Skip to content

Acalabrutinib, Obinutuzumab and Chlorambucil in Treatment naïve CLL

A Randomized, Multicenter, Open-Label, 3 Arm Phase 3 Study of Obinutuzumab in Combination With Chlorambucil, Acalabrutinib (ACP-196) in Combination With Obinutuzumab, and Acalabrutinib Monotherapy in Subjects With Previously Untreated CLL

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02475681
Acronym
ElevateTN
Enrollment
535
Registered
2015-06-19
Start date
2015-06-26
Completion date
2026-09-15
Last updated
2026-08-25

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia

Brief summary

This Primary objective is evaluating the efficacy of obinutuzumab in combination with chlorambucil (Arm A) compared with acalabrutinib in combination with obinutuzumab (Arm B) for the treatment of previously untreated chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL). Secondary objectives: 1) To evaluate the efficacy of obinutuzumab in combination with chlorambucil (Arm A) versus acalabrutinib monotherapy (Arm C) based on IRC assessment of PFS per IWCLL 2008 criteria. 2)To compare obinutuzumab plus chlorambucil (Arm A) versus acalabrutinib plus obinutuzumab (Arm B) and obinutuzumab plus chlorambucil (Arm A) versus acalabrutinib monotherapy (Arm C) in terms of: IRC-assessed objective response rate (ORR); Tine to next treatment (TTNT); Overall Survival (OS)

Detailed description

ELEVATE-TN is a global, phase 3, multicenter, open-label study in patients with treatment-naive chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL). Study enrollment is completed. The study randomized a total of 535 subjects in 142 study sites in 18 countries between 14 September 2015 through 08 February 2017. Patients were randomly assigned to receive Acalabrutinib and Obinutuzumab, Acalabrutinib monotherapy, or Obinutuzumab and oral Chlorambucil. The primary endpoint was progression-free survival between the two combination-therapy groups, defined as the time from randomization until disease progression by use of iwCLL 2008 criteria, or death, assessed by independent review committee (IRC). Crossover to Acalabrutinib was allowed in patients who progressed on Obinutuzumab-Chlorambucil. The results of this study provide new evidence for therapy in patients with treatment-naive chronic lymphocytic leukemia by showing the efficacy of Acalabrutinib used with or without Obinutuzumab compared with chemoimmunotherapy. Currently the study is in maintenance phase, with more than 430 subjects on study, to generate more evidence. We are not expecting any significant change in the near future.

