Skip to content

TVEC and Preop Radiation for Sarcoma (4 ml Dose)

Neoadjuvant Intralesional Injection of Talimogene Laherparepvec With Concurrent Preoperative Radiation in Patients With Locally Advanced Soft Tissue Sarcomas

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02453191
Enrollment
30
Registered
2015-05-25
Start date
2015-07-13
Completion date
2023-03-10
Last updated
2024-06-20

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Soft Tissue Sarcoma

Brief summary

The purpose of this research study is to determine the safety and tolerability of talimogene laherparepvec when combined with radiation therapy. Approximately 30 people will take part in this study conducted by investigators at the University of Iowa.

Detailed description

This is a single-arm open-label phase Ib and phase II clinical study assessing the safety and relative efficacy of concurrent talimogene laherparepvec in combination with radiotherapy in patients with soft tissue sarcomas. Patients will be treated with neoadjuvant radiation and weekly intratumoral injections of talimogene laherparepvec. Weekly injections of talimogene laherparepvec will be continued until surgery. Surgery will be performed 4-6 weeks from the end of radiation therapy to allow for resolution of acute toxicities per current standard of care.

Interventions

DRUGTalimogene Laherparepvec

Talimogene Laherparepvec

RADIATIONRadiotherapy

Concurrent Preoperative Radiation. External Beam Radiation Therapy (EBRT) will be given at the standard dose for resectable soft tissue sarcomas. according to the NCCN sarcoma guidelines.

Sponsors

Amgen
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
University of Iowa
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Subject has provided informed consent. * Histologically confirmed diagnosis of locally advanced STS that is unresectable with clear wide margins, for which preoperative radiotherapy is considered appropriate. EXAMPLES: * Resectable stage IIB, III, and IV disease that are not suitable for surgically resection alone due to inability to achieve clear margins. * Including metastatic (stage IV) disease for which radiotherapy and surgical resection are indicated. * Except certain histologic subtypes: GIST, Desmoid, Ewing sarcoma, Kaposi sarcoma, and bone sarcomas. * Previous treatment: prior systemic anti-cancer treatment consisting of chemotherapy, immunotherapy, or targeted therapy are allowed provided therapy completed at least 1 year prior to enrollment. * No prior Talimogene laherparepvec or tumor vaccines allowed. * No prior radiation to the same tumor bed allowed. * Age ≥18 years. * Both men and women of all races and ethnic groups are eligible for this trial. * ECOG performance status ≤1. * Patient must have measurable disease: * Tumor size at least ≥ 5 cm in the longest diameter as measured by CT scan or MRI for which radiation is feasible. * Patient must have injectable disease (direct injection or ultrasound guided).

