Skip to content

Safety and Efficacy of CC-486 in Previously Treated Patients With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma

A Phase 2, Multicenter, International, Single Arm Study To Assess The Safety And Efficacy Of Single Agent Cc-486 (Oral Azacitidine) In Previously Treated Subjects With Locally Advanced Or Metastatic Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02269943
Enrollment
36
Registered
2014-10-21
Start date
2015-02-13
Completion date
2017-04-20
Last updated
2018-12-12

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Nasopharyngeal Neoplasms

Keywords

Metastatic nasopharyngeal carcinoma, oral azacitidine, oral AZA, CC-486, metastatic, recurrent, nasopharyngeal carcinoma, nasal, solid tumors, locally advanced, rare head and neck cancer, nasopharynx, single chemotherapy agent, Epstein-Barr Virus (EBV) + nasopharyngeal carcinoma, EBV-DN, Celgene, Sponsor-study, oral chemotherapy, phase 2, oral Vidaza, EBV promoter methylation, hypomethylation, tumor infiltrating lymphocytes (TILs), EBV gene expression, neoplasms

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the safety and efficacy of CC-486 in previously treated patients with locally advanced or metastatic nasopharyngeal carcinoma having failed one to two previous regimens, including platinum-based chemotherapy. Participants will be enrolled according to a Simon two-stage design; if the predefined activity is met (\>4 responses \[complete response; partial response {CR/PR}\] out of the first 17 evaluable participants based on independent radiological assessment), then the study will continue to enroll an additional 34 participants. If 4 or less responses out of 17 are observed, then the study enrollment will be stopped.

Interventions

DRUGCC-486

Sponsors

Celgene
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Age = or \> 18 years Histological or cytological diagnosis of undifferentiated or poorly differentiated nasopharyngeal carcinoma that is locally advanced or metastatic. * Disease progression either clinically or radiographically after 1-2 previous regimens. * Patient has received a platinum containing regimen. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0-2. Radiographically-documented measureable disease. * Adequate organ and bone marrow functions. * Willingness to follow pregnancy precautions.

