Skip to content

Activity & Safety Study of KX2-391 Ointment in Participants With Actinic Keratosis on the Face or Scalp

A Phase 2a, Open-Label, Multicenter, Activity and Safety Study of KX2-391 Ointment 1% in Subjects With Actinic Keratosis on the Face or Scalp

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02838628
Enrollment
168
Registered
2016-07-20
Start date
2016-04-11
Completion date
2017-12-22
Last updated
2021-04-14

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Actinic Keratosis

Brief summary

In this study, the activity, safety, and pharmacokinetics (PK) of KX2-391 Ointment was evaluated in adult participants with a clinical diagnosis of stable, clinically typical actinic keratosis (AK) on the face or scalp.

Detailed description

This study was an open-label, multicenter, activity, safety, tolerability, and PK study of KX2-391 Ointment administered topically to the face or scalp of participants with AK. The study consists of Screening, Treatment, and Follow-up Periods. Eligible participants were received 3 or 5 consecutive days of topical treatment, applied at the study site. Blood samples for PK analysis were collected. Activity (lesion counts) and safety evaluations were performed.

Interventions

DRUG50 mg of KX2-391 Ointment 1%

Dose: 50 mg; Route of administration: Topical

Sponsors

Athenex, Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Almirall, S.A.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Males and females ≥18 years old 2. Clinical diagnosis of stable, clinically typical actinic keratosis 3. A define treatment area on the face or scalp 4. Females must be postmenopausal, surgically sterile or otherwise incapable of pregnancy for at least 1 year; or must be using highly effective contraception for at least 90 days prior to treatment with KX2-391 Ointment 5. Males who have not had a vasectomy must agree to use barrier contraception 6. Participants who in the judgment of the Investigator, are in good general health 7. Willing to avoid excessive sun exposure 8. Able to comprehend and are willing to sign an informed consent form (ICF)

