Skip to content

Study Evaluating Intepirdine (RVT-101) in Subjects With Dementia With Lewy Bodies: The HEADWAY-DLB Study

A Phase 2b, Double-Blind, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Study of RVT-101 in Subjects With Dementia With Lewy Bodies (DLB)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02669433
Enrollment
484
Registered
2016-02-01
Start date
2016-01-31
Completion date
2017-12-31
Last updated
2019-04-26

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Dementia With Lewy Bodies

Keywords

Dementia with Lewy bodies, Lewy bodies, intepirdine, RVT-101, dementia

Brief summary

This study seeks to evaluate the efficacy and safety of intepirdine (RVT-101) in patients with dementia with Lewy bodies.

Detailed description

The efficacy and safety of RVT-101 at doses of 70 mg and 35 mg daily will be evaluated over a 24-week double-blind treatment period in patients with dementia with Lewy bodies. The randomization ratio will be 1:1:1 (70 mg RVT-101: 35 mg RVT-101: placebo). Subjects completing this study will be eligible to enroll in an extension study of RVT-101 (Study RVT-101-2002).

Interventions

once daily, oral, 35-mg tablets

once daily, oral, 35-mg tablets

DRUGPlacebo

once daily, oral, matching tablets

Sponsors

Axovant Sciences Ltd.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
50 Years to 85 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Male or female subject with probable DLB * Mini Mental State Examination (MMSE) score of 14-26 inclusive at Screening and Baseline * Patient has the ability to comply with procedures for cognitive and other testing in the opinion of the investigator * Patient has a reliable caregiver who is willing to report on the subject's status throughout the study * Patients currently receiving therapy for DLB are eligible for enrollment

Exclusion criteria

* Atypical clinical features or clinical course that would lead the investigator to conclude primary symptoms are more likely explained by an alternate dementia diagnosis. * Any clinically relevant concomitant disease that, in the opinion of the investigator, makes the patient unsuitable for inclusion in the study.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale-Part III (UPDRS-III) Change From Baseline at Week 24Change from Baseline at 24 weeksThe primary endpoint was to assess the effects of intepirdine versus placebo on the UPDRS Part III after 24 weeks of treatment. UPDRS Part III scores range from 0 to 108, with higher scores indicating worse outcome.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale 11 Items (ADAS-Cog-11) Change From Baseline at Week 24Change from Baseline at 24 weeksThe 11-item ADAS-Cog assesses a range of cognitive abilities including memory, comprehension, orientation in time and place, and spontaneous speech. The ADAS-Cog-11 total score range is from 0 to 70, with a higher score indicating more severe cognitive impairment.
Clinician's Interview-Based Impression of Change Plus Caregiver Input (CIBIC+) Change From Baseline at Week 24Change from Baseline at 24 weeksTo assess the effects of RVT-101 versus placebo on global function as measured by the Clinician's Interview-Based Impression of Change Plus Caregiver Input (CIBIC+) after 24 weeks of treatment. CIBIC+ is recorded on a 7-point scale with a score of 4 indicating no change, scores above 4 indicating worsening, and scores below 4 indicating improvement.

Countries

Canada, France, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

484 participants signed consent and were screened for participation. Of these, 306 entered a 2-week single-blind placebo run-in period with treatment with placebo qd. There was an overlap between the participants from the run-in period and the participants that were randomized during the treatment period.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Placebo
Subjects dosed with two Placebo tablets Placebo: once daily, oral, matching tablets
91
RVT-101 35 mg
Subjects dosed with one Placebo tablet + 1 35 mg tablet of RVT-101 RVT-101 35 mg: once daily, oral, 35-mg tablets
89
RVT-101 70 mg
Subjects dosed with two RVT-101 35 mg tablets RVT-101 70 mg: once daily, oral, 35-mg tablets
88
Total268

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyAdverse Event6710
Overall StudyDeath011
Overall StudyDisease Progression100
Overall StudyPhysician Decision110
Overall StudyProtocol Violation041
Overall StudySponsor Termination101
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Caregiver102
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject510

