Skip to content

Heated Mitomycin and Cisplatin During Surgery in Treating Patients With Stomach or Gastroesophageal Cancer

A Phase II Study of Cytoreduction, Gastrectomy, and Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemoperfusion (HIPEC) in Patients With Gastric Adenocarcinoma and Carcinomatosis or Positive Cytology

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02891447
Enrollment
24
Registered
2016-09-07
Start date
2016-09-01
Completion date
2023-04-11
Last updated
2024-09-19

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Gastric Adenocarcinoma, Gastroesophageal Junction Adenocarcinoma, Peritoneal Carcinomatosis

Brief summary

This phase II trial studies how well heated mitomycin and cisplatin during surgery work in treating patients with stomach or gastroesophageal cancer. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as mitomycin and cisplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Heating a chemotherapy solution and infusing it directly into the abdomen may kill more tumor cells.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To assess overall survival from the date of diagnosis in subjects with stage IV gastric or gastroesophageal cancer and positive cytology or carcinomatosis after cytoreduction, gastrectomy, and hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy administration. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To assess the safety of cytoreduction, gastrectomy, and hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy administration for subjects with gastric or gastroesophageal cancer and positive cytology or carcinomatosis. OUTLINE: Patients undergo hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy (HIPEC) comprised of mitomycin and cisplatin given intraperitoneally over 60 minutes during standard of care cytoreduction and gastrectomy. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up within 4 weeks, and then every 6 months for 5 years.

Interventions

DRUGCisplatin

Given intraperitoneally

DRUGHyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy

Undergo HIPEC

DRUGMitomycin

Given intraperitoneally

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status =\< 2 * Cytologic or histologic proof of adenocarcinoma of the stomach or gastroesophageal junction * Leukocytes \>= 3,000/uL * Absolute neutrophil count \>= 1,500/uL * Platelets \>= 60,000/Ul * Serum creatinine =\< 1.5 mg/dL * Distant metastatic disease of peritoneum may be visualized on imaging: * Positive peritoneal cytology * Carcinomatosis on diagnostic laparoscopy or laparotomy * Completion of preoperative systemic chemotherapy and preoperative laparoscopic HIPEC

Exclusion criteria

* Distant metastatic disease not limited to peritoneum: Solid organ metastases (liver, central nervous system, lung) * Infections such as pneumonia or wound infections that would preclude protocol therapy * Women with a positive urine or serum pregnancy test are excluded from this study; women of childbearing potential (defined as those who have not undergone a hysterectomy or who have not been postmenopausal for at least 24 consecutive months) must agree to refrain from breast feeding and practice adequate contraception as specified in the informed consent. Adequate contraception consists of oral contraceptive, implantable contraceptives, injectable contraceptives, a double barrier method, or abstinence * Subjects with unstable angina or New York Heart Association grade II or greater congestive heart failure * Subjects deemed unable to comply with study and/or follow-up procedures * Subjects with a known hypersensitivity to protocol systemic chemotherapy that was life-threatening, required hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, or resulted in persistent or significant disability or incapacity

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall SurvivalDate of diagnosis to date of death or last follow-upOverall survival from the date of diagnosis in subjects with stage IV gastric cancer

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Clavien-Dindo Surgical Complications90-days from surgery90-day surgical complications graded according to an accepted classification scale (Clavien-Dindo) Classification of Surgical Complications Grade I: Any deviation from the normal postoperative course without the need for pharmacological treatment or surgical, endoscopic and radiological interventions. Grade II: Requiring pharmacological treatment with drugs other than such allowed for grade I complications. Grade III: Requiring surgical, endoscopic or radiological intervention Grade IV: Life-threatening complication (including CNS complications)‡ requiring IC/ICU-management Grade V: Death of a patient

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Phase II single arm trial at a single clinic and hospital from September 2016 to March 2019.

Pre-assignment details

Exclusion criteria included stage IV disease outside of the peritoneum

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Single Arm of Cytoreduction, Gastrectomy, and Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy
cytoreduciton, gastrectomy, and intraperitoneal chemotherapy
20
Total20

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicSingle Arm of Cytoreduction, Gastrectomy, and Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
6 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
14 Participants
Age, Continuous58 Years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
20 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
20 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
0 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
20 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
7 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
13 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
14 / 20
other
Total, other adverse events
15 / 20
serious
Total, serious adverse events
7 / 20

Outcome results

Primary

Overall Survival

Overall survival from the date of diagnosis in subjects with stage IV gastric cancer

Time frame: Date of diagnosis to date of death or last follow-up

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Single Arm of Cytoreduction, Gastrectomy, and Intraperitoneal ChemotherapyOverall Survival22.1 Months
Secondary

Clavien-Dindo Surgical Complications

90-day surgical complications graded according to an accepted classification scale (Clavien-Dindo) Classification of Surgical Complications Grade I: Any deviation from the normal postoperative course without the need for pharmacological treatment or surgical, endoscopic and radiological interventions. Grade II: Requiring pharmacological treatment with drugs other than such allowed for grade I complications. Grade III: Requiring surgical, endoscopic or radiological intervention Grade IV: Life-threatening complication (including CNS complications)‡ requiring IC/ICU-management Grade V: Death of a patient

Time frame: 90-days from surgery

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Single Arm of Cytoreduction, Gastrectomy, and Intraperitoneal ChemotherapyClavien-Dindo Surgical ComplicationsGrade I and II15 events
Single Arm of Cytoreduction, Gastrectomy, and Intraperitoneal ChemotherapyClavien-Dindo Surgical ComplicationsGrade III6 events
Single Arm of Cytoreduction, Gastrectomy, and Intraperitoneal ChemotherapyClavien-Dindo Surgical ComplicationsGrade IV1 events

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 27, 2026