Skip to content

SMART-SF Radiofrequency Ablation Safety Study

Prospective Safety Assessment of the THERMOCOOL® SMARTTOUCH® SF Family of Contact Force Sensing Catheters for the Radiofrequency Ablation Treatment of Drug Refractory Symptomatic Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02359890
Enrollment
165
Registered
2015-02-10
Start date
2015-03-01
Completion date
2016-11-08
Last updated
2025-02-04

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Atrial Fibrillation

Keywords

Interventional, Radiofrequency ablation, Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation

Brief summary

This is a prospective safety assessment of the study device during radiofrequency (RF) ablation treatment of patients with drug refractory symptomatic atrial fibrillation (SMART-SF).

Detailed description

The purpose of this study is to demonstrate the safety of the study device in the treatment of drug refractory symptomatic paroxysmal atrial fibrillation (PAF) during standard electrophysiology mapping and RF ablation procedures.

Interventions

DEVICETHERMOCOOL® SMARTTOUCH® (RF ablation treatment)

Radiofrequency Ablation Treatment

Sponsors

Biosense Webster, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Symptomatic paroxysmal atrial fibrillation (AF) who have had at least one AF episode electrocardiographically documented within one (1) year prior to enrollment and a physician's note indicating recurrent, self-terminating AF. Electrocardiographic documentation may include, but is not limited to, electrocardiogram (ECG), transtelephonic monitor (TTM), Holter monitor (HM), or telemetry strip * Failed at least one antiarrhythmic drug (AAD) (class I or III, or atrioventricular (AV) nodal blocking agents such as beta blockers and calcium channel blockers) as evidenced by recurrent symptomatic AF, or intolerable to the AAD * Age 18 years or older

Exclusion criteria

* Atrial fibrillation secondary to electrolyte imbalance, thyroid disease, or reversible or non-cardiac cause * Previous surgical or catheter ablation for atrial fibrillation * Amiodarone at any time during the past 3 months * Any percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI), cardiac surgery, or valvular cardiac surgical or percutaneous procedure (e.g., ventriculotomy, atriotomy, and valve repair or replacement and presence of a prosthetic valve) within the past 2 months * Any carotid stenting or endarterectomy * Coronary artery bypass graft (CABG) surgery within the past 6 months * AF episodes lasting \>7 days * Documented left atrial (LA) thrombus on imaging * LA size \>50 mm * Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) \< 40% * Contraindication to anticoagulation (heparin or warfarin) * History of blood clotting or bleeding abnormalities * MI within the past 2 months * Documented thromboembolic event (including transient ischemic attack (TIA)) within the past 12 months * Rheumatic Heart Disease * Uncontrolled heart failure or New York Heart Association (NYHA) function class III or IV * Awaiting cardiac transplantation or other cardiac surgery within the next 12 months * Unstable angina * Acute illness or active systemic infection or sepsis * Diagnosed atrial myxoma * Presence of implanted implantable cardioverter defibrillator (ICD) * Significant pulmonary disease, (eg, restrictive pulmonary disease, constrictive or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease) or any other disease or malfunction of the lungs or respiratory system that produces chronic symptoms * Significant congenital anomaly or medical problem that in the opinion of the investigator would preclude enrollment in this study * Women who are pregnant (as evidenced by pregnancy test if pre-menopausal) * Enrollment in an investigational study evaluating another device, biologic, or drug * Presence of intramural thrombus, tumor or other abnormality that precludes vascular access, or manipulation of the catheter * Presence of a condition that precludes vascular access * Life expectancy or other disease processes likely to limit survival to less than 6 months

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Early Onset Primary Adverse EventsSeven days post ablation procedureEarly onset is defined as within 7 days of the atrial fibrillation (AF) ablation procedure. Primary adverse events (AE) include Death, Myocardial infarction (MI), Pulmonary vein (PV) stenosis, Diaphragmatic paralysis, Atrio-esophageal fistula, Transient Ischemic Attack (TIA), Stroke / Cerebrovascular accident (CVA), Thromboembolism, Pericarditis, Cardiac Tamponade / Perforation, Pneumothorax, Major Vascular Access Complications / Bleeding, Pulmonary edema (Respiratory Insufficiency), and Heart block.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants With Non-Primary Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)Up to 30 days post ProcedureThis secondary safety endpoint includes non-primary serious adverse events (SAEs) within 7 days post-procedure and serious adverse events from 8 days to 30 days post-procedure
Percentage of Participants With Acute SuccessEnd of procedureAcute success is defined as confirmation of entrance block in all Pulmonary veins (PV).
Effectiveness Endpoint: Freedom From Documented Atrial Fibrillation (AF)/Atrial Tachycardia (AT)/Atrial Flutter (AFL)12 monthsThe freedom from documented AF/AT/AFL based on electrocardiographic data

