Skip to content

A Safety Study of Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1% in the Treatment of Painful Diabetic Neuropathy

A Multicenter, Open-label, Single-arm Study to Evaluate the Long-term Use of Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1% in the Treatment of Pain Associated With Painful Diabetic Neuropathy

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02355158
Enrollment
197
Registered
2015-02-04
Start date
2014-06-30
Completion date
2015-09-30
Last updated
2017-09-19

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Diabetes, Painful Diabetic Neuropathy

Keywords

pain, diabetic neuropathy, pain in feet

Brief summary

Study CLO-311 is a multicenter, open-label, single-arm study to assess the long-term use of Clonidine Gel in the treatment of pain associated with PDN. Subjects who have completed their 12-week participation in Study CLO-290 or Study CLO-310 are eligible to rollover into this study and receive active study drug in an open-label manner.

Detailed description

Study CLO-311 is a multicenter, open-label, single-arm study to assess the long-term use of Clonidine Gel in the treatment of pain associated with PDN. Subjects who have completed their 12-week participation in Study CLO-290 or Study CLO-310 are eligible to rollover into this study and receive active study drug in an open-label manner. All eligible subjects will receive Clonidine Gel regardless of the blinded treatment they have received in the previous double-blind study (Clonidine Gel or Placebo Gel). Study drug will be applied topically TID to both feet for 12 months during an Open-Label Treatment Phase. Approximately 400 adult subjects with PDN are estimated to enroll in this study.

Interventions

Sponsors

BioDelivery Sciences International
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 85 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* The subject has provided written informed consent. * The subject has Type 1 or Type 2 diabetes mellitus with glycemic control that has been optimized on diet therapy, oral anti-hyperglycemic agents and/or insulin. * The subject must be a male or non-pregnant, non-lactating female. Females must be practicing an acceptable method of birth control, or be surgically sterile or postmenopausal (amenorrhea for ≥12 months). Non-pregnancy will be confirmed (as applicable) by a pregnancy test conducted at the Entry Visit. Double-barrier methods, hormonal contraceptives, and abstinence are acceptable birth control methods for this study. * The subject has completed their 12-week participation according to the protocol in the previously conducted double-blind study, CLO-290. * The subject is medically stable at the end-of-study visit (Day 85) of Study CLO-290, and in the opinion of the Investigator, is in otherwise good general health based on physical examination, ECG, and laboratory evaluation. * Subject has the capabilities of applying topical gel to both feet TID. A caregiver, trained by the study staff to apply study medication, would be a suitable alternative to self-application of the treatment.

Exclusion criteria

* The subject is using an implanted medical device (e.g., spinal cord stimulator, intrathecal pump, or peripheral nerve stimulator) for the treatment of pain. * The subject is clinically hypotensive with a resting diastolic blood pressure \<60 mmHg or a systolic blood pressure \<90 mmHg. * The subject has recent history (within the past 3 months) or current symptoms of orthostatic hypotension with a sudden fall in blood pressure on standing accompanied by dizziness and lightheadedness. * The subject has any significant or unstable medical or psychiatric condition that, in the opinion of the Investigator, would interfere with his/her ability to participate in the study. * The subject has a history of substance abuse disorder as defined by DSM-IV-TR within the past 6 months, has current evidence for substance abuse disorder, or is receiving medicinal treatment for drug abuse. * The subject has symptomatic or severe coronary insufficiency, clinically significant cardiac conduction disturbances, myocardial infarction (within last 6 months), cerebrovascular disease, or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) requiring oxygen therapy. * The subject is likely to be noncompliant or unreliable in providing ratings as judged by the Investigator. * The subject has evidence of clinically significant peripheral vascular disease as evidenced by a history of intermittent claudication or evidence of vascular ulcers, including venous stasis ulcers. * The subject is currently taking or has taken clonidine in any form other than Clonidine Gel study drug (i.e., oral, transdermal patch) over the past 4 months. * The subject has developed hypersensitivity or intolerance to clonidine. * The subject is currently receiving any non-oral treatment that could affect neuropathic pain. * Subject has a history of malignancy within the past 5 years with the exception of successfully treated non-metastatic basal cell or squamous cell carcinomas of the skin and/or localized carcinoma in situ of the cervix. * The subject has clinical evidence of pedal edema or venous stasis disease associated with significant skin changes on physical examination.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Summary of Neuropathic Pain Symptom Inventory (NPSI)Month 12 or last visitThe NPSI is a validated, self-administered questionnaire designed to evaluate the different symptoms of neuropathic pain. Each item is quantified on an 11-point (0-10) numeric scale. The NPSI includes 10 descriptors (plus 2 temporal items) that allow discrimination and quantification of 5 distinct clinically relevant dimensions of neuropathic pain syndromes. The Neuropathic Pain Symptom Inventory (NPSI) is a self-questionnaire designed to evaluate the different symptoms of neuropathic pain, which contains a list of descriptors reflecting spontaneous ongoing or paroxysmal pain, evoked pain (i.e., mechanical and thermal allodynia/hyperalgesia) and dysesthesia/paresthesia. Each of these items is quantified on an 11-point (0-10) numerical scale. NPSI total score was calculated and summarized descriptively at month 12 or the subjects last visit. The total score was calculated and summarized.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Active
Clonidine hydrochloride topical gel, 0.1% clonidine hydrochloride topical gel, 0.1%
197
Total197

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicActive
Age, Continuous61.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.9
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
40 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
157 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
47 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
146 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
197 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
89 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
108 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 197
other
Total, other adverse events
79 / 197
serious
Total, serious adverse events
23 / 197

Outcome results

Primary

Summary of Neuropathic Pain Symptom Inventory (NPSI)

The NPSI is a validated, self-administered questionnaire designed to evaluate the different symptoms of neuropathic pain. Each item is quantified on an 11-point (0-10) numeric scale. The NPSI includes 10 descriptors (plus 2 temporal items) that allow discrimination and quantification of 5 distinct clinically relevant dimensions of neuropathic pain syndromes. The Neuropathic Pain Symptom Inventory (NPSI) is a self-questionnaire designed to evaluate the different symptoms of neuropathic pain, which contains a list of descriptors reflecting spontaneous ongoing or paroxysmal pain, evoked pain (i.e., mechanical and thermal allodynia/hyperalgesia) and dysesthesia/paresthesia. Each of these items is quantified on an 11-point (0-10) numerical scale. NPSI total score was calculated and summarized descriptively at month 12 or the subjects last visit. The total score was calculated and summarized.

Time frame: Month 12 or last visit

Population: While 197 subjects received study drug, 172 completed the NPSI at the week 12 visit or at their last visit.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
ActiveSummary of Neuropathic Pain Symptom Inventory (NPSI)34.44 units on a scaleStandard Deviation 25.13

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026