Skip to content

Phase III Trial BI 695502 Plus Chemotherapy vs. Avastin® Plus Chemotherapy in Patients With Lung Cancer

A Multicenter, Randomized, Double-blind Phase III Trial to Evaluate Efficacy and Safety of BI 695502 Plus Chemotherapy Versus Avastin® Plus Chemotherapy in Patients With Advanced Nonsquamous Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02272413
Enrollment
671
Registered
2014-10-23
Start date
2015-07-08
Completion date
2018-11-16
Last updated
2020-01-13

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

Brief summary

The objective of this phase III trial is to establish statistical equivalence in terms of efficacy (best overall response rate \[ORR\], proportion of patients with complete response \[CR\] plus partial response \[PR\]) until 18 weeks of first-line treatment with BI 695502 plus chemotherapy versus Avastin® plus chemotherapy followed by maintenance monotherapy with either BI 695502 or Avastin®.

Interventions

DRUGAvastin

Sponsors

Boehringer Ingelheim
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Adult patients aged \>=18 years with histologically or cytologically confirmed advanced nonsquamous non-small cell lung cancer (nsNSCLC). Mixed tumors should be categorized according to the predominant histology. Note: NSCLC should be predominantly nonsquamous. Recurrent or metastatic disease (Stage IV) with an indication for therapy with paclitaxel + carboplatin + Avastin®. Patients harboring tumors with unknown or without activating epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) / anaplastic lymphoma receptor tyrosine kinase (ALK) mutation maybe included provided chemotherapy is standard of care. At least one measurable lesion according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1 based on independent central review. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status (PS) 0 or 1. Adequate hepatic, renal, and bone marrow function: Life expectancy \> 6 months based on clinical judgment. Further inclusion criteria apply.

Exclusion criteria

Prior therapy with monoclonal antibodies or small molecule inhibitors against Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) or VEGF receptors, including Avastin®. Prior systemic therapy for metastatic disease. Prior systemic anticancer therapy or radiotherapy for locally advanced nsNSCLC if completed \<12 months prior to Screening. Previous malignancy other than NSCLC in the last 5 years except for basal cell cancer of the skin or pre-invasive cancer of the cervix. Symptomatic brain metastasis. Diagnosis of small cell carcinoma of the lung, squamous cell carcinoma of the lung, NSCLC not specified (NS) or NSCLC not otherwise specified(NOS). Any unresolved toxicity \> Common Toxicity Criteria Grade 1 (except alopecia) from previous anticancer therapy (including radiotherapy). History or evidence of inherited bleeding diathesis or coagulopathy with the risk of bleeding. Thrombotic or hemorrhagic event =\< 6 months prior to Screening. Further

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Best Overall Response Rate (ORR), Based on Unconfirmed Response Assessment, as Assessed by Central Imaging Review Until 18 Weeks After the Start of TreatmentTumor assessment scans were performed at baseline, Cycle 3 (Week 6), Cycle 5 (Week 12) and at Week 18 ±14 days. Best ORR evaluated until confirmed disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, death or up to 18 weeks, whichever happened earlier.ORR was defined as the percentage of patients who achieved at least one visit response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) after the start of treatment. The response criteria evaluation was carried out according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1. CR and PR did not need to be confirmed by a subsequent tumor assessment due to blinded central assessment. CR: Disappearance of all target lesions since baseline; PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of the diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of diameters. Tumor assessments were performed prior to trial drug administration, until 18 weeks.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®From first dose of trial drug until 16 weeks after the last dose of trial medication, up to 218 days.The following selected adverse events (AEs) were evaluated for comparability assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®: * Infusion reactions (anaphylactic/hypersensitivity/infusion-related reactions), * Thromboembolic events (arterial or venous), * Febrile neutropenia, * Gastrointestinal perforations, * Hypertension, * Proteinuria, * Pulmonary hemorrhage, * Other hemorrhages (not including pulmonary hemorrhages), * Wound-healing complications/abscess/fistulas. The analysis of AEs was based on the concept of TEAEs. For non-switched patients, all AEs that started or worsened in severity on or after the first dose of trial drug and prior to the date of last administration of trial medication + 16 weeks inclusive were defined as TEAEs.
Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Time as Determined by Investigator AssessmentTumor scans performed at baseline, Cycle 3 (Week 6), Cycle 5 (Week 12), Cycle 7 (Week 18), then every 3 cycles (~9 weeks) until confirmed disease progression. Analysis performed for pre-switch period only; maximum duration of up to 35 cycles (105 weeks).PFS was defined as the time from randomization until disease progression as determined by Investigator assessment or death from any cause, whichever occurred first during the pre-switch period. Disease progression was assessed according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1. Progression was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also have demonstrated an absolute increase of at least 5 millimeters. Tumor assessments were performed prior to trial drug administration. PFS was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique.
Overall Survival (OS) TimeFrom baseline until death due to any cause, ie., up to 35 cycles (105 weeks).OS was defined as the time randomization until death from any cause during the pre-switch period. OS was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique.
Duration of Response (DOR) as Determined by Investigator AssessmentTumor scans performed at baseline, Cycle 3 (Week 6), Cycle 5 (Week 12), Cycle 7 (Week 18), then every 3 cycles (~9 weeks) until confirmed disease progression., ie up to 35 cycles (105 weeks).DOR was the time from first documented CR or PR until time of progression as determined by Investigator assessment during the pre-switch period. Tumor assessments were performed prior to trial drug administration. DOR was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique.

