Skip to content

Local Infiltration Analgesia With and Without EXPAREL Following Total Knee Arthroplasty

A Multicenter, Randomized, Double-Blind, Controlled Trial Comparing Local Infiltration Analgesia With EXPAREL to Local Infiltration Analgesia Without EXPAREL to Manage Postsurgical Pain Following Total Knee Arthroplasty

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02713490
Enrollment
140
Registered
2016-03-18
Start date
2016-04-18
Completion date
2017-02-08
Last updated
2020-12-11

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Pain

Brief summary

This is a Phase 4, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, controlled trial in approximately 140 adult subjects undergoing primary unilateral TKA under spinal anesthesia with bupivacaine HCl (10-15 mg).

Detailed description

On Day 0, eligible subjects will be randomized 1:1 to two treatment groups. Subjects in Group 1 will receive local infiltration analgesia (LIA) with EXPAREL 266 mg in 20 mL admixed with bupivacaine hydrochloride (HCl) 0.5% in 20 mL and expanded in volume with 80 mL normal saline (total volume of 120 mL). Subjects in Group 2 will receive LIA with bupivacaine HCl 0.5% in 20 mL expanded in volume with 100 mL normal saline (total volume of 120 mL). Investigators will use their usual surgical technique to perform the TKA. Study drug will be administered using six 20 cc syringes with 22-gauge needles prior to wound closure. Each stick should deliver approximately 1-1.5 cc to the intended area. The tissue should visibly expand with minimal leakage. Study drug should be injected in the prescribed locations based on the areas of highest nerve density. Infiltration Technique Prior to cementation Syringe #1: Posterior capsule (8-10 sticks medial and 8-10 sticks lateral). Syringe #2: Femur medial and lateral periosteum, posterior periosteum, suprapatellar/quadriceps tendon (20 sticks). Syringe #3: Tibia fat pad (5 sticks); pes anserinus, medial collateral ligament, and gutter (15 sticks). Syringe #4: Circumferential periosteum (15-20 sticks). After cementation Syringe #5: Midline quadriceps tendon (10 sticks); retinaculum, medial gutter, femoral to tibia (10 sticks). Syringe #6: Lateral gutter, femoral to tibial (10 sticks); subcutaneous/closure (10 sticks). In addition to LIA, all study participants will receive a standardized approach for managing postsurgical pain that includes a scheduled multimodal pain regimen including adjunctive analgesics, non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), and rescue analgesics as needed. Postsurgical clinical assessments will include pain intensity scores using a 10-cm visual analog scale (VAS); overall benefit of analgesia score (OBAS) questionnaire; total postsurgical opioid consumption; physical therapy assessment; nurse's satisfaction with overall analgesia; and discharge readiness. Adverse events (AEs) will be recorded from the time the informed consent form is signed through postsurgical Day 29. Postsurgical health economic outcome assessments will include hospital length of stay (LOS), use of skilled nursing facility, outpatient physical therapy use, hospital readmissions, and use of other health services following discharge (phone calls related to postsurgical pain, unscheduled visits related to postsurgical pain, and visits to emergency department) through postsurgical Day 29. A follow-up visit will be scheduled for all subjects on postsurgical Day 14. A follow-up phone call will be made on postsurgical Day 29 to all subjects who received study drug to assess for AEs.

Interventions

DRUGEXPAREL

EXPAREL and bupivacaine HCl

DRUGBupivacaine

Single dose of bupivacaine HCl 0.5%

Sponsors

Pacira Pharmaceuticals, Inc
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
TRIPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
MALE
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Male or female, at least 18 years of age at screening. 2. Scheduled to undergo primary, unilateral, tricompartmental TKA under spinal anesthesia. 3. Primary indication for TKA is degenerative osteoarthritis of the knee. 4. American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) physical status 1, 2, or 3. 5. Female subjects must be surgically sterile; or at least 2 years postmenopausal; or have a monogamous partner who is surgically sterile; or practicing double-barrier contraception; or practicing abstinence (must agree to use double-barrier contraception in the event of sexual activity); or using an insertable, injectable, transdermal, or combination oral contraceptive approved by the FDA for greater than 2 months prior to screening and commit to the use of an acceptable form of birth control for the duration of the study and for 30 days after completion of the study. 6. Able to provide informed consent, adhere to the study visit schedule, and complete all study assessments.