Interventions

DRUGAcalabrutinib
DRUGObinutuzumab
DRUGChlorambucil

Sponsors

Acerta Pharma BV
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
SINGLE (Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Men and women: a. ≥ 65 years of age OR b. \> 18 and \< 65 years of age, provided that they meet at least one of the following criteria: i. Creatinine clearance 30 to 69 mL/min using the Cockcroft-Gault equation ii. A score higher than 6 on the CIRS-G (Appendix L). 2. ECOG performance status of 0, 1, or 2. 3. Diagnosis of CD20+ CLL that meets published diagnostic criteria (Hallek 2008): 1. Monoclonal B cells (either kappa or lambda light chain restricted) that are clonally co-expressing ≥ 1 B-cell marker (CD19, CD20, or CD23) and CD5. 2. Prolymphocytes may comprise ≤ 55% of blood lymphocytes. 3. Presence of ≥ 5 x 109 B lymphocytes/L (5000 μL) in the peripheral blood (at any point since diagnosis) 4. Active disease meeting ≥ 1 of the following IWCLL 2008 criteria for requiring treatment: 1. Evidence of progressive marrow failure as manifested by the development of, or worsening of, anemia (hemoglobin \< 10 g/dL) and/or thrombocytopenia (platelets \< 100,000/μL). 2. Massive (i.e., ≥ 6 cm below the left costal margin), progressive, or symptomatic splenomegaly. 3. Massive nodes (i.e., ≥ 10 cm in the longest diameter), progressive, or symptomatic lymphadenopathy. 4. Progressive lymphocytosis with an increase of \> 50% over a 2-month period or a LDT of \< 6 months. LDT may be obtained by linear regression extrapolation of ALC obtained at intervals of 2 weeks over an observation period of 2 to 3 months. In subjects with initial blood lymphocyte counts of \< 30 x 109/L (30,000/μL), LDT should not be used as a single parameter to define indication for treatment. In addition, factors contributing to lymphocytosis or lymphadenopathy other than CLL (e.g., infections) should be excluded. 5. Autoimmune anemia and/or thrombocytopenia that is poorly responsive to standard therapy. 6. Constitutional symptoms documented in the subject's chart with supportive objective measures, as appropriate, defined as ≥ 1 of the following disease-related symptoms or signs: i. Unintentional weight loss ≥ 10% within the previous 6 months before Screening. ii. Significant fatigue (i.e., ECOG performance status 2; inability to work or perform usual activities). iii. Fevers higher than 100.5°F or 38.0°C for 2 or more weeks before Screening without evidence of infection. iv. Night sweats for \> 1 month before Screening without evidence of infection. 5. This criterion was deleted as of Protocol Amendment 3. 6. Meet the following laboratory parameters: 1. ANC ≥ 750 cells/μL (0.75 x 109/L), or ≥ 500 cells/μL (0.50 x 109/L) in subjects with documented bone marrow involvement, and independent of growth factor support 7 days before assessment. 2. Platelet count ≥ 50,000 cells/μL (50 x 109/L), or ≥ 30,000 cells/μL (30 x 109/L) in subjects with documented bone marrow involvement, and without transfusion support 7 days before assessment. Subjects with transfusion-dependent thrombocytopenia are excluded. 3. Serum AST and ALT/SGPT ≤ 3.0 x ULN. 4. Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x ULN. 5. Estimated creatinine clearance (i.e., eGFR using Cockcroft-Gault) ≥ 30 mL/min 7. Able to receive all outpatient treatment, all laboratory monitoring, and all radiologic evaluations. 8. Women who are sexually active and can bear children must agree to use highly effective forms of contraception while on the study and for 2 days after the last dose of acalabrutinib or 18 months after the last dose of obinutuzumab in combination with chlorambucil, whichever is longer. Highly effective forms of contraception are defined in Section 6.4.4. 9. Men who are sexually active and can beget children must agree to use highly effective forms of contraception during the study and for 90 days after the last dose of obinutuzumab or chlorambucil, whichever is later. Highly effective forms of contraception are defined in Section 6.4.4. 10. Men must agree to refrain from sperm donation during the study and for 90 days after the last dose of obinutuzumab or chlorambucil, whichever is later. 11. Must be willing and able to adhere to the study visit schedule, understand and comply with other protocol requirements, and provide written informed consent and authorization to use protected health information (in accordance with national and local subject privacy regulations). Note vulnerable subjects, as defined in International Conference on Harmonisation (ICH) GCP, are not allowed on this protocol (e.g., prisoners or institutionalized subjects).