Participant flow

Recruitment details

This study enrolled 165 subjects at 17 clinical sites in the U.S. over approximately 5 months. The first subject was enrolled on March 30, 2015 and the last subject was enrolled on September 9, 2015. The last ablation procedure was on September 17, 2015. The last 1-month follow-up visit occurred on November 3, 2015.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
THERMOCOOL SMARTTOUCH® SF Family of Catheters
Pulmonary vein isolation by radiofrequency (RF) ablation treatment with the THERMOCOOL® SMARTTOUCH® SF family of contact force sensing catheters (study device)
164
Total164

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000
Overall StudyNever treated with study catheter6
Overall StudyNot meeting eligibility4

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTHERMOCOOL SMARTTOUCH® SF Family of Catheters
Age, Continuous
Age (Years)
62.7 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.44
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
155 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
159 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
69 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
95 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
31 / 159
serious
Total, serious adverse events
9 / 159

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Participants With Early Onset Primary Adverse Events

Early onset is defined as within 7 days of the atrial fibrillation (AF) ablation procedure. Primary adverse events (AE) include Death, Myocardial infarction (MI), Pulmonary vein (PV) stenosis, Diaphragmatic paralysis, Atrio-esophageal fistula, Transient Ischemic Attack (TIA), Stroke / Cerebrovascular accident (CVA), Thromboembolism, Pericarditis, Cardiac Tamponade / Perforation, Pneumothorax, Major Vascular Access Complications / Bleeding, Pulmonary edema (Respiratory Insufficiency), and Heart block.

Time frame: Seven days post ablation procedure

Population: The modified intent-to-treat (mITT) population was used, which consisted of enrolled subjects who met the eligibility criteria and had the study catheter inserted.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
THERMOCOOL SMARTTOUCH® SF CathetersPercentage of Participants With Early Onset Primary Adverse Events2.6 Percentage of participants
95% CI: [0.7, 6.5]
Secondary

Effectiveness Endpoint: Freedom From Documented Atrial Fibrillation (AF)/Atrial Tachycardia (AT)/Atrial Flutter (AFL)

The freedom from documented AF/AT/AFL based on electrocardiographic data

Time frame: 12 months

Population: Effectiveness per Protocol Population, which is defined as enrolled subjects who underwent RF ablation procedure with study catheter and completed the 12 month visit.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
THERMOCOOL SMARTTOUCH® SF CathetersEffectiveness Endpoint: Freedom From Documented Atrial Fibrillation (AF)/Atrial Tachycardia (AT)/Atrial Flutter (AFL)75 Percentage of Participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Acute Success

Acute success is defined as confirmation of entrance block in all Pulmonary veins (PV).

Time frame: End of procedure

Population: Safety Population (SP), which is defined as the enrolled subjects who had the study catheter inserted.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
THERMOCOOL SMARTTOUCH® SF CathetersPercentage of Participants With Acute Success96.2 Percentage of participants
95% CI: [92, 98.6]
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Non-Primary Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

This secondary safety endpoint includes non-primary serious adverse events (SAEs) within 7 days post-procedure and serious adverse events from 8 days to 30 days post-procedure

Time frame: Up to 30 days post Procedure

Population: Safety Population (SP), which is defined as the enrolled subjects who had the study catheter inserted.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
THERMOCOOL SMARTTOUCH® SF CathetersPercentage of Participants With Non-Primary Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)Patients with SAE within 7 days post procedure3.1 Percentage of Participants
THERMOCOOL SMARTTOUCH® SF CathetersPercentage of Participants With Non-Primary Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)Patients with SAE during 8-30 days post-procedure0.6 Percentage of Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026