Exclusion criteria

* History of, or current brain metastasis. Any other malignancy within 5 years prior to randomization with the exception of adequately treated in situ carcinoma of the cervix, uteri, or non-melanomatous skin cancer (all treatment of which should have been completed 6 months prior to enrollment), in situ squamous cell carcinoma of the breast, or incidental prostate cancer. * Previous treatment with azacitidine (any formulation), decitabine, any other hypomethylating agent. * History of gastrointestinal disorder or defect. Impaired ability to swallow oral medication. Persistent diarrhea or malabsorption. * Active cardiac disease and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection * Active bleeding; pathological condition that carries a high risk of bleeding; risk of pseudoaneurysm of the internal carotid artery and carotid blowout syndrome. * Major surgery within 14 days prior to starting Investigational Product or has not recovered from major side effects. * Another investigational therapy within 28 days or 5 half lives of randomization/enrollment, whichever is shorter. * Patient has not recovered from the acute toxic effects of prior anticancer therapy, radiation, or major surgery/significant trauma. * Radiotherapy \< or = 4 weeks or limited field radiation for palliation \< or = 2 weeks prior to starting with the investigational product. * Pregnancy/Breast feeding * Any condition that places the patient at unacceptable risk if he/she were to participate in the study or that confounds the ability to interpret data from the study.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved a Complete or Partial Response According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST 1.1) Based on an Independent Radiology Assessment (IRA)Tumor response was assessed every (Q) 6 weeks for the first 3 evaluations then Q 9 weeks until disease progression as of the cut-off date of 08 August 2017; the median duration of treatment was 257 days for the 200 mg dose and 114.5 days for 300 mg doseOverall response rate was defined as the combined incidence of Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR), confirmed no less than 4 weeks after the criteria for response were first met, based on independent radiology assessment according to RECIST 1.1 criteria. Complete response was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions and non-target lesions; Partial response is at least a 30% decrease from baseline in the sum of diameters of target lesions with no progression of non-target lesions and no new lesions or disappearance of target lesions with persistence of one or more non-target lesions from baseline.
Kaplan Meier Estimate of Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Based on an Independent Radiology Assessment According to RECIST 1.1 CriteriaFrom Day 1 of documented disease progression; up to data cut off date of 08 August 2017; median follow-up time for censored participants was 12.3 monthsPFS was defined as the time from the date of start of the study treatment to the date of disease progression or death (any cause) on or prior to the data cut-off date for the statistical analysis, whichever occurred earlier, based on an independent radiology assessment of response using RECIST v1.1 criteria. Progressive disease was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target or non-target lesions from nadir or appearance of a new lesion.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsFrom date of first dose of study treatment to 28 days after last dose of study treatment; up to final data cut-off date of 08 August 2017; median treatment duration was 257 days for CC-486 200 mg and 114.5 days for CC-486 300 mgTreatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) were defined as any adverse event (AE) or serious adverse event (SAE) that occurred or worsened on or after the day of the first dose of the investigational product (IP) through 28 days after the last dose of IP. In addition, any SAE with an onset date more than 28 day after the last dose of IP that was assessed by the investigator as related to IP was considered a TEAE. The severity of AEs was graded based on National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE), Version 4.0 and based on the following scale: Grade 1 = Mild Grade 2 = Moderate Grade 3 = Severe Grade 4 = Life threatening Grade 5 = Death.
Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to the Time of the Last Quantifiable Concentration Of CC-486 (AUC-t)Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).Area under the plasma concentration-time curve from Time 0 to the time of the last quantifiable concentration, calculated by linear trapezoidal method when concentrations are increasing and the logarithmic trapezoidal method when concentrations are decreasing.
Area Under the Plasma Concentration -Time Curve From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC-inf, AUC0-∞) Of CC-486Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).Area under the plasma concentration-time curve from Time 0 extrapolated to infinity, calculated as \[AUCt + Ct/ λz\]. Ct is the last quantifiable concentration. No AUC extrapolation was performed with unreliable λz. If AUC %Extrap was ≥25%, AUC inf was not reported.
Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) Of CC-486Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).Maximum observed plasma concentration, obtained directly from the observed concentration versus time data.
Kaplan Meier Estimate of Overall SurvivalFrom Day 1 of study treatment to the first date of progressive disease or death; up to data cut-off date of 08 August 2017; overall median follow-up time for censored participants was 20.4 monthsOverall survival was the time from the first dose of study drug to patient death from any cause. Participants who did not die were censored at the last known time the patient was alive date or the clinical data cutoff date, whichever was earlier.
Terminal Half-Life (t1/2) of CC-486Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).Terminal phase half-life in plasma, calculated as \[(ln 2)/λz\]. t1/2 was only calculated when a reliable estimate for λz could be obtained.
Apparent Total Clearance (CL/F) Of CC-486Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).Apparent volume of distribution, calculated as \[(CL/F)/λz\].
Apparent Volume of Distribution (Vz/F) Of CC-486Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).Apparent volume of distribution, calculated as \[(CL/F)/λz\].
Time to Reach Maximum Concentration (Tmax) Of CC-486Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).Time to Cmax, obtained directly from the observed concentration versus time data.
Percentage of Participants With Stable Disease for ≥ 16 Weeks From the Date of the First Treatment, or CR or PR According to RECIST 1.1 Criteria and Based on an Independent Radiology AssessmentTumor response was assessed every 6 weeks for the first 3 evaluations then every 9 weeks until disease progression. As of the cut-off date of 08 August 2017 the median duration of treatment was 257 days for the 200 mg dose and 114.5 days for 300 mg doseDisease Control Rate (DCR) was defined as the percentage of participants with a CR, PR, confirmed ≥ 4 weeks after the criteria for response were first met, or stable disease for ≥ 16 weeks from the first treatment, based on independent radiology assessment using RECIST 1.1 criteria. A complete response was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions and non-target lesions; a partial response is at least a 30% decrease from baseline in the sum of diameters of target lesions with no progression of non-target lesions and no new lesions or disappearance of target lesions with persistence of one or more non-target lesions from baseline. Stable disease is defined as neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase of lesions to qualify for progressive disease

Countries

Canada, France, Greece, Italy, Singapore, Spain, Taiwan, Tunisia, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

This was a multicenter study with 17 sites from the United States, Canada, France. Greece, Italy, Spain, Taiwan, Singapore and Tunisia.

