Presbyopia
Conditions
Keywords
Near Vision, Reading Vision, Reading Glasses, Reading, Readers, Presbyopic, Presbyopia
Brief summary
The purpose of this study is to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the VisAbility Micro Insert System for the improvement of near visual acuity in presbyopic patients.
Detailed description
The objective of this study is to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the VisAbility Implant System (VIS) for the improvement of near visual acuity in presbyopic patients. This is a prospective clinical study that enrolled a total of 360 subjects ranging in age between 45 and 60 years of age at 13 clinical sites. Subjects were implanted with the VisAbility Implant model SGP-046 in the primary eye and then in the fellow eye no sooner than 14 days later. Subjects were examined at one day, one week and at 1, 2, 3, 6, 12, 18 and 24 months post-operatively. The study also included a 60 subject randomized controlled sub-study at 3 investigation sites. Sub-study subjects were randomized (1:1 ratio) to a surgery group or a control group. Subjects randomized to the surgery group underwent surgery and were followed for 24 months in the same manner as the larger non-randomized surgical group. Subjects randomized to the control group were observed for 6 months, and were then eligible to undergo surgery after completion of this 6-month observation period. The primary endpoint is the achievement of distance corrected near visual acuity (DCNVA) of Snellen equivalent 20/40 or better (at 40 cm) and at least 10 letters (ETDRS) improvement in DCNVA in the primary eye. This endpoint is evaluated against two objectives, a) 75% or more of primary eyes achieve the effectiveness endpoint at 12 months postoperative and b) the percentage of primary eyes achieving the effectiveness endpoint at 6 months postoperative (6-month responder rate) is higher than the percentage in the randomized control group. Safety data analyses were performed and separate summaries are provided for primary and all eyes. Descriptive statistics on the following attributes are provided for; BCDVA, IOP, Slit lamp findings, Fundus exam findings, and Adverse events.
Interventions
Subjects are implanted with the VisAbility Micro Insert (Model SGP-046) and followed for 24 months.
Sponsors
Study design
Intervention model description
A non-randomized arm was run in parallel with a randomized sub-study consisting of 2 arms; Immediate Treatment and Deferred Treatment. Upon completion of the 6 month observation period, the Deferred Treatment group then crosses over upon implantation to become part of the overall study group.
Eligibility
Inclusion criteria
* Subjects must have a Best Corrected Distance Visual Acuity (BCDVA) of 20/20 in each eye * Subjects must have a Distance Corrected Near Visual Acuity (DCNVA) @ 40 cm of 20/50, 20/63, or 20/80 in each eye * Subjects must have an Uncorrected Near Visual Acuity (UCNVA) @ 40 cm of 20/50, 20/63, or 20/80 in each eye * Subject's Preoperative Manifest Refraction Spherical Equivalent (MRSE) in each eye must be -0.75 to +0.50 diopters with no more than 1.00 diopter of astigmatism. * Cycloplegic refraction spherical equivalent (CRSE) difference from MRSE should be less than or equal to 0.50 diopters. * Subjects must require a minimum add of +1.25 or greater to read 20/20 at near (40 cm). * Subjects must be alert, mentally competent, and able to understand and comply with the requirements of the clinical study, and be personally motivated to abide by the requirements and restrictions of the clinical study. Patients must be available for the follow-up period. * Subjects must be able to provide written informed consent
Exclusion criteria
* Pupil has a baseline percent change from scotopic to photopic of less than 30% or an absolute difference of less than 1.00 mm between scotopic and photopic pupil size as measured by the NeurOptics Pupillometer * Subjects with ocular inflammation, chronic uveitis, or other recurrent anterior or posterior segment inflammatory conditions in either eye; subjects with any ocular or systemic disease(s) posing a significant risk for ocular inflammation including but not limited to, autoimmune disorders (e.g. rheumatoid arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, Reiter's syndrome, ulcerative colitis, Chron's disease, psoriasis, sarcoidosis, Bechet's disease), infections (toxoplasmosis, cat-scratch fever, West Nile virus, syphilis, tuberculosis, herpes zoster, herpes simplex, adenovirus), ocular trauma or gout. * Subjects with scleral thickness of less than 530 microns as measured 3.5 to 40.00 mm posterior to the superior temporal quadrant limbus in either eye. * Subjects