Skip to content

Phase II Randomized Trial of mFOLFIRINOX +/- Ramucirumab in Advanced Pancreatic Cancer

Phase II Randomized, Double-Blind Study of mFOLFIRINOX Plus Ramucirumab Versus mFOLFIRINOX Plus Placebo in Advanced Pancreatic Cancer Patients: Hoosier Cancer Research Network GI14-198

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02581215
Enrollment
84
Registered
2015-10-20
Start date
2016-09-11
Completion date
2022-01-27
Last updated
2025-01-01

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Pancreatic Cancer

Keywords

mFOLFIRINOX, Ramucirumab

Brief summary

This is a phase II, multicenter, double-blinded, randomized, 2-arm trial evaluating the efficacy and safety of mFOLFIRINOX plus ramucirumab (Arm A) vs. mFOLFIRINOX plus placebo (Arm B) in 94 subjects with advanced pancreatic cancer, not amenable to curative treatment. Both arms will continue treatment until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Detailed description

OUTLINE: This is a multi-center study. EXPERIMENTAL ARM A: * Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m\^2 over 2-4 hours * Irinotecan 165 mg/m\^2 over 90 minutes * 5-FU 2,400 mg/m\^2 as a 46-hour continuous infusion without the 5-FU bolus to decrease the risk of neutropenia. * Arm A will receive ramucirumab (RAM) administered as an intravenous infusion over 60 minutes (infusion rate should not exceed 25 mg/min), at a fixed dose of 8 mg/kg every 2 weeks. CONTROL ARM B : * Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 over 2-4 hours * Irinotecan 165 mg/m2 over 90 minutes * 5-FU 2,400 mg/m2 as a 46-hour continuous infusion without the 5-FU bolus to decrease the risk of neutropenia. * Arm B will receive a placebo infusion every 2 weeks. Due to the double-blinded nature of this study, the volume of placebo will be calculated as if it were RAM. In order to demonstrate adequate organ function, all screening labs must be obtained within 7 days prior to registration: Hematological: * Hemoglobin ≥ 9 g/dL * Absolute Neutrophil Count (ANC) ≥ 1,500/mm\^3 * Platelet Count (PLT) ≥ 100,000/mm\^3 Renal: * Creatinine ≤ 1.5 mg/dL or Creatinine clearance\^1 ≥ 40 mL/min * Albumin ≥ 2.5 g/dL Hepatic: * Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 mg/dL * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) ≤ 3 × ULN or \< 5 xULN in the setting of liver metastases * Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) ≤ 3 × ULN or \< 5 xULN in the setting of liver metastases Coagulation: * International Normalized Ratio (INR) (Patients receiving warfarin must be switched to low molecular weight heparin and have achieved stable coagulation profile prior to first dose of protocol therapy) ≤1.5 and a partial thromboplastin time (PTT) (PTT/aPTT) \< 1.5 x ULN

Interventions

DRUGmFOLFIRINOX

mFOLFIRINOX: * Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 over 2-4 hours * Irinotecan 165 mg/m2 over 90 minutes * 5-FU 2,400 mg/m2 as a 46-hour continuous infusion without the 5-FU bolus to decrease the risk of neutropenia.

DRUGRamucirumab

Ramucirumab administered as an intravenous infusion over 60 minutes (infusion rate should not exceed 25 mg/min), at a fixed dose of 8 mg/kg every 2 weeks.

OTHERPlacebo

Placebo infusion with volume calculated as if it were ramucirumab every 2 weeks.

Sponsors

Eli Lilly and Company
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Hoosier Cancer Research Network
CollaboratorOTHER
Walid Shaib, MD
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Masking description

Site pharmacy staff will be unblinded to the study treatment. Subjects, site investigators, site analysis teams, and other site personnel will be blinded to the study treatment.

