (four, 240 mg tablets), PO, BID along with cobimetinib, 60 mg (three, 20 mg tablets) PO, QD on Days 1 to 21 only followed by vemurafenib 960 mg (four, 240 mg tablets), PO, BID on Days 22 to 28 during the 28 day run-in period. During triple combination period (Cycle 1 onwards), participants received atezolizumab matching placebo as IV infusion on Days 1 and 15, cobimetinib, 60 mg (three, 20 mg tablets) PO, QD, on Days 1 to 21 and vemurafenib 960 mg (four, 240 mg tablets) PO, BID on Days 1 to 28. Study treatment was continued until investigator determined PD, death, unacceptable toxicity, withdrawal of consent, or pregnancy, whichever occurred first.
258
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + Vem
Participants received vemurafenib, 960 mg (four, 240 mg tablets) PO, BID along with cobimetinib 60 mg (three, 20 mg tablets) PO, QD on Days 1 to 21 only followed by vemurafenib 720 mg (three, 240 mg tablets) PO, BID and vemurafenib matching placebo, PO, BID on Days 22 to 28 during the 28 day run-in period. During triple combination period (Cycle 1 onwards), participants received atezolizumab 840 mg as IV infusion on Days 1 and 15, cobimetinib, 60 mg (three, 20 mg tablets) PO, QD, on Days 1 to 21, vemurafenib 720 mg (three, 240 mg tablets) PO BID on Days 1 to 28, and vemurafenib placebo (1 tablet) PO BID on Days 1 to 28. Study treatment was continued until investigator determined PD, death, unacceptable toxicity, withdrawal of consent, or pregnancy, whichever occurred first.
256
Total514

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003
Run-in PeriodDeath121000
Run-in PeriodLost to Follow-up1100
Run-in PeriodProtocol Violation1100
Run-in PeriodReason Not Specified2000
Run-in PeriodStudy Ended by Sponsor5100
Run-in PeriodWithdrawal by Subject3900
Triple Combination PeriodDeath00150127
Triple Combination PeriodLost to Follow-up0068
Triple Combination PeriodPhysician Decision0011
Triple Combination PeriodReason Not Specified0001
Triple Combination PeriodStudy Ended by Sponsor006177
Triple Combination PeriodWithdrawal by Subject001316

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemArm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
59 Participants61 Participants120 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
199 Participants195 Participants394 Participants
Age, Continuous53.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.1
54.0 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.2
53.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
20 Participants27 Participants47 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
225 Participants223 Participants448 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
13 Participants6 Participants19 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
4 Participants7 Participants11 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
6 Participants4 Participants10 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
246 Participants243 Participants489 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
109 Participants106 Participants215 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
149 Participants150 Participants299 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 23225 / 279149 / 279128 / 232
other
Total, other adverse events
208 / 232262 / 279222 / 279226 / 232
serious
Total, serious adverse events
21 / 23250 / 27981 / 279109 / 232

Outcome results

Primary

Progression-Free Survival (PFS), as Determined by Investigator Using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Version 1.1

PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the first occurrence of PD, as determined by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters (SOD) of target lesions, taking as reference smallest sum on study, including baseline. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the SOD must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 millimeters (mm).

Time frame: Baseline up to PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 33 months)

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants, whether or not study treatment was received.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemProgression-Free Survival (PFS), as Determined by Investigator Using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Version 1.110.6 months
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemProgression-Free Survival (PFS), as Determined by Investigator Using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Version 1.115.1 months
p-value: 0.022495% CI: [0.64, 0.97]Log Rank
Secondary

Duration of Response (DOR), as Determined by Investigator Using RECIST v1.1

DOR was defined as the time from the first occurrence of a documented OR to PD, as determined by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference smallest sum on study, including baseline. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the SOD must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions or any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) having a reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD.

Time frame: Baseline up to PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 56 months)

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants, whether or not study treatment was received. Only participants with measurable disease at baseline were analyzed for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemDuration of Response (DOR), as Determined by Investigator Using RECIST v1.112.6 months
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemDuration of Response (DOR), as Determined by Investigator Using RECIST v1.121.0 months
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

OS was defined as the time from randomization to death from any cause.