with a history of any prior intraocular procedure (e.g. corneal transplant, filtering procedures for glaucoma, vitrectomy, retinal detachment repair, cataract surgery) or any prior refractive procedure (e.g. LASIK (laser in situ keratomileusis), surface excimer, or incisional surgery) in either eye. * Subjects with any history of prior extraocular muscle surgery or orbital surgery. * Subjects with chronic ocular disease including but not limited to corneal pathology, primary or secondary glaucoma, iritis, herpes simplex, uveitis, trachoma, ocular pemphigoid, Sjogrens disease, uveal melanoma, Thyroid Related Immune Orbitopathy or clinical significant retinal pathology in either eye. * Subjects with any acute ocular disease that has not been completely treated and resolved for at least three months such as conjunctivitis, blepharitis, chalazion, corneal abrasion or keratitis in either eye. * Subjects with chronic systemic diseases which may affect the eye, including but not limited to diabetes, ulcerative colitis, systemic lupus erythematosus, Chron's disease, collagen vascular disease, rheumatoid arthritis, any bleeding diathesis, or systemic manifestations of HIV/AIDS. Any other uncontrolled systemic disease (e.g. hypertension, cancer, etc.) that could compromise the patient's participation. * Use of any medication such as Coumadin, that could make the surgical procedure more difficult. Subjects using Coumadin, aspirin, or NSAID (non-steroidal anti inflammatory drug) medications under orders from a doctor must be able to provide written approval from the treating doctor for discontinuing this medication at least 10 days prior to surgery. * Subjects with chronic ocular surface disease, including but not limited to subjects with a prior diagnosis of chronic dry eye syndrome based on tests such as but not limited to, corneal or conjunctival staining, Ocular surface Disease Index symptom score or Schirmer tear testing. * Subjects who are allergic to any medications used in the protocol * Subjects who are pregnant, lactating, or of child-bearing age adn not practicing a medically approved method of birth control.
Design outcomes
Primary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Primary Eyes With Distance Corrected Near Visual Acuity (DCNVA) to 20/40 or Better and Gain of At Least 10 Letters. | From date of baseline measurement until the date of study withdrawal or study completion, whichever came first, assessed up to 2 years. | Measurement of the Distance Corrected Near Visual Acuity at 40 centimeters achieving 20/40 or better and Gain of At Least 10 Letters at 24 months for the primary eye. |
Secondary
| Measure | Time frame | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Primary Eyes With DCNVA 20/40 of Better and Gain of 10 Letters More at 6 Months for the Randomized Substudy | From date of randomization until the date of study withdrawal or sub-study completion at 6 months, whichever came first. | The randomized surgery group is defined as successful if the percentage of primary eyes achieving Distance Corrected Near Visual Acuity at 40 centimeters of 20/40 of Better and Gain of 10 Letters more at 6 months postoperative (i.e. 6-month responder rate) is higher than the percentage in the randomized control group. |
Countries
United States
Participant flow
Recruitment details
The prospective, multicenter clinical trial of the VisAbility micro insert was conducted at 13 clinical sites. All recruitment evaluations were performed at the Principal Investigator's sites and subjects were screened for eligibility. If inclusion/exclusion criteria were met, informed consent was obtained and the subject was enrolled in the study.
Pre-assignment details
Once determined eligible and informed consent was obtained, both eyes were enrolled in the study. Per protocol, primary outcome analysis must be performed on the primary eye only and the primary eye is therefore the unit of analysis. Fellow eyes were followed for safety outcomes and summarized separately.
Participants by arm
| Arm | Count |
|---|---|
| Implantation-Non-Randomized Subjects are not participants in the randomized sub-study. VisAbility micro inserts surgically implanted in the eye(s) after enrollment and meeting inclusion/exclusion criteria.
VisAbility Micro Insert: Subjects are implanted with the VisAbility Micro Insert (Model SGP-046) and followed for 24 months. | 306 |
| Implantation-Randomized Subjects are participants in the randomized sub-study. Subjects were randomized to the Immediate Treatment group. VisAbility micro inserts surgically implanted in the eyes. Subjects are participants in the randomized sub-study after enrollment and meeting inclusion/exclusion criteria.
