Skip to content

Study Comparing Veliparib Plus FOLFIRI Versus Placebo Plus FOLFIRI With or Without Bevacizumab in Previously Untreated Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

Randomized, Blinded, Multicenter, Phase 2 Study Comparing Veliparib Plus FOLFIRI ± Bevacizumab Versus Placebo Plus FOLFIRI ± Bevacizumab in Previously Untreated Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02305758
Enrollment
130
Registered
2014-12-03
Start date
2014-12-02
Completion date
2017-09-22
Last updated
2018-11-20

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Untreated Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

Keywords

PARP inhibitor, veliparib, metastatic colorectal cancer, ABT-888, first line, previously untreated, colorectal cancer, colon cancer, rectal cancer, FOLFIRI, fluorouracil, 5-FU, leucovorin, irinotecan

Brief summary

This was a blinded, randomized, placebo-controlled Phase 2 multicenter study evaluating the efficacy and tolerability of veliparib plus irinotecan, fluorouracil, and leucovorin chemotherapy regimen (FOLFIRI) compared to placebo plus FOLFIRI in participants with previously untreated metastatic colorectal cancer. Participants could also have been treated with bevacizumab at the discretion of the Investigator.

Detailed description

Participants were randomized to one of 2 groups: veliparib plus FOLFIRI ± bevacizumab (veliparib group) or placebo plus FOLFIRI ± bevacizumab (placebo group), and stratified by planned use of bevacizumab (planned bevacizumab use compared to unplanned use of bevacizumab) and regions of the world (North America versus rest of world). In this study, the term FOLFIRI was used to describe both the standard regimen containing a fluorouracil bolus that was administered to participants randomized to the placebo arm, and a modified regimen with a saline bolus that was administered to participants randomized to the veliparib arm. One cycle of protocol therapy consisted of 14 days, defined as Day -2 through Day 12. Dosing of oral veliparib/placebo began 2 days prior to the start of FOLFIRI and continued twice a day for a total of 7 consecutive days. At the discretion of the Investigator, bevacizumab could be administered intravenously immediately preceding FOLFIRI. Study visits were conducted on Day 1 and Day 8 of the first and second cycles, then on Day 1 of each subsequent cycle. Participants were to continue protocol therapy and study visits until they met one of the defined discontinuation criteria. When the Investigator determined that a participant met the criteria for discontinuation, a final visit was conducted. Participants were to have had one follow-up visit approximately 30 days after the last dose of protocol therapy. Sites began collecting post-treatment and survival information 4 weeks after the last clinical assessment. Post-baseline radiographic tumor assessment was to be conducted every 8 weeks from Cycle 1, Day 1 (prior to the start of a new cycle) until radiographic progression.

Interventions

DRUGVeliparib

200 mg oral dose beginning 2 days prior to the start of FOLFIRI and continuing twice a day (BID) for a total of 7 consecutive days

DRUGPlacebo

200 mg oral dose beginning 2 days prior to the start of FOLFIRI and continuing twice a day (BID) for a total of 7 consecutive days

DRUGModified FOLFIRI

Irinotecan 180 mg/m\^2 (90-minute infusion ± 30 minutes); leucovorin 400 mg/m\^2 (90-minute infusion ± 30 minutes); and saline bolus (up to 15-minute infusion) on Day 1 of each 14-day cycle

DRUGFOLFIRI

Irinotecan 180 mg/m\^2 (90-minute infusion ± 30 minutes); leucovorin 400 mg/m\^2 (90-minute infusion ± 30 minutes); and fluorouracil bolus 400 mg/m\^2 (up to 15-minute infusion) on Day 1 of each 14-day cycle

DRUGBevacizumab

At the discretion of the Investigator, 5 mg/kg may be administered intravenously immediately preceding FOLFIRI dosing

DRUGFluorouracil infusion

2400 mg/m\^2 (46-hour continuous infusion ± 4 hours) starting on Day 1 of each 14-day cycle

Sponsors

AbbVie
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 99 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Histologically or cytologically confirmed metastatic adenocarcinoma of the colon or rectum * At least 1 unresectable lesion on a CT (Computerized Tomography) scan that is measurable as defined by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST), Version 1.1 * ECOG (Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group) performance score of 0 or 1 * Adequate hematologic, renal and hepatic function