Countries

Argentina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Croatia, Egypt, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, Turkey (Türkiye), Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Phase III, randomized, double-blind, multicenter, active comparator, parallel 2-arm trial in patients with advanced non-squamous non-small cell lung cancer (nsNSCLC). From 21December2017, Sponsor recommended, patients to be switched from BI 695502 to reference product Avastin® (commercially available) as soon as it was available at clinical site.

Pre-assignment details

All patients were screened for eligibility to participate in the trial. Patients attended specialist sites which would then ensure that they (the patients) met all strictly implemented inclusion/exclusion criteria. Patients were not to be randomized to trial treatment if any one of the specific entry criteria were violated.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
BI 695502
Patients received BI 695502 solution for i.v. infusion, 15 mg/kg bw, every 3 weeks for up to 6 cycles. During the induction cycles, patients also received standard combination chemotherapy consisting of paclitaxel 200 mg/m\^2 body surface area (BSA), followed by carboplatin target area under the curve (AUC) 6 mg/mL\*min, with adequate pre- and concomitant medication. After Cycle 4 to 6, for responding or stabilized patients, maintenance treatment with BI 695502 monotherapy could be started per the original randomization. Patients then received BI 695502 as a single agent until disease progression, death, withdrawal of consent, unacceptable toxicity, or until the Switch Visit (when each patient was switched to receive commercially available Avastin®), whichever occurred earlier.
335
Avastin® US
Patients received US-licensed Avastin® solution for i.v. infusion, 15 mg/kg bw, every 3 weeks for up to 6 cycles. During the induction cycles, patients also received standard combination chemotherapy consisting of paclitaxel 200 mg/m\^2 BSA, followed by carboplatin target AUC 6 mg/mL\*min, with adequate pre- and concomitant medication. After Cycle 4 to 6, for responding or stabilized patients, maintenance treatment with US-licensed Avastin® monotherapy could be started per the original randomization. Patients then received US-licensed Avastin® as a single agent until disease progression, death, withdrawal of consent, unacceptable toxicity, or until the Switch Visit (when each patient was switched to receive commercially available Avastin®), whichever occurred earlier.
328
Total663

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Post-switch PeriodAdverse Event44
Post-switch PeriodDeath32
Post-switch PeriodOther than listed45
Post-switch PeriodPhysician Decision11
Post-switch PeriodProgressive disease2121
Post-switch PeriodStudy terminated by sponsor811
Post-switch PeriodWithdrawal by Subject12
Pre-switch PeriodAdverse Event3837
Pre-switch PeriodDeath2626
Pre-switch PeriodLost to Follow-up02
Pre-switch PeriodOther than listed1011
Pre-switch PeriodPhysician Decision618
Pre-switch PeriodProgressive disease185173
Pre-switch PeriodProtocol Violation10
Pre-switch PeriodWithdrawal by Subject2715
Randomized Through Treatment StartNot treated35