Pre-assignment details

Participants were enrolled according to a Simon 2-stage design. The first 6 participants of Asian-Pacific Island ethnicity received 200 mg/day CC-486 on days 1-14 of each 21-day cycle to monitor safety and tolerability; if there were no safety concerns, subsequent participants of Asian-Pacific Island ethnicity would receive the 300 mg daily dose

Participants by arm

ArmCount
CC-486 200 mg
Asian-Pacific island participants received CC-486 200 mg tablets by mouth (PO) on days 1-14 of each 21-day cycle until radiologic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, adverse event, a new anticancer therapy is begun, withdrawal of consent, subject refusal, physician decision, or death. If well tolerated, and there were no safety concerns, subsequent participants of Asian-Pacific Island ethnicity were administered CC-486 300-mg PO daily for 14 days of a 21-day cycle.
6
CC-486 300 mg
Participants received CC-486 300 mg tablets by mouth on days 1-14 of each 21-day cycle until radiologic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, adverse event (AE), a new anticancer therapy is begun, withdrawal of consent, subject refusal, physician decision, or death.
30
Total36

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Follow-Up Survival PeriodAlive28
Follow-Up Survival PeriodDeath316
Follow-Up Survival PeriodLost to Follow-up02
Treatment PeriodAdverse Event110
Treatment PeriodDeath01
Treatment PeriodProgressive Disease517
Treatment PeriodSymptomatic Deterioration02

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicCC-486 300 mgTotalCC-486 200 mg
Age, Continuous52.2 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.6
52.4 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.46
53.2 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.7
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status
0 = Fully Active
11 Participants15 Participants4 Participants
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status
1 = Restrictive but ambulatory
18 Participants20 Participants2 Participants
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status
2 = Ambulatory but unable to work
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status
3 = Limited Self-Care
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Nasopharyngeal Cancer (NPC) Diagnosis Types
Other
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Nasopharyngeal Cancer (NPC) Diagnosis Types
Poorly Differentiated Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma
9 Participants11 Participants2 Participants
Nasopharyngeal Cancer (NPC) Diagnosis Types
Undifferentiated Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma
21 Participants23 Participants2 Participants
Participants with Prior Anti-Cancer Therapies29 Participants35 Participants6 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Asian
7 Participants13 Participants6 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Hispanic
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Non-Hispanic or Latino
30 Participants36 Participants6 Participants
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
White
23 Participants23 Participants0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
5 Participants7 Participants2 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
25 Participants29 Participants4 Participants
Time From Initial Diagnosis to First Dose3.86 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.358
3.81 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.287
3.60 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.204

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
4 / 618 / 30
other
Total, other adverse events
6 / 629 / 30
serious
Total, serious adverse events
4 / 612 / 30

Outcome results

Primary

Kaplan Meier Estimate of Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Based on an Independent Radiology Assessment According to RECIST 1.1 Criteria

PFS was defined as the time from the date of start of the study treatment to the date of disease progression or death (any cause) on or prior to the data cut-off date for the statistical analysis, whichever occurred earlier, based on an independent radiology assessment of response using RECIST v1.1 criteria. Progressive disease was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target or non-target lesions from nadir or appearance of a new lesion.

Time frame: From Day 1 of documented disease progression; up to data cut off date of 08 August 2017; median follow-up time for censored participants was 12.3 months

Population: The Efficacy Evaluable Population included all enrolled participants who met eligibility criteria and either received 2 cycles of CC-486 at any dose and discontinued treatment for progressive disease or received 4 cycles of CC-486 and had a baseline and at least 2 post-screening tumor assessments.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
CC-486 200 mgKaplan Meier Estimate of Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Based on an Independent Radiology Assessment According to RECIST 1.1 Criteria6.2 months
CC-486 300 mgKaplan Meier Estimate of Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Based on an Independent Radiology Assessment According to RECIST 1.1 Criteria4.4 months
Primary

Percentage of Participants Who Achieved a Complete or Partial Response According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST 1.1) Based on an Independent Radiology Assessment (IRA)

Overall response rate was defined as the combined incidence of Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR), confirmed no less than 4 weeks after the criteria for response were first met, based on independent radiology assessment according to RECIST 1.1 criteria. Complete response was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions and non-target lesions; Partial response is at least a 30% decrease from baseline in the sum of diameters of target lesions with no progression of non-target lesions and no new lesions or disappearance of target lesions with persistence of one or more non-target lesions from baseline.

