Skip to content

A Pilot Study of Combined Immune Checkpoint Inhibition in Combination With Ablative Therapies in Subjects With Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC) or Biliary Tract Carcinomas (BTC)

A Pilot Study of Combined Immune Checkpoint Inhibition in Combination With Ablative Therapies in Subjects With Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC) or Biliary Tract Carcinomas (BTC)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02821754
Enrollment
54
Registered
2016-07-04
Start date
2016-07-05
Completion date
2022-12-31
Last updated
2023-03-28

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Bile Duct Cancer, Biliary Tract Neoplasms, Cholangiocarcinoma, Hepatocellular Carcinoma, Liver Cancer

Keywords

PDL1-Mediated Adaptive Resistance, Monoclonal Antibody, CTLA-4, Ablative Therapy, Combination of Tremelimumab and Durvalumab

Brief summary

BACKGROUND: * Various tumor ablative procedures and techniques have been shown to result in immunogenic cell death and induction of a peripheral immune response. The term ablative therapies applies to trans-arterial catheter chemoembolization (TACE), radiofrequency ablation (RFA) and cryoablation (CA). * The underlying hypothesis of this study is that the effect of immune checkpoint inhibition can be enhanced by TACE, CA and RFA in patients with advanced hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) and biliary tract carcinomas (BTC). We have already demonstrated proof of principle as well as safety and feasibility of this approach with anti-cytotoxic T-lymphocyte-associated antigen 4 (CTLA-4) therapy. * Based on the concept of programmed death-ligand 1 (PDL1)-mediated adaptive resistance and the emerging role of programmed cell death protein 1 (PD1) therapy in HCC, we would like to evaluate the combination of tremelimumab and durvalumab (with ablative therapies) in HCC and BTC. Objectives: \- To preliminarily evaluate the 6-month progression free survival (PFS) of combining tremelimumab and durvalumab in patients with advanced HCC (either alone or with cryoablation, TACE or RFA) and in patients with advanced biliary tract carcinoma (BTC) (either alone or with cryoablation or RFA). ELIGIBILITY: * Histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis of HCC or biliary tract carcinoma OR histopathological confirmation of carcinoma in the setting of clinical and radiological characteristics which, together with the pathology, are highly suggestive of a diagnosis of HCC (or biliary tract carcinoma). * Childs-Pugh A/B7 cirrhosis only is allowed. If patient does not have cirrhosis, this limitation does not apply. * Patients must have disease that is not amenable to potentially curative resection, radiofrequency ablation, or liver transplantation. DESIGN: We will evaluate the combination of tremelimumab and durvalumab (with ablative therapies) in cohorts A (HCC; N=40) and B (BTC; N=30). The first N=10 patients in both cohorts will receive tremelimumab and durvalumab only (i.e. No interventional radiologic procedures). * A: Advanced HCC, BCLC# Stage B/C * N= 1st 10 pts: No ablative procedure Cryoablation/RFA/TACE## * Tremelimumab 75mg flat dose every (q)28 days for 4 doses; Durvalumab 1500mg flat dose q28 days until end of study (EOS)### * 40 total: 10 trem+ dur alone; 10 trem+ dur + TACE; 10 trem + dur + RFA; 10 trem + dur + cryo * B: Intra/extra-hepatic cholangiocarcinoma * N= 1st 10 patients (pts): No ablative procedure; RFA/ cryoablation * Tremelimumab 75mg flat dose q28 days for 4 doses; Durvalumab 1500mg flat dose q28 days until EOS### * 30 total: 10 trem+ dur alone; 10 trem + dur + RFA; 10 trem * BCLC = Barcelona clinic liver cancer staging system * For BCLC stage B patients TACE may be repeated as per standard of care * EOS = End of study treatment or meeting any of the off-treatment or off study criteria.

