Skip to content

Durvalumab (MEDI4736) With or Without SBRT in Clinical Stage I, II and IIIA Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

A Randomized Phase 2 Trial of Durvalumab (MEDI4736) With or Without SBRT in Clinical Stage I, II, and IIIA Non-small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02904954
Enrollment
60
Registered
2016-09-19
Start date
2016-12-02
Completion date
2022-10-04
Last updated
2023-10-11

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

Keywords

Lung neoplasms, Bronchial Neoplasms, Carcinoma, bronchogenic, Neoplasms, Neoplasms by site, Respiratory Tract Diseases, Respiratory Tract Neoplasms, Thoracic Neoplasms

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to find out the effectiveness of the drug durvalumab (MEDI4736) with or without stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) as treatment for stage I (tumors \> 2cm), II, and IIIA non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) prior to surgery and one year following surgery.

Detailed description

This is a randomized open label phase II trial of preoperative anti-PD-L1 antibody durvalumab with or without concurrent non-ablative radiation followed by surgical resection and postoperative monthly maintenance durvalumab for twelve months, following standard of care postoperative therapy.

Interventions

DRUGDurvalumab

Intravenously

OTHERDurvalumab plus SBRT

Intravenously plus radiotherapy

Sponsors

AstraZeneca
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Patient has histologically or cytologically proven clinical stages I (tumors \> 2 cm), II, and IIIA NSCLC and is considered eligible for surgical resection with curative intent. Patients with 2 primary non-small cell lung cancers are allowed. 2. Measureable disease, as defined by RECIST v1.1. 3. Written informed consent and HIPAA obtained from the subject prior to performing any protocol-related procedures. 4. Age \> 18 years at time of study entry 5. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or 1. 6. Adequate normal organ and marrow function as defined below: * Haemoglobin ≥ 9.0 g/dL * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 1.5 x 109/L (\> 1500 per mm3) * Platelet count ≥ 100 x 109/L (\>100,000 per mm3) * Serum bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN). This will not apply to subjects with confirmed Gilbert's syndrome (persistent or recurrent hyperbilirubinemia that is predominantly unconjugated in the absence of hemolysis or hepatic pathology), who will be allowed only in consultation with their physician. * AST (SGOT)/ALT (SGPT), and alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN). * Serum creatinine CL\>40 mL/min by the Cockcroft-Gault formula (Cockcroft and Gault 1976) or by 24-hour urine collection for determination of creatinine clearance: 7. Evidence of post-menopausal status or negative urinary or serum pregnancy test for female pre-menopausal patients. Women will be considered post-menopausal if they have been amenorrheic for 12 months without an alternative medical cause. The following age-specific requirements apply: Women \<50 years of age would be considered post-menopausal if they have been amenorrheic for 12 months or more following cessation of exogenous hormonal treatments and if they have luteinizing hormone and follicle-stimulating hormone levels in the post-menopausal range for the institution or underwent surgical sterilization (bilateral oophorectomy or hysterectomy). Women ≥50 years of age would be considered post-menopausal if they have been amenorrheic exogenous hormonal treatments, had radiation-induced menopause with last menses \>1 year ago, had chemotherapy-induced menopause with last menses \>1 year ago, or underwent surgical sterilization (bilateral oophorectomy, bilateral salpingectomy or hysterectomy). 8. Subject is willing and able to comply with the protocol for the duration of the study including undergoing treatment and scheduled visits and examinations including follow up. 9. No prior therapy for their lung cancer.

Exclusion criteria

Subjects should not enter the study if any of the following

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Subjects With Major Pathological Response (MPR)Durvalumab start date to surgical resection, up to 10 weeksMPR is defined as ≤10% residual viable tumor in the resected specimen.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Kaplan-Meier Disease-Free Survival Proportion at 2 YearsFrom date of Durvalumab start date until the date of first documented progression or date of death from any cause, whichever came first, assessed every 6 months for 2 years.Disease recurrence or death from any cause assessed using history, physical examination and CT scanning, histologically or cytologically confirmed whenever possible.
Objective Clinical Response RateTreatment day 1 up to weeks 6-7Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by PET/CT scan: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD), \>=20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions; Stable Disease (SD), neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events as Assessed by CTCAE v. 4.0Up to 72 weeksAdverse events ≥G3 in both arms with and without possible or probable attribution to study drug and graded according to CTCAE v. 4.0

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

Of 64 enrolled participants, 60 met inclusion criteria and were randomized to treatment.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm 1 (Durvalumab Monotherapy)
Durvalumab (MEDI4736) via IV infusion administered pre-operatively every 3 weeks for 2 cycles followed by surgical resection. Durvalumab monotherapy will be given for 12 months post-operatively. Durvalumab: Intravenously
30
Arm 2 (Durvalumab Plus SBRT)
Durvalumab (MEDI4736) via IV infusion administered pre-operatively every 3 weeks for 2 cycles plus radiotherapy delivered in 3 daily fractions starting concurrently with the first cycle of durvalumab (MEDI4736) followed by surgical resection. Durvalumab monotherapy will be given for 12 months post-operatively. Durvalumab: Intravenously Durvalumab plus SBRT: Intravenously
30
Total60

