Skip to content

Safety and Anti-leukemic Activity of Vodobatinib (K0706) for Treatment of Ph+ CML Resistant/Intolerant to ≥3 Prior CML Therapies

A Two-Part Phase 1/2 Study to Determine Safety, Tolerability, Pharmacokinetics, and Activity of K0706, a Novel Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI), in Healthy Subjects and in Subjects With Chronic Myeloid Leukemia (CML) or Philadelphia Chromosome Positive Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (Ph+ ALL)

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02629692
Enrollment
124
Registered
2015-12-14
Start date
2016-06-27
Completion date
2025-01-03
Last updated
2026-05-13

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Chronic Myeloid Leukemia (for Part B and C), Healthy (For Part A)

Keywords

CML, Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia, K0706, Vodobatinib, ponatinib-refractory/intolerant, treatment refractory chronic myeloid leukemia

Brief summary

Phase 1/2 study to determine safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics, and anti-leukemic activity of Vodobatinib (K0706) in treatment-refractory/intolerant CML

Detailed description

Part A ( for Healthy volunteers) of the study is completed. Part B dose-escalation study is completed. Recruitment in dose expansion is completed. Part C study in subjects with treatment-resistant/intolerant CML is also completed.

Interventions

DRUGVodobatinib (K0706) capsules

Part A: Oral Vodobatinib (K0706) capsules in single ascending doses. Part B: Oral Vodobatinib (K0706) capsules in multiple ascending doses, once daily. Part C: Oral Vodobatinib (K0706) capsules at recommended phase 2 dose of 174 mg, once daily.

Sponsors

Sun Pharma Advanced Research Company Limited
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Masking description

Part B and C: Single arm (Open-label) Part A: 2 arms: Investigational agent arm and Placebo arm (Double-blind).

Intervention model description

Part A: Single ascending dose in healthy volunteers. Part B: Multiple ascending dose safety and tolerability study in subjects with CML or Ph + ALL. Part C: Efficacy and safety study in subjects with treatment-resistant CML

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Part A Inclusion Criteria: * Healthy males aged 18 to 55 years Part B Key Inclusion Criteria: * Subjects diagnosed with Ph+ CML-CP, Ph+ CML-AP, Ph+ CML-BP, or Ph+ ALL who are refractory or intolerant to at least 3 TKIs or are not eligible (e.g.: due to comorbidities, hypersensitivity to excipients, lack of insurance coverage) for their local country's regulatory approved and medically appropriate TKIs (e.g., a TKI that is effective against mutations in the patient's tumor). Part C Key Inclusion Criteria: * Subjects diagnosed with Ph+ CML-CP, Ph+ CML-AP, Ph+ CML-BP, who are resistant and/or intolerant to ≥ 3 prior TKIs one of which includes ponatinib (Subjects with Ph+ ALL are not included). Part B and C: Other Inclusion Criteria * Willing and able to give written, and dated, informed consent * Male or female aged ≥ 18 years * Willing and able to comply with the scheduled visits * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0, 1, or 2 Part A

Exclusion criteria

* Any major surgery, as determined by the Investigator, within 4 weeks of IMP administration * Inability to undergo venipuncture and/or tolerate venous access * Positive exclusion tests: HIV, hepatitis B surface antigen, or hepatitis C virus * Known or suspected history of significant drug abuse as judged by the Investigator Part B and C

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Examination of the Safety and Tolerability of Single Oral Doses of K0706Approximately 56 ± 2 daysNumber of Participants with Adverse Events in Part A
To Determine the Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) as Determined by Frequency of Dose Limiting ToxicitiesDose Limiting toxicities observed over a 4 week periodPART B
Incidence and Severity of Treatment Emergent AEs (PART B)All subjects will be followed up for 60 months from the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)Number of Participants with treatment emergent Adverse Events in Part B
For CML Subjects in CP at Study EntryAll subjects will be followed up for 60 months from the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART C: Proportion of subjects achieving Major Cytogenetic Response \[ defined as complete cytogenetic response (CCyR; 0% Ph+metaphases) or partial cytogenetic response (PCyR; 1-35% Ph+ metaphases)\] as assessed by conventional Karyotyping of Bone marrow aspirate
For CML Subjects in AP at Study EntryAll subjects will be followed up for 60 months from the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART C: Proportion of subjects achieving Major Hematologic Response \[ defined as complete hematologic response (CHR) or no evidence of leukemia (NEL)\] as assessed by complete blood count of peripheral blood sample
For CML Subjects in BP at Study EntryAll subjects will be followed up for 60 months from the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART C: Proportion of subjects achieving Major Hematologic Response \[defined as complete hematologic response (CHR) or no evidence of leukemia (NEL)\] as assessed by complete blood count of peripheral blood sample