Detailed description

BACKGROUND: * Various tumor ablative procedures and techniques have been shown to result in immunogenic cell death and induction of a peripheral immune response. The term ablative therapies applies to trans-arterial catheter chemoembolization (TACE), radiofrequency ablation (RFA) and cryoablation (CA). * The underlying hypothesis of this study is that the effect of immune checkpoint inhibition can be enhanced by TACE, CA and RFA in patients with advanced hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) and biliary tract carcinomas (BTC). We have already demonstrated proof of principle as well as safety and feasibility of this approach with anti-CTLA4 therapy. * Based on the concept of PDL1-mediated adaptive resistance and the emerging role of PD1 therapy in HCC, we would like to evaluate the combination of tremelimumab and durvalumab (with ablative therapies) in HCC and BTC. Objectives: \- To preliminarily evaluate the 6-month progression free survival (PFS) of combining tremelimumab and durvalumab in patients with advanced HCC (either alone or with cryoablation, TACE or RFA) and in patients with advanced biliary tract carcinoma (BTC) (either alone or with cryoablation or RFA). ELIGIBILITY: * Histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis of HCC or biliary tract carcinoma OR histopathological confirmation of carcinoma in the setting of clinical and radiological characteristics which, together with the pathology, are highly suggestive of a diagnosis of HCC (or biliary tract carcinoma). * Childs-Pugh A/B7 cirrhosis only is allowed. If patient does not have cirrhosis, this limitation does not apply. * Patients must have disease that is not amenable to potentially curative resection, radiofrequency ablation, or liver transplantation. DESIGN: We will evaluate the combination of tremelimumab and durvalumab (with ablative therapies) in cohorts A1 (HCC; Barcelona clinic liver cancer staging system (BCLC) stage C; N=10), A2 (HCC; BCLC stages B/C; N=30) and B (BTC; N=30). The patients in cohort A1 and first 10 patients in cohort B will receive tremelimumab and durvalumab only (i.e. no interventional radiologic procedures).

Interventions

DRUGDurvalumab

Flat dose of 1500 mg every 4 weeks.

DRUGTremelimumab

Flat dose of 75 mg every 4 weeks for up to 4 doses.

PROCEDURETrans-arterial Catheter Chemoembolization (TACE)

TACE will be performed on Day 36 (+/-96hrs).

PROCEDURERadiofrequency Ablation (RFA)

RFA will be performed on Day 36 (+/-96hrs).

PROCEDURECryoablation

Cryoablation will be performed on Day 36 (+/-96hrs).