Exclusion criteria

1. Clinically atypical and/or rapidly changing AK lesions on the treatment area 2. Malignancy within 5 years prior to Screening except basal or squamous cell carcinoma not on the treatment area that were treated with curative intent and are without recurrence 3. Used any of retinoids at the most 90 days before Visit 1 glucocorticosteroids and methotrexate or other anti-metabolites within, at the most 28 days, before Visit 1 4. Used any topical therapies, treatments, or surgical or destructive modalities on the treatment area within, at the most 90 days, before Visit 1 5. Currently, or has experienced cutaneous malignancy, sunburn or body art on the treatment area within, at the most 180 days, before Visit 1 6. A history of sensitivity and/or allergy to any of the ingredients in the study medication 7. A skin disease or condition that, in the opinion of the Investigator, might interfere with the study conduct or evaluations, or which exposes the participant to an unacceptable risk by study participation 8. Other significant uncontrolled or unstable medical diseases or conditions that, in the opinion of the Investigator, would expose the participant to unacceptable risk by study participation 9. Females who are pregnant or nursing 10. Participated in an investigational drug trial during which an investigational study medication was administered within 14 days or 5 half-lives of the investigational product, whichever is longer, before dosing.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Complete Response of Actinic KeratosisDay 57Complete response rate was defined as the percentage of participants achieving 100% clearance in the treatment area on the face or scalp at Day 57.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Change From Baseline in Actinic Keratosis Lesion Counts at Day 8, 15, 29 and 57Baseline, Days 8, 15, 29 and 57Overall changes from baseline in actinic keratosis lesion counts has been reported.
Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Baseline up to Day 57 (Treatment and follow-up period)An adverse event (AE) was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant or clinical investigation participant administered an investigational Product (IP). An AE did not necessarily have a causal relationship with the medicinal product. An SAE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose, resulted in death, was life-threatening (i.e, the participant was at immediate risk of death from the AE as it occurred; this did not include an event that, had it occurred in a more severe form or was allowed to continue, might have caused death), required in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital anomaly/birth defect (in the child of a participant who was exposed to the study drug). TEAEs were defined as either those AEs with an onset after dosing or those pre-existing conditions that worsened after dosing. TEAEs included both serious and non-serious TEAEs.
Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Events During Recurrence Follow-up PeriodFrom Day 57 up to 12-months post-Day 57 (Recurrence follow-up period)An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant or clinical investigation participant administered an IP. An AE did not necessarily have a causal relationship with the medicinal product. An SAE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose, resulted in death, was life-threatening (i.e, the participant was at immediate risk of death from the AE as it occurred; this did not include an event that, had it occurred in a more severe form or was allowed to continue, might have caused death), required in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital anomaly/birth defect (in the child of a participant who was exposed to the study drug). TEAEs were defined as either those AEs with an onset after dosing or those pre-existing conditions that worsened after dosing. TEAEs included both serious and non-serious TEAEs.
Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Day 57Maximal post baseline LSR was defined as the highest grade of any LSR reported at any post baseline visits for a participant. Local skin reactions assessment included signs of erythema, flaking/scaling, crusting, swelling, vesiculation/pustulation, and erosion/ulceration on the treatment area. These signs were assessed using a 5-point grading scale ranging from 0 (not present) to 4 (worst), where (grade 0 = absent, grade 1 = slight, grade 2 = moderate, grade 3 = severe, grade 4 = very severe).
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in LaboratoryBaseline to Day 57Laboratory parameters included hematology, blood chemistry and urinalysis. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Vital SignsBaseline up to Day 57Vital signs included measurement of pulse rate, systolic and diastolic blood pressure, respiratory rate, and body temperature. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.
Percentage of Participants With Partial Response of Actinic KeratosisDay 57Partial response rate was defined as the percentage of participants achieving more than or equal to 75% clearance in the treatment area on the face or scalp at Day 57.
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Physical Examination (PE)Baseline up to Day 57A physical examination included weight and height measurements was performed. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.
Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of KX2-391 of KX2-391Pre-dose, 0.5, 1 and 4 hours post-dose on Days 1, 3 (Cohort 2) and 5 (Cohort 1)Cmax was defined as the maximum observed plasma concentration obtained directly from the concentration versus time curve.
Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve From Time 0 to the Last Sampling Time (AUCt) of KX2-391Pre-dose, 0.5, 1 and 4 hours post-dose on Days 1, 3 (Cohort 2) and 5 (Cohort 1)Area under the plasma concentration versus time curve from time zero to the last sampling time (t) at which the concentration is at or above the LLOQ. AUC(0-t) was calculated according to the mixed log-linear trapezoidal rule.
Minimum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmin) of KX2-391Pre-dose, 0.5, 1 and 4 hours post-dose on Days 1, 3 (Cohort 2) and 5 (Cohort 1)Cmin was defined as minimum observed plasma concentration obtained directly from the concentration versus time curve.
Accumulation Ratio (R)Pre-dose, 0.5, 1 and 4 hours post-dose on Days 1, 3 (Cohort 2) and 5 (Cohort 1)Ratio calculated from AUC and Cmax found on the last day of treatment and Day 1.
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Electrocardiograms (ECGs)Baseline up to Day 57ECG parameters included heart rhythm, heart rate, QRS intervals, QT intervals, RR intervals and corrected QT (QTc) intervals. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

This study was conducted at 16 sites in United States from 11 April 2016 to 22 December 2017.

Pre-assignment details

A total of 168 participants (84 each cohort) were enrolled and treated in this study. This study consisted of 2 periods, first was Treatment and Follow-up period (up to Day 57) and second was Recurrence follow-up period (12 months post-Day 57).

