Skip to content

Phase 1/2 Study of Motolimod, Doxorubicin, and Durvalumab in Recurrent, Platinum-Resistant Ovarian Cancer

Phase 1/2 Study of Chemoimmunotherapy With Toll-like Receptor 8 Agonist Motolimod (VTX-2337) + Anti-PD-L1 Antibody MEDI4736 in Subjects With Recurrent, Platinum-Resistant Ovarian Cancer for Whom Pegylated Liposomal Doxorubicin is Indicated

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02431559
Enrollment
53
Registered
2015-05-01
Start date
2015-12-02
Completion date
2021-06-10
Last updated
2022-10-10

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Ovarian Cancer

Keywords

Ovarian Cancer, Motolimod, Immunotherapy, PD-L1, MEDI4736, Pegylated, Liposomal, Doxorubicin, PLD, TLR-8, Durvalumab

Brief summary

This is an ongoing Phase 1/2, open-label, multicenter, non-randomized study of MEDI4736 (durvalumab) in subjects with recurrent, platinum-resistant ovarian cancer who are scheduled to receive pegylated liposomal doxorubicin (PLD).The primary objective of Phase 1 is to determine the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) and safety profile, with a secondary objective to evaluate the clinical efficacy as measured by progression-free survival (PFS) rate at 6 months (PFS-6). The primary objective of Phase 2 is the evaluation of clinical efficacy as measured by PFS-6. For both phases, secondary objectives include evaluation of clinical efficacy as measured by overall response rate, PFS, and overall survival (OS), safety and tolerability, and immunological responses.

Detailed description

In the completed Phase 1 part of the study, eligible subjects were enrolled using a standard 3 + 3 design to identify the MTD (i.e., the highest dose for which fewer than 33% of subjects experienced a dose-limiting toxicity \[DLT\]) of combination study treatment. All dose levels in Phase 1 included intravenous (IV) PLD (40 mg/m\^2) in combination with subcutaneous (SC) motolimod (2.0 or 2.5 mg/m\^2), using a starting dose of 3 mg/kg of IV durvalumab given every 2 weeks (Q2W) or 1500 mg of IV durvalumab given every 4 weeks (Q4W). All subjects in a cohort had their safety data reviewed for DLTs before proceeding with cohort expansion. After completion of Phase 1 and determination of the durvalumab MTD to be carried forward into Phase 2, availability of data from another study (NCT01666444) indicated a lack of additive efficacy when motolimod was administered with PLD compared with PLD alone. As such, motolimod dosing was discontinued for all subjects in Study LUD2014-001 after completion of Phase 1. Subjects who had initiated treatment may have continued to receive PLD and durvalumab at their respective dose levels but must have discontinued motolimod. Thus, in the fully-accrued but ongoing Phase 2 portion of the study, subjects received only PLD (40 mg/m\^2) in combination with durvalumab at the MTD determined in Phase 1 (1500 mg every 4 weeks \[Q4W\]). Subjects are treated in the Core Study for an initial 12 cycles (28 days each) according to their treatment assignment. Durvalumab treatment may be extended for subjects who complete the Core Study with stable disease or better and upon agreement among the subject, Sponsor, and Investigator; extended durvalumab monotherapy may continue until confirmed disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, withdrawal of consent, or other discontinuation criteria are met. Subjects are followed on study for 90 days after the last drug administration and off study every 3 months for 3 years from the date of the first dose of study treatment.

Interventions

DRUGPegylated Liposomal Doxorubicin

PLD was administered as an IV infusion in accordance with local prescribing information.

DRUGDurvalumab

Durvalumab is administered as an IV infusion over 60 ± 5 minutes.

Motolimod was administered as an SC injection. Within 30 minutes prior to each dose of motolimod, subjects were administered 650-1000 mg acetaminophen by mouth to help mitigate potential adverse events (AEs) commonly associated with the administration of motolimod (e.g., fever, myalgia). On days with concurrent motolimod and durvalumab dosing, motolimod administration occurred 30-60 minutes after the end of the durvalumab infusion. After completion of Phase 1, a protocol amendment was implemented to remove motolimod dosing from the study.

