Skip to content

Study to Assess the Efficacy and Safety of VX-210 in Subjects With Acute Traumatic Cervical Spinal Cord Injury

A Phase 2b/3, Double-blind, Randomized, Placebo Controlled, Multicenter Study to Assess the Efficacy and Safety of VX-210 in Subjects With Acute Traumatic Cervical Spinal Cord Injury

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02669849
Enrollment
70
Registered
2016-02-01
Start date
2016-07-31
Completion date
2018-11-30
Last updated
2020-01-22

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Cervical Spinal Cord Injury

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to determine the efficacy and safety of VX-210 in subjects with Acute Traumatic Cervical Spinal Cord Injury. Secondary objectives include the specific evaluation of the effects of VX-210 on neurological recovery and daily function after spinal cord injury.

Interventions

DRUGVX-210
DRUGPlacebo

Sponsors

Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
14 Years to 75 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Acute traumatic cervical SCI, motor level of C4, C5, C6, or C7 on each side: * Screening UEMS score must be ≤16 points on each side. * AIS A subjects with a C4 motor level on both sides must have at least 1 point of motor activity between C5 and T1 on at least 1 side. * AIS B subjects with a C4 motor level on both sides must have at least 1 point of motor activity between C5 and C7 on at least 1 side. * American Spinal Injury Association Impairment Scale (AIS) grade A or AIS grade B. * Scheduled and planned to undergo a spinal decompression/stabilization surgery that commences within 72 hours after the initial injury. * Computed tomography (CT) scan or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) is consistent with the subject's neurological deficit.

Exclusion criteria

* Participation in any other clinical study for acute SCI without approval by the sponsor. * Inability to undergo decompression/stabilization surgery that commences within 72 hours after injury. * One or more upper extremity muscle groups untestable during screening ISNCSCI examination. * Acute SCI from gunshot or penetrating/stab wound; non-traumatic SCI (e.g., transverse myelitis, acute disc herniation); brachial plexus injury; complete spinal cord transection; or multifocal SCI. * Females who are breastfeeding or have a positive serum pregnancy test. * Body mass index (BMI) of ≥40 kg/m\^2 at screening. * History of an adverse reaction to a fibrin sealant or its components. * Unconsciousness or other mental impairment that precludes reliable International Standards for the Neurological Classification of Spinal Cord Injury (ISNCSCI) examination. * Known immunodeficiency, including human immunodeficiency virus, or use of immunosuppressive or cancer chemotherapeutic drugs. * Any significant medical or psychiatric comorbidities that would significantly increase the risk of study enrollment and/or significantly interfere with study outcomes or assessments, in the judgment of the investigator. Other protocol defined Inclusion/

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Upper Extremity Motor Score (UEMS)From baseline at 6 months post-treatmentUEMS focuses selectively on the hand and arm control most relevant to individuals with a cervical spinal cord injury. UEMS ranges from 0 to 50, where a higher score indicates a better movement of hand and arm.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Capabilities of Upper Extremity Test (CUE-T) ScoreAt 6 months post-treatmentCUE-T measures a participant's ability to perform specific functional movements/tasks with the arms and hands (for example: grasping a pencil, pushing or lifting a weight). CUE-T score ranges from 0-128, where a higher score indicates an improvement in participant's ability.
Graded Redefined Assessment of Strength, Sensibility and Prehension (GRASSP) Quantitative Prehension ScoreAt 6 months post-treatmentGRASSP measures participant's ability to perform specific functional tasks with the arms, hands, and fingers. GRASSP quantitative prehension score ranges from 0-60, where a higher score indicates a better performance.
Percentage of American Spinal Injury Association Impairment Scale (AIS) Grade RespondersAt 6 months post-treatmentAIS ranks impairment according to body-wide motor/sensory results: Grade A: Complete (no sensory or motor function is preserved in the sacral segments S4 to 5); Grade B: Sensory Incomplete (sensory but not motor function is preserved below the neurological level and includes the sacral segments S4 to 5); Grade C: Motor Incomplete (motor function is preserved at the most caudal sacral segments); Grade D: Motor Incomplete (motor incomplete status as defined above, with at least half or more of key muscle functions below the single neurological level of injury having a muscle grade \>=3; Grade E: Normal (sensation and motor function as tested are graded as normal in all segments). An AIS responder was defined as a subject with improvement by ≥2 AIS grades (i.e., baseline AIS Grade A changed to Grade C, D, or E; baseline AIS Grade B changed to D or E at 6 months after treatment).
Spinal Cord Independence Measure (SCIM) III Self-Care SubscoreAt 6 months post-treatmentSCIM self-care subscore measures self-care abilities (feeding, dressing, grooming, bathing), respiration and sphincter management and mobility. The score ranges from 0-20, where a higher score represents a better outcome.
Time to Reach Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of VX-210up to 53 hours post-treatment
Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of VX-210up to 53 hours post-treatment
Area Under Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of VX-210up to 53 hours post-treatment
Percentage of Motor Level RespondersAt 6 months post-treatmentThe motor level score for the right or left side assesses contraction strength of 10 key muscles in the upper and lower extremities on each side of the body; each muscle receives a score from 0 (total paralysis) to 5 (\[normal\] active movement). A motor level responder was defined as a subject with improvement by ≥2 motor levels on either side of the body (i.e., baseline level C4 changed to C6, C7, C8 on the left; or baseline level C5 changed to C7, C8 on the right).