Participants by arm

ArmCount
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)
Participants were applied 50 mg of KX2-391 Ointment 1% topically on face or scalp in 25 cm\^2 treatment area, once daily for 5 consecutive days.
84
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)
Participants were applied 50 mg of KX2-391 Ointment 1% topically on face or scalp in 25 cm\^2 treatment area, once daily for 3 consecutive days.
84
Total168

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Recurrence Follow-up PeriodAdverse Event10
Recurrence Follow-up PeriodAK Recurrence1813
Recurrence Follow-up PeriodNon-compliance01
Recurrence Follow-up PeriodOther un-specified11
Recurrence Follow-up PeriodWithdrawal by Subject02

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicKX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Total
Age, Continuous69.0 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.93
67.7 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.32
68.3 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.63
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants9 Participants12 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
81 Participants75 Participants156 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Number of AK Lesions5.8 Lesions
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.41
5.4 Lesions
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.19
5.6 Lesions
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.32
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
84 Participants83 Participants167 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
8 Participants12 Participants20 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
76 Participants72 Participants148 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 840 / 84
other
Total, other adverse events
37 / 8419 / 84
serious
Total, serious adverse events
4 / 843 / 84

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Participants With Complete Response of Actinic Keratosis

Complete response rate was defined as the percentage of participants achieving 100% clearance in the treatment area on the face or scalp at Day 57.

Time frame: Day 57

Population: Evaluable set included group of protocol-eligible participants who received 5 days (Cohort 1) or 3 days (Cohort 2) of study treatment and completed Day 1 and Day 57 AK lesion evaluations.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Percentage of Participants With Complete Response of Actinic Keratosis43 percentage of participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Percentage of Participants With Complete Response of Actinic Keratosis32 percentage of participants
Secondary

Accumulation Ratio (R)

Ratio calculated from AUC and Cmax found on the last day of treatment and Day 1.

Time frame: Pre-dose, 0.5, 1 and 4 hours post-dose on Days 1, 3 (Cohort 2) and 5 (Cohort 1)

Population: PK Analysis Set included the group of participants who received study treatment and completed at least one scheduled post-treatment PK evaluation.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Accumulation Ratio (R)NA ratio
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Accumulation Ratio (R)NA ratio
Secondary

Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve From Time 0 to the Last Sampling Time (AUCt) of KX2-391

Area under the plasma concentration versus time curve from time zero to the last sampling time (t) at which the concentration is at or above the LLOQ. AUC(0-t) was calculated according to the mixed log-linear trapezoidal rule.

Time frame: Pre-dose, 0.5, 1 and 4 hours post-dose on Days 1, 3 (Cohort 2) and 5 (Cohort 1)

Population: PK Analysis Set included the group of participants who received study treatment and completed at least one scheduled post-treatment PK evaluation.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve From Time 0 to the Last Sampling Time (AUCt) of KX2-391NA nanogram*hour per milliliter (ng*h/mL)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve From Time 0 to the Last Sampling Time (AUCt) of KX2-391NA nanogram*hour per milliliter (ng*h/mL)
Secondary

Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of KX2-391 of KX2-391

Cmax was defined as the maximum observed plasma concentration obtained directly from the concentration versus time curve.

Time frame: Pre-dose, 0.5, 1 and 4 hours post-dose on Days 1, 3 (Cohort 2) and 5 (Cohort 1)

Population: Pharmacokinetic (PK) Analysis Set included the group of participants who received study treatment and completed at least one scheduled post-treatment PK evaluation.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of KX2-391 of KX2-391NA nanograms/milliliter (ng/mL)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of KX2-391 of KX2-391NA nanograms/milliliter (ng/mL)
Secondary

Minimum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmin) of KX2-391

Cmin was defined as minimum observed plasma concentration obtained directly from the concentration versus time curve.

Time frame: Pre-dose, 0.5, 1 and 4 hours post-dose on Days 1, 3 (Cohort 2) and 5 (Cohort 1)

Population: PK Analysis Set included the group of participants who received study treatment and completed at least one scheduled post-treatment PK evaluation.

