Skip to content

Treatment Study of Denintuzumab Mafodotin (SGN-CD19A) Plus RICE Versus RICE Alone for Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma

A Randomized, Open-Label Phase 2 Study of Denintuzumab Mafodotin (SGN-CD19A) Plus Rituximab, Ifosfamide, Carboplatin, and Etoposide (19A+RICE) Chemotherapy vs. RICE in the Treatment of Patients With Relapsed or Refractory Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma (DLBCL) Who Are Candidates for Autologous Stem Cell Transplant

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02592876
Enrollment
81
Registered
2015-10-30
Start date
2015-10-31
Completion date
2018-04-20
Last updated
2019-05-17

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Follicular Lymphoma, Grade 3b, Lymphoma, B-cell, Lymphoma, Follicular, Grade 3b, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse

Keywords

Antibodies, Monoclonal, Antibody-Drug Conjugate, Antigens, CD19, Autologous Stem Cell Transplant, Drug Therapy, Follicular Lymphoma Grade 3b, Hematologic Diseases, Immune System Diseases, Immunoproliferative Disorders, Immunotherapy, Lymphatic Diseases, Lymphoma, Lymphoma, B-Cell, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse, Lymphoma, Non-Hodgkin, Monomethylauristatin F, Neoplasms, Neoplasms by Histologic Type, Transformed Lymphoma / DLBCL, Rituximab, Ifosfamide, Carboplatin, Etoposide

Brief summary

The purpose of this randomized, open-label study is to evaluate the safety and efficacy of denintuzumab mafodotin plus RICE (rituximab, ifosfamide, carboplatin, and etoposide) when compared to RICE alone in the treatment of patients with relapsed or refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) or Grade 3b follicular lymphoma. Eligible patients must also be candidates for autologous stem cell transplant. Patients will be randomly assigned in a 1:1 ratio to receive 3 cycles of study treatment with either denintuzumab mafodotin + RICE or RICE alone. The study will assess whether there is a difference between the 2 groups in the side effects that are reported and the number of patients who achieve complete remission at the end of their study treatment.

Interventions

Denintuzumab mafodotin 3 mg/kg by intravenous (IV) infusion, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles.

DRUGrituximab

375 mg/m\^2 by IV infusion, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles

DRUGifosfamide

5000 mg/m\^2 by IV infusion over a 24-hour period, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles

DRUGcarboplatin

AUC 5mg/mL x min by IV infusion, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles

DRUGetoposide

100 mg/m\^2 per day by IV infusion for 3 days, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles

Sponsors

Seagen Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Pathologically confirmed diagnosis of relapsed or refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL; including de novo and transformed DLBCL) or Grade 3b follicular lymphoma * Available representative tissue from the most recent biopsy after the last therapy; if such tissue is not available, a fresh biopsy must be obtained * Received only frontline CD20-directed immunotherapy with anthracycline- or anthracenedione-based multi-agent chemotherapy. Monotherapy rituximab or other CD20-directed immunotherapy as maintenance therapy prior to frontline chemotherapy, and radiotherapy in a limited field or as part of the frontline treatment plan are permitted. * Achieved a response of stable disease, partial response, or complete response following the last cycle of frontline treatment. In addition, patients must have relapsed less than or equal to 6 months from the completion of frontline therapy at the time of initial dosing in this clinical trial. * Considered eligible for high-dose chemotherapy followed by autologous stem cell transplant (ASCT) * Fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG)-avid disease by positive emission tomography (PET), and measurable disease greater than 1.5 cm in diameter * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance less than or equal to 2 * Adequate kidney and hematologic function assessed from baseline laboratory data

Exclusion criteria

* Previous history of indolent lymphoma treated with more than 1 multi-agent chemotherapy regimen or previous cancer therapy for recurrent DLBCL or Grade 3b follicular lymphoma * History of autologous or allogeneic stem cell transplant * History of another primary invasive cancer, hematologic malignancy, or myelodysplastic syndrome that has not been in remission for at least 1 year * History of progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (PML) * Cerebral/meningeal disease related to the underlying malignancy that has not been definitively treated * Known urinary tract obstruction * Patients with the following ocular conditions: corneal disorders, monocular vision (i.e., best corrected visual acuity greater than or equal to 20/200 in one eye), or active ocular disorders requiring treatment