Exclusion criteria

1. Currently pregnant, nursing, or planning to become pregnant during the study or within 1 month after study drug administration. 2. History of previous prior contralateral TKA or open knee surgery on the knee being considered for TKA. Prior arthroscopy is permitted. 3. Planned concurrent surgical procedure (e.g., bilateral TKA). 4. Undergoing unicompartmental TKA or revision TKA. 5. Concurrent painful physical condition that may require analgesic treatment (such as an NSAID or opioid) in the postsurgical period for pain that is not strictly related to the knee surgery and which may confound the postsurgical assessments (e.g., significant pain from other joints including the non-index knee joint, chronic neuropathic pain, concurrent or prior contralateral TKA, concurrent foot surgery). 6. Comorbidity impacting current physical function of Investigator opinion that it may impact postsurgical rehabilitation. 7. Allergy, hypersensitivity, or contraindication to any of the study medications (i.e., bupivacaine, pregabalin, acetaminophen/paracetamol, celecoxib, oxycodone, morphine, hydromorphone, or tranexamic acid). 8. Use of any of the following medications within the times specified before surgery: long-acting opioid medication or NSAIDs (except for low-dose aspirin used for cardioprotection) within 3 days, or any opioid medication within 24 hours. 9. Initiation of treatment with any of the following medications within 1 month of study drug administration or if the medication(s) are being given to control pain: selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs), selective norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors (SNRIs), gabapentin, pregabalin (Lyrica®), or duloxetine (Cymbalta®). If a subject is taking one of these medications for a reason other than pain control, he or she must be on a stable dose for at least 1 month prior to study drug administration. 10. Current use of systemic glucocorticosteroids within 1 month of enrollment in this study. 11. Use of dexmedetomidine HCl (Precedex®) within 3 days of study drug administration. 12. History of coronary or vascular stent placed within the past 3 months (may be extended to 1 year if medically indicated per physician discretion). 13. Have been treated for a deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolism, myocardial infarction, or ischemic stroke within the past 6 months (may be extended to 1 year if medically indicated per physician discretion). 14. Rheumatoid or inflammatory arthritis or disease. 15. Severely impaired renal or hepatic function (e.g., serum creatinine level \>2 mg/dL \[176.8 µmol/L\], blood urea nitrogen level \>50 mg/dL \[17.9 mmol/L\], serum aspartate aminotransferase \[AST\] level \>3 times the upper limit of normal \[ULN\], or serum alanine aminotransferase \[ALT\] level \>3 times the ULN.) 16. Any neurologic or psychiatric disorder that might impact postsurgical pain or interfere with study assessments. 17. Malignancy in the last 2 years, per physician discretion. 18. History of misuse, abuse, or dependence on opioid analgesics, other prescription drugs, illicit drugs, or alcohol. 19. Failure to pass the alcohol breath test or urine drug screen. 20. Body weight \<50 kg (110 pounds) or a body mass index \>40 kg/m2. 21. Previous participation in an EXPAREL study. 22. Administration of an investigational drug within 30 days or 5 elimination half-lives of such investigational drug, whichever is longer, prior to study drug administration, or planned administration of another investigational product or procedure during the subject's participation in this study.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Area Under The Curve (AUC) of Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Pain Intensity Scores From 12 to 48 HoursFrom 12-48 hoursAUC of VAS pain intensity scores from 12 to 48 hours, which represents total pain experienced from 12 to 48 hours. Visual Analog Scale (VAS) is a pain scale. The VAS was presented as a straight 10 cm line, where 0 cm is no pain and 10 cm is the worst pain possible. Patients were asked, How much pain are you experiencing right now? Please place a vertical mark on the line below to indicate the level of pain you are experiencing right now.
Total Postsurgical Opioid Consumption Through 48 Hours0-48 hoursTotal postsurgical opioid consumption (converted to oral morphine equivalents) through 48 hours

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Opioid-free Subjects at 48 Hours48 hours
Time to First Opioid Rescue in the First 48 Hours48 hoursTime to first opioid rescue was estimated from Kaplan-Meier analysis and presented as quartiles (ie, time to rescue for the first 25% / 50% / 75% of subjects within each treatment group).
Overall Benefit of Analgesia Score at 48 Hours48 hoursThe overall benefit of analgesic score (OBAS) comprises seven questions to assess pain intensity, adverse effects, and patients' satisfaction with analgesia (eg, Please rate your current pain at rest on a scale between 0=minimal pain and 4=maximum imaginable pain). Overall scores ranged between 0- 28. OBAS measures patients' benefit from postoperative pain therapy. A lower composite score indicates greater benefit from the therapy.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants were recruited between April 18, 2016 and February 8, 2017 at 16 sites in the United States

Pre-assignment details

A total of 167 patients were screened; there were 27 screen failures, including 2 patients who were randomized in error to the EXPAREL 266 mg + bupivacaine hydrochloride (HCl) group.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
EXPAREL
Local infiltration analgesia with EXPAREL (bupivacaine liposome injectable suspension) 266 mg/20 mL admixed with bupivacaine HCl 0.5% 20 mL and expanded with 80 mL normal saline
70
Bupivacaine
Local infiltration analgesia with bupivacaine HCl 0.5% 20 mL expanded with 100 mL normal saline
69
Total139

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyDid not receive study drug10
Overall StudyMet exclusion criteria01
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject21