Time frame: Tumor response was assessed every (Q) 6 weeks for the first 3 evaluations then Q 9 weeks until disease progression as of the cut-off date of 08 August 2017; the median duration of treatment was 257 days for the 200 mg dose and 114.5 days for 300 mg dose

Population: The Efficacy Evaluable Population included all enrolled participants who met eligibility criteria and either received 2 cycles of CC-486 at any dose and discontinued treatment for progressive disease or received 4 cycles of CC-486 and had a baseline and at least 2 post-screening tumor assessments.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
CC-486 200 mgPercentage of Participants Who Achieved a Complete or Partial Response According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST 1.1) Based on an Independent Radiology Assessment (IRA)0 percentage of participants
CC-486 300 mgPercentage of Participants Who Achieved a Complete or Partial Response According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST 1.1) Based on an Independent Radiology Assessment (IRA)15.0 percentage of participants
Secondary

Apparent Total Clearance (CL/F) Of CC-486

Apparent volume of distribution, calculated as \[(CL/F)/λz\].

Time frame: Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).

Population: The PK population includes participants with evaluable CC-486 plasma PK profiles.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
CC-486 200 mgApparent Total Clearance (CL/F) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 141450 Liters/hourGeometric Coefficient of Variation 802.1
CC-486 200 mgApparent Total Clearance (CL/F) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 1509.5 Liters/hourGeometric Coefficient of Variation 58.3
CC-486 300 mgApparent Total Clearance (CL/F) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 1845.3 Liters/hourGeometric Coefficient of Variation 87.1
CC-486 300 mgApparent Total Clearance (CL/F) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 14643.7 Liters/hourGeometric Coefficient of Variation 104.7
Secondary

Apparent Volume of Distribution (Vz/F) Of CC-486

Apparent volume of distribution, calculated as \[(CL/F)/λz\].

Time frame: Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).

Population: The PK population includes participants with evaluable CC-486 plasma PK profiles.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
CC-486 200 mgApparent Volume of Distribution (Vz/F) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 1412.9 LitersGeometric Coefficient of Variation 42.9
CC-486 200 mgApparent Volume of Distribution (Vz/F) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 141221 LitersGeometric Coefficient of Variation 581.3
CC-486 300 mgApparent Volume of Distribution (Vz/F) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 1774.6 LitersGeometric Coefficient of Variation 78.6
CC-486 300 mgApparent Volume of Distribution (Vz/F) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 14594.8 LitersGeometric Coefficient of Variation 69.7
Secondary

Area Under the Plasma Concentration -Time Curve From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC-inf, AUC0-∞) Of CC-486

Area under the plasma concentration-time curve from Time 0 extrapolated to infinity, calculated as \[AUCt + Ct/ λz\]. Ct is the last quantifiable concentration. No AUC extrapolation was performed with unreliable λz. If AUC %Extrap was ≥25%, AUC inf was not reported.

Time frame: Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).

Population: The PK population includes participants with evaluable CC-486 plasma PK profiles.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
CC-486 200 mgArea Under the Plasma Concentration -Time Curve From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC-inf, AUC0-∞) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 1392.5 ng*h/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 58.3
CC-486 200 mgArea Under the Plasma Concentration -Time Curve From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC-inf, AUC0-∞) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 14138.0 ng*h/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 802.1
CC-486 300 mgArea Under the Plasma Concentration -Time Curve From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC-inf, AUC0-∞) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 1354.9 ng*h/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 87.1
CC-486 300 mgArea Under the Plasma Concentration -Time Curve From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC-inf, AUC0-∞) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 14466.0 ng*h/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 104.7
Secondary

Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to the Time of the Last Quantifiable Concentration Of CC-486 (AUC-t)

Area under the plasma concentration-time curve from Time 0 to the time of the last quantifiable concentration, calculated by linear trapezoidal method when concentrations are increasing and the logarithmic trapezoidal method when concentrations are decreasing.