Sponsors

MedImmune LLC
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Celgene
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Cancer Research Institute, New York City
CollaboratorOTHER
Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
SEQUENTIAL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
FEMALE
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Subjects must have had recurrent or persistent platinum-resistant epithelial ovarian, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal carcinoma with measurable disease (as defined by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors \[RECIST\] 1.1.) after first or second line platinum-based chemotherapy, for which treatment with PLD was indicated. Platinum-based therapy was defined as treatment with carboplatin, cisplatin or another organoplatinum compound. Platinum-resistant was defined as having a platinum-free interval of \< 12 months after first- or second-line platinum-based chemotherapy, or having disease progression while receiving second-line platinum-based chemotherapy. Subjects were allowed to have received, but were not required to have received: * one additional cytotoxic regimen and/or poly adenosine diphosphate-ribose polymerase inhibitor for management of recurrent or persistent disease. * biologic therapy (e.g., bevacizumab) as part of their primary treatment regimen or part of their treatment for management of recurrent or persistent disease. 2. Histologic documentation of the original primary tumor. 3. Documented radiographic disease progression \< 12 months after the last dose of first- or second-line platinum-based chemotherapy. 4. Subjects in Phase 2 must have had disease amenable to biopsy and must have been willing to undergo pre- and post-treatment tumor biopsies. Optional for Phase 1. Note: archival tissue was requested for all subjects preferably from primary tumor site prior to cancer treatment; however, archival tissue was not a requirement for study entry. 5. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or 1. 6. Laboratory parameters for vital functions should have been in the normal range. Laboratory abnormalities that were not clinically significant were generally permitted, except for the following laboratory parameters, which must have been within the ranges specified, regardless of clinical significance: * Hemoglobin: ≥ 9 g/dL * Neutrophil count: ≥ 1.5 x 10\^9/L * Platelet count: ≥ 100,000/mm\^3 * Serum creatinine: ≤ 1.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN), or creatinine clearance ≥ 50 mL/min (by Cockcroft-Gault formula) * Serum bilirubin: ≤ 1.2 mg/dL * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST)/alanine aminotransferase (ALT): ≤ 2.5 x ULN * Alkaline phosphatase: ≤ 2.5 x ULN 7. Age ≥18 years. 8. Able and willing to give valid written informed consent. 9. Body weight \> 30 kg.