Time frame: Baseline up to death due to any cause (up to approximately 85 months)

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants, whether or not study treatment was received.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemOverall Survival (OS)25.8 months
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemOverall Survival (OS)39.0 months
p-value: 0.119195% CI: [0.67, 1.05]Log Rank
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Positive for Anti-drug Antibodies (ADA) to Atezolizumab

Presence of ADAs against atezolizumab during the study relative to the presence of ADAs at baseline. The percentage of ADA-positive participants after drug administration were determined for participants exposed to atezolizumab. For determining post-baseline incidence, participants were considered to be ADA-positive if they were ADA-negative or had missing data at baseline but developed an ADA response following study drug exposure, or if they were ADA-positive at baseline and the titer of 1 or more post-baseline samples was at least 0.60 titer units (t.u.) greater than the baseline titer result.

Time frame: Pre-infusion Day 1 of Cycles 1-4 (1 Cycle=28 days); at Atezolizumab discontinuation (approximately up to 33 months)

Population: The ADA-evaluable population included participants who received at least one dose of atezolizumab and had ≥ 1 post-baseline ADA result. Number analyzed is the number of participants with data available for analysis at the specified timepoint.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPercentage of Participants Positive for Anti-drug Antibodies (ADA) to AtezolizumabBaseline evaluable participants1.4 percentage of participants
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPercentage of Participants Positive for Anti-drug Antibodies (ADA) to AtezolizumabPost-baseline evaluable participants13.3 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants Who Have Survived at 2 Years

Percentage of participants with OS which was defined as the time from randomization to death from any cause. The Kaplan-Meier approach was used to estimate 2-year landmark survival rate. The 95% CI of landmark survival rate was calculated using the standard error derived from Greenwood's formula.

Time frame: 2 years

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants, whether or not study treatment was received.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPercentage of Participants Who Have Survived at 2 Years53.31 percentage of participants
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPercentage of Participants Who Have Survived at 2 Years61.50 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.069395% CI: [-0.65, 17.04]Z-test
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a participant when administered a pharmaceutical product regardless of the causal relationship with this treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom/disease temporally associated with the use of an investigational product, whether or not considered related to the investigational product. A SAE is any significant hazard, contraindication, side effect that is fatal or life-threatening, requires hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect, is medically significant or requires intervention to prevent one or other of the outcomes listed above. All AEs were reported until 30 days and SAEs until 90 days after the final dose of study treatment or until initiation of subsequent anti-cancer therapy, whichever occurred first.

Time frame: Up to approximately 85 months

Population: Safety population included all participants who received any amount of any atezolizumab, cobimetinib, or vemurafenib. 26 were included in the placebo+cobi+vem arm for safety evaluation (22 participants in atezo+cobi+vem arm stopped run-in treatment \& didn't received atezo \& 4 in atezo+cobi+vem arm completed the run-in treatment but did not receive atezo). During the study, 2 participants in placebo+cobi+vem arm received atezo \& were considered in the atezo+cobi+vem arm for safety analysis.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPercentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)AEs99.6 percentage of participants
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPercentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)SAEs43.0 percentage of participants
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPercentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)AEs100 percentage of participants
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPercentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)SAEs50.9 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Objective Response (OR), as Determined by Investigator Using RECIST V1.1

OR rate was defined as percentage of participants with partial response (PR) or complete response (CR) on 2 consecutive occasions ≥ 4 weeks apart as determined by the investigator using RECIST v.1.1. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions or any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) having a reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD.

Time frame: Baseline up to PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 56 months)

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants, whether or not study treatment was received. Only participants with measurable disease at baseline were analyzed for this outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPercentage of Participants With Objective Response (OR), as Determined by Investigator Using RECIST V1.165.0 percentage of participants
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPercentage of Participants With Objective Response (OR), as Determined by Investigator Using RECIST V1.166.7 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.699795% CI: [-6.9, 10.15]Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel
Secondary

PFS as Determined by Independent Review Committee (IRC) Using RECIST v1.1

PFS was defined as the time from randomization to the first occurrence of disease progression, as determined by the IRC according to RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever occurred first. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference smallest sum on study, including baseline. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the SOD must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm.