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
To Characterize the Pharmacokinetics (Cmax) of K0706 After Single Oral Doses in Healthy Male SubjectsApproximately 28 ± 2 daysPart A
To Characterize the Pharmacokinetics of K0706 (Cmax) After Single Oral Doses in Fasted and Fed State in Healthy Male SubjectsApproximately 28 ± 2 daysPart A
Pharmacokinetic Profile of K0706 - Cmax [The Maximum (Peak) Observed Drug Concentration After Dose Administration]All subjects will be followed for up to approximately 60 months after the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART B
Pharmacokinetic Profile of Vodobatinib (K0706) - Tmax [The Time to Reach Maximum (Peak) Drug Concentration After Dose Administration]All subjects will be followed for up to approximately 60 months after the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART B
Pharmacokinetic Profile of Vodobatinib (K0706) - AUC[0-tau] (AUC Over the Dosing Interval of 0-24 Hours).All subjects will be followed for up to approximately 60 months after the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART B
In Subjects With CML- CP:Proportion of Subjects Achieving Complete Hematological Response as Assessed by Complete Blood Count of Peripheral Blood SampleAll subjects will be followed up for 60 months from the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART C
In Subjects With CML- CP:Proportion of Subjects Achieving Complete Cytogenetic Response as Assessed by Conventional Karyotyping of Bone Marrow AspirateAll subjects will be followed up for 60 months from the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART C
In Subjects With CML- CP:Proportion of Subjects Achieving Major Molecular Response as Assessed by BCR-ABL Transcript Levels (BCR-ABL1 Ratio of ≤ 0.1%) in Peripheral Blood Using PCR (Polymerase Chain Reaction)All subjects will be followed up for 60 months from the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART C
In Subjects With CML-AP & BP: Proportion of Subjects Achieving Complete Cytogenetic Response as Assessed by Conventional Karyotyping of Bone Marrow AspirateAll subjects will be followed up for 60 months from the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART C
In Subjects With CML-AP & BP: Proportion of Subjects Achieving Partial Cytogenetic Response (PCyR) as Assessed by Conventional Karyotyping of Bone Marrow AspirateAll subjects will be followed up for 60 months from the first dose of K0706Part C
In Subjects With CML-AP & BP: Proportion of Subjects Achieving Major Molecular Response as Assessed by BCR-ABL Transcript Levels (BCR-ABL1 Ratio of ≤ 0.1%) in Peripheral Blood Using PCR (Polymerase Chain Reaction)All subjects will be followed up for 60 months from the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART C
Time to Major Cytogenetic Response (MCyR): Time to MCyR is the Time From First Dose to First MCyR (0-35% Ph+ Metaphases); Computed Only for CML-CP Subjects Who Achieved MCyRAll subjects will be followed up for 60 months from the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART C; Time to response was calculated as time from date of first dose to date of first occurrence of best response
Time to Major Molecular Response : Time to MMR is the Time From First Dose to First MMR (BCR-ABL1 Ratio of ≤ 0.1%) Computed Only for CML-CP Subjects Who Achieved MMRAll subjects will be followed up for 60 months from the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706)PART C; Time to response was calculated as time from date of first dose to date of first occurrence of best response
In All Subjects Progression Free Survival (PFS)All subjects will be followed up at 12, 24, 36 months from the first dose of K0706 and beyond, until intolerance, disease progression or subject withdrawal from the study.PART C
In All Subjects Overall Survival (OS)All subjects will be followed up at 12, 24, 36 months from the first dose of K0706 and beyond, until intolerance, disease progression or subject withdrawal from the study.PART C
Incidence and Severity of Treatment Emergent AEs (PART C)All subjects will be followed up for up to 60 months from the first dose of Vodobatinib (K0706), unless subject discontinues due to intolerance or progression of disease.Number of Participants with treatment emergent Adverse Events in Part C
To Characterize the Pharmacokinetics (AUC(0-inf)) of K0706 After Single Oral Doses in Healthy Male SubjectsApproximately 28 ± 2 daysPart A
To Characterize the Pharmacokinetics of K0706 (AUC(0-inf)) After Single Oral Doses in Fasted and Fed State in Healthy Male SubjectsApproximately 28 ± 2 daysPart A

Countries

Belgium, France, Hungary, India, Italy, Romania, South Korea, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Part A comprised of 40 healthy subjects, Part B comprised of 61 patients and Part C comprised of 23 patients.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Categorical
Age
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Age
>=65 years
26 Participants
Age, Categorical
Age
Between 18 and 65 years
98 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity
Not Hispanic or Latino
102 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race
Black or African American
13 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race
White
55 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Belgium
0 participants
Region of Enrollment
France
0 participants
Region of Enrollment
Hungary
0 participants
Region of Enrollment
India
20 participants
Region of Enrollment
Italy
0 participants
Region of Enrollment
Romania
0 participants
Region of Enrollment
South Korea
0 participants
Region of Enrollment
Spain
4 participants
Region of Enrollment
United Kingdom
6 participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
6 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male
Female
10 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male
Male
7 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
EG006
affected / at risk
EG007
affected / at risk
EG008
affected / at risk
EG009
affected / at risk
EG010
affected / at risk
EG011
affected / at risk
EG012
affected / at risk
EG013
affected / at risk
EG014
affected / at risk
EG015
affected / at risk
EG016
affected / at risk
EG017
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 80 / 80 / 10 / 11 / 60 / 70 / 31 / 71 / 151 / 60 / 31 / 120 / 13 / 22
other
Total, other adverse events
1 / 63 / 64 / 62 / 64 / 83 / 81 / 11 / 16 / 67 / 73 / 37 / 713 / 156 / 63 / 310 / 121 / 120 / 22
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 60 / 80 / 80 / 10 / 12 / 63 / 70 / 34 / 73 / 154 / 63 / 32 / 120 / 16 / 22

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: May 14, 2026