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicAvastin® USTotalBI 695502
Age, Continuous61.3 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.22
61.2 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.55
61.2 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.89
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
34 Participants77 Participants43 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
285 Participants569 Participants284 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
9 Participants17 Participants8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
71 Participants135 Participants64 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
8 Participants20 Participants12 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
248 Participants506 Participants258 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
125 Participants246 Participants121 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
203 Participants417 Participants214 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
193 / 335184 / 3283 / 422 / 46
other
Total, other adverse events
293 / 335288 / 32820 / 4222 / 46
serious
Total, serious adverse events
108 / 33589 / 3285 / 422 / 46

Outcome results

Primary

Best Overall Response Rate (ORR), Based on Unconfirmed Response Assessment, as Assessed by Central Imaging Review Until 18 Weeks After the Start of Treatment

ORR was defined as the percentage of patients who achieved at least one visit response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) after the start of treatment. The response criteria evaluation was carried out according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1. CR and PR did not need to be confirmed by a subsequent tumor assessment due to blinded central assessment. CR: Disappearance of all target lesions since baseline; PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of the diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of diameters. Tumor assessments were performed prior to trial drug administration, until 18 weeks.

Time frame: Tumor assessment scans were performed at baseline, Cycle 3 (Week 6), Cycle 5 (Week 12) and at Week 18 ±14 days. Best ORR evaluated until confirmed disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, death or up to 18 weeks, whichever happened earlier.

Population: The FAS contained all randomized patients who received at least 1 dose of trial drug and who had a baseline tumor assessment. Best ORR (CR+PR) is reported for observed values.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
BI 695502Best Overall Response Rate (ORR), Based on Unconfirmed Response Assessment, as Assessed by Central Imaging Review Until 18 Weeks After the Start of Treatment54.0 Percentage of patients (%)
Avastin® USBest Overall Response Rate (ORR), Based on Unconfirmed Response Assessment, as Assessed by Central Imaging Review Until 18 Weeks After the Start of Treatment63.1 Percentage of patients (%)
Comparison: Analysis was based on a log-binomial regression model with subsequent transformation of the estimated parameter (ratio of best ORR) respective CIs to the ratio scale. The model included the following explanatory variables: treatment, sex (male versus female), smoking status (never smoked versus current/ex-smoker), NSCLC stage (recurrent versus Stage IV) and ethnicity (East Asian origin versus Non-East Asian).90% CI: [0.7697, 0.9506]Log-binomial regression
Comparison: Analysis was based on a log-binomial regression model with subsequent transformation of the estimated parameter (ratio of best ORR) respective CIs to the ratio scale. The model included the following explanatory variables: treatment, sex (male versus female), smoking status (never smoked versus current/ex-smoker), NSCLC stage (recurrent versus Stage IV) and ethnicity (East Asian origin versus Non-East Asian).95% CI: [0.7543, 0.97]Log-binomial regression
Secondary

Duration of Response (DOR) as Determined by Investigator Assessment

DOR was the time from first documented CR or PR until time of progression as determined by Investigator assessment during the pre-switch period. Tumor assessments were performed prior to trial drug administration. DOR was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique.

Time frame: Tumor scans performed at baseline, Cycle 3 (Week 6), Cycle 5 (Week 12), Cycle 7 (Week 18), then every 3 cycles (~9 weeks) until confirmed disease progression., ie up to 35 cycles (105 weeks).

Population: The FAS contained all randomized patients who received at least 1 dose of trial drug and who had a baseline tumor assessment. Only patients with an objective response were included in the analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
BI 695502Duration of Response (DOR) as Determined by Investigator Assessment7.66 Months
Avastin® USDuration of Response (DOR) as Determined by Investigator Assessment8.94 Months
Comparison: Analysis based on a Cox-proportional hazards regression model. The model included the following explanatory variables: treatment, sex (male versus female), smoking status (never smoked versus current/ex-smoker), NSCLC stage (recurrent versus Stage IV) and ethnicity (East Asian origin versus non East Asian).95% CI: [0.88, 1.48]Cox-proportional hazards regression
Secondary

Overall Survival (OS) Time

OS was defined as the time randomization until death from any cause during the pre-switch period. OS was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique.