Exclusion criteria

* Certain histologic subtypes: GIST, Desmoid, Ewing sarcoma, Kaposi sarcoma, and bone sarcomas. * History or evidence of sarcoma associated with immunodeficiency states (e.g.: Hereditary immune deficiency, HIV, organ transplant or leukemia). * Subjects with retroperitoneal and visceral sarcoma. * History or evidence of gastrointestinal inflammatory bowel disease (ulcerative colitis or Crohn's disease) or other symptomatic autoimmune disease including, inflammatory bowel disease, or history of any poorly controlled or severe systemic autoimmune disease (i.e., rheumatoid arthritis, systemic lupus erythematosus, scleroderma, type I diabetes, or autoimmune vasculitis). * History of other malignancy within the past 3 years except treated with curative intent and no known active disease present and has not received chemotherapy for ≥ 1 year before enrollment/randomization and low risk for recurrence. * History of prior or current autoimmune disease. * History of prior or current splenectomy or splenic irradiation. * Active herpetic skin lesions * Require intermittent or chronic treatment with an anti-herpetic drug (e.g., acyclovir), other than intermittent topical use. * Any non-oncology vaccine therapies used for the prevention of infectious disease within 28 days prior to enrollment and during treatment period. * Concomitant treatment with therapeutic anticoagulants such as warfarin. * Known human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) disease (requires negative test for clinically suspected HIV infection). * Acute or chronic hepatitis B or hepatitis C infection (requires negative test for clinically suspected hepatitis B or hepatitis C infection). * Evidence of hepatitis B - 1. Positive HBV surface antigen (indicative for chronic hepatitis B or recent acute hepatitis B). 2. Negative HBV surface antigen but positive HBV total core antibody (indicative for resolved hepatitis B infection or occult hepatitis B) and detectable copies of HBV DNA by PCR (detectable HBV DNA copies suggest occult hepatitis B). * Evidence of hepatitis C - 1\. Positive HCV antibody and positive HCV RNA by PCR (undetectable RNA copies suggest past and resolved hepatitis C infection). * Female subjects who are pregnant or breast-feeding, or planning to become pregnant during study treatment and through 3 months after the last dose of study treatment. * Female subjects of childbearing potential or male subjects who are unwilling to use 2 highly effective methods of contraception during study treatment and through 3 months after the last dose of study treatment. See Section 7.5 for more details. * Currently receiving treatment in another investigational device or drug study, or less than 30 days since ending treatment on another investigational device or drug study(s). * Other investigational procedures while participating in this study that could affect the primary objective of the study as determined by the PI are excluded. * Subject previously has entered this study. * Patients who are receiving any other investigational agents. * Evidence of CNS metastases. * History of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to talimogene laherparepvec. * Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements. * Patients on or requiring immunosuppressive therapies. * Any of the following laboratory abnormalities: * Hemoglobin \< 9.0 g/dL * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \< 1500 per mm3 * Platelet count \< 100,000 per mm3 * Total bilirubin \> 1.5 × ULN * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) or alanine aminotransferase (ALT) \> 2.5 × ULN * Alkaline phosphatase \> 2.5 × ULN * PT (or INR) and PTT (or aPTT) \> 1.5 × ULN * Creatinine \> 2.0 × ULN

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Phase 1b: Number of Subjects With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)14 weeksA DLT is defined as any of the following talimogene laherparepvec-related toxicity or related to the combination of talimogene laherparepvec and radiation therapy during treatment and up to 4 weeks after the last talimogene laherparepvec injection: Grade 3 or greater immune-mediated adverse events, Grade 3 or greater allergic reactions, any grade plasmacytoma, any other unexpected grade 3 or greater hematologic or non-hematologic toxicity, with the exceptions of: any grade of alopecia, expected radiation related skin toxicity of any grade, Grade 3 arthralgia or myalgia, brief (\< 1 week) grade 3 fatigue, Grade 3 fever, Grade 3 diarrhea or vomiting responding to supportive case.
Phase 2: Pathologic Tumor Necrosis Rate14 weeksPathologic tumor necrosis rate is defined as the percentage of subjects with pathologic tumor necrosis ≥ 95%.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Response Rate24 monthsOverall response rate is defined as the percentage of patients with a confirmed complete or partial response per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI/CT: Complete response (CR) is the disappearance of all target lesions. Partial response (PR) is a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest dimensions of the target lesions, relative to baseline. Progressive disease (PD) is an increase of 20% or more in the sum of the longest dimension of target lesions. Stable disease (SD) is a decrease in the tumor size of \< 30% or an increase of \< 20%.
Percentage of Participants With 2 Year Progression-Free Survival24 monthsProgression-free survival is defined as the time from treatment initiation to the date of first documentation of disease progression or death due to any cause. Otherwise, patients are censored at the date of last radiographic assessment for progression.
Percentage of Participants With 2 Year Overall Survival24 monthsOverall survival is defined as the time from treatment initiation to death due to any cause. Patients still alive are censored at last date known to be alive.
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)14 weeksTo further assess the safety of talimogene laherparepvec given concurrently with preoperative external beam radiation in sarcoma patients.Information regarding the occurrence of adverse events will be collected from the time the subject signs the informed consent form and throughout their participation in the study, including a period of 30 days after the last dose of study drug.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Treatment
talimogene laherparepvec in combination with radiotherapy talimogene laherparepvec: talimogene laherparepvec Radiotherapy: Concurrent Preoperative Radiation. External Beam Radiation Therapy (EBRT) will be given at the standard dose for resectable soft tissue sarcomas. according to the NCCN sarcoma guidelines.
30
Total30