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Minimum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmin) of KX2-391NA ng/mL
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Minimum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmin) of KX2-391NA ng/mL
Secondary

Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Events During Recurrence Follow-up Period

An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant or clinical investigation participant administered an IP. An AE did not necessarily have a causal relationship with the medicinal product. An SAE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose, resulted in death, was life-threatening (i.e, the participant was at immediate risk of death from the AE as it occurred; this did not include an event that, had it occurred in a more severe form or was allowed to continue, might have caused death), required in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital anomaly/birth defect (in the child of a participant who was exposed to the study drug). TEAEs were defined as either those AEs with an onset after dosing or those pre-existing conditions that worsened after dosing. TEAEs included both serious and non-serious TEAEs.

Time frame: From Day 57 up to 12-months post-Day 57 (Recurrence follow-up period)

Population: Recurrence follow-up set included the group of participants who achieved complete clearance at Day 57.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Events During Recurrence Follow-up Period5 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Events During Recurrence Follow-up Period3 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

An adverse event (AE) was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant or clinical investigation participant administered an investigational Product (IP). An AE did not necessarily have a causal relationship with the medicinal product. An SAE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose, resulted in death, was life-threatening (i.e, the participant was at immediate risk of death from the AE as it occurred; this did not include an event that, had it occurred in a more severe form or was allowed to continue, might have caused death), required in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital anomaly/birth defect (in the child of a participant who was exposed to the study drug). TEAEs were defined as either those AEs with an onset after dosing or those pre-existing conditions that worsened after dosing. TEAEs included both serious and non-serious TEAEs.

Time frame: Baseline up to Day 57 (Treatment and follow-up period)

Population: Safety analysis set included group of participants who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)34 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Any Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)18 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Electrocardiograms (ECGs)

ECG parameters included heart rhythm, heart rate, QRS intervals, QT intervals, RR intervals and corrected QT (QTc) intervals. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

Time frame: Baseline up to Day 57

Population: Safety analysis set included group of participants who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Electrocardiograms (ECGs)4 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Electrocardiograms (ECGs)1 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Laboratory

Laboratory parameters included hematology, blood chemistry and urinalysis. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

Time frame: Baseline to Day 57

Population: Safety analysis set included group of participants who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Laboratory0 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Laboratory0 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Physical Examination (PE)

A physical examination included weight and height measurements was performed. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

Time frame: Baseline up to Day 57

Population: Safety analysis set included group of participants who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Physical Examination (PE)0 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Physical Examination (PE)0 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Vital Signs

Vital signs included measurement of pulse rate, systolic and diastolic blood pressure, respiratory rate, and body temperature. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

Time frame: Baseline up to Day 57

Population: Safety analysis set included group of participants who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Vital Signs0 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Vital Signs0 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)

Maximal post baseline LSR was defined as the highest grade of any LSR reported at any post baseline visits for a participant. Local skin reactions assessment included signs of erythema, flaking/scaling, crusting, swelling, vesiculation/pustulation, and erosion/ulceration on the treatment area. These signs were assessed using a 5-point grading scale ranging from 0 (not present) to 4 (worst), where (grade 0 = absent, grade 1 = slight, grade 2 = moderate, grade 3 = severe, grade 4 = very severe).