Exclusion criteria

1. Any prior systemic treatment for CLL (note: Prior localized radiotherapy is allowed). 2. Known CNS lymphoma or leukemia. 3. Known prolymphocytic leukemia or history of, or currently suspected, Richter's syndrome. 4. Missing or incomplete documentation of FISH results reflecting the presence or absence of 17p del and the percentage of cells with the deletion in subject records before randomization. 5. Uncontrolled AIHA or ITP defined as declining hemoglobin or platelet count secondary to autoimmune destruction within the screening period or requirement for high doses of steroids (\> 20 mg daily of prednisone daily or equivalent). 6. Corticosteroid use \> 20 mg within 1 week before first dose of study drug, except as indicated for other medical conditions such as inhaled steroid for asthma, topical steroid use, or as premedication for administration of study drug or contrast. For example, subjects requiring steroids at daily doses \> 20 mg prednisone equivalent systemic exposure daily, or those who are administered steroids for leukemia control or WBC count lowering are excluded. 7. Major surgery within 4 weeks before first dose of study drug. 8. History of prior malignancy except for the following: 1. Malignancy treated with curative intent and with no evidence of active disease present for more than 3 years before Screening and felt to be at low risk for recurrence by treating physician. 2. Adequately treated lentigo maligna melanoma without current evidence of disease or adequately controlled non-melanomatous skin cancer. 3. Adequately treated cervical carcinoma in situ without current evidence of disease. 9. Significant cardiovascular disease such as uncontrolled or symptomatic arrhythmias, congestive heart failure, or myocardial infarction within 6 months of screening, or any Class 3 or 4 cardiac disease as defined by the New York Heart Association Functional Classification, or QTc \> 480 msec at screening. 10. Unable to swallow capsules or malabsorption syndrome, disease significantly affecting gastrointestinal function, or resection of the stomach or small bowel or gastric bypass, symptomatic inflammatory bowel disease, or partial or complete bowel obstruction. 11. Uncontrolled active systemic fungal, bacterial, viral, or other infection (defined as exhibiting ongoing signs/symptoms related to the infection and without improvement, despite appropriate antibiotics or other treatment) or ongoing intravenous anti-infective treatment. 12. Known history of infection with HIV. 13. Vaccinated with live, attenuated vaccines within 4 weeks of first dose of study drug. 14\. Serologic status reflecting active hepatitis B or C infection. Subjects with hepatitis B core antibody positive who are surface antigen negative or who are hepatitis C antibody positive will need to have a negative PCR result before randomization. Those who are hepatitis B surface antigen positive or hepatitis B PCR positive and those who are hepatitis C PCR positive will be excluded. 15\. History of stroke or intracranial hemorrhage within 6 months before randomization. 16\. Known history of a bleeding diathesis (e.g., hemophilia, von Willebrand disease). 17\. Requires or receiving anticoagulation with warfarin or equivalent vitamin K antagonists (e.g., phenprocoumon) within 7 days of first dose of study drug. 18\. Requires treatment with proton-pump inhibitors (e.g., omeprazole, esomeprazole, lansoprazole, dexlansoprazole, rabeprazole, or pantoprazole). 19\. Breast feeding or pregnant. 20. Current life-threatening illness, medical condition, or organ system dysfunction which, in the Investigator's opinion, could compromise the subject's safety or put the study at risk. 21\. Concurrent participation in another therapeutic clinical trial. 22. Requires treatment with a strong CYP3A inhibitor/inducer. 23. Presence of a gastrointestinal ulcer diagnosed by endoscopy within 3 months before screening.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-free Survival by IRC (Independent Review Committee) Assessment in Arm A Compared to Arm BIRC assessments were done from randomization date until disease progression or death or IRC discontinuation date on 08Feb2019 (as the IA based on this data cutoff date showed the study crossing superiority boundary) whichever comes first up to 40 months.To evaluate the efficacy of obinutuzumab in combination with chlorambucil (Arm A) compared with acalabrutinib in combination with obinutuzumab (Arm B) based on IRC assessment of progression-free survival (PFS) per International Workshop on Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia criteria (IWCLL; Hallek et al. 2008) with incorporation of the clarification for treatment-related lymphocytosis (Cheson et al. 2012), hereafter referred to as IWCLL 2008 criteria, in subjects with previously untreated CLL. PFS, defined as the time from date of randomization to the date of first IRC-assessed disease progression or death due to any cause, whichever comes first.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-free Survival by IRC Assessment Arm A Versus Arm CIRC assessments were done from randomization date until disease progression or death or IRC discontinuation date on 08Feb2019 (as the IA based on this data cutoff date showed the study crossing superiority boundary) whichever comes first up to 40 months.To evaluate the efficacy of obinutuzumab in combination with chlorambucil (Arm A) compared with acalabrutinib monotherapy (Arm C) based on IRC assessment of progression-free survival (PFS) per International Workshop on Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia criteria (IWCLL; Hallek et al. 2008) with incorporation of the clarification for treatment-related lymphocytosis (Cheson et al. 2012), hereafter referred to as IWCLL 2008 criteria, in subjects with previously untreated CLL. PFS, defined as the time from date of randomization to the date of first IRC-assessed disease progression or death due to any cause, whichever comes first.
IRC-assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm CIRC assessments were done from randomization date until disease progression or death or IRC discontinuation date on 08Feb2019 (as the IA based on this data cutoff date showed the study crossing superiority boundary) whichever comes first up to 40 months.ORR was defined as the proportion of subjects who achieved a best response of CR, CRi, nPR, or PR at or before initiation of subsequent anticancer therapy. ORR including PRL was defined as the proportion of subjects who achieved a best response of CR, CRi, nPR, PR or PRL at or before initiation of subsequent anticancer therapy
Time to Next Treatment (TTNT) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm CFrom randomization date to start of non-protocol specified subsequent anticancer therapy for CLL or death due to any cause, whichever came first assessed up to 40 months of follow-up.TTNT was defined as the time from randomization to start date of non-protocol specified subsequent anticancer therapy for CLL or death due to any cause, whichever came first. TTNT was analyzed in the same fashion as that for the primary efficacy analysis
Overall Survival (OS) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm CFrom randomization date until death, withdrawal by subject, lost to follow-up, or by analysis data cut off date on 08Feb2019 whichever comes first up to 40 months of follow-up.OS was defined as the time from the date of randomization to death due to any cause.

