Skip to content

Open-label, Single Arm Trial of BI 695502 in Patients With Previously Untreated Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

A Single Arm, Open-label, Multicenter, Multinational, Safety and Efficacy Phase IIIb Trial of BI 695502 Plus mFOLFOX6 in Patients With Previously Untreated Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02776683
Acronym
INVICTAN®-3
Enrollment
123
Registered
2016-05-18
Start date
2016-06-08
Completion date
2018-10-03
Last updated
2019-11-21

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Colorectal Neoplasms

Brief summary

The objective of this trial is to evaluate the safety and tolerability of BI 695502 in combination with leucovorin/5-fluorouracil/oxaliplatin (mFOLFOX6) and as maintenance therapy (when applicable). As well as to evaluate the following efficacy parameters: Progression-free survival (PFS), objective response rate (proportion of patients with complete response \[CR\] plus partial response \[PR\]), overall survival (OS), duration of response (DOR), time to progression (TTP).

Interventions

DRUGAvastin

Sponsors

Boehringer Ingelheim
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Males and females aged \>=18 years (for Japan only: Age \>=20 years at time of signing Informed Consent Form) with histologically confirmed metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC). * Metastatic disease not amenable to surgical curative treatment and eligible to receive therapy with mFOLFOX6 (Leucovorin/5-Fluorouracil/Oxaliplatin) + bevacizumab. * At least one measurable lesion according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1. * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status (PS) of 0 or 1. * Adequate hepatic, renal and bone marrow function. * Further inclusion criteria apply.

Exclusion criteria

* Prior systemic therapy for metastatic disease * Prior therapy with monoclonal antibodies or small molecule inhibitors against Vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) or VEGF receptors, including Avastin® or Avastin® biosimilar * Previous malignancy other than Colorectal cancer (CRC) in the last 5 years except for basal cell cancer of the skin or pre-invasive cancer of the cervix * Spinal cord compression or brain metastases unless asymptomatic, stable and not requiring steroids for at least 6 weeks prior to start of study treatment * Any unresolved toxicity \> Common Toxicity Criteria Grade 1 (except alopecia) from previous anticancer therapy (including radiotherapy) * History or evidence of inherited bleeding diathesis or coagulopathy with the risk of bleeding * A thrombotic or hemorrhagic event \<=6 months prior to screening (includes hemoptysis, Gastrointestinal (GI) bleeding, hematemesis, central nervous system hemorrhage, epistaxis, vaginal bleeding, cerebral infarction, transient ischemic attacks, myocardial infarction, angina, and coronary artery disease) * Further

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint AssessmentFrom baseline up to 18 weeks after the last dose of trial medication prior to the Switch Visit. Maximum duration of up to 32 treatment cycles + safety follow up (up to 82 weeks overall).The primary safety endpoint of the trial was patients with any of the following selected adverse events (AEs): * Infusion reactions (anaphylactic/hypersensitivity/infusion-related reactions), * Thromboembolic events (arterial or venous), * Gastrointestinal perforations, * Hypertension, * Proteinuria, * Pulmonary hemorrhage * All hemorrhages (including pulmonary hemorrhages) * Wound-healing complications/abscess/fistulas * Posterior reversible encephalopathy syndrome * Ovarian failure. All AEs with an onset between start of treatment and end of the residual effect period (REP), a period of 18 weeks after the last dose of trial medication were considered for the primary safety analysis. Confidence interval was calculated using Wilson score method.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Duration of Response (DOR) as Assessed by Central Imaging ReviewTumor scans were performed at baseline then every ~8 weeks up to 34 weeks, then every ~12 weeks thereafter until confirmed disease progression. Analysis performed for the pre-switch period only; maximum duration of up to 32 treatment cycles (64 weeks).DOR was the time from first documented Complete Response (CR) (CR is disappearance of all target lesions) or Partial Response (PR) (PR is at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters (SoD) of target lesions taking as reference the baseline sum diameters) until time of progression as assessed by central imaging review per Response evaluation criteria in solid tumors (RECIST) 1.1. RECIST is a set of published rules that define when tumors in cancer patients improve (respond), stay the same (stabilize) or worsen (progress) during treatment. DOR was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique. Confidence interval was calculated based on the Brookmeyer and Crowley method.
Time to Progression (TTP) as Assessed by Central Imaging ReviewTumor scans were performed at baseline then every ~8 weeks up to 34 weeks, then every ~12 weeks thereafter until confirmed disease progression. Analysis performed for the pre-switch period only; maximum duration of up to 32 treatment cycles (64 weeks).TTP was defined as the time from first administration of trial medication to the date of tumor progression as assessed by central imaging review per RECIST 1.1 (RECIST is a set of published rules that define when tumors in cancer patients improve (respond), stay the same (stabilize) or worsen (progress) during treatment.). TTP was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique. Confidence interval was calculated based on the Brookmeyer and Crowley method.
Objective Response (OR) Rate as Assessed by Central Imaging ReviewTumor scans were performed at baseline then every ~8 weeks up to 34 weeks, then every ~12 weeks thereafter until confirmed disease progression. Analysis performed for the pre-switch period only; maximum duration of up to 32 treatment cycles (64 weeks).OR rate was defined as the percentage of patients who achieved at least one visit response of CR (CR is disappearance of all target lesions) or PR (PR is at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters (SoD) of target lesions taking as reference the baseline sum diameters) after the start of treatment. The response criteria evaluation was carried out according to RECIST 1.1. RECIST is a set of published rules that define when tumors in cancer patients improve (respond), stay the same (stabilize) or worsen (progress) during treatment. Confidence interval was calculated using Wilson score method. The definition for OR (CR/PR) extends until disease progression/ death/ unacceptable toxicity/ end of the trial, whichever occurred earlier. However for Duration of response this censoring does not apply. Hence the apparent discrepancy. OR = CR + PR.
Overall Survival (OS) TimeFrom date of first dose of trial medication until last date of trial medication + 18 weeks (REP), up to a maximum of 32 treatment cycles + safety follow up (up to 82 weeks overall).OS was defined as the time from first administration of trial medication until death from any cause. OS was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique. Confidence interval was calculated based on the Brookmeyer and Crowley method.
Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Time as Assessed by Central Imaging ReviewTumor scans were performed at baseline then every ~8 weeks up to 34 weeks, then every ~12 weeks thereafter until confirmed disease progression. Analysis performed for the pre-switch period only; maximum duration of up to 32 treatment cycles (64 weeks).PFS was defined as the time from first administration of trial medication until disease progression as assessed by central imaging review or death due to any cause. Disease progression was assessed according to RECIST 1.1. RECIST is a set of published rules that define when tumors in cancer patients improve (respond), stay the same (stabilize) or worsen (progress) during treatment. Progression was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also have demonstrated an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. PFS was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique. Confidence interval was calculated based on the Brookmeyer and Crowley method.