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Adjuvant DurvalumabAdverse Event26
Adjuvant DurvalumabDeath01
Adjuvant DurvalumabParticipant wishes127
Adjuvant DurvalumabPhysician Decision21
Adjuvant DurvalumabProstate cancer10
Adjuvant DurvalumabRecurrence20
Adjuvant DurvalumabSlow recovery after chemotherapy10
Neoadjuvant (Preoperative) to SurgeryDeath11
Neoadjuvant (Preoperative) to SurgeryDisease progression23
Neoadjuvant (Preoperative) to SurgeryWithdrawal by Subject10

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm 1 (Durvalumab Monotherapy)TotalArm 2 (Durvalumab Plus SBRT)
Age, Continuous70.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.5
70.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.5
69.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.4
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants6 Participants6 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
30 Participants54 Participants24 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants5 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
3 Participants7 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
25 Participants48 Participants23 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
30 participants60 participants30 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
14 Participants29 Participants15 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
16 Participants31 Participants15 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
9 / 3010 / 30
other
Total, other adverse events
29 / 3030 / 30
serious
Total, serious adverse events
12 / 3015 / 30

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Subjects With Major Pathological Response (MPR)

MPR is defined as ≤10% residual viable tumor in the resected specimen.

Time frame: Durvalumab start date to surgical resection, up to 10 weeks

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm 1 (Durvalumab Monotherapy)Number of Subjects With Major Pathological Response (MPR)2 Participants
Arm 2 (Durvalumab Plus SBRT)Number of Subjects With Major Pathological Response (MPR)16 Participants
Comparison: Fisher's exact test performed to compare the MPR proportion between the two treatment arms. Null hypothesis is that there is no difference in the MPR proportion between the two arms.p-value: 0.000195% CI: [26.7, 66.6]Fisher Exact
Secondary

Kaplan-Meier Disease-Free Survival Proportion at 2 Years

Disease recurrence or death from any cause assessed using history, physical examination and CT scanning, histologically or cytologically confirmed whenever possible.

Time frame: From date of Durvalumab start date until the date of first documented progression or date of death from any cause, whichever came first, assessed every 6 months for 2 years.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm 1 (Durvalumab Monotherapy)Kaplan-Meier Disease-Free Survival Proportion at 2 Years0.67 Proportion of subjects
Arm 2 (Durvalumab Plus SBRT)Kaplan-Meier Disease-Free Survival Proportion at 2 Years0.80 Proportion of subjects
Comparison: Kaplan-Meier survival analysis comparing the two arms.p-value: 0.89Log Rank
Secondary

Objective Clinical Response Rate

Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by PET/CT scan: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD), \>=20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions; Stable Disease (SD), neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD.

Time frame: Treatment day 1 up to weeks 6-7

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm 1 (Durvalumab Monotherapy)Objective Clinical Response RatePseudoprogression2 Participants
Arm 1 (Durvalumab Monotherapy)Objective Clinical Response RateComplete Response0 Participants
Arm 1 (Durvalumab Monotherapy)Objective Clinical Response RatePartial Response1 Participants
Arm 1 (Durvalumab Monotherapy)Objective Clinical Response RateStable Disease24 Participants
Arm 1 (Durvalumab Monotherapy)Objective Clinical Response RateProgressive Disease3 Participants
Arm 2 (Durvalumab Plus SBRT)Objective Clinical Response RateProgressive Disease1 Participants
Arm 2 (Durvalumab Plus SBRT)Objective Clinical Response RatePartial Response14 Participants
Arm 2 (Durvalumab Plus SBRT)Objective Clinical Response RateComplete Response0 Participants
Arm 2 (Durvalumab Plus SBRT)Objective Clinical Response RateStable Disease15 Participants
Arm 2 (Durvalumab Plus SBRT)Objective Clinical Response RatePseudoprogression0 Participants
Comparison: Fisher's exact test performed to compare the objective clinical response proportion between the two treatment arms. Null hypothesis is that there is no difference in the objective clinical response proportion between the two arms. Objective clinical response proportion is defined as the proportion of patients in each arm who have complete response or partial response.p-value: 0.000195% CI: [24.4, 62.3]Fisher Exact
Other Pre-specified

Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events as Assessed by CTCAE v. 4.0

Adverse events ≥G3 in both arms with and without possible or probable attribution to study drug and graded according to CTCAE v. 4.0

Time frame: Up to 72 weeks

Population: All randomized patients

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm 1 (Durvalumab Monotherapy)Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events as Assessed by CTCAE v. 4.012 Participants
Arm 2 (Durvalumab Plus SBRT)Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events as Assessed by CTCAE v. 4.015 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 23, 2026