Exclusion criteria

* Prior anti-cancer treatment for metastatic colorectal cancer * Prior exposure to PARP (poly ADP-ribose polymerase) inhibitors * The last course of adjuvant or neoadjuvant chemotherapy must have ended \> 12 months prior to Cycle 1 Day -2 * Any clinically significant and uncontrolled major medical condition * Participant is pregnant or lactating * Any medical condition, which in the opinion of the study Investigator, places the participant at an unacceptably high risk for toxicities * For those receiving bevacizumab, standard medical exclusionary conditions apply

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-Free Survival (PFS): Time to EventEvery 8 weeks from Cycle 1, Day 1 until radiographic progression was observed. The maximum observed follow up duration at the progression-free survival analysis time was 579 days.PFS was defined as the number of days from the date the participant was randomized to the date the participant experienced an event of disease progression or death, whichever occurred first. All events of disease progression were included, whether the participant was still taking or had discontinued study drug. Events of death were included for participants who had not experienced an event of disease progression, if the death occurred within 8 weeks of the last evaluable disease progression assessment. If the participant did not have an event of disease progression and the participant had not died as defined above, data were censored at the date of the participant's last evaluable disease progression assessment. The PFS distribution was estimated using Kaplan-Meier methodology. Point estimates and 95% confidence intervals (95% CIs) for the PFS distribution quartiles are provided.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Survival (OS): Time to EventSurvival information was to be collected 4 wks after the last study visit, continuing every 4 wks for 1 yr, then every 8 wks for up to 2 more yrs or until death. The maximum observed follow up duration at the overall survival analysis time was 914 days.Overall survival was defined as the number of days from the date that the participant was randomized to the date of the participant's death. All events of death were included, regardless of whether the event occurred while the participant was still taking or had discontinued study drug. If a participant had not died, the data were censored at the date last known to be alive. The OS distribution was estimated using Kaplan-Meier methodology. Point estimates and 95% confidence intervals (95% CIs) for the OS distribution quartiles are provided.
Objective Response Rate (ORR)Per protocol, post-baseline tumor assessment was conducted every 8 weeks from Cycle 1 Day 1 until radiographic progression. The maximum observed follow up duration at the progression-free survival analysis time was 579 days.ORR was defined as the proportion of participants with a complete (CR) or partial response (PR) based on Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST, version 1.1) for target lesions, assessed by computed tomography (CT). Complete response (CR) was defined as disappearance of all target lesions; partial response (PR) ≥30% decrease in the the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. For participants who underwent surgery, ORR was not evaluated after surgery.

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

All randomized participants. Although the study was terminated by the Sponsor, because all participants were evaluated for the primary end point, the study was considered to have Completed as planned.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Veliparib + Modified FOLFIRI ± Bevacizumab
Dosing of oral veliparib (200 mg) began 2 days prior to the start of FOLFIRI and continued twice a day (BID) for a total of 7 consecutive days. At the discretion of the Investigator, bevacizumab (5 mg/kg) could be administered intravenously (IV) immediately preceding FOLFIRI. Modified FOLFIRI was administered as irinotecan 180 mg/m\^2 (90-minute infusion ± 30 minutes); leucovorin 400 mg/m\^2 (90-minute infusion ± 30 minutes); and saline bolus (up to 15-minute infusion) immediately followed by fluorouracil 2400 mg/m\^2 (46-hour continuous infusion ± 4 hours) starting on Day 1 of each 14-day cycle.
65
Placebo + FOLFIRI ± Bevacizumab
Dosing of oral placebo (200 mg) began 2 days prior to the start of FOLFIRI and continued twice a day (BID) for a total of 7 consecutive days. At the discretion of the Investigator, bevacizumab (5 mg/kg) could be administered intravenously (IV) immediately preceding FOLFIRI. Standard FOLFIRI was administered as irinotecan 180 mg/m\^2 (90-minute infusion ± 30 minutes); leucovorin 400 mg/m\^2 (90-minute infusion ± 30 minutes); and fluorouracil bolus 400 mg/m\^2 (up to 15-minute infusion) immediately followed by fluorouracil 2400 mg/m\^2 (46-hour continuous infusion ± 4 hours) on Day 1 of each 14-day cycle.
65
Total130

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyDeath2727
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up61
Overall StudyOther, not specified21
Overall StudyStudy Terminated by Sponsor2134
Overall StudyWithdrew consent92