Countries

Canada, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants were randomized to receive a single 9-mg dose of VX-210 or a placebo (buffer solution). A single 3-mg dose of VX-210 in fibrin sealant was initially included but was subsequently removed during the study through a protocol amendment. The 3-mg arm was not analyzed for primary and secondary efficacy and pharmacokinetic analysis.

Pre-assignment details

A total of 70 participants were randomized, out of which 67 participants received the study drug.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Placebo
Participants who received placebo matched to VX-210 as a single dose in fibrin sealant topically to the dural surface of the spinal cord within 72 hours after the initial injury.
29
VX-210 3 mg
Participants who received VX-210 3 mg as a single dose in fibrin sealant topically to the dural surface of the spinal cord within 72 hours after the initial injury.
6
VX-210 9 mg
Participants who received VX-210 9 mg as a single dose in fibrin sealant topically to the dural surface of the spinal cord within 72 hours after the initial injury.
32
Total67

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyDeath112
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up103
Overall StudyOther002
Overall StudyStudy terminated by sponsor16114
Overall StudyWithdrawal of Consent (not due to AE)003

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPlaceboTotalVX-210 9 mgVX-210 3 mg
Age, Continuous43.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 17.4
43.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 17.8
43.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 17.3
39.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 24.4
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants3 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
28 Participants64 Participants31 Participants5 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants3 Participants2 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants5 Participants3 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
6 Participants11 Participants5 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants5 Participants1 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
19 Participants43 Participants21 Participants3 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
8 Participants16 Participants6 Participants2 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
21 Participants51 Participants26 Participants4 Participants
Upper Extremity Motor Score (UEMS)13.00 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.96
13.24 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.43
14.03 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.33
10.17 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.59

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 291 / 62 / 32
other
Total, other adverse events
28 / 296 / 632 / 32
serious
Total, serious adverse events
18 / 296 / 616 / 32

Outcome results

Primary

Change in Upper Extremity Motor Score (UEMS)

UEMS focuses selectively on the hand and arm control most relevant to individuals with a cervical spinal cord injury. UEMS ranges from 0 to 50, where a higher score indicates a better movement of hand and arm.

Time frame: From baseline at 6 months post-treatment

Population: The Overall Number of Participants Analyzed included all randomized subjects who received study drug. As per the amended protocol, the 3 mg arm was no longer planned to be assessed for any primary or secondary outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboChange in Upper Extremity Motor Score (UEMS)8.90 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 9.48
VX-210 9 mgChange in Upper Extremity Motor Score (UEMS)8.69 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 7.35
p-value: 0.751995% CI: [-5.08, 3.69]Mixed-effects model for repeated measure
Secondary

Area Under Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of VX-210

Time frame: up to 53 hours post-treatment

Population: Pharmacokinetic analysis set included all participants for which PK data was collected. As per the amended protocol, the 3 mg arm was no longer planned to be assessed for any primary or secondary outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboArea Under Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of VX-21044.683 h*ng/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 284.95
Secondary

Capabilities of Upper Extremity Test (CUE-T) Score

CUE-T measures a participant's ability to perform specific functional movements/tasks with the arms and hands (for example: grasping a pencil, pushing or lifting a weight). CUE-T score ranges from 0-128, where a higher score indicates an improvement in participant's ability.