Exclusion criteria

1. Prior exposure to doxorubicin, PLD or any other anthracycline, motolimod and other toll-like receptor agonists, durvalumab or checkpoint inhibitors, such as anti-cytotoxic T-lymphocyte-associated antigen-4 (CTLA-4) and anti-programmed cell death-1 (PD-1)/anti-programmed cell death ligand-1 (PD-L1) antibodies. 2. Subjects with platinum-refractory disease, defined as disease progression while receiving first line platinum-based therapy. 3. Clinically significant persistent immune-related adverse events following prior therapy. 4. Subjects with history or evidence upon physical examination of central nervous system disease, including primary brain tumor, seizures not controlled with standard medical therapy, any brain metastases, or, within 6 months prior to Day 1 of this study, history of cerebrovascular accident (stroke), transient ischemic attack or subarachnoid hemorrhage. 5. Subjects with clinically significant cardiovascular disease. This included: 1. Resistant hypertension. 2. Myocardial infarction or unstable angina within 6 months prior to Day 1 of the study. 3. History of serious ventricular arrhythmia (i.e., ventricular tachycardia or ventricular fibrillation) or cardiac arrhythmias requiring anti-arrhythmic medications, except for atrial fibrillation that is well controlled with anti-arrhythmic medication. 4. Baseline ejection fraction ≤ 50% as assessed by echocardiogram or multiple-gated acquisition. 5. New York Heart Association Class II or higher congestive heart failure. 6. Grade 2 or higher peripheral ischemia, except for brief (\< 24 hours) episodes of ischemia managed non-surgically and without permanent deficit. 6. History of pneumonitis or interstitial lung disease. 7. Active, suspected or prior documented autoimmune disease (including inflammatory bowel disease, celiac disease, Wegner's granulomatosis, active Hashimoto's thyroiditis, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus, scleroderma and its variants, multiple sclerosis, myasthenia gravis). Vitiligo, type I diabetes mellitus, residual hypothyroidism due to autoimmune condition only requiring hormone replacement, psoriasis not requiring systemic treatment, or conditions not expected to recur in the absence of an external trigger were permitted. 8. Other malignancy within 2 years prior to Day 1 of the study, except for those treated with surgical intervention only. 9. Subjects with clinical symptoms or signs of gastrointestinal obstruction and/or who required drainage gastrostomy tube and/or parenteral hydration or nutrition. 10. Known immunodeficiency or human immunodeficiency virus, Hepatitis B or Hepatitis C positivity. 11. History of severe allergic reactions to any unknown allergens or components of the study drugs. 12. Other serious illnesses (e.g., serious infections requiring antibiotics, bleeding disorders). 13. Prior treatment in any other interventional clinical trial within 4 weeks prior to Day 1 of the study. 14. Mental impairment that may have compromised compliance with the requirements of the study. 15. Lack of availability for immunological and clinical follow-up assessment. 16. Women of childbearing potential who were found to be pregnant as evidenced by positive serum pregnancy test (minimum sensitivity 25 IU/L or equivalent units of human chorionic gonadotropin) or nursing. NOTE: Pregnancy tests were not required for subjects who were not of childbearing potential as defined in #17. 17. Female subjects of childbearing potential who were sexually active with a nonsterilized male partner must have used at least one highly effective method of contraception from screening, and must have agreed to continue using such precautions for 90 days after the final dose of investigational product (durvalumab). Male partners of a female subject must have used male condom plus spermicide throughout this period (from screening and for 90 days after subject's receipt of the final dose of investigational product). Cessation of birth control after this point should have been discussed with a responsible physician. Not engaging in sexual activity for the total duration of the trial and the drug washout period was an acceptable practice; however, periodic abstinence, the rhythm method, and the withdrawal method were not acceptable methods of birth control. Female subjects should have refrained from breastfeeding throughout the period described above. NOTE: For the standard of care, PLD (Doxil®, Caelyx®), the package insert advises females of reproductive potential to use effective contraception during and for 6 months after last treatment with the drug. Therefore, all subjects of childbearing potential on this study should have continued contraception use for 6 months after the last PLD administration. Females of childbearing potential were defined as those who were not surgically sterile (i.e., bilateral tubal ligation, bilateral oophorectomy, or complete hysterectomy) or post-menopausal. Females were considered post-menopausal if they had been amenorrheic for 12 months without an alternative medical cause. The following age-specific requirements applied: * Females \< 50 years of age were considered post-menopausal if they had been amenorrheic for 12 months or more following cessation of exogenous hormonal treatments and if they had luteinizing hormone and follicle-stimulating hormone levels in the post-menopausal range for the institution or underwent surgical sterilization (bilateral oophorectomy or hysterectomy). * Females ≥ 50 years of age were considered post-menopausal if they had been amenorrheic for 12 months or more following cessation of all exogenous hormonal treatments, had radiation-induced menopause with last menses \> 1 year ago, had chemotherapy-induced menopause with last menses \> 1 year ago, or underwent surgical sterilization (bilateral oophorectomy, bilateral salpingectomy or hysterectomy). A highly effective method of contraception was defined as one that results in a low failure rate (i.e., less than 1% per year) when used consistently and correctly. Note that some contraception methods were not considered highly effective (e.g., male or female condom with or without spermicide; female cap, diaphragm, or sponge with or without spermicide; non-copper containing intrauterine device; progestogen-only oral hormonal contraceptive pills where inhibition of ovulation is not the primary mode of action \[excluding Cerazette/desogestrel which is considered highly effective\]; and triphasic combined oral contraceptive pills). 18. Any condition that, in the clinical judgment of the treating physician, was likely to prevent the subject from complying with any aspect of the protocol or that may have put the subject at unacceptable risk. 19. Subjects must not have donated blood while on study and for at least 90 days following the last durvalumab treatment. 20. History of allogeneic organ transplant.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Up to 3.05 yearsThe primary endpoint in Phase 1 and a secondary endpoint in Phase 2 is the safety/tolerability of study treatment. Toxicity is graded in accordance with the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE), version 4.03. Adverse events (AEs) are reported based on clinical laboratory tests, vital signs, physical examinations, and any other medically indicated assessments, including subject interviews, from the time informed consent is signed through 90 days after the last dose of study treatment. Treatment-emergent AEs are those that occurred or worsened after administration of the first dose of study treatment.
Progression-free Survival Rate at 6 Months (PFS-6) by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier MethodUp to 6 months for each subjectPFS-6 according to RECIST 1.1 is the primary endpoint in Phase 2 and a secondary endpoint in Phase 1, where PFS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of earliest disease progression or to the date of death, if disease progression does not occur. Per RECIST 1.1, progressive disease (PD) is defined as a ≥ 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions (Eisenhauer et al 2009).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
PFS-12 by RECIST 1.1 as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier MethodUp to 12 months for each subjectPFS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of earliest disease progression according to RECIST 1.1 or to the date of death, if disease progression does not occur. Per RECIST 1.1, PD is defined as a ≥ 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions (Eisenhauer et al 2009).
Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)Up to 36.6 monthsTumor responses were evaluated using appropriate imaging and categorized according to irRECIST at Screening (up to 14 days before the first dose of study treatment), every 3 cycles during study treatment, and during on-study follow-up approximately 3 months after the last disease assessment. Per irRECIST, measurable lesions are categorized as follows: irCR: Complete disappearance of all target lesions; irPR: ≥ 30% decrease from baseline in the total measurable tumor burden (TMTB); irPD: ≥ 20% increase from nadir in TMTB; irSD: not meeting above criteria (Bohnsack et al 2014).
PFS-6 by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier MethodUp to 6 months for each subjectPFS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of earliest disease progression according to irRECIST or to the date of death, if disease progression does not occur. Per irRECIST, irPD is defined as a ≥ 20% increase from nadir in the TMTB (Bohnsack et al 2014).
Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1Up to 36.6 monthsTumor responses were evaluated using appropriate imaging and categorized according to RECIST 1.1 at Screening (up to 14 days before the first dose of study treatment), every 3 cycles during study treatment, and during on-study follow-up approximately 3 months after the last disease assessment. Per RECIST 1.1, target lesions are categorized as follows: complete response (CR): disappearance of all target lesions; partial response (PR): ≥ 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; PD: ≥ 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; stable disease (SD): small changes that do not meet above criteria (Eisenhauer et al 2009).
Median PFS by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier MethodUp to 36.6 monthsPFS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of earliest disease progression according to irRECIST or to the date of death, if disease progression does not occur. Per irRECIST, irPD is defined as a ≥ 20% increase from nadir in the TMTB (Bohnsack et al 2014).
Median Overall Survival (OS) as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier MethodUp to 36.6 monthsAfter completion of treatment, all subjects are followed for survival every 3 months for up to 3 years following initiation of study treatment or or for subjects continuing treatment, completion of study treatment whichever was longer. OS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of death or last follow-up. Subjects lost to follow-up are censored on the date when they were last known to be alive.
PFS-12 by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier MethodUp to 12 months for each subjectPFS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of earliest disease progression according to irRECIST or to the date of death, if disease progression does not occur. Per irRECIST, irPD is defined as a ≥ 20% increase from nadir in the TMTB (Bohnsack et al 2014).
Median PFS by RECIST 1.1 as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier MethodUp to 36.6 monthsPFS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of earliest disease progression according to RECIST 1.1 or to the date of death, if disease progression does not occur. Per RECIST 1.1, PD is defined as a ≥ 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions (Eisenhauer et al 2009).