Time frame: Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).

Population: The PK population includes participants with evaluable CC-486 plasma PK profiles.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
CC-486 200 mgArea Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to the Time of the Last Quantifiable Concentration Of CC-486 (AUC-t)Cycle 1 Day 1390.0 ng*h/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 58.8
CC-486 200 mgArea Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to the Time of the Last Quantifiable Concentration Of CC-486 (AUC-t)Cycle 1 Day 14130.3 ng*h/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 995.5
CC-486 300 mgArea Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to the Time of the Last Quantifiable Concentration Of CC-486 (AUC-t)Cycle 1 Day 1351.7 ng*h/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 87.5
CC-486 300 mgArea Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to the Time of the Last Quantifiable Concentration Of CC-486 (AUC-t)Cycle 1 Day 14461.3 ng*h/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 104.2
Secondary

Kaplan Meier Estimate of Overall Survival

Overall survival was the time from the first dose of study drug to patient death from any cause. Participants who did not die were censored at the last known time the patient was alive date or the clinical data cutoff date, whichever was earlier.

Time frame: From Day 1 of study treatment to the first date of progressive disease or death; up to data cut-off date of 08 August 2017; overall median follow-up time for censored participants was 20.4 months

Population: The Efficacy Evaluable Population included all enrolled participants who met eligibility criteria and either received 2 cycles of CC-486 at any dose and discontinued treatment for progressive disease or received 4 cycles of CC-486 and had a baseline and at least 2 post-screening tumor assessments.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
CC-486 200 mgKaplan Meier Estimate of Overall Survival18.0 months
CC-486 300 mgKaplan Meier Estimate of Overall SurvivalNA months
Secondary

Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) Of CC-486

Maximum observed plasma concentration, obtained directly from the observed concentration versus time data.

Time frame: Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).

Population: The PK population includes participants with evaluable CC-486 plasma PK profiles

ArmMeasureGroupValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
CC-486 200 mgMaximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 1266.3 ng/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 53.8
CC-486 200 mgMaximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 14102.7 ng/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 412
CC-486 300 mgMaximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 1170.7 ng/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 95
CC-486 300 mgMaximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 14287.0 ng/mLGeometric Coefficient of Variation 50.7
Secondary

Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events

Treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) were defined as any adverse event (AE) or serious adverse event (SAE) that occurred or worsened on or after the day of the first dose of the investigational product (IP) through 28 days after the last dose of IP. In addition, any SAE with an onset date more than 28 day after the last dose of IP that was assessed by the investigator as related to IP was considered a TEAE. The severity of AEs was graded based on National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE), Version 4.0 and based on the following scale: Grade 1 = Mild Grade 2 = Moderate Grade 3 = Severe Grade 4 = Life threatening Grade 5 = Death.

Time frame: From date of first dose of study treatment to 28 days after last dose of study treatment; up to final data cut-off date of 08 August 2017; median treatment duration was 257 days for CC-486 200 mg and 114.5 days for CC-486 300 mg

Population: The Safety Population included all participants who received at least 1 dose of IP.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
CC-486 200 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny TEAE6 Participants
CC-486 200 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny TEAE Related to IP6 Participants
CC-486 200 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny Serious TEAE4 Participants
CC-486 200 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny Serious TEAE Related to IP3 Participants
CC-486 200 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny CTCAE Grade 3 or 4 TEAE6 Participants
CC-486 200 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny CTCAE Grade 3 or 4 TEAE Related to IP6 Participants
CC-486 200 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny TEAE Leading to Death1 Participants
CC-486 200 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny TEAE Leading to Dose Reduction5 Participants
CC-486 200 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny TEAE Leading to Drug Interruption4 Participants
CC-486 200 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny TEAE Leading to IP Discontinuation1 Participants
CC-486 300 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny TEAE Leading to Dose Reduction9 Participants
CC-486 300 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny TEAE30 Participants
CC-486 300 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny CTCAE Grade 3 or 4 TEAE Related to IP16 Participants
CC-486 300 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny TEAE Related to IP28 Participants
CC-486 300 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny TEAE Leading to IP Discontinuation10 Participants
CC-486 300 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny Serious TEAE12 Participants
CC-486 300 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny TEAE Leading to Death1 Participants
CC-486 300 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny Serious TEAE Related to IP7 Participants
CC-486 300 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny TEAE Leading to Drug Interruption9 Participants
CC-486 300 mgNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse EventsAny CTCAE Grade 3 or 4 TEAE20 Participants
Secondary