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Complete Remission Rate Per Independent Review FacilityUp to 4 monthsNumber of patients with complete metabolic response by PET (positive emission tomography) and CT (computed tomography) scans, or complete radiologic response by CT only.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesUp to 4 monthsNumber of participants who experienced a maximum post-baseline laboratory toxicity of Grade 3 or higher (per National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events, version 4.03).
Objective Response Rate (ORR)Up to 4 monthsORR is defined as the proportion of patients with complete remission (CR) or partial remission (PR) per independent review facility (IRF) at the end of treatment.
Duration of Complete Response (CR)Up to 27.9 monthsDefined as the time from the start of the first radiographic documentation of CR per investigator to the first documentation of progressive disease, death due to any cause, or receipt of subsequent anticancer therapy, whichever comes first.
Duration of Objective Response (OR)Up to 27.9 monthsDuration of OR is defined as the time from the start of the first radiographic documentation of OR per investigator to the first documentation of PD, death due to any cause, or receipt of subsequent anticancer therapy, whichever comes first.
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)Up to 4 monthsTreatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) are presented and defined as newly occurring (not present at baseline) or worsening after first dose of investigational product. AE severity and seriousness are assessed independently. 'Severity' characterizes the intensity of an AE and is graded using the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI CTCAE), version 4.03. An AE is considered 'serious' if it is life-threatening, fatal, requires hospitalization, or is otherwise considered to be medically significant.
Overall Survival (OS)Up to 30 monthsOS is defined as the time from date of randomization to date of death due to any cause. In the absence of confirmation of death, survival time will be censored at the last date the patient is known to be alive.
Number of Patients Achieving Peripheral Blood Stem Cell (PBSC) MobilizationUp to 30 monthsDefined as the number of patients who are able to adequately mobilize PBSC per investigator assessment on or after completion of study treatment, prior to subsequent anticancer therapy.
Number of Patients Receiving Autologous Stem Cell Transplant (ASCT)Up to 30 monthsNumber of patients receiving ASCT after completion of study treatment (EOT), prior to subsequent anticancer therapy.
Progression-free Survival (PFS)Up to 30 monthsPFS is defined as the time from randomization to first documentation of disease progression per investigator, death due to any cause, or receipt of subsequent anticancer therapy, whichever comes first.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
RICE
Rituximab, ifosfamide, carboplatin, and etoposide rituximab: 375 mg/m2 by IV infusion, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles ifosfamide: 5000 mg/m2 by IV infusion over a 24-hour period, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles carboplatin: AUC 5 by IV infusion, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles etoposide: 100 mg/m2 per day by IV infusion for 3 days, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles
41
19A+RICE
Denintuzumab mafodotin plus rituximab, ifosfamide, carboplatin, and etoposide denintuzumab mafodotin: Denintuzumab mafodotin 3 mg/kg by intravenous (IV) infusion, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles. rituximab: 375 mg/m2 by IV infusion, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles ifosfamide: 5000 mg/m2 by IV infusion over a 24-hour period, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles carboplatin: AUC 5 by IV infusion, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles etoposide: 100 mg/m2 per day by IV infusion for 3 days, every 3 weeks for up to 3 cycles
40
Total81

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyDeath69
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up01
Overall StudyStudy Termination by Sponsor3227
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject33

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicRICE19A+RICETotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
13 Participants16 Participants29 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
28 Participants24 Participants52 Participants
Age, Continuous60.0 years62.5 years61.0 years
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status
Grade 0
17 Participants19 Participants36 Participants
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status
Grade 1
21 Participants21 Participants42 Participants
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status
Grade 2
3 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants5 Participants8 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
37 Participants35 Participants72 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants2 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
37 Participants36 Participants73 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
41 participants40 participants81 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
16 Participants13 Participants29 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
25 Participants27 Participants52 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
6 / 409 / 40
other
Total, other adverse events
40 / 4040 / 40
serious
Total, serious adverse events
13 / 4019 / 40

Outcome results

Primary

Complete Remission Rate Per Independent Review Facility

Number of patients with complete metabolic response by PET (positive emission tomography) and CT (computed tomography) scans, or complete radiologic response by CT only.