Time frame: From baseline until death due to any cause, ie., up to 35 cycles (105 weeks).

Population: The FAS contained all randomized patients who received at least 1 dose of trial drug and who had a baseline tumor assessment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
BI 695502Overall Survival (OS) Time15.57 Months
Avastin® USOverall Survival (OS) Time19.48 Months
Comparison: Analysis based on a Cox-proportional hazards regression model. The model included the following explanatory variables: treatment, sex (male versus female), smoking status (never smoked versus current/ex-smoker), NSCLC stage (recurrent versus Stage IV) and ethnicity (East Asian origin versus non East Asian).95% CI: [1, 1.51]Cox-proportional hazards regression
Secondary

Percentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®

The following selected adverse events (AEs) were evaluated for comparability assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®: * Infusion reactions (anaphylactic/hypersensitivity/infusion-related reactions), * Thromboembolic events (arterial or venous), * Febrile neutropenia, * Gastrointestinal perforations, * Hypertension, * Proteinuria, * Pulmonary hemorrhage, * Other hemorrhages (not including pulmonary hemorrhages), * Wound-healing complications/abscess/fistulas. The analysis of AEs was based on the concept of TEAEs. For non-switched patients, all AEs that started or worsened in severity on or after the first dose of trial drug and prior to the date of last administration of trial medication + 16 weeks inclusive were defined as TEAEs.

Time frame: From first dose of trial drug until 16 weeks after the last dose of trial medication, up to 218 days.