Time frame: Baseline up to PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 33 months)

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants, whether or not study treatment was received.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPFS as Determined by Independent Review Committee (IRC) Using RECIST v1.112.3 months
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPFS as Determined by Independent Review Committee (IRC) Using RECIST v1.116.1 months
p-value: 0.160795% CI: [0.67, 1.07]Log Rank
Secondary

Plasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 20/40 mg

Time frame: Pre-dose (0 hour) and 3 to 6 hours post dose on Day 15 of Cycles 1 and 4 (1 Cycle = 28 days)

Population: The Cobi PK-evaluable population included all participants who received any dose of cobimetinib 20/40 mg and for whom at least one evaluable PK sample was collected. Number analyzed is the number of participants with data available for analysis at the specified timepoint.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 20/40 mgCycle 1 Day 15/Predose79.9 mgStandard Deviation 72.2
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 20/40 mgCycle 1 Day 15/3-6 Hr Postdose167 mgStandard Deviation 116
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 20/40 mgCycle 4 Day 15/Predose108 mgStandard Deviation 97.5
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 20/40 mgCycle 4 Day 15/3-6 Hr Postdose167 mgStandard Deviation 126
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 20/40 mgCycle 4 Day 15/3-6 Hr Postdose171 mgStandard Deviation 140
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 20/40 mgCycle 1 Day 15/Predose144 mgStandard Deviation 101
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 20/40 mgCycle 4 Day 15/Predose92.3 mgStandard Deviation 79.5
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 20/40 mgCycle 1 Day 15/3-6 Hr Postdose216 mgStandard Deviation 145
Secondary

Plasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 60 mg

Time frame: Pre-dose (0 hour) and 3 to 6 hours post dose on Day 15 of Cycles 1 and 4 (1 Cycle = 28 days)

Population: The Cobi PK-evaluable population included all participants who received any dose of Cobimetinib 60 mg and for whom at least one evaluable PK sample was collected. Number analyzed is the number of participants with data available for analysis at the specified timepoint.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 60 mgCycle 1 Day 15/Predose169 mgStandard Deviation 171
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 60 mgCycle 1 Day 15/3-6 Hr Postdose278 mgStandard Deviation 206
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 60 mgCycle 4 Day 15/Predose150 mgStandard Deviation 113
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 60 mgCycle 4 Day 15/3-6 Hr Postdose240 mgStandard Deviation 195
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 60 mgCycle 4 Day 15/3-6 Hr Postdose256 mgStandard Deviation 197
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 60 mgCycle 1 Day 15/Predose216 mgStandard Deviation 188
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 60 mgCycle 4 Day 15/Predose151 mgStandard Deviation 120
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of Cobimetinib Dose: 60 mgCycle 1 Day 15/3-6 Hr Postdose375 mgStandard Deviation 243
Secondary

Plasma Concentration of Vemurafenib

Time frame: Pre-dose (0 hour) and 3 to 6 hours post dose on Day 15 of Cycles 1 and 4 (1 Cycle = 28 days)

Population: The Vem PK-evaluable population included all participants who received any dose of vemurafenib and for whom at least one evaluable PK sample was collected. Number analyzed is the number of participants with data available for analysis at the specified timepoint.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of VemurafenibCycle 1 Day 15/ predose38.9 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 100
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of VemurafenibCycle 1 Day 15/ 3-6 hr41.3 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 57.7
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of VemurafenibCycle 4 Day 15/ predose39.2 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 105
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of VemurafenibCycle 4 Day 15/ 3-6 hr postdose42.3 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 59.4
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of VemurafenibCycle 4 Day 15/ 3-6 hr postdose26.5 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 135
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of VemurafenibCycle 1 Day 15/ predose27.0 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 102
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of VemurafenibCycle 4 Day 15/ predose24.7 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 202
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemPlasma Concentration of VemurafenibCycle 1 Day 15/ 3-6 hr28.0 μg/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 88.6
Secondary