Time frame: Up to 4 months

Population: The modified Intent-to-Treat (mITT) analysis set includes all patients who were randomized to the recommended dose level of 19A+RICE or RICE and received at least 1 cycle of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
RICEComplete Remission Rate Per Independent Review Facility18 Participants
19A+RICEComplete Remission Rate Per Independent Review Facility25 Participants
Secondary

Duration of Complete Response (CR)

Defined as the time from the start of the first radiographic documentation of CR per investigator to the first documentation of progressive disease, death due to any cause, or receipt of subsequent anticancer therapy, whichever comes first.

Time frame: Up to 27.9 months

Population: The modified Intent-to-Treat (mITT) analysis set includes all patients who were randomized to the recommended dose level of 19A+RICE or RICE and received at least 1 cycle of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
RICEDuration of Complete Response (CR)NA months
19A+RICEDuration of Complete Response (CR)NA months
Secondary

Duration of Objective Response (OR)

Duration of OR is defined as the time from the start of the first radiographic documentation of OR per investigator to the first documentation of PD, death due to any cause, or receipt of subsequent anticancer therapy, whichever comes first.

Time frame: Up to 27.9 months

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
RICEDuration of Objective Response (OR)NA months
19A+RICEDuration of Objective Response (OR)NA months
Secondary

Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)

Treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) are presented and defined as newly occurring (not present at baseline) or worsening after first dose of investigational product. AE severity and seriousness are assessed independently. 'Severity' characterizes the intensity of an AE and is graded using the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI CTCAE), version 4.03. An AE is considered 'serious' if it is life-threatening, fatal, requires hospitalization, or is otherwise considered to be medically significant.

Time frame: Up to 4 months

Population: The safety analysis set includes all patients who received any amount of denintuzumab mafodotin or any component of RICE. Treatment group is determined using the actual treatment arm received, regardless of the randomization treatment assignment.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)Treatment-emergent AE (TEAE)39 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)Treatment-related AEs38 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)Grade 3 or Higher TEAEs31 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)Serious AEs (SAEs)13 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)Treatment-related SAEs9 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)AEs Leading to Dose Delay3 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)AEs Leading to Dose Reduction3 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)AEs Leading to Treatment Discontinuation2 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)AEs Leading to Treatment Discontinuation3 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)Treatment-emergent AE (TEAE)40 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)Treatment-related SAEs13 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)Treatment-related AEs40 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)AEs Leading to Dose Reduction5 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)Grade 3 or Higher TEAEs38 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)AEs Leading to Dose Delay8 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)Serious AEs (SAEs)19 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Laboratory Abnormalities

Number of participants who experienced a maximum post-baseline laboratory toxicity of Grade 3 or higher (per National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events, version 4.03).

Time frame: Up to 4 months

Population: The safety analysis set includes all patients who received any amount of denintuzumab mafodotin or any component of RICE. Treatment group is determined using the actual treatment arm received, regardless of the randomization treatment assignment.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesAny Hematology Test37 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesHemoglobin Low19 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesLeukocytes High1 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesLeukocytes Low23 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesLymphocytes High2 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesLymphocytes Low34 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesNeutrophils Low22 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesPlatelets Low26 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesAny Chemistry Test18 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesAspartate Aminotransferase High1 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesAlanine Aminotransferase High3 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesCalcium High4 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesCalcium Low0 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesCreatinine High0 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesGlucose High4 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesPhosphate Low9 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesPotassium Low3 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesSodium Low4 Participants
RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesUrate High2 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesGlucose High3 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesAny Hematology Test37 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesAlanine Aminotransferase High3 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesHemoglobin Low18 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesAspartate Aminotransferase High2 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesLeukocytes High0 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesUrate High0 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesLeukocytes Low24 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesCalcium High0 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesLymphocytes High0 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesPhosphate Low8 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesLymphocytes Low31 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesCalcium Low2 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesNeutrophils Low22 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesSodium Low3 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesPlatelets Low35 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesCreatinine High1 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesAny Chemistry Test16 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Participants With Laboratory AbnormalitiesPotassium Low5 Participants
Secondary