Population: The Treated Set contained all patients who signed informed consent and who received at least one dose of trial drug.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Thromboembolic events6.60 Percentage of patients (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Hypertension15.50 Percentage of patients (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Infusion reactions16.70 Percentage of patients (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Proteinuria15.80 Percentage of patients (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Febrile neutropenia3.90 Percentage of patients (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Pulmonary haemorrhage1.20 Percentage of patients (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Other hemorrhages20.00 Percentage of patients (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®AtLeast 1 AE selected for Comparability Assessment52.50 Percentage of patients (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Wound-healing complications/abscess/fistulas2.70 Percentage of patients (%)
BI 695502Percentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Gastrointestinal perforations2.10 Percentage of patients (%)
Avastin® USPercentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Wound-healing complications/abscess/fistulas2.10 Percentage of patients (%)
Avastin® USPercentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®AtLeast 1 AE selected for Comparability Assessment45.10 Percentage of patients (%)
Avastin® USPercentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Infusion reactions13.10 Percentage of patients (%)
Avastin® USPercentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Thromboembolic events5.50 Percentage of patients (%)
Avastin® USPercentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Febrile neutropenia3.40 Percentage of patients (%)
Avastin® USPercentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Gastrointestinal perforations0.60 Percentage of patients (%)
Avastin® USPercentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Hypertension16.20 Percentage of patients (%)
Avastin® USPercentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Proteinuria14.60 Percentage of patients (%)
Avastin® USPercentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Other hemorrhages16.20 Percentage of patients (%)
Avastin® USPercentage of Patients With Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) For Comparability Assessment of BI 695502 and US-licensed Avastin®Pulmonary haemorrhage0.90 Percentage of patients (%)
Comparison: At least 1 AE selected for comparability assessment, risk ratio X (BI 695502) versus Y (US-licensed Avastin®) was defined as (a/(a+b))/(c/(c+d)), where 'a' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group X, 'a+b' was the total number of patients in treatment group X, 'c' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group Y and 'c+d' was the total number of patients in treatment group Y.95% CI: [0.99, 1.37]Score exact method
Comparison: Infusion reactions, risk ratio X (BI 695502) versus Y (US-licensed Avastin®) was defined as (a/(a+b))/(c/(c+d)), where 'a' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group X, 'a+b' was the total number of patients in treatment group X, 'c' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group Y and 'c+d' was the total number of patients in treatment group Y.95% CI: [0.88, 1.88]Score exact method
Comparison: Thromboembolic events, risk ratio X (BI 695502) versus Y (US-licensed Avastin®) was defined as (a/(a+b))/(c/(c+d)), where 'a' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group X, 'a+b' was the total number of patients in treatment group X, 'c' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group Y and 'c+d' was the total number of patients in treatment group Y.95% CI: [0.64, 2.32]Score exact method
Comparison: Febrile neutropenia, risk ratio X (BI 695502) versus Y (US-licensed Avastin®) was defined as (a/(a+b))/(c/(c+d)), where 'a' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group X, 'a+b' was the total number of patients in treatment group X, 'c' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group Y and 'c+d' was the total number of patients in treatment group Y.95% CI: [0.51, 2.76]Score exact method
Comparison: Gastrointestinal perforations, risk ratio X (BI 695502) versus Y (US-licensed Avastin®) was defined as (a/(a+b))/(c/(c+d)), where 'a' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group X, 'a+b' was the total number of patients in treatment group X, 'c' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group Y and 'c+d' was the total number of patients in treatment group Y.95% CI: [0.79, 32.82]Score exact method
Comparison: Hypertension, risk ratio X (BI 695502) versus Y (US-licensed Avastin®) was defined as (a/(a+b))/(c/(c+d)), where 'a' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group X, 'a+b' was the total number of patients in treatment group X, 'c' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group Y and 'c+d' was the total number of patients in treatment group Y.95% CI: [0.66, 1.39]Score exact method
Comparison: Proteinuria, risk ratio X (BI 695502) versus Y (US-licensed Avastin®) was defined as (a/(a+b))/(c/(c+d)), where 'a' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group X, 'a+b' was the total number of patients in treatment group X, 'c' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group Y and 'c+d' was the total number of patients in treatment group Y.95% CI: [0.74, 1.57]Score exact method
Comparison: Pulmonary haemorrhage, risk ratio X (BI 695502) versus Y (US-licensed Avastin®) was defined as (a/(a+b))/(c/(c+d)), where 'a' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group X, 'a+b' was the total number of patients in treatment group X, 'c' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group Y and 'c+d' was the total number of patients in treatment group Y.95% CI: [0.28, 10.79]Score exact method
Comparison: Other hemorrhages, risk ratio X (BI 695502) versus Y (US-licensed Avastin®) was defined as (a/(a+b))/(c/(c+d)), where 'a' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group X, 'a+b' was the total number of patients in treatment group X, 'c' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group Y and 'c+d' was the total number of patients in treatment group Y.95% CI: [0.88, 1.74]Score exact method
Comparison: Wound healing complications/ abscesses/ fistulas, risk ratio X (BI 695502) versus Y (US-licensed Avastin®) was defined as (a/(a+b))/(c/(c+d)), where 'a' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group X, 'a+b' was the total number of patients in treatment group X, 'c' was the number of patients with TEAEs selected for comparability within treatment group Y and 'c+d' was the total number of patients in treatment group Y.95% CI: [0.47, 3.57]Score excat method
Secondary

Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Time as Determined by Investigator Assessment

PFS was defined as the time from randomization until disease progression as determined by Investigator assessment or death from any cause, whichever occurred first during the pre-switch period. Disease progression was assessed according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1. Progression was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also have demonstrated an absolute increase of at least 5 millimeters. Tumor assessments were performed prior to trial drug administration. PFS was calculated using the Kaplan-Meier technique.

Time frame: Tumor scans performed at baseline, Cycle 3 (Week 6), Cycle 5 (Week 12), Cycle 7 (Week 18), then every 3 cycles (~9 weeks) until confirmed disease progression. Analysis performed for pre-switch period only; maximum duration of up to 35 cycles (105 weeks).

Population: The Full Analysis Set (FAS) contained all randomized patients who received at least 1 dose of trial drug and who had a baseline tumor assessment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
BI 695502Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Time as Determined by Investigator Assessment8.34 Months
Avastin® USProgression-Free Survival (PFS) Time as Determined by Investigator Assessment9.00 Months
Comparison: Analysis based on a Cox-proportional hazards regression model. The model included the following explanatory variables: treatment, sex (male versus female), smoking status (never smoked versus current/ex-smoker), NSCLC stage (recurrent versus Stage IV) and ethnicity (East Asian origin versus non East Asian).95% CI: [1.02, 1.45]Cox-proportional hazards regression

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026