Countries

Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, New Zealand, Poland, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Contacts

STUDY_DIRECTORAstraZeneca Clinical Study Information Center

1-877-240-9479 information.center@astrazeneca.com

Participant flow

Recruitment details

A randomized, multicenter, open-label, 3 arm phase 3 study of Obinutuzumab in combination with Chlorambucil (Chlb+Obin), Acalabrutinib in combination with Obinutuzumab (Acala+Obin), and Acalabrutinib monotherapy (Acala) in subjects with previously untreated chronic lymphocytic leukemia. A total of 535 subjects recruited from 142 sites in 18 countries were randomized (1:1:1) as follows: 179/179 /177 subjects in Acla+Obin arm / Acala arm / Chlb+Obin arm respectively.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Obinutuzumab in Combination With Chlorambucil
Obinutuzumab IV infusions will be administered over a total of 6 treatment cycles starting at Cycle 1 Day 1. Chlorambucil will be orally administered on Days 1 and 15 of Cycles 1 through 6. Obinutuzumab Chlorambucil
177
Acalabrutinib in Combination With Obinutuzumab
Obinutuzumab IV infusions will be administered over a total of 6 treatment cycles starting at Cycle 2 Day 1. Acalabrutinib (ACP-196) will be orally administered starting on Cycle 1 Day 1. Daily administration of Acalabrutinib (ACP-196) will continue until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Acalabrutinib Obinutuzumab
179
Acalabrutinib Monotherapy
Acalabrutinib will be orally administered on Cycle 1 Day 1 until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Acalabrutinib
179
Total535

