Skip to content

A Study of Rituximab in Combination With Chemotherapy in Relapsed/Refractory Follicular Lymphoma

Relapsed/Refractory Follicular Lymphoma - Rituximab Therapy in Combination With Chemotherapy

Status
Completed
Phases
Unknown
Study type
Observational
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02472756
Acronym
REFLECT 2
Enrollment
41
Registered
2015-06-16
Start date
2008-09-19
Completion date
2014-05-30
Last updated
2017-08-01

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Lymphoma, Follicular

Brief summary

This is a Phase 4, open, prospective, non-interventional, multicenter trial for previously treated adult participants with relapsed/refractory follicular lymphoma (FL). Eligible participants with FL will receive 6-8 infusions of induction standard regimen of rituximab plus chemotherapy. Participants with complete or partial remission at end of induction will be assigned to maintenance therapy with rituximab once every 3 months for a maximum of 2 years or until relapse. The choice of the treatment regimen will be established on a per center basis, according to the standard in use in the country and in the center, and each center will use the same regimen through the study. Participants will be followed up for safety and efficacy evaluation in accordance with routine practice.

Interventions

DRUGChemotherapy

The choice of the chemotherapy regimen will be established on a per center basis, according to the standard in use in the country and in the center. Protocol does not specify any particular chemotherapy regimen.

DRUGRituximab

The choice of the rituximab regimen will be established on a per center basis, according to the standard in use in the country and in the center. Protocol does not specify any particular chemotherapy regimen.

Sponsors

Hoffmann-La Roche
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Observational model
COHORT
Time perspective
PROSPECTIVE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Participants diagnosed with FL and had already received one or more treatments

Exclusion criteria

* Participants who are not eligible for rituximab treatment according to summary of product characteristics (SmPC)

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Objective ResponseBaseline until disease progression or death, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 6 months)Lymphoma response was assessed using Cheson criteria. Objective response was defined as having either complete remission (CR) or partial remission (PR). Criteria for CR (target lesions): Nodes returned to normal (if greatest transverse diameter \[GTD\] greater than \[\>\] 15 millimeters \[mm\] before therapy, GTD now less than or equal to \[≤\] 15 mm; if GTD 11-15 mm and short axis \[SA\] \>10 mm before therapy, SA now ≤10 mm) and all (non-nodal) target lesions completely resolved. Criteria for CR (non-target lesions): All non-target lymph nodes returned to normal size, all extra-nodal lesions have completely resolved, liver and spleen have returned to normal size (if enlarged at baseline). Criteria for PR: Sum of the product of the diameters (SPD) of target lesions decreased at least 50 percent (%) from baseline and spleen and liver nodules regressed by 50% in SPD or single lesion in GTD.
Percentage of Participants With Complete Remission (CR)Baseline until disease progression or death, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 6 months)Lymphoma response was assessed using Cheson criteria. Criteria for CR (target lesions): Nodes returned to normal (if GTD \>15 mm before therapy, GTD now ≤15 mm; if GTD 11-15 mm and SA \>10 mm before therapy, SA now ≤ 10 mm) and all (non-nodal) target lesions completely resolved. Criteria for CR (non-target lesions): All non-target lymph nodes returned to normal size, all extra-nodal lesions have completely resolved, liver and spleen have returned to normal size (if enlarged at baseline).
Percentage of Participants Who Were Alive at Year 2Year 2

Countries

Serbia

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

All treatments prescribed during the observation period were at the treating physician's discretion and should have been prescribed according to package labeling, within approved indication and local approval status of respective drugs.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Follicular Lymphoma Participants
Previously treated adult participants with relapsed/refractory follicular lymphoma received induction treatment with rituximab in combination with chemotherapy regimen for approximately 6 months followed by maintenance therapy with rituximab for a maximum of 2 years. All treatments prescribed during the observation period were at the treating physician's discretion. Participants were followed up for safety and efficacy evaluation in accordance with routine practice, up to 30 months.
40
Total40

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Induction (Approximately 6 Months)Adverse Event1
Induction (Approximately 6 Months)Enrolled But Not Treated1
Maintenance (Approximately 2 Years)Adverse Event1
Maintenance (Approximately 2 Years)Lack of Drug7
Maintenance (Approximately 2 Years)Progression Disease2

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicFollicular Lymphoma Participants
Age, Continuous55 years
Sex: Female, Male
Female
26 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
14 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
3 / 41
serious
Total, serious adverse events
8 / 41

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Participants Who Were Alive at Year 2

Time frame: Year 2

Population: ITT population.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Follicular Lymphoma ParticipantsPercentage of Participants Who Were Alive at Year 285 percentage of participants
Primary

Percentage of Participants With Complete Remission (CR)

Lymphoma response was assessed using Cheson criteria. Criteria for CR (target lesions): Nodes returned to normal (if GTD \>15 mm before therapy, GTD now ≤15 mm; if GTD 11-15 mm and SA \>10 mm before therapy, SA now ≤ 10 mm) and all (non-nodal) target lesions completely resolved. Criteria for CR (non-target lesions): All non-target lymph nodes returned to normal size, all extra-nodal lesions have completely resolved, liver and spleen have returned to normal size (if enlarged at baseline).

Time frame: Baseline until disease progression or death, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 6 months)

Population: ITT population. Number of participants analyzed = participants who were evaluable for this outcome.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Follicular Lymphoma ParticipantsPercentage of Participants With Complete Remission (CR)56.4 percentage of participants
Primary

Percentage of Participants With Objective Response

Lymphoma response was assessed using Cheson criteria. Objective response was defined as having either complete remission (CR) or partial remission (PR). Criteria for CR (target lesions): Nodes returned to normal (if greatest transverse diameter \[GTD\] greater than \[\>\] 15 millimeters \[mm\] before therapy, GTD now less than or equal to \[≤\] 15 mm; if GTD 11-15 mm and short axis \[SA\] \>10 mm before therapy, SA now ≤10 mm) and all (non-nodal) target lesions completely resolved. Criteria for CR (non-target lesions): All non-target lymph nodes returned to normal size, all extra-nodal lesions have completely resolved, liver and spleen have returned to normal size (if enlarged at baseline). Criteria for PR: Sum of the product of the diameters (SPD) of target lesions decreased at least 50 percent (%) from baseline and spleen and liver nodules regressed by 50% in SPD or single lesion in GTD.

Time frame: Baseline until disease progression or death, whichever occurred first (up to approximately 6 months)

Population: Intent-to treat (ITT) population. Number of participants analyzed = participants who were evaluable for this outcome.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Follicular Lymphoma ParticipantsPercentage of Participants With Objective Response92.3 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026