Skip to content

Obinutuzumab and Lenalidomide in Treating Patients With Previously Untreated Stage II-IV Grade 1-3a Follicular Lymphoma

A Phase II Study of Obinutuzumab and Lenalidomide in Previously Untreated Subjects With Follicular Lymphoma

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02871219
Enrollment
96
Registered
2016-08-18
Start date
2016-12-06
Completion date
2024-06-26
Last updated
2025-06-08

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Ann Arbor Stage II Grade 1 Follicular Lymphoma, Ann Arbor Stage II Grade 2 Follicular Lymphoma, Ann Arbor Stage III Grade 1 Follicular Lymphoma, Ann Arbor Stage III Grade 2 Follicular Lymphoma, Ann Arbor Stage IV Grade 1 Follicular Lymphoma, Ann Arbor Stage IV Grade 2 Follicular Lymphoma, Bulky Disease, Fatigue, Fever, Grade 3a Follicular Lymphoma, Night Sweats, Splenomegaly, Weight Loss

Brief summary

This phase II trial studies how well obinutuzumab and lenalidomide work in treating patients with previously untreated stage II-IV grade 1-3a follicular lymphoma. Immunotherapy with obinutuzumab, may induce changes in body's immune system and may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as lenalidomide, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Giving obinutuzumab and lenalidomide may work better in treating patients with previously untreated follicular lymphoma.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To evaluate the efficacy of obinutuzumab combined with lenalidomide in patients with previously untreated follicular lymphoma (FL) (determined by progression-free survival \[PFS\] at 2 years). SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To evaluate the safety of obinutuzumab in combination with lenalidomide in patients with untreated follicular lymphoma. II. To evaluate the efficacy of obinutuzumab in combination with lenalidomide in subjects with follicular lymphoma as assessed by complete remission (CR) at 30 months, overall response rate (ORR), duration of response (DOR), event free survival (EFS), and overall survival (OS). EXPLORATORY OBJECTIVES: I. To evaluate prognostic and predictive biomarkers relative to treatment outcomes. OUTLINE: Patients receive obinutuzumab intravenously (IV) over 4-6 hours on days 1, 8, and 15 of course 1 and day 1 of courses 2-6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, and 30. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 30 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also receive lenalidomide orally (PO) on days 1-21. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 6 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with CR or complete remission unconfirmed (CRu) may receive up to an additional 12 courses of lenalidomide. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 6 months for 18 months and then every year for up to 2 years.

Interventions

DRUGLenalidomide

Given PO

BIOLOGICALObinutuzumab

Given IV

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* A diagnosis of follicular lymphoma (grades 1, 2, or 3a), untreated * Able and willing to provide written informed consent and to comply with the study protocol * Bi-dimensionally measurable disease, with at least one mass lesion \>= 2 cm in longest diameter by computed tomography (CT), positron emission tomography (PET)/CT, and/or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) * Must be in need of therapy as evidenced by at least one of the following criteria: * Bulky disease defined as: * A nodal or extranodal (except spleen) mass \> 7 cm in its greater diameter or, * At least 3 nodal or extranodal sites \>= 3 cm in diameter * Presence of at least one B symptom: * Fever (\> 38 C) not due to infectious etiology * Night sweats * Weight loss \> 10% in the past 6 months * Fatigue due to lymphoma * Splenomegaly (\> 13 cm) * Compression syndrome (ureteral, orbital, gastrointestinal) * Any of the following cytopenias due to lymphoma: * Hemoglobin =\< 10 g/dL * Platelets =\< 100 x 10\^9/L * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \< 1.5 x 10\^9/L * Pleural or peritoneal effusion * Lactate dehydrogenase (LDH) \> upper limit of normal (ULN) or beta-2 microglobulin \> ULN * Stage II, III, or IV disease * Eastern cooperative oncology group (ECOG) performance status =\< 2 * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \> 1.0 x 10\^9/L * Platelet count \> 75 x 10\^9/L * Serum aspartate transaminase (AST) or alanine transaminase (ALT) \< 3 x upper limit of normal (ULN) * Creatinine clearance \> 30 ml/min calculated by modified Cockcroft-Gault formula * Bilirubin \< 1.5 x ULN unless bilirubin is due to Gilbert's syndrome, documented liver involvement with lymphoma, or of non-hepatic origin, in which case bilirubin should not exceed 3 g/dL * Women of childbearing potential and men who are sexually active must practice reliable contraceptive measures started at least 4 weeks before study therapy and continued for at least 4 weeks following discontinuation therapy; females of childbearing potential must either completely abstain from heterosexual sexual contact or must use 2 methods of reliable contraception; reliable contraceptive methods include 1 highly effective method (intrauterine device, birth control pills, hormonal patches, injections, vaginal rings, or implants) and at least 1 additional method (condom, diaphragm, or cervical cap) every time they have sex with a male; males who are sexually active must be practicing complete abstinence or agree to a condom during sexual contact with a pregnant female or female of child bearing potential; men must agree to not donate sperm during and after the study * Women of childbearing potential must have a negative serum (beta-human chorionic gonadotropin \[beta-hCG\]) pregnancy test at screening; women who are pregnant or breastfeeding are ineligible for this study; females of reproductive potential must adhere to the scheduled pregnancy testing as required in the Revlimid Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies (REMS) program * All study participants must be registered into the mandatory Revlimid REMS program, and be willing and able to comply with the requirements of the REMS program * Sign (or their legally-acceptable representatives must sign) an informed consent document indicating that they understand the purpose of and procedures required for the study, including biomarkers, and are willing to participate in the study