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicAcalabrutinib in Combination With ObinutuzumabTotalObinutuzumab in Combination With ChlorambucilAcalabrutinib Monotherapy
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
144 Participants448 Participants153 Participants151 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
35 Participants87 Participants24 Participants28 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants24 Participants11 Participants11 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
169 Participants481 Participants156 Participants156 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
8 Participants30 Participants10 Participants12 Participants
IXRS Randomization Stratification Factor: ECOG Performance Status
0-1 (0=Fully Active; 1 =Restricted in Physically Strenuous Activity)
169 Participants504 Participants168 Participants167 Participants
IXRS Randomization Stratification Factor: ECOG Performance Status
2 (2=Ambulatory and capable of all selfcare but unable to carry out any work activities)
10 Participants31 Participants9 Participants12 Participants
IXRS Randomization Stratification Factor: Geographic Region
North America and West Europe
104 Participants312 Participants103 Participants105 Participants
IXRS Randomization Stratification Factor: Geographic Region
Other
75 Participants223 Participants74 Participants74 Participants
IXRS Randomization Stratification Factor: Presence of 17p Deletion
No
158 Participants478 Participants160 Participants160 Participants
IXRS Randomization Stratification Factor: Presence of 17p Deletion
Yes
21 Participants57 Participants17 Participants19 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
3 Participants3 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
5 Participants13 Participants4 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
7 Participants18 Participants6 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
164 Participants499 Participants165 Participants170 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Australia
9 Participants26 Participants9 Participants8 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Belgium
5 Participants13 Participants5 Participants3 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Brazil
5 Participants14 Participants4 Participants5 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Canada
8 Participants22 Participants7 Participants7 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Chile
0 Participants5 Participants2 Participants3 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Colombia
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants
Region of Enrollment
France
3 Participants7 Participants3 Participants1 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Germany
1 Participants7 Participants3 Participants3 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Hungary
26 Participants58 Participants17 Participants15 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Israel
9 Participants26 Participants10 Participants7 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Italy
9 Participants25 Participants11 Participants5 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Lithuania
2 Participants17 Participants9 Participants6 Participants
Region of Enrollment
New Zealand
4 Participants17 Participants8 Participants5 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Poland
20 Participants59 Participants14 Participants25 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Spain
3 Participants13 Participants7 Participants3 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Sweden
3 Participants7 Participants1 Participants3 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United Kingdom
16 Participants45 Participants12 Participants17 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
56 Participants173 Participants54 Participants63 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
68 Participants207 Participants71 Participants68 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
111 Participants328 Participants106 Participants111 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
17 / 1779 / 17911 / 1792 / 45
other
Total, other adverse events
167 / 169171 / 178170 / 17937 / 45
serious
Total, serious adverse events
37 / 16969 / 17857 / 1796 / 45

Outcome results

Primary

Progression-free Survival by IRC (Independent Review Committee) Assessment in Arm A Compared to Arm B

To evaluate the efficacy of obinutuzumab in combination with chlorambucil (Arm A) compared with acalabrutinib in combination with obinutuzumab (Arm B) based on IRC assessment of progression-free survival (PFS) per International Workshop on Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia criteria (IWCLL; Hallek et al. 2008) with incorporation of the clarification for treatment-related lymphocytosis (Cheson et al. 2012), hereafter referred to as IWCLL 2008 criteria, in subjects with previously untreated CLL. PFS, defined as the time from date of randomization to the date of first IRC-assessed disease progression or death due to any cause, whichever comes first.

Time frame: IRC assessments were done from randomization date until disease progression or death or IRC discontinuation date on 08Feb2019 (as the IA based on this data cutoff date showed the study crossing superiority boundary) whichever comes first up to 40 months.

Population: Intent to Treat (ITT)

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Obinutuzumab in Combination With ChlorambucilProgression-free Survival by IRC (Independent Review Committee) Assessment in Arm A Compared to Arm B22.6 Months
Arm B: Acalabrutinib in Combination With ObinutuzumabProgression-free Survival by IRC (Independent Review Committee) Assessment in Arm A Compared to Arm BNA Months
Comparison: The primary test to compare PFS between treatment arms was the two-sided log-rank test, stratified by randomization stratification factors. The estimate of the HR (Arm B/Arm A) and the corresponding 95% CI was computed using a Cox proportional hazards model stratified by randomization stratification factors. Randomization stratification factors were based on the data recorded in IXRS.p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.06, 0.17]Log Rank
Secondary

IRC-assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm C

ORR was defined as the proportion of subjects who achieved a best response of CR, CRi, nPR, or PR at or before initiation of subsequent anticancer therapy. ORR including PRL was defined as the proportion of subjects who achieved a best response of CR, CRi, nPR, PR or PRL at or before initiation of subsequent anticancer therapy

Time frame: IRC assessments were done from randomization date until disease progression or death or IRC discontinuation date on 08Feb2019 (as the IA based on this data cutoff date showed the study crossing superiority boundary) whichever comes first up to 40 months.

Population: Intent to Treat

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm A: Obinutuzumab in Combination With ChlorambucilIRC-assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm C78.5 percentage of participants
Arm B: Acalabrutinib in Combination With ObinutuzumabIRC-assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm C93.9 percentage of participants
Arm C: Acalabrutinib MonotherapyIRC-assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm C85.5 percentage of participants
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [8.3, 22.3]Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel
p-value: 0.076395% CI: [-1, 14.9]Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm C

OS was defined as the time from the date of randomization to death due to any cause.