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPlaceboRVT-101 35 mgRVT-101 70 mgTotal
Age, Continuous73.6 years73.0 years73.0 years73.0 years
Age, Customized
< 65 years
7 Participants9 Participants12 Participants28 Participants
Age, Customized
>/=65 years
84 Participants80 Participants76 Participants240 Participants
Age, Customized
< 74 years
45 Participants45 Participants45 Participants135 Participants
Age, Customized
>/= 74 years
46 Participants44 Participants43 Participants133 Participants
BMI26.59 kg/m^226.51 kg/m^226.81 kg/m^226.64 kg/m^2
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
4 Participants6 Participants0 Participants10 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
86 Participants83 Participants86 Participants255 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants0 Participants2 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants3 Participants1 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants4 Participants0 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants0 Participants2 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
90 Participants81 Participants85 Participants256 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
20 Participants22 Participants15 Participants57 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
71 Participants67 Participants73 Participants211 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 911 / 892 / 88
other
Total, other adverse events
66 / 9169 / 8959 / 88
serious
Total, serious adverse events
11 / 9111 / 8913 / 88

Outcome results

Primary

Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale-Part III (UPDRS-III) Change From Baseline at Week 24

The primary endpoint was to assess the effects of intepirdine versus placebo on the UPDRS Part III after 24 weeks of treatment. UPDRS Part III scores range from 0 to 108, with higher scores indicating worse outcome.

Time frame: Change from Baseline at 24 weeks

Population: UPDRS Primary Population

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboUnified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale-Part III (UPDRS-III) Change From Baseline at Week 24-0.55 units on a scaleStandard Error 1.039
RVT-101 35 mgUnified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale-Part III (UPDRS-III) Change From Baseline at Week 241.45 units on a scaleStandard Error 1.025
RVT-101 70 mgUnified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale-Part III (UPDRS-III) Change From Baseline at Week 24-1.29 units on a scaleStandard Error 1.056
p-value: 0.15895% CI: [-4.8, 0.79]Mixed Models Analysis
p-value: 0.606995% CI: [-2.08, 3.55]Mixed Models Analysis
Secondary

Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale 11 Items (ADAS-Cog-11) Change From Baseline at Week 24

The 11-item ADAS-Cog assesses a range of cognitive abilities including memory, comprehension, orientation in time and place, and spontaneous speech. The ADAS-Cog-11 total score range is from 0 to 70, with a higher score indicating more severe cognitive impairment.

Time frame: Change from Baseline at 24 weeks

Population: ITT Population

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboAlzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale 11 Items (ADAS-Cog-11) Change From Baseline at Week 241.68 units on a scaleStandard Error 0.774
RVT-101 35 mgAlzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale 11 Items (ADAS-Cog-11) Change From Baseline at Week 242.15 units on a scaleStandard Error 0.769
RVT-101 70 mgAlzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale 11 Items (ADAS-Cog-11) Change From Baseline at Week 241.01 units on a scaleStandard Error 0.796
p-value: 0.653195% CI: [-2.55, 1.6]Mixed Models Analysis
p-value: 0.527495% CI: [-1.41, 2.75]Mixed Models Analysis
Secondary

Clinician's Interview-Based Impression of Change Plus Caregiver Input (CIBIC+) Change From Baseline at Week 24

To assess the effects of RVT-101 versus placebo on global function as measured by the Clinician's Interview-Based Impression of Change Plus Caregiver Input (CIBIC+) after 24 weeks of treatment. CIBIC+ is recorded on a 7-point scale with a score of 4 indicating no change, scores above 4 indicating worsening, and scores below 4 indicating improvement.

Time frame: Change from Baseline at 24 weeks

Population: ITT Population

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboClinician's Interview-Based Impression of Change Plus Caregiver Input (CIBIC+) Change From Baseline at Week 244.42 units on a scaleStandard Error 0.127
RVT-101 35 mgClinician's Interview-Based Impression of Change Plus Caregiver Input (CIBIC+) Change From Baseline at Week 244.27 units on a scaleStandard Error 0.128
RVT-101 70 mgClinician's Interview-Based Impression of Change Plus Caregiver Input (CIBIC+) Change From Baseline at Week 244.35 units on a scaleStandard Error 0.131
p-value: 0.395395% CI: [-0.2, 0.5]Mixed Models Analysis
p-value: 0.700895% CI: [-0.28, 0.42]Mixed Models Analysis

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026