Exclusion criteria

* Known active central nervous system lymphoma or leptomeningeal disease * Follicular lymphoma with evidence of diffuse large B-cell transformation * Grade 3b follicular lymphoma * Any prior history of other malignancy besides follicular lymphoma, unless the patient has been free of disease for \>= 5 years and felt to be at low risk for recurrence by the treating physician, except: * Adequately treated non-melanoma skin cancer or lentigo maligna without evidence of disease * Adequately treated cervical carcinoma in situ without evidence of disease * Any life-threatening illness, medical condition, or organ system dysfunction which, in the investigator's opinion, could compromise the subject's safety, interfere with the absorption or metabolism of lenalidomide capsules, or put the study outcomes at undue risk * Known history of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), active hepatitis C virus, active hepatitis B virus infection, or any uncontrolled active systemic infection * Patients with inactive hepatitis B infection must adhere to hepatitis B reactivation prophylaxis unless contraindicated * Prior use of lenalidomide * Concurrent systemic immunosuppressant therapy (e.g., cyclosporine, tacrolimus, etc., or chronic administration glucocorticoid equivalent of \> 10 mg/day of prednisone) within 28 days of the first dose of study drug * Known anaphylaxis or IgE-mediated hypersensitivity to murine proteins or to any component of rituximab * Clinically significant cardiovascular disease such as uncontrolled or symptomatic arrhythmias, congestive heart failure, or myocardial infarction within 6 months of screening, or any class 3 (moderate) or class 4 (severe) cardiac disease as defined by the New York Heart Association Functional Classification * Significant screening electrocardiogram (ECG) abnormalities including left bundle branch block, 2nd degree atrioventricular (AV) block, type II AV block, or 3rd degree block * Vaccinated with live, attenuated vaccines within 4 weeks of study entry * Lactating or pregnant subjects * Administration of any investigational agent within 28 days of first dose of study drug * Patients who have undergone major surgery within 14 days * Patients with the following: * Bleeding diathesis or patients in whom prophylactic antithrombotic therapy is otherwise contraindicated * Patients with prior deep vein thrombosis (DVT), pulmonary embolism (PE), or arterial thromboembolism * Patients with ischemic stroke or transient ischemic attack (TIA)

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression Free Survivalapproximately 71 monthsWill be calculated and corresponding 95% confidence interval (CI) will be derived.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Complete Response24 monthsThe number and percentage of subjects will be tabulated.
Overall Response Rate (CR + Partial Response [PR])24 monthsThe number and percentage of subjects will be tabulated.
Duration of ResponseFrom the time by which measurement criteria for CR or PR, whichever is recorded first, is met until death or the first date by which progressive disease is documented, assessed up to 3 yearsKaplan-Meier methodology will be used to estimate event-free curves, median, and 95% CI.
Event Free SurvivalFrom the date of course 1, day 1 to the date of first documented progression, transformation to diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, initiation of new anti-lymphoma treatment, or death, assessed up to 3 yearsKaplan-Meier methodology will be used to estimate event-free curves, median, and 95% CI.
Overall SurvivalFrom the date of course 1, day 1 to the date of death regardless of cause, assessed up to 3 yearsKaplan-Meier methodology will be used to estimate event-free curves, median, and 95% CI.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Single Arm
Patients receive obinutuzumab IV over 4-6 hours on days 1, 8, and 15 of course 1 and day 1 of cycles 2-6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, and 30. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 30 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also receive lenalidomide PO on days 1-21. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 6 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with CR or CRu may receive up to an additional 12 cycles of lenalidomide. Lenalidomide: Given PO Obinutuzumab: Given IV
90
Total90

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyAdverse Event15
Overall StudyDeath3
Overall StudyInfections7
Overall StudyInfusion Related4
Overall StudyProgression3

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicSingle Arm
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
26 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
64 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
9 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
81 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
10 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
70 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
90 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
43 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
47 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
3 / 90
other
Total, other adverse events
87 / 90
serious
Total, serious adverse events
55 / 90

Outcome results

Primary

Progression Free Survival

Will be calculated and corresponding 95% confidence interval (CI) will be derived.

Time frame: approximately 71 months

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Single ArmProgression Free Survival70.7 months
Secondary

Complete Response

The number and percentage of subjects will be tabulated.

Time frame: 24 months

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Single ArmComplete Response96.6 percentage of participants
Secondary

Duration of Response

Kaplan-Meier methodology will be used to estimate event-free curves, median, and 95% CI.

Time frame: From the time by which measurement criteria for CR or PR, whichever is recorded first, is met until death or the first date by which progressive disease is documented, assessed up to 3 years

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Single ArmDuration of ResponseNA percentage of participants
Secondary

Event Free Survival

Kaplan-Meier methodology will be used to estimate event-free curves, median, and 95% CI.

Time frame: From the date of course 1, day 1 to the date of first documented progression, transformation to diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, initiation of new anti-lymphoma treatment, or death, assessed up to 3 years

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Single ArmEvent Free SurvivalNA percentage of participants
Secondary

Overall Response Rate (CR + Partial Response [PR])

The number and percentage of subjects will be tabulated.

Time frame: 24 months

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Single ArmOverall Response Rate (CR + Partial Response [PR])97.70 percentage of participants
Secondary

Overall Survival

Kaplan-Meier methodology will be used to estimate event-free curves, median, and 95% CI.

Time frame: From the date of course 1, day 1 to the date of death regardless of cause, assessed up to 3 years

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Single ArmOverall SurvivalNA percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Jun 26, 2026