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Lead SponsorNIH

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* INCLUSION CRITERIA: 1. Patients must have histopathological confirmation of hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) or biliary tract carcinoma (BTC) by the Laboratory of Pathology of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) prior to entering this study OR histopathological confirmation of carcinoma in the setting of clinical and radiological characteristics which, together with the pathology, are highly suggestive of a diagnosis of HCC (or biliary tract carcinoma). Fibrolamellar variant is also allowed. The term BTC includes intra or extrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma, gallbladder cancer or ampullary cancer. 2. Patients must have disease that is not amenable to potentially curative resection, transplantation or ablation. HCC patients must have progressed on, been intolerant to, or refused prior sorafenib therapy. Patients with BTC must have received, been intolerant of or refused at least one line of chemotherapy. 3. Patients must have multiple tumor lesions (at least 2): one for the ablation procedure and another for evaluation located outside the proposal ablation zone. 4. Disease must be technically amenable to transhepatic arterial chemoembolization (TACE) (HCC patients only), radiofrequency ablation (RFA), or cryoablation. Each case will be discussed at gastrointestinal (GI) tumor board with interventional radiology. Patients must have evaluable disease. 5. If liver cirrhosis is present, patient must have a Child-Pugh A/B7 classification 6. Age 18 years or older 7. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0-2 8. Patients must have normal organ and marrow function as defined below: * leukocytes greater than or equal to 3,000/mcL * absolute neutrophil count greater than or equal to 1,000/mcL * platelets greater than or equal to 60,000/mcL * total bilirubin If cirrhosis present: Part of Child Pugh requirement; If no cirrhosis: bilirubin should be less than or equal to 2 x upper limit of normal (ULN) * serum albumin If cirrhosis present: Part of Child Pugh requirement; If no cirrhosis: albumin should be less than or equal to 2.5g/dl * patients are eligible with alanine aminotransferase (ALT) or aspartate aminotransferase (AST) up to 5 x ULN. * creatinine \< 1.5x institution upper limit of normal OR creatinine clearance greater than or equal to 45 mL/min/1.73 m\^2 for patients with creatinine levels above institutional normal 9\. Patients must have recovered from any acute toxicity related to prior therapy, including surgery. Toxicity should be less than or equal to grade 1 or returned to baseline. 10\. Patients must not have other invasive malignancies within the past 5 years (with the exception of non-melanoma skin cancers, non-invasive bladder cancer or localized prostate cancer for whom systemic therapy is not required). 11\. Patient must be able to understand and willing to sign a written informed consent document. 12\. Evidence of post-menopausal status or negative urinary or serum pregnancy test for female pre-menopausal patients. Women will be considered post-menopausal if they have been amenorrheic for 12 months without an alternative medical cause. The following age-specific requirements apply: * Women \<50 years of age would be considered post-menopausal if they have been amenorrheic for 12 months or more following cessation of exogenous hormonal treatments and if they have luteinizing hormone and follicle-stimulating hormone levels in the post-menopausal range for the institution or underwent surgical sterilization (bilateral oophorectomy or hysterectomy). * Women greater than or equal to 50 years of age would be considered post-menopausal if they have been amenorrheic for 12 months or more following cessation of all exogenous hormonal treatments, had radiation-induced menopause with last menses \>1 year ago, had chemotherapy-induced menopause with last menses \>1 year ago, or underwent surgical sterilization (bilateral oophorectomy, bilateral salpingectomy or hysterectomy. Subject is willing and able to comply with the protocol for the duration of the study including undergoing treatment and scheduled visits and examinations including follow up. 13\. Body weight greater than 30kg

Exclusion criteria

1. Patients who have had standard of care chemotherapy, large field radiotherapy, or major surgery must wait 2 weeks prior to entering the study. For recent experimental therapies a 28 day period of time must elapse before treatment. 2. Patients who have undergone prior liver transplantation are ineligible. 3. Patients with known brain metastases will be excluded from this clinical trial because of their poor prognosis and because they often develop progressive neurologic dysfunction that would confound the evaluation of neurologic and other adverse events. 4. Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active systemic infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia (excluding insignificant sinus bradycardia and sinus tachycardia) or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements. 5. History of chronic autoimmune disease (e.g., Addison's disease, multiple sclerosis, Graves disease, Hashimoto's thyroiditis, rheumatoid arthritis, hypophysitis, etc.) with symptomatic disease within the 3 years before randomization. Note: Active vitiligo or a history of vitiligo will not be a basis for exclusion. 6. Dementia or significantly altered mental status that would prohibit the understanding or rendering of Information and Consent and compliance with the requirements of the protocol. 7. Diverticulitis either active or history of within the past 2 years. Note that diverticulosis is permitted. 8. Active or history of inflammatory bowel disease (colitis, Crohn's), irritable bowel disease, celiac disease, or other serious, chronic, gastrointestinal conditions associated with diarrhea. Active or history of systemic lupus erythematosus or Wegener's granulomatosis. Currently receiving immunosuppressive doses of steroids or other immunosuppressive medications (inhaled and topical steroids are permitted) 9. History of sarcoidosis syndrome 10. Patients should not be vaccinated with live attenuated vaccines within 30 days of starting durvalumab or tremelimumab treatment. 11. Has a known history of Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV). HIV-positive patients receiving anti-retroviral therapy are excluded from this study due to the possibility of pharmacokinetic interactions between antiretroviral medications and tremelimumab. HIV positive patients not receiving antiretroviral therapy are excluded due to the possibility that tremelimumab may worsen their condition and the likelihood that the underlying condition may obscure the attribution of adverse events. 12. History of hypersensitivity reaction to human or mouse antibody products. 13. Pregnancy and breast feeding are exclusion factors. The effects of tremelimumab on the developing human fetus are unknown. Enrolled patients must agree to use adequate contraception prior to study entry, the duration of study participation and 6 months after the end of the treatment. Should a woman become pregnant or suspect she is pregnant while she or her partner is participating in this study, she should inform her treating physician immediately. 14. Patients with unhealed surgical wounds for more than 30 days.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
6 Month Progression Free Survival (PFS)At 6 monthsPFS is the median amount of time subject survives without disease progression 6 months after treatment. Progression was assessed by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) and is defined as the appearance of one or more new lesions and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Grades 1-5 Adverse Events Related to Tremelimumab and Durvalumab60 days after last treatment, an average of 44.89 monthsAdverse events were assessed by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE)v4.0. Grade 1 is mild, grade 2 is moderate, grade 3 is severe, grade 4 is life-threatening, and grade 5 is death related to adverse event.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Serious and/or Non-serious Adverse Events Assessed by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE v4.0)Date treatment consent signed to date off study, approximately 62 months and 3 days for the RFA/TACE group, and 27 months and 24 days for the RFA/CA group.Here is the number of participants with serious and/or non-serious adverse events assessed by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE v4.0). A non-serious adverse event is any untoward medical occurrence. A serious adverse event is an adverse event or suspected adverse reaction that results in death, a life-threatening adverse drug experience, hospitalization, disruption of the ability to conduct normal life functions, congenital anomaly/birth defect or important medical events that jeopardize the patient or subject and may require medical or surgical intervention to prevent one of the previous outcomes mentioned.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