Countries

Switzerland, United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Phase 1, Dose Level 0a
Subjects received PLD (40 mg/m\^2 IV on Day 1 of every cycle) + durvalumab (3 mg/kg Q2W \[equivalent to 450 mg Q4W\] IV on Days 3 and 17 of every cycle) for up to 12 continuous 28-day cycles (Core Study), with extended durvalumab monotherapy permitted for subjects tolerating and benefiting from treatment. Prior to removal of motolimod from the study, subjects received motolimod (2.5 mg/m\^2 SC) on Days 3, 10, and 17 of Cycles 1-3 and Days 3 and 17 of Cycles 4-12.
3
Phase 1, Dose Level 0b
Subjects received PLD (40 mg/m\^2 IV on Day 1 of every cycle) + durvalumab (1500 mg Q4W IV on Day 3 of every cycle) for up to 12 continuous 28-day cycles (Core Study), with extended durvalumab monotherapy permitted for subjects tolerating and benefiting from treatment. Prior to removal of motolimod from the study, subjects received motolimod (2.0 mg/m\^2 SC) on Days 3, 10, and 17 of Cycles 1-3 and Day 3 of Cycles 4-12.
4
Phase 1, Dose Level +1
Subjects received PLD (40 mg/m\^2 IV on Day 1 of every cycle) + durvalumab (1500 mg Q4W IV on Day 3 of every cycle) for up to 12 continuous 28-day cycles (Core Study), with extended durvalumab monotherapy permitted for subjects tolerating and benefiting from treatment. Prior to removal of motolimod from the study, subjects received motolimod (2.5 mg/m\^2 SC) on Days 3, 10, and 17 of Cycles 1-3 and Day 3 of Cycles 4-12.
6
Phase 2
Subjects received the MTD determined in Phase 1, comprising PLD (40 mg/m\^2 IV on Day 1 of every cycle) + durvalumab (1500 mg Q4W IV on Day 3 of every cycle) for up to 12 continuous 28-day cycles (Core Study), with extended durvalumab monotherapy permitted for subjects tolerating and benefiting from treatment.
40
Total53