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject1

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTreatment
Age, Continuous61 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
29 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
29 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
30 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
9 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
21 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
4 / 30
other
Total, other adverse events
30 / 30
serious
Total, serious adverse events
4 / 30

Outcome results

Primary

Phase 1b: Number of Subjects With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)

A DLT is defined as any of the following talimogene laherparepvec-related toxicity or related to the combination of talimogene laherparepvec and radiation therapy during treatment and up to 4 weeks after the last talimogene laherparepvec injection: Grade 3 or greater immune-mediated adverse events, Grade 3 or greater allergic reactions, any grade plasmacytoma, any other unexpected grade 3 or greater hematologic or non-hematologic toxicity, with the exceptions of: any grade of alopecia, expected radiation related skin toxicity of any grade, Grade 3 arthralgia or myalgia, brief (\< 1 week) grade 3 fatigue, Grade 3 fever, Grade 3 diarrhea or vomiting responding to supportive case.

Time frame: 14 weeks

Population: 6 participants were evaluable for DLT assessment

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
TreatmentPhase 1b: Number of Subjects With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)0 Participants
Primary

Phase 2: Pathologic Tumor Necrosis Rate

Pathologic tumor necrosis rate is defined as the percentage of subjects with pathologic tumor necrosis ≥ 95%.

Time frame: 14 weeks

Population: In Phase 2, 24 subjects were accrued. One patient refused surgery resulting in 23 subjects being evaluated.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
TreatmentPhase 2: Pathologic Tumor Necrosis Rate≥ 95%5 Participants
TreatmentPhase 2: Pathologic Tumor Necrosis Rate< 95%18 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)

To further assess the safety of talimogene laherparepvec given concurrently with preoperative external beam radiation in sarcoma patients.Information regarding the occurrence of adverse events will be collected from the time the subject signs the informed consent form and throughout their participation in the study, including a period of 30 days after the last dose of study drug.

Time frame: 14 weeks

Population: All 30 enrolled subjects were assessed for AEs

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
TreatmentNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)30 Participants
Secondary

Overall Response Rate

Overall response rate is defined as the percentage of patients with a confirmed complete or partial response per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI/CT: Complete response (CR) is the disappearance of all target lesions. Partial response (PR) is a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest dimensions of the target lesions, relative to baseline. Progressive disease (PD) is an increase of 20% or more in the sum of the longest dimension of target lesions. Stable disease (SD) is a decrease in the tumor size of \< 30% or an increase of \< 20%.

Time frame: 24 months

Population: Subjects completing Phase 1 and 2.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
TreatmentOverall Response RateComplete Response0 Participants
TreatmentOverall Response RatePartial Response1 Participants
TreatmentOverall Response RateStable Disease20 Participants
TreatmentOverall Response RateProgressive Disease9 Participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With 2 Year Overall Survival

Overall survival is defined as the time from treatment initiation to death due to any cause. Patients still alive are censored at last date known to be alive.

Time frame: 24 months

Population: Subjects in Phase 1 and 2.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
TreatmentPercentage of Participants With 2 Year Overall Survival77 percentage of participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With 2 Year Progression-Free Survival

Progression-free survival is defined as the time from treatment initiation to the date of first documentation of disease progression or death due to any cause. Otherwise, patients are censored at the date of last radiographic assessment for progression.

Time frame: 24 months

Population: Subjects completing Phase 1 and 2.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
TreatmentPercentage of Participants With 2 Year Progression-Free Survival57 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 15, 2026