Percentage of Participants With Stable Disease for ≥ 16 Weeks From the Date of the First Treatment, or CR or PR According to RECIST 1.1 Criteria and Based on an Independent Radiology Assessment

Disease Control Rate (DCR) was defined as the percentage of participants with a CR, PR, confirmed ≥ 4 weeks after the criteria for response were first met, or stable disease for ≥ 16 weeks from the first treatment, based on independent radiology assessment using RECIST 1.1 criteria. A complete response was defined as the disappearance of all target lesions and non-target lesions; a partial response is at least a 30% decrease from baseline in the sum of diameters of target lesions with no progression of non-target lesions and no new lesions or disappearance of target lesions with persistence of one or more non-target lesions from baseline. Stable disease is defined as neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase of lesions to qualify for progressive disease

Time frame: Tumor response was assessed every 6 weeks for the first 3 evaluations then every 9 weeks until disease progression. As of the cut-off date of 08 August 2017 the median duration of treatment was 257 days for the 200 mg dose and 114.5 days for 300 mg dose

Population: Efficacy Evaluable Population = enrolled participants who met eligibility criteria and either received 2 cycles of IP at any dose and discontinued treatment for progressive disease or received 4 cycles of IP and had at least 2 post-screening tumor exams.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
CC-486 200 mgPercentage of Participants With Stable Disease for ≥ 16 Weeks From the Date of the First Treatment, or CR or PR According to RECIST 1.1 Criteria and Based on an Independent Radiology Assessment60.0 percentage of participants
CC-486 300 mgPercentage of Participants With Stable Disease for ≥ 16 Weeks From the Date of the First Treatment, or CR or PR According to RECIST 1.1 Criteria and Based on an Independent Radiology Assessment50.0 percentage of participants
Secondary

Terminal Half-Life (t1/2) of CC-486

Terminal phase half-life in plasma, calculated as \[(ln 2)/λz\]. t1/2 was only calculated when a reliable estimate for λz could be obtained.

Time frame: Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).

Population: The PK population includes participants with evaluable CC-486 plasma PK profiles.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (GEOMETRIC_MEAN)Dispersion
CC-486 200 mgTerminal Half-Life (t1/2) of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 10.562 HoursGeometric Coefficient of Variation 23.1
CC-486 200 mgTerminal Half-Life (t1/2) of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 140.584 HoursGeometric Coefficient of Variation 17.2
CC-486 300 mgTerminal Half-Life (t1/2) of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 10.635 HoursGeometric Coefficient of Variation 24.2
CC-486 300 mgTerminal Half-Life (t1/2) of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 140.640 HoursGeometric Coefficient of Variation 32
Secondary

Time to Reach Maximum Concentration (Tmax) Of CC-486

Time to Cmax, obtained directly from the observed concentration versus time data.

Time frame: Blood samples for oral azacitidine PK assessment were collected prior to each dose (pre-dose) and over the 8-hour period following each dose (0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 6, and 8 hours post-dose or similar schedule).

Population: The PK population includes participants with evaluable CC-486 plasma PK profiles.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
CC-486 200 mgTime to Reach Maximum Concentration (Tmax) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 11.0 Hours
CC-486 200 mgTime to Reach Maximum Concentration (Tmax) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 141.0 Hours
CC-486 300 mgTime to Reach Maximum Concentration (Tmax) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 11.3 Hours
CC-486 300 mgTime to Reach Maximum Concentration (Tmax) Of CC-486Cycle 1 Day 141.0 Hours

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 1, 2026