Two participants were enrolled but not treated. With the exception of baseline data, no other data were collected for these participants.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Radiofrequency Ablation/Trans-arterial Catheter Chemoembolization (RFA/TACE)
RFA/TACE Tremelimumab (trem) 75mg flat dose every (q)28 days for 4 doses and Durvalumab (dur) 1500mg flat dose q28 days until end of study. 30 total (e.g. Per the study design, this is the number of participants we planned to treat): 10 trem+ dur alone; 10 trem + dur + RFA; 10 trem + dur + cryoablation
36
Radiofrequency Ablation/Cryoablation (RFA/CA)
Tremelimumab (trem) 75mg flat dose every (q)28 days for 4 doses and Durvalumab (dur) 1500mg flat dose q28 days until end of study. 30 total (e.g. Per the study design, this is the number of participants we planned to treat): 10 trem+ dur alone; 10 trem + dur + RFA; 10 trem + dur + cryoablation
16
Enrolled But Not Treated
Enrolled but not treated.
2
Total54

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyDrug not available.001
Overall StudyParticipant declined to participate (before treatment started.)011
Overall StudyParticipant removed for noncompliance100
Overall StudyParticipant's Clinical status200
Overall StudyProcedure not required prior to amendment change13110

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicRadiofrequency Ablation/Trans-arterial Catheter Chemoembolization (RFA/TACE)Radiofrequency Ablation/Cryoablation (RFA/CA)Enrolled But Not TreatedTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
19 Participants4 Participants1 Participants24 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
17 Participants12 Participants1 Participants30 Participants
Age, Continuous64.54 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.57
57.59 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.24
66.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.25
62.54 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.13
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
4 Participants0 Participants0 Participants4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
32 Participants16 Participants2 Participants50 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
6 Participants0 Participants0 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
12 Participants0 Participants0 Participants12 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
15 Participants16 Participants2 Participants33 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
36 participants16 participants2 participants54 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
9 Participants6 Participants1 Participants16 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
27 Participants10 Participants1 Participants38 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
26 / 3615 / 16
other
Total, other adverse events
36 / 3616 / 16
serious
Total, serious adverse events
20 / 367 / 16

Outcome results

Primary

6 Month Progression Free Survival (PFS)

PFS is the median amount of time subject survives without disease progression 6 months after treatment. Progression was assessed by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) and is defined as the appearance of one or more new lesions and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions.