Serum Concentration of Atezolizumab

Time frame: Pre-infusion Day 1 of Cycles 1-4; 30 minutes post-infusion Day 1 of Cycles 1 and 4; at Atezolizumab discontinuation (up to approximately 33 months) (1 Cycle = 28 days)

Population: Pharmacokinetic (PK)-evaluable population included all participants who have received any dose of atezolizumab and for whom at least one evaluable PK sample was collected. Number analyzed is the number of participants with data available for analysis at the specified timepoint.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemSerum Concentration of AtezolizumabCycle 1 Day 1/30 Min Postdose281 micrograms per milliliters (ug/mL)Standard Deviation 111
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemSerum Concentration of AtezolizumabCycle 2 Day 1/Predose102 micrograms per milliliters (ug/mL)Standard Deviation 47.4
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemSerum Concentration of AtezolizumabCycle 3 Day 1/Predose149 micrograms per milliliters (ug/mL)Standard Deviation 61.9
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemSerum Concentration of AtezolizumabCycle 4 Day 1/Predose181 micrograms per milliliters (ug/mL)Standard Deviation 75.5
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemSerum Concentration of AtezolizumabCycle 4 Day 1/30 Min Postdose431 micrograms per milliliters (ug/mL)Standard Deviation 158
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemSerum Concentration of AtezolizumabStudy Drugs Discontinuation Visit122 micrograms per milliliters (ug/mL)Standard Deviation 97.7
Secondary

Time to Deterioration in Global Health Status (GHS) Determined Using the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire Core 30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) Scale Score

Time to deterioration in GHS/health related quality of life (HRQoL) was defined as the time from randomization to first observed ≥ 10-point decrease in EORTC QLQ-C30 linearly transformed GHS/HRQoL scale score that is sustained for two consecutive assessments or followed by death while the participant is on treatment. EORTC QLQ-C30 consists of 30 questions that assess five aspects of participant functioning (physical, emotional, role, cognitive, and social), three symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain), GHS/QoL, and six single items (dyspnea, insomnia, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties). The GHS/QoL are scored on a 7-point scale (1=Very Poor to 7=Excellent). The obtained scores are linearly transformed to a score range of 0-100, where higher scores indicate a higher response level and better QoL.

Time frame: Baseline up to PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 33 months)

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants, whether or not study treatment was received.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemTime to Deterioration in Global Health Status (GHS) Determined Using the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire Core 30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) Scale ScoreNA months
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemTime to Deterioration in Global Health Status (GHS) Determined Using the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire Core 30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) Scale Score14.4 months
Secondary

Time to Deterioration in Physical Functioning (PF) Determined Using EORTC QLQ-C30 Scale Score

Time to deterioration in PF = time from randomization to first observed ≥ 10-point decrease in EORTC QLQ-C30 linearly transformed PF scale score that is sustained for two consecutive assessments or followed by death while the participant is on treatment. EORTC QLQ-C30 consists of 30 questions that assess 5 aspects of participant functioning (physical, emotional, role, cognitive, and social), three symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain), GHS/QoL, and six single items (dyspnea, insomnia, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties). PF scale has 5 questions about participant's PF and daily activities (strenuous activities, long walks, short walks, bed/chair rest & needing help with eating, dressing, washing themselves, or using the toilet). PF are scored on a 4-point scale (1=Not at All to 4=Very Much). The obtained scores are linearly transformed to a score range of 0-100, where higher scores indicate a higher response level, functioning/support.

Time frame: Baseline up to PD or death due to any cause, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 33 months)

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants, whether or not study treatment was received.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Pbo + Cobi + VemTime to Deterioration in Physical Functioning (PF) Determined Using EORTC QLQ-C30 Scale Score22.4 months
Arm B: Atezo + Cobi + VemTime to Deterioration in Physical Functioning (PF) Determined Using EORTC QLQ-C30 Scale Score17.5 months

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 27, 2026