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Written informed consent and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) authorization for release of personal health information. . * Age ≥ 18 years at the time of consent. * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status of 0-1 within 7 days prior to registration. * Histologic or cytological diagnosis of recurrent or metastatic pancreas adenocarcinoma (PCA) who present for first line chemotherapy treatment. * No prior first line systemic treatment (prior adjuvant or neoadjuvant treatment is permitted). Subjects whose disease has progressed after 6 months of last systemic chemotherapy or chemo-radiation in the adjuvant or neoadjuvant setting are eligible. * Measurable disease determined using guidelines of Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST 1.1). Baseline tumor assessment should be performed using high resolution computed tomography (CT) scans or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). * Urine protein \< 1+ on dipstick test or routine urinalysis. If the proteinuria on these tests is ≥2+, then a 24-hour urine test must be collected and must demonstrate \< 1g proteins in 24 hours to allow participation. * Estimated life expectancy of \>12 weeks, as assessed by the site investigator. * If sexually active, must be postmenopausal, surgically sterile, or using effective contraception (hormonal or barrier methods) due to unknown risk of teratogenicity of ramucirumab

Exclusion criteria

* Subjects with histology other than adenocarcinoma; Examples include: neuroendocrine tumors, acinar cell cancer, sarcoma or lymphoma of the pancreas. * Ongoing or active infection. * Symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, symptomatic or poorly controlled cardiac arrhythmia. Symptomatic heart failure per New York Heart Association (NYHA) Class II-IV. * Uncontrolled or poorly-controlled hypertension (\>160 mmHg systolic or \> 100 mmHg diastolic for \>4 weeks) despite standard medical management. * Acute or sub-acute intestinal obstruction. * Interstitial pneumonia or interstitial fibrosis of the lung, which in the opinion of the site investigator could compromise the subject or the study. * Pleural effusion or ascites that causes \> grade 1 dyspnea. * Cirrhosis at a level of Child-Pugh B (or worse) or cirrhosis (any degree) with a history of hepatic encephalopathy or clinical meaningful ascites resulting from cirrhosis; clinically meaningful ascites is defined as ascites resulting from cirrhosis and requiring ongoing treatment with diuretics and/or paracentesis. * Grade 3 or higher bleeding event ≤ 3 months prior to randomization. * Experience of any arterial thrombotic or arterial thromboembolic events, including, but not limited to myocardial infarction, transient ischemic attack, or cerebrovascular accident, ≤ 6 months prior to randomization. * History of deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolism, or any other significant thromboembolism (venous port or catheter thrombosis or superficial venous thrombosis are not considered significant) during the 3 months prior to randomization. * Documented and/or symptomatic or known brain or leptomeningeal metastases. * GI perforation/fistula * Documented and/or symptomatic or known brain or leptomeningeal metastases. * Severely immune-compromised (other than being on steroids), including known HIV infection. * Concurrent active malignancy other than adequately treated non-melanoma skin cancer, other noninvasive carcinoma, or in situ neoplasm. A subject with previous history of malignancy is eligible, provided that he/she has been disease free for \> 3 years. * Breast-feeding or pregnant. * Prior autologous or allogeneic organ or tissue transplantation. * Known allergy to any of the treatment components. * Major surgery within 28 days prior to the first dose of protocol therapy, or minor surgery/subcutaneous venous access device placement within 2 days prior to first dose of protocol therapy. The patient has elective or planned major surgery to be performed during the course of the clinical trial. * Any condition that does not permit compliance with the study schedule including psychological, geographical or medical. * Receiving medications that can effect clotting ability: warfarin, aspirin (once-daily aspirin use- maximum dose 325 mg/day is permitted), nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs, including ibuprofen, naproxen, and others), dipyridamole or clopidogrel, or similar agents. . * Serious or non-healing wound, ulcer, or bone fracture within 28 days prior to first dose of protocol therapy.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression Free Survival (PFS) at 9 Month9 monthsPer Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD) \>= 20% increase in tumor burden relative to nadir or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Stable Disease (SD), not meet criteria for CR/PR/PD. PFS is defined as time of registration until disease progression met by RECIST 1.1 or death from any cause.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Survival (OS)Up to a maximum of 53 monthsOverall survival is defined by the date of randomization to date of death from any cause.
Response Rate (RR)Up to 44 monthsPer Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD) \>= 20% increase in tumor burden relative to nadir or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Stable Disease (SD), not meet criteria for CR/PR/PD. Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.
Number of Participants With Adverse EventsFrom date of first dose until 30 days after the last treatment, assessed up to 44 monthsAdverse events will be assessed to the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm A: Experimental Arm
mFOLFIRINOX will be administered every 2 weeks, and consist of: * Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 over 2-4 hours * Irinotecan 165 mg/m2 over 90 minutes * 5-FU 2,400 mg/m2 as a 46-hour continuous infusion without the 5-FU bolus to decrease the risk of neutropenia. * Arm A will receive ramucirumab administered as an intravenous infusion over 60 minutes (infusion rate should not exceed 25 mg/min), at a fixed dose of 8 mg/kg every 2 weeks. mFOLFIRINOX: mFOLFIRINOX: * Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 over 2-4 hours * Irinotecan 165 mg/m2 over 90 minutes * 5-FU 2,400 mg/m2 as a 46-hour continuous infusion without the 5-FU bolus to decrease the risk of neutropenia. Ramucirumab: Ramucirumab administered as an intravenous infusion over 60 minutes (infusion rate should not exceed 25 mg/min), at a fixed dose of 8 mg/kg every 2 weeks.
42
Arm B: Placebo Arm
mFOLFIRINOX will be administered every 2 weeks, and consist of: * Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 over 2-4 hours * Irinotecan 165 mg/m2 over 90 minutes * 5-FU 2,400 mg/m2 as a 46-hour continuous infusion without the 5-FU bolus to decrease the risk of neutropenia. * Arm B will receive a placebo infusion every 2 weeks. Due to the double-blinded nature of this study, the volume of placebo will be calculated as if it were ramucirumab mFOLFIRINOX: mFOLFIRINOX: * Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 over 2-4 hours * Irinotecan 165 mg/m2 over 90 minutes * 5-FU 2,400 mg/m2 as a 46-hour continuous infusion without the 5-FU bolus to decrease the risk of neutropenia. Placebo: Placebo infusion with volume calculated as if it were ramucirumab every 2 weeks.
40
Total82