Time frame: Day 57

Population: Safety analysis set included group of participants who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Flaking/Scaling: LSR Grade 224 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Swelling: LSR Grade 066 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Flaking/Scaling: LSR Grade 316 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Crusting: LSR Grade 049 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Vesiculation/pustulation: LSR Grade 14 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erythema: LSR Grade 09 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Swelling: LSR Grade 116 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Vesiculation/pustulation: LSR Grade 20 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Crusting: LSR Grade 28 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Swelling: LSR Grade 21 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erythema: LSR Grade 122 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Swelling: LSR Grade 31 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Flaking/Scaling: LSR Grade 41 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Swelling: LSR Grade 40 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erythema: LSR Grade 235 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erythema: LSR Grade 317 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Vesiculation/pustulation: LSR Grade 30 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Crusting: LSR Grade 30 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Vesiculation/pustulation: LSR Grade 40 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erythema: LSR Grade 41 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erosion/ulceration: LSR Grade 071 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Vesiculation/pustulation: LSR Grade 080 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erosion/ulceration: LSR Grade 112 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Flaking/Scaling: LSR Grade 023 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erosion/ulceration: LSR Grade 21 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Crusting: LSR Grade 40 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erosion/ulceration: LSR Grade 30 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Flaking/Scaling: LSR Grade 120 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erosion/ulceration: LSR Grade 40 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Crusting: LSR Grade 127 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erosion/ulceration: LSR Grade 40 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Flaking/Scaling: LSR Grade 38 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Flaking/Scaling: LSR Grade 40 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Crusting: LSR Grade 053 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Crusting: LSR Grade 120 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Crusting: LSR Grade 210 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Crusting: LSR Grade 31 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Crusting: LSR Grade 40 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Swelling: LSR Grade 076 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erythema: LSR Grade 015 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erythema: LSR Grade 134 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erythema: LSR Grade 36 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erythema: LSR Grade 40 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Flaking/Scaling: LSR Grade 020 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Flaking/Scaling: LSR Grade 133 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Flaking/Scaling: LSR Grade 223 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Vesiculation/pustulation: LSR Grade 083 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Vesiculation/pustulation: LSR Grade 10 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Swelling: LSR Grade 18 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Swelling: LSR Grade 20 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Swelling: LSR Grade 30 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Swelling: LSR Grade 40 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Vesiculation/pustulation: LSR Grade 21 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Vesiculation/pustulation: LSR Grade 30 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Vesiculation/pustulation: LSR Grade 40 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erosion/ulceration: LSR Grade 078 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erosion/ulceration: LSR Grade 16 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erosion/ulceration: LSR Grade 20 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erosion/ulceration: LSR Grade 30 Participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Number of Participants With Maximal Post Baseline Local Skin Reactions (LSRs)Erythema: LSR Grade 229 Participants
Secondary

Overall Change From Baseline in Actinic Keratosis Lesion Counts at Day 8, 15, 29 and 57

Overall changes from baseline in actinic keratosis lesion counts has been reported.

Time frame: Baseline, Days 8, 15, 29 and 57

Population: Per-protocol set included the group of protocol-eligible participants who received 5 days (Cohort 1) or 3 days (Cohort 2) of study treatment and completed at least one scheduled post treatment AK lesion evaluation.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Overall Change From Baseline in Actinic Keratosis Lesion Counts at Day 8, 15, 29 and 57Day 80.0 lesion count
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Overall Change From Baseline in Actinic Keratosis Lesion Counts at Day 8, 15, 29 and 57Day 15-2.5 lesion count
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Overall Change From Baseline in Actinic Keratosis Lesion Counts at Day 8, 15, 29 and 57Day 29-3.0 lesion count
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Overall Change From Baseline in Actinic Keratosis Lesion Counts at Day 8, 15, 29 and 57Day 57-4.0 lesion count
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Overall Change From Baseline in Actinic Keratosis Lesion Counts at Day 8, 15, 29 and 57Day 57-4.0 lesion count
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Overall Change From Baseline in Actinic Keratosis Lesion Counts at Day 8, 15, 29 and 57Day 8-1.0 lesion count
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Overall Change From Baseline in Actinic Keratosis Lesion Counts at Day 8, 15, 29 and 57Day 29-4.0 lesion count
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Overall Change From Baseline in Actinic Keratosis Lesion Counts at Day 8, 15, 29 and 57Day 15-2.0 lesion count
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Partial Response of Actinic Keratosis

Partial response rate was defined as the percentage of participants achieving more than or equal to 75% clearance in the treatment area on the face or scalp at Day 57.

Time frame: Day 57

Population: Per-protocol set included the group of protocol-eligible participants who received 5 days (Cohort 1) or 3 days (Cohort 2) of study treatment and completed at least one scheduled post treatment AK lesion evaluation.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 5)Percentage of Participants With Partial Response of Actinic Keratosis56 percentage of participants
KX2-391 50 mg (Days 1 to 3)Percentage of Participants With Partial Response of Actinic Keratosis52 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 17, 2026