Time frame: At 6 months

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Radiofrequency Ablation/Trans-arterial Catheter Chemoembolization (RFA/TACE)6 Month Progression Free Survival (PFS)2.8 Months
Radiofrequency Ablation/Cryoablation (RFA/CA)6 Month Progression Free Survival (PFS)NA Months
Secondary

Number of Grades 1-5 Adverse Events Related to Tremelimumab and Durvalumab

Adverse events were assessed by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE)v4.0. Grade 1 is mild, grade 2 is moderate, grade 3 is severe, grade 4 is life-threatening, and grade 5 is death related to adverse event.

Time frame: 60 days after last treatment, an average of 44.89 months

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Radiofrequency Ablation/Trans-arterial Catheter Chemoembolization (RFA/TACE)Number of Grades 1-5 Adverse Events Related to Tremelimumab and DurvalumabGrade 50 adverse events
Radiofrequency Ablation/Trans-arterial Catheter Chemoembolization (RFA/TACE)Number of Grades 1-5 Adverse Events Related to Tremelimumab and DurvalumabGrade 1355 adverse events
Radiofrequency Ablation/Trans-arterial Catheter Chemoembolization (RFA/TACE)Number of Grades 1-5 Adverse Events Related to Tremelimumab and DurvalumabGrade 2125 adverse events
Radiofrequency Ablation/Trans-arterial Catheter Chemoembolization (RFA/TACE)Number of Grades 1-5 Adverse Events Related to Tremelimumab and DurvalumabGrade 362 adverse events
Radiofrequency Ablation/Trans-arterial Catheter Chemoembolization (RFA/TACE)Number of Grades 1-5 Adverse Events Related to Tremelimumab and DurvalumabGrade 46 adverse events
Radiofrequency Ablation/Cryoablation (RFA/CA)Number of Grades 1-5 Adverse Events Related to Tremelimumab and DurvalumabGrade 43 adverse events
Radiofrequency Ablation/Cryoablation (RFA/CA)Number of Grades 1-5 Adverse Events Related to Tremelimumab and DurvalumabGrade 350 adverse events
Radiofrequency Ablation/Cryoablation (RFA/CA)Number of Grades 1-5 Adverse Events Related to Tremelimumab and DurvalumabGrade 1233 adverse events
Radiofrequency Ablation/Cryoablation (RFA/CA)Number of Grades 1-5 Adverse Events Related to Tremelimumab and DurvalumabGrade 52 adverse events
Radiofrequency Ablation/Cryoablation (RFA/CA)Number of Grades 1-5 Adverse Events Related to Tremelimumab and DurvalumabGrade 2133 adverse events
Other Pre-specified

Number of Participants With Serious and/or Non-serious Adverse Events Assessed by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE v4.0)

Here is the number of participants with serious and/or non-serious adverse events assessed by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE v4.0). A non-serious adverse event is any untoward medical occurrence. A serious adverse event is an adverse event or suspected adverse reaction that results in death, a life-threatening adverse drug experience, hospitalization, disruption of the ability to conduct normal life functions, congenital anomaly/birth defect or important medical events that jeopardize the patient or subject and may require medical or surgical intervention to prevent one of the previous outcomes mentioned.

Time frame: Date treatment consent signed to date off study, approximately 62 months and 3 days for the RFA/TACE group, and 27 months and 24 days for the RFA/CA group.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Radiofrequency Ablation/Trans-arterial Catheter Chemoembolization (RFA/TACE)Number of Participants With Serious and/or Non-serious Adverse Events Assessed by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE v4.0)36 Participants
Radiofrequency Ablation/Cryoablation (RFA/CA)Number of Participants With Serious and/or Non-serious Adverse Events Assessed by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE v4.0)16 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 26, 2026