Time frame: From randomization date until death, withdrawal by subject, lost to follow-up, or by analysis data cut off date on 08Feb2019 whichever comes first up to 40 months of follow-up.

Population: Intent to Treat (ITT)

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Obinutuzumab in Combination With ChlorambucilOverall Survival (OS) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm CNA Months
Arm B: Acalabrutinib in Combination With ObinutuzumabOverall Survival (OS) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm CNA Months
Arm C: Acalabrutinib MonotherapyOverall Survival (OS) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm CNA Months
Comparison: The test to compare overall survival between treatment Arms A versus B and Arms A versus C was the two-sided log-rank test, stratified by randomization stratification factors. The estimate of the HR and the corresponding 95% CI was computed using a Cox proportional hazards model stratified by randomization stratification factors. Randomization stratification factors were based on the data recorded in IXRS.p-value: 0.057795% CI: [0.21, 1.06]Log Rank
p-value: 0.155695% CI: [0.28, 1.27]Log Rank
Secondary

Progression-free Survival by IRC Assessment Arm A Versus Arm C

To evaluate the efficacy of obinutuzumab in combination with chlorambucil (Arm A) compared with acalabrutinib monotherapy (Arm C) based on IRC assessment of progression-free survival (PFS) per International Workshop on Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia criteria (IWCLL; Hallek et al. 2008) with incorporation of the clarification for treatment-related lymphocytosis (Cheson et al. 2012), hereafter referred to as IWCLL 2008 criteria, in subjects with previously untreated CLL. PFS, defined as the time from date of randomization to the date of first IRC-assessed disease progression or death due to any cause, whichever comes first.

Time frame: IRC assessments were done from randomization date until disease progression or death or IRC discontinuation date on 08Feb2019 (as the IA based on this data cutoff date showed the study crossing superiority boundary) whichever comes first up to 40 months.

Population: Intent to Treat (ITT)

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Obinutuzumab in Combination With ChlorambucilProgression-free Survival by IRC Assessment Arm A Versus Arm C22.6 Months
Arm B: Acalabrutinib in Combination With ObinutuzumabProgression-free Survival by IRC Assessment Arm A Versus Arm CNA Months
Comparison: The test to compare PFS between treatment Arms A and C was the two-sided log-rank test, stratified by randomization stratification factors. The estimate of the HR and the corresponding 95% CI was computed using a Cox proportional hazards model stratified by randomization stratification factors. Randomization stratification factors were based on the data recorded in IXRS.p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.13, 0.3]Log Rank
Secondary

Time to Next Treatment (TTNT) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm C

TTNT was defined as the time from randomization to start date of non-protocol specified subsequent anticancer therapy for CLL or death due to any cause, whichever came first. TTNT was analyzed in the same fashion as that for the primary efficacy analysis

Time frame: From randomization date to start of non-protocol specified subsequent anticancer therapy for CLL or death due to any cause, whichever came first assessed up to 40 months of follow-up.

Population: Intent to Treat (ITT)

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Obinutuzumab in Combination With ChlorambucilTime to Next Treatment (TTNT) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm CNA Months
Arm B: Acalabrutinib in Combination With ObinutuzumabTime to Next Treatment (TTNT) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm CNA Months
Arm C: Acalabrutinib MonotherapyTime to Next Treatment (TTNT) in Arm A Versus Arm B and Arm A Versus Arm CNA Months
Comparison: The test to compare TTNT between treatment Arms A versus B and Arms A versus C was the two-sided log-rank test, stratified by randomization stratification factors. The estimate of the HR and the corresponding 95% CI was computed using a Cox proportional hazards model stratified by randomization stratification factors. Randomization stratification factors were based on the data recorded in IXRS.p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.08, 0.26]Log Rank
p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.15, 0.4]Log Rank

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Aug 26, 2026