Countries

Japan, Spain, Ukraine, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

This was Phase IIIb, open-label, multicenter, multinational, single-arm trial. Patients with previously untreated metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC) were enrolled. From 21December2017, Sponsor recommended that patients should be switched from BI 695502 to the reference product Avastin® as soon as it was available at the respective clinical site.

Pre-assignment details

All patients were screened for eligibility to participate in the trial. Patients attended specialist sites which would then ensure that they (the patient) met all strictly implemented inclusion/exclusion criteria. Patients were not to be randomised to trial treatment if any one of the specific entry criteria were violated.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
BI 695502
All patients were to receive BI 695502 (5 milligrams per kilogram \[mg/kg\]) solution for intravenous (i.v.) infusion in combination with mFOLFOX6 chemotherapy every 2 weeks. Patients were to continue to receive treatment during the pre-switch period until disease progression, death, unacceptable toxicity, or the end of the trial, whichever occurred earlier. Based on patient tolerability, at least 8 cycles of mFOLFOX6 were to be given to all patients.
123
Total123

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Post-switch PeriodAdverse Event03
Post-switch PeriodOther than listed015
Post-switch PeriodPhysician Decision03
Post-switch PeriodProgressive disease020
Post-switch PeriodWithdrawal by Subject02
Pre-switch PeriodAdverse Event210
Pre-switch PeriodOther than listed30
Pre-switch PeriodPhysician Decision70
Pre-switch PeriodProgressive disease390
Pre-switch PeriodProtocol Violation10
Pre-switch PeriodWithdrawal by Subject90

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicBI 695502
Age, Continuous58.0 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.87
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
15 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
106 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
33 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
82 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
55 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
68 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
41 / 123
other
Total, other adverse events
118 / 123
serious
Total, serious adverse events
33 / 123

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint Assessment

The primary safety endpoint of the trial was patients with any of the following selected adverse events (AEs): * Infusion reactions (anaphylactic/hypersensitivity/infusion-related reactions), * Thromboembolic events (arterial or venous), * Gastrointestinal perforations, * Hypertension, * Proteinuria, * Pulmonary hemorrhage * All hemorrhages (including pulmonary hemorrhages) * Wound-healing complications/abscess/fistulas * Posterior reversible encephalopathy syndrome * Ovarian failure. All AEs with an onset between start of treatment and end of the residual effect period (REP), a period of 18 weeks after the last dose of trial medication were considered for the primary safety analysis. Confidence interval was calculated using Wilson score method.

Time frame: From baseline up to 18 weeks after the last dose of trial medication prior to the Switch Visit. Maximum duration of up to 32 treatment cycles + safety follow up (up to 82 weeks overall).