Time frame: At 6 months post-treatment

Population: The Overall Number of Participants Analyzed included all randomized subjects who received study drug. As per the amended protocol, the 3 mg arm was no longer planned to be assessed for any primary or secondary outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboCapabilities of Upper Extremity Test (CUE-T) Score39.6 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 38.4
VX-210 9 mgCapabilities of Upper Extremity Test (CUE-T) Score42.8 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 41.1
Secondary

Graded Redefined Assessment of Strength, Sensibility and Prehension (GRASSP) Quantitative Prehension Score

GRASSP measures participant's ability to perform specific functional tasks with the arms, hands, and fingers. GRASSP quantitative prehension score ranges from 0-60, where a higher score indicates a better performance.

Time frame: At 6 months post-treatment

Population: The Overall Number of Participants Analyzed included all randomized subjects who received study drug. As per the amended protocol, the 3 mg arm was no longer planned to be assessed for any primary or secondary outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboGraded Redefined Assessment of Strength, Sensibility and Prehension (GRASSP) Quantitative Prehension Score18.9 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 19.4
VX-210 9 mgGraded Redefined Assessment of Strength, Sensibility and Prehension (GRASSP) Quantitative Prehension Score20.1 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 21.6
Secondary

Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of VX-210

Time frame: up to 53 hours post-treatment

Population: Pharmacokinetic analysis set included all participants for which PK data was collected. As per the amended protocol, the 3 mg arm was no longer planned to be assessed for any primary or secondary outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboMaximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of VX-2102.856 nanogram per milliliter (ng/mL)Geometric Coefficient of Variation 200.35
Secondary

Percentage of American Spinal Injury Association Impairment Scale (AIS) Grade Responders

AIS ranks impairment according to body-wide motor/sensory results: Grade A: Complete (no sensory or motor function is preserved in the sacral segments S4 to 5); Grade B: Sensory Incomplete (sensory but not motor function is preserved below the neurological level and includes the sacral segments S4 to 5); Grade C: Motor Incomplete (motor function is preserved at the most caudal sacral segments); Grade D: Motor Incomplete (motor incomplete status as defined above, with at least half or more of key muscle functions below the single neurological level of injury having a muscle grade \>=3; Grade E: Normal (sensation and motor function as tested are graded as normal in all segments). An AIS responder was defined as a subject with improvement by ≥2 AIS grades (i.e., baseline AIS Grade A changed to Grade C, D, or E; baseline AIS Grade B changed to D or E at 6 months after treatment).

Time frame: At 6 months post-treatment

Population: The Overall Number of Participants Analyzed included all randomized subjects who received study drug. As per the amended protocol, the 3 mg arm was no longer planned to be assessed for any primary or secondary outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
PlaceboPercentage of American Spinal Injury Association Impairment Scale (AIS) Grade Responders30.0 percentage of participants
VX-210 9 mgPercentage of American Spinal Injury Association Impairment Scale (AIS) Grade Responders26.7 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Motor Level Responders

The motor level score for the right or left side assesses contraction strength of 10 key muscles in the upper and lower extremities on each side of the body; each muscle receives a score from 0 (total paralysis) to 5 (\[normal\] active movement). A motor level responder was defined as a subject with improvement by ≥2 motor levels on either side of the body (i.e., baseline level C4 changed to C6, C7, C8 on the left; or baseline level C5 changed to C7, C8 on the right).

Time frame: At 6 months post-treatment

Population: The Overall Number of Participants Analyzed included all randomized subjects who received study drug. As per the amended protocol, the 3 mg arm was no longer planned to be assessed for any primary or secondary outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
PlaceboPercentage of Motor Level Responders35.0 percentage of participants
VX-210 9 mgPercentage of Motor Level Responders33.3 percentage of participants
Secondary

Spinal Cord Independence Measure (SCIM) III Self-Care Subscore

SCIM self-care subscore measures self-care abilities (feeding, dressing, grooming, bathing), respiration and sphincter management and mobility. The score ranges from 0-20, where a higher score represents a better outcome.

Time frame: At 6 months post-treatment

Population: The Overall Number of Participants Analyzed included all randomized subjects who received study drug. As per the amended protocol, the 3 mg arm was no longer planned to be assessed for any primary or secondary outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboSpinal Cord Independence Measure (SCIM) III Self-Care Subscore6.2 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 7
VX-210 9 mgSpinal Cord Independence Measure (SCIM) III Self-Care Subscore5.9 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 6.6
Secondary

Time to Reach Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of VX-210

Time frame: up to 53 hours post-treatment

Population: Pharmacokinetic analysis set included all participants for which PK data was collected. As per the amended protocol, the 3 mg arm was no longer planned to be assessed for any primary or secondary outcome measure.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
PlaceboTime to Reach Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of VX-2104.59 hours (h)

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 24, 2026