VisAbility Micro Insert: Subjects are implanted with the VisAbility Micro Insert (Model SGP-046) and followed for 24 months. | 28 |
| Deferred Implantion-Randomized Subjects are participants in the randomized sub-study after enrollment and meeting inclusion/exclusion criteria. Subjects were randomized to the Deferred Treatment group are observed for 6 months. Upon completion of the observation follow-up, subjects can opt to have VisAbility micro inserts surgically implanted in the eye(s) and become part of the overall study experimental group. | 26 |
| Total | 360 |
Withdrawals & dropouts
| Period | Reason | FG000 | FG001 | FG002 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Implantation- Nonrandomized & Randomized | Adverse Event | 7 | 0 | 1 |
| Implantation- Nonrandomized & Randomized | Lost to Follow-up | 17 | 1 | 2 |
| Implantation- Nonrandomized & Randomized | Withdrawal by Subject | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Observation (Deferred Implantation) | Adverse Event | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Observation (Deferred Implantation) | Withdrawal by Subject | 0 | 0 | 4 |
Baseline characteristics
| Characteristic | Implantation-Non-Randomized | Implantation-Randomized | Deferred Implantion-Randomized | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age, Continuous | 51.8 years | 50.1 years | 51.0 years | 51.6 years |
| DCNVA 20/40 or Better (at baseline) | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 2 Participants | 2 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Hispanic or Latino | 20 Participants | 9 Participants | 9 Participants | 38 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Not Hispanic or Latino | 283 Participants | 19 Participants | 17 Participants | 319 Participants |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 3 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 3 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Asian | 17 Participants | 1 Participants | 0 Participants | 18 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Black or African American | 14 Participants | 0 Participants | 1 Participants | 15 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) More than one race | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 4 Participants | 0 Participants | 0 Participants | 4 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) Unknown or Not Reported | 9 Participants | 4 Participants | 3 Participants | 16 Participants |
| Race (NIH/OMB) White | 262 Participants | 23 Participants | 22 Participants | 307 Participants |
| Region of Enrollment United States | 306 Participants | 28 Participants | 26 Participants | 360 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Female | 124 Participants | 10 Participants | 9 Participants | 143 Participants |
| Sex: Female, Male Male | 182 Participants | 18 Participants | 17 Participants | 217 Participants |
Adverse events
| Event type | EG000 affected / at risk |
|---|---|
| deaths Total, all-cause mortality | 0 / 360 |
| other Total, other adverse events | 170 / 360 |
| serious Total, serious adverse events | 4 / 360 |
Outcome results
Number of Primary Eyes With Distance Corrected Near Visual Acuity (DCNVA) to 20/40 or Better and Gain of At Least 10 Letters.
Measurement of the Distance Corrected Near Visual Acuity at 40 centimeters achieving 20/40 or better and Gain of At Least 10 Letters at 24 months for the primary eye.
Time frame: From date of baseline measurement until the date of study withdrawal or study completion, whichever came first, assessed up to 2 years.
Population: Explanted primary eyes were analyzed as failures. Data for primary eyes that missed the 24 month visit, were lost to follow-up, or withdrew consent prior to the 24 month visit were not imputed. Per protocol, primary outcome analysis must be performed on the primary eye only. Fellow eye data is used for safety outcomes and summarized separately.
| Arm | Measure | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Study Population | Number of Primary Eyes With Distance Corrected Near Visual Acuity (DCNVA) to 20/40 or Better and Gain of At Least 10 Letters. | 289 Participants |
Number of Primary Eyes With DCNVA 20/40 of Better and Gain of 10 Letters More at 6 Months for the Randomized Substudy
The randomized surgery group is defined as successful if the percentage of primary eyes achieving Distance Corrected Near Visual Acuity at 40 centimeters of 20/40 of Better and Gain of 10 Letters more at 6 months postoperative (i.e. 6-month responder rate) is higher than the percentage in the randomized control group.
Time frame: From date of randomization until the date of study withdrawal or sub-study completion at 6 months, whichever came first.
| Arm | Measure | Value (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS) |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Study Population | Number of Primary Eyes With DCNVA 20/40 of Better and Gain of 10 Letters More at 6 Months for the Randomized Substudy | 18 Participants |
| Deferred Implantion-Randomized | Number of Primary Eyes With DCNVA 20/40 of Better and Gain of 10 Letters More at 6 Months for the Randomized Substudy | 2 Participants |