Population: Treated set (TS): The TS contained all patients who signed informed consent and who received at least one dose of trial medication.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint AssessmentPatients with any of the selected AEs58.5 Percentage of participants (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint AssessmentInfusion reactions18.7 Percentage of participants (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint AssessmentThromboembolic events12.2 Percentage of participants (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint AssessmentGastrointestinal perforations2.4 Percentage of participants (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint AssessmentHypertension28.5 Percentage of participants (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint AssessmentProteinuria9.8 Percentage of participants (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint AssessmentPulmonary Haemorrhage0.00 Percentage of participants (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint AssessmentHemorrhages22.80 Percentage of participants (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint AssessmentWound-healing complications1.6 Percentage of participants (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint AssessmentReversible Encephalopathy Syndrome0.0 Percentage of participants (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) in the Specified Categories Selected for Primary Endpoint AssessmentOvarian failure0.00 Percentage of participants (%)
Secondary

Duration of Response (DOR) as Assessed by Central Imaging Review

DOR was the time from first documented Complete Response (CR) (CR is disappearance of all target lesions) or Partial Response (PR) (PR is at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters (SoD) of target lesions taking as reference the baseline sum diameters) until time of progression as assessed by central imaging review per Response evaluation criteria in solid tumors (RECIST) 1.1. RECIST is a set of published rules that define when tumors in cancer patients improve (respond), stay the same (stabilize) or worsen (progress) during treatment. DOR was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique. Confidence interval was calculated based on the Brookmeyer and Crowley method.

Time frame: Tumor scans were performed at baseline then every ~8 weeks up to 34 weeks, then every ~12 weeks thereafter until confirmed disease progression. Analysis performed for the pre-switch period only; maximum duration of up to 32 treatment cycles (64 weeks).

Population: TS: The TS contained all patients who signed informed consent and who received at least one dose of trial medication. Only patients with complete or partial objective response were included in the analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
BI 695502Duration of Response (DOR) as Assessed by Central Imaging Review9.1 Months
Secondary

Objective Response (OR) Rate as Assessed by Central Imaging Review

OR rate was defined as the percentage of patients who achieved at least one visit response of CR (CR is disappearance of all target lesions) or PR (PR is at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters (SoD) of target lesions taking as reference the baseline sum diameters) after the start of treatment. The response criteria evaluation was carried out according to RECIST 1.1. RECIST is a set of published rules that define when tumors in cancer patients improve (respond), stay the same (stabilize) or worsen (progress) during treatment. Confidence interval was calculated using Wilson score method. The definition for OR (CR/PR) extends until disease progression/ death/ unacceptable toxicity/ end of the trial, whichever occurred earlier. However for Duration of response this censoring does not apply. Hence the apparent discrepancy. OR = CR + PR.

Time frame: Tumor scans were performed at baseline then every ~8 weeks up to 34 weeks, then every ~12 weeks thereafter until confirmed disease progression. Analysis performed for the pre-switch period only; maximum duration of up to 32 treatment cycles (64 weeks).

Population: TS: The TS contained all patients who signed informed consent and who received at least one dose of trial medication.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BI 695502Objective Response (OR) Rate as Assessed by Central Imaging Review61.0 Percentage of participants
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS) Time

OS was defined as the time from first administration of trial medication until death from any cause. OS was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique. Confidence interval was calculated based on the Brookmeyer and Crowley method.

Time frame: From date of first dose of trial medication until last date of trial medication + 18 weeks (REP), up to a maximum of 32 treatment cycles + safety follow up (up to 82 weeks overall).

Population: TS: The TS contained all patients who signed informed consent and who received at least one dose of trial medication.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
BI 695502Overall Survival (OS) Time19.4 Months
Secondary

Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Time as Assessed by Central Imaging Review

PFS was defined as the time from first administration of trial medication until disease progression as assessed by central imaging review or death due to any cause. Disease progression was assessed according to RECIST 1.1. RECIST is a set of published rules that define when tumors in cancer patients improve (respond), stay the same (stabilize) or worsen (progress) during treatment. Progression was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also have demonstrated an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. PFS was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique. Confidence interval was calculated based on the Brookmeyer and Crowley method.

Time frame: Tumor scans were performed at baseline then every ~8 weeks up to 34 weeks, then every ~12 weeks thereafter until confirmed disease progression. Analysis performed for the pre-switch period only; maximum duration of up to 32 treatment cycles (64 weeks).

Population: TS: The TS contained all patients who signed informed consent and who received at least one dose of trial medication.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
BI 695502Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Time as Assessed by Central Imaging Review10.5 Months
Secondary

Time to Progression (TTP) as Assessed by Central Imaging Review

TTP was defined as the time from first administration of trial medication to the date of tumor progression as assessed by central imaging review per RECIST 1.1 (RECIST is a set of published rules that define when tumors in cancer patients improve (respond), stay the same (stabilize) or worsen (progress) during treatment.). TTP was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique. Confidence interval was calculated based on the Brookmeyer and Crowley method.

Time frame: Tumor scans were performed at baseline then every ~8 weeks up to 34 weeks, then every ~12 weeks thereafter until confirmed disease progression. Analysis performed for the pre-switch period only; maximum duration of up to 32 treatment cycles (64 weeks).

Population: TS: The TS contained all patients who signed informed consent and who received at least one dose of trial medication.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
BI 695502Time to Progression (TTP) as Assessed by Central Imaging Review11.1 Months

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 11, 2026