Number of Patients Achieving Peripheral Blood Stem Cell (PBSC) Mobilization

Defined as the number of patients who are able to adequately mobilize PBSC per investigator assessment on or after completion of study treatment, prior to subsequent anticancer therapy.

Time frame: Up to 30 months

Population: The modified Intent-to-Treat (mITT) analysis set includes all patients who were randomized to the recommended dose level of 19A+RICE or RICE and received at least 1 cycle of study treatment.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
RICENumber of Patients Achieving Peripheral Blood Stem Cell (PBSC) MobilizationPatients with attempted stem cell collection(s)28 Participants
RICENumber of Patients Achieving Peripheral Blood Stem Cell (PBSC) MobilizationPatients with sufficient stem cell collection26 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Patients Achieving Peripheral Blood Stem Cell (PBSC) MobilizationPatients with attempted stem cell collection(s)24 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Patients Achieving Peripheral Blood Stem Cell (PBSC) MobilizationPatients with sufficient stem cell collection21 Participants
Secondary

Number of Patients Receiving Autologous Stem Cell Transplant (ASCT)

Number of patients receiving ASCT after completion of study treatment (EOT), prior to subsequent anticancer therapy.

Time frame: Up to 30 months

Population: The modified Intent-to-Treat (mITT) analysis set includes all patients who were randomized to the recommended dose level of 19A+RICE or RICE and received at least 1 cycle of study treatment.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
RICENumber of Patients Receiving Autologous Stem Cell Transplant (ASCT)Patients planned to receive ASCT at EOT28 Participants
RICENumber of Patients Receiving Autologous Stem Cell Transplant (ASCT)Patients who received ASCT at EOT25 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Patients Receiving Autologous Stem Cell Transplant (ASCT)Patients planned to receive ASCT at EOT25 Participants
19A+RICENumber of Patients Receiving Autologous Stem Cell Transplant (ASCT)Patients who received ASCT at EOT22 Participants
Secondary

Objective Response Rate (ORR)

ORR is defined as the proportion of patients with complete remission (CR) or partial remission (PR) per independent review facility (IRF) at the end of treatment.

Time frame: Up to 4 months

Population: The modified Intent-to-Treat (mITT) analysis set includes all patients who were randomized to the recommended dose level of 19A+RICE or RICE and received at least 1 cycle of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
RICEObjective Response Rate (ORR)30 Participants
19A+RICEObjective Response Rate (ORR)32 Participants
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

OS is defined as the time from date of randomization to date of death due to any cause. In the absence of confirmation of death, survival time will be censored at the last date the patient is known to be alive.

Time frame: Up to 30 months

Population: The modified Intent-to-Treat (mITT) analysis set includes all patients who were randomized to the recommended dose level of 19A+RICE or RICE and received at least 1 cycle of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
RICEOverall Survival (OS)NA months
19A+RICEOverall Survival (OS)NA months
Secondary

Progression-free Survival (PFS)

PFS is defined as the time from randomization to first documentation of disease progression per investigator, death due to any cause, or receipt of subsequent anticancer therapy, whichever comes first.

Time frame: Up to 30 months

Population: The modified Intent-to-Treat (mITT) analysis set includes all patients who were randomized to the recommended dose level of 19A+RICE or RICE and received at least 1 cycle of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
RICEProgression-free Survival (PFS)NA months
19A+RICEProgression-free Survival (PFS)NA months

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 1, 2026