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003
Overall StudyAdverse Event0104
Overall StudyPhysician Decision0001
Overall StudyProgressive disease21422
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject0104

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPhase 2Phase 1, Dose Level 0bPhase 1, Dose Level 0aPhase 1, Dose Level +1Total
Age, Continuous65.0 years55.0 years60.0 years62.5 years64.0 years
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status (PS) at Baseline
0
34 Participants2 Participants3 Participants5 Participants44 Participants
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status (PS) at Baseline
1
6 Participants2 Participants0 Participants1 Participants9 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
5 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants5 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
33 Participants4 Participants3 Participants6 Participants46 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
4 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
35 Participants3 Participants3 Participants4 Participants45 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Switzerland
13 participants1 participants0 participants2 participants16 participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
27 participants3 participants3 participants4 participants37 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
40 Participants4 Participants3 Participants6 Participants53 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
2 / 32 / 44 / 621 / 40
other
Total, other adverse events
3 / 34 / 46 / 640 / 40
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 32 / 41 / 623 / 40

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

The primary endpoint in Phase 1 and a secondary endpoint in Phase 2 is the safety/tolerability of study treatment. Toxicity is graded in accordance with the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE), version 4.03. Adverse events (AEs) are reported based on clinical laboratory tests, vital signs, physical examinations, and any other medically indicated assessments, including subject interviews, from the time informed consent is signed through 90 days after the last dose of study treatment. Treatment-emergent AEs are those that occurred or worsened after administration of the first dose of study treatment.

Time frame: Up to 3.05 years

Population: The population comprises all subjects who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Any TEAE3 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to any study treatment3 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to durvalumab2 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to PLD3 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to motolimod3 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Serious TEAE0 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Serious TEAE2 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to PLD4 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Any TEAE4 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to durvalumab4 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to any study treatment4 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to motolimod4 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to any study treatment6 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to durvalumab5 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to PLD5 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Serious TEAE1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to motolimod6 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Any TEAE6 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to motolimod1 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Serious TEAE23 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to any study treatment38 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to PLD37 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)Any TEAE40 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)TEAE related to durvalumab32 Participants
Primary

Progression-free Survival Rate at 6 Months (PFS-6) by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method

PFS-6 according to RECIST 1.1 is the primary endpoint in Phase 2 and a secondary endpoint in Phase 1, where PFS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of earliest disease progression or to the date of death, if disease progression does not occur. Per RECIST 1.1, progressive disease (PD) is defined as a ≥ 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions (Eisenhauer et al 2009).

Time frame: Up to 6 months for each subject

Population: The population comprises all subjects who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aProgression-free Survival Rate at 6 Months (PFS-6) by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method33.3 percentage of participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bProgression-free Survival Rate at 6 Months (PFS-6) by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method50.0 percentage of participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Progression-free Survival Rate at 6 Months (PFS-6) by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method33.3 percentage of participants
Phase 2Progression-free Survival Rate at 6 Months (PFS-6) by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method42.9 percentage of participants
Secondary

Median Overall Survival (OS) as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method

After completion of treatment, all subjects are followed for survival every 3 months for up to 3 years following initiation of study treatment or or for subjects continuing treatment, completion of study treatment whichever was longer. OS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of death or last follow-up. Subjects lost to follow-up are censored on the date when they were last known to be alive.

Time frame: Up to 36.6 months

Population: The population comprises all subjects who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aMedian Overall Survival (OS) as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method27.7 months
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bMedian Overall Survival (OS) as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier MethodNA months
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Median Overall Survival (OS) as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method12.8 months
Phase 2Median Overall Survival (OS) as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method17.6 months
Secondary

Median PFS by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method

PFS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of earliest disease progression according to irRECIST or to the date of death, if disease progression does not occur. Per irRECIST, irPD is defined as a ≥ 20% increase from nadir in the TMTB (Bohnsack et al 2014).