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPlacebo + FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabTotalVeliparib + Modified FOLFIRI ± Bevacizumab
Age, Continuous63.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.04
61.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.4
58.9 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.06
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants4 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
64 Participants126 Participants62 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
25 Participants46 Participants21 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
40 Participants84 Participants44 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
27 / 6527 / 65
other
Total, other adverse events
59 / 6560 / 65
serious
Total, serious adverse events
30 / 6533 / 65

Outcome results

Primary

Progression-Free Survival (PFS): Time to Event

PFS was defined as the number of days from the date the participant was randomized to the date the participant experienced an event of disease progression or death, whichever occurred first. All events of disease progression were included, whether the participant was still taking or had discontinued study drug. Events of death were included for participants who had not experienced an event of disease progression, if the death occurred within 8 weeks of the last evaluable disease progression assessment. If the participant did not have an event of disease progression and the participant had not died as defined above, data were censored at the date of the participant's last evaluable disease progression assessment. The PFS distribution was estimated using Kaplan-Meier methodology. Point estimates and 95% confidence intervals (95% CIs) for the PFS distribution quartiles are provided.

Time frame: Every 8 weeks from Cycle 1, Day 1 until radiographic progression was observed. The maximum observed follow up duration at the progression-free survival analysis time was 579 days.

Population: All randomized participants

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Veliparib + Modified FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabProgression-Free Survival (PFS): Time to Event50th Quartile361 days
Veliparib + Modified FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabProgression-Free Survival (PFS): Time to Event25th Quartile221 days
Veliparib + Modified FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabProgression-Free Survival (PFS): Time to Event75th Quartile534 days
Placebo + FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabProgression-Free Survival (PFS): Time to Event25th Quartile213 days
Placebo + FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabProgression-Free Survival (PFS): Time to Event50th Quartile337 days
Placebo + FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabProgression-Free Survival (PFS): Time to Event75th Quartile512 days
Comparison: Comparisons between treatment groups were performed using the Cox Proportional Hazard Model, stratified by planned bevacizumab use (planned use versus no planned use).95% CI: [0.596, 1.48]
Secondary

Objective Response Rate (ORR)

ORR was defined as the proportion of participants with a complete (CR) or partial response (PR) based on Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST, version 1.1) for target lesions, assessed by computed tomography (CT). Complete response (CR) was defined as disappearance of all target lesions; partial response (PR) ≥30% decrease in the the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. For participants who underwent surgery, ORR was not evaluated after surgery.

Time frame: Per protocol, post-baseline tumor assessment was conducted every 8 weeks from Cycle 1 Day 1 until radiographic progression. The maximum observed follow up duration at the progression-free survival analysis time was 579 days.

Population: All randomized participants

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Veliparib + Modified FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabObjective Response Rate (ORR)37 Participants
Placebo + FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabObjective Response Rate (ORR)40 Participants
Comparison: Comparisons between treatment groups were performed using the Mantel-Haenszel method, stratified by planned bevacizumab use (planned use versus no planned use).95% CI: [-21.4, 12.1]Mantel Haenszel
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS): Time to Event

Overall survival was defined as the number of days from the date that the participant was randomized to the date of the participant's death. All events of death were included, regardless of whether the event occurred while the participant was still taking or had discontinued study drug. If a participant had not died, the data were censored at the date last known to be alive. The OS distribution was estimated using Kaplan-Meier methodology. Point estimates and 95% confidence intervals (95% CIs) for the OS distribution quartiles are provided.

Time frame: Survival information was to be collected 4 wks after the last study visit, continuing every 4 wks for 1 yr, then every 8 wks for up to 2 more yrs or until death. The maximum observed follow up duration at the overall survival analysis time was 914 days.

Population: All randomized participants

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Veliparib + Modified FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabOverall Survival (OS): Time to Event25th Quartile557 days
Veliparib + Modified FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabOverall Survival (OS): Time to Event50th Quartile770 days
Veliparib + Modified FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabOverall Survival (OS): Time to Event75th QuartileNA days
Placebo + FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabOverall Survival (OS): Time to Event25th Quartile512 days
Placebo + FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabOverall Survival (OS): Time to Event50th Quartile811 days
Placebo + FOLFIRI ± BevacizumabOverall Survival (OS): Time to Event75th QuartileNA days
Comparison: Comparisons between treatment groups were performed using the Cox Proportional Hazard Model, stratified by planned bevacizumab use (planned use versus no planned use).95% CI: [0.738, 2.156]

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 24, 2026