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyEligibility Criteria Not Met01
Overall StudyScreen Failure Before Therapy Start01

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm A: Experimental ArmTotalArm B: Placebo Arm
Age, Continuous62 years63 years65 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants4 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
41 Participants76 Participants35 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
6 Participants8 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants5 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
35 Participants69 Participants34 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
42 participants82 participants40 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
19 Participants39 Participants20 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
23 Participants43 Participants20 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
33 / 4235 / 40
other
Total, other adverse events
41 / 4239 / 40
serious
Total, serious adverse events
19 / 4217 / 40

Outcome results

Primary

Progression Free Survival (PFS) at 9 Month

Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD) \>= 20% increase in tumor burden relative to nadir or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Stable Disease (SD), not meet criteria for CR/PR/PD. PFS is defined as time of registration until disease progression met by RECIST 1.1 or death from any cause.

Time frame: 9 months

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm A: Experimental ArmProgression Free Survival (PFS) at 9 Month25.1 Percentage of participants
Arm B: Placebo ArmProgression Free Survival (PFS) at 9 Month35 Percentage of participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Adverse Events

Adverse events will be assessed to the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.

Time frame: From date of first dose until 30 days after the last treatment, assessed up to 44 months

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm A: Experimental ArmNumber of Participants With Adverse Events42 Participants
Arm B: Placebo ArmNumber of Participants With Adverse Events40 Participants
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS)

Overall survival is defined by the date of randomization to date of death from any cause.

Time frame: Up to a maximum of 53 months

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Experimental ArmOverall Survival (OS)10.3 Months
Arm B: Placebo ArmOverall Survival (OS)9.7 Months
Secondary

Response Rate (RR)

Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD) \>= 20% increase in tumor burden relative to nadir or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Stable Disease (SD), not meet criteria for CR/PR/PD. Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

Time frame: Up to 44 months

Population: The analysis population for the endpoint Response Rate (RR) was defined as all participants with at least one post-baseline disease assessment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm A: Experimental ArmResponse Rate (RR)17.7 Percentage of participants
Arm B: Placebo ArmResponse Rate (RR)22.6 Percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 22, 2026