Time frame: Up to 36.6 months

Population: The population comprises all subjects who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aMedian PFS by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method5.6 months
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bMedian PFS by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method5.7 months
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Median PFS by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method4.3 months
Phase 2Median PFS by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method5.5 months
Secondary

Median PFS by RECIST 1.1 as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method

PFS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of earliest disease progression according to RECIST 1.1 or to the date of death, if disease progression does not occur. Per RECIST 1.1, PD is defined as a ≥ 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions (Eisenhauer et al 2009).

Time frame: Up to 36.6 months

Population: The population comprises all subjects who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aMedian PFS by RECIST 1.1 as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method5.6 months
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bMedian PFS by RECIST 1.1 as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method5.7 months
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Median PFS by RECIST 1.1 as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method4.3 months
Phase 2Median PFS by RECIST 1.1 as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method5.5 months
Secondary

Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1

Tumor responses were evaluated using appropriate imaging and categorized according to RECIST 1.1 at Screening (up to 14 days before the first dose of study treatment), every 3 cycles during study treatment, and during on-study follow-up approximately 3 months after the last disease assessment. Per RECIST 1.1, target lesions are categorized as follows: complete response (CR): disappearance of all target lesions; partial response (PR): ≥ 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; PD: ≥ 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; stable disease (SD): small changes that do not meet above criteria (Eisenhauer et al 2009).

Time frame: Up to 36.6 months

Population: The population comprises all subjects who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1CR0 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1PR1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1SD1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1PD1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1PR1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1SD1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1PD2 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1CR0 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1SD1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1PR2 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1PD3 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1CR0 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1PD16 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1PR5 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1CR4 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by RECIST 1.1SD15 Participants
Secondary

Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)

Tumor responses were evaluated using appropriate imaging and categorized according to irRECIST at Screening (up to 14 days before the first dose of study treatment), every 3 cycles during study treatment, and during on-study follow-up approximately 3 months after the last disease assessment. Per irRECIST, measurable lesions are categorized as follows: irCR: Complete disappearance of all target lesions; irPR: ≥ 30% decrease from baseline in the total measurable tumor burden (TMTB); irPD: ≥ 20% increase from nadir in TMTB; irSD: not meeting above criteria (Bohnsack et al 2014).

Time frame: Up to 36.6 months

Population: The population comprises all subjects who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irSD1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irPR1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irCR0 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irPD1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irPR1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irCR0 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irSD1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bNumber of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irPD2 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irCR0 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irSD1 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irPR2 Participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irPD3 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irPR6 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irSD16 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irPD14 Participants
Phase 2Number of Subjects With Best Overall Tumor Response by the Immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)irCR4 Participants
Secondary

PFS-12 by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method

PFS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of earliest disease progression according to irRECIST or to the date of death, if disease progression does not occur. Per irRECIST, irPD is defined as a ≥ 20% increase from nadir in the TMTB (Bohnsack et al 2014).

Time frame: Up to 12 months for each subject

Population: The population comprises all subjects who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aPFS-12 by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method33.3 percent of participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bPFS-12 by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method25.0 percent of participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1PFS-12 by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method16.7 percent of participants
Phase 2PFS-12 by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method33.4 percent of participants
Secondary

PFS-12 by RECIST 1.1 as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method

PFS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of earliest disease progression according to RECIST 1.1 or to the date of death, if disease progression does not occur. Per RECIST 1.1, PD is defined as a ≥ 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions (Eisenhauer et al 2009).

Time frame: Up to 12 months for each subject

Population: The population comprises all subjects who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aPFS-12 by RECIST 1.1 as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method33.3 percentage of participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bPFS-12 by RECIST 1.1 as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method25.0 percentage of participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1PFS-12 by RECIST 1.1 as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method16.7 percentage of participants
Phase 2PFS-12 by RECIST 1.1 as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method29.5 percentage of participants
Secondary

PFS-6 by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method

PFS is measured from the date of the first dose of study treatment to the date of earliest disease progression according to irRECIST or to the date of death, if disease progression does not occur. Per irRECIST, irPD is defined as a ≥ 20% increase from nadir in the TMTB (Bohnsack et al 2014).

Time frame: Up to 6 months for each subject

Population: The population comprises all subjects who received at least one dose of study treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Phase 1, Dose Level 0aPFS-6 by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method33.3 percent of participants
Phase 1, Dose Level 0bPFS-6 by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method50.0 percent of participants
Phase 1, Dose Level +1PFS-6 by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method33.3 percent of participants
Phase 2PFS-6 by irRECIST as Estimated Using the Kaplan-Meier Method42.6 percent of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 23, 2026