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicBupivacaineTotalEXPAREL
Age, Continuous65.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.21
65.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.92
65.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.61
American Association of Anesthesiologists classification
1
2 Participants5 Participants3 Participants
American Association of Anesthesiologists classification
2
40 Participants85 Participants45 Participants
American Association of Anesthesiologists classification
3
27 Participants49 Participants22 Participants
Body mass index31.311 kg/m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.189
31.857 kg/m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.515
32.395 kg/m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.805
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants5 Participants4 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
68 Participants134 Participants66 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Location of surgery
Left
25 Participants56 Participants31 Participants
Location of surgery
Right
44 Participants83 Participants39 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
5 Participants12 Participants7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
2 Participants3 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
61 Participants122 Participants61 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
69 participants139 participants70 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
39 Participants82 Participants43 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
30 Participants57 Participants27 Participants
VAS pain score1.89 cm
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.241
1.90 cm
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.174
1.91 cm
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.12

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 700 / 69
other
Total, other adverse events
45 / 7039 / 69
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 701 / 69

Outcome results

Primary

Area Under The Curve (AUC) of Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Pain Intensity Scores From 12 to 48 Hours

AUC of VAS pain intensity scores from 12 to 48 hours, which represents total pain experienced from 12 to 48 hours. Visual Analog Scale (VAS) is a pain scale. The VAS was presented as a straight 10 cm line, where 0 cm is no pain and 10 cm is the worst pain possible. Patients were asked, How much pain are you experiencing right now? Please place a vertical mark on the line below to indicate the level of pain you are experiencing right now.

Time frame: From 12-48 hours

Population: Efficacy population: all participants who received study drug and underwent the surgery, with analysis based on randomized treatment

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
EXPARELArea Under The Curve (AUC) of Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Pain Intensity Scores From 12 to 48 Hours181.523 cm*hrStandard Error 10.786
BupivacaineArea Under The Curve (AUC) of Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Pain Intensity Scores From 12 to 48 Hours208.407 cm*hrStandard Error 10.814
p-value: 0.038195% CI: [-56.608, 2.841]ANOVA
Primary

Total Postsurgical Opioid Consumption Through 48 Hours

Total postsurgical opioid consumption (converted to oral morphine equivalents) through 48 hours

Time frame: 0-48 hours

Population: Efficacy population: all participants who received study drug and underwent the surgery, with analysis based on randomized treatment

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
EXPARELTotal Postsurgical Opioid Consumption Through 48 Hours16.321 mgStandard Error 6.684
BupivacaineTotal Postsurgical Opioid Consumption Through 48 Hours80.328 mgStandard Error 33.249
p-value: 0.002995% CI: [0.065, 0.631]ANOVA
Secondary

Overall Benefit of Analgesia Score at 48 Hours

The overall benefit of analgesic score (OBAS) comprises seven questions to assess pain intensity, adverse effects, and patients' satisfaction with analgesia (eg, Please rate your current pain at rest on a scale between 0=minimal pain and 4=maximum imaginable pain). Overall scores ranged between 0- 28. OBAS measures patients' benefit from postoperative pain therapy. A lower composite score indicates greater benefit from the therapy.

Time frame: 48 hours

Population: Efficacy population: all participants who received study drug and underwent the surgery, with analysis based on randomized treatment

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
EXPARELOverall Benefit of Analgesia Score at 48 Hours4.1 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 4.08
BupivacaineOverall Benefit of Analgesia Score at 48 Hours4.6 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 4.33
p-value: 0.4285Kruskal-Wallis
Secondary

Percentage of Opioid-free Subjects at 48 Hours

Time frame: 48 hours

Population: Efficacy population: all participants who received study drug and underwent the surgery, with analysis based on randomized treatment

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
EXPARELPercentage of Opioid-free Subjects at 48 Hours7 Participants
BupivacainePercentage of Opioid-free Subjects at 48 Hours0 Participants
p-value: 0.008895% CI: [0.0284, 0.1685]Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel
Secondary

Time to First Opioid Rescue in the First 48 Hours

Time to first opioid rescue was estimated from Kaplan-Meier analysis and presented as quartiles (ie, time to rescue for the first 25% / 50% / 75% of subjects within each treatment group).

Time frame: 48 hours

Population: Efficacy population: all participants who received study drug and underwent the surgery, with analysis based on randomized treatment

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
EXPARELTime to First Opioid Rescue in the First 48 HoursFirst quartile2.617 h
EXPARELTime to First Opioid Rescue in the First 48 HoursMedian quartile4.125 h
EXPARELTime to First Opioid Rescue in the First 48 HoursThird quartile9.667 h
BupivacaineTime to First Opioid Rescue in the First 48 HoursFirst quartile1.00 h
BupivacaineTime to First Opioid Rescue in the First 48 HoursMedian quartile2.917 h
BupivacaineTime to First Opioid Rescue in the First 48 HoursThird quartile7.200 h
Comparison: Analysis applies to the overall distribution of time to first opioid rescue, estimated from Kaplan-Meier analysis.p-value: 0.023Log Rank

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 28, 2026