Skip to content

A Study of Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel With or Without FG-3019 in Participants With Locally Advanced, Unresectable Pancreatic Cancer

A Randomized, Open Label, Phase 1/2 Trial of Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel With or Without FG-3019 as Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy in Locally Advanced, Unresectable Pancreatic Cancer

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02210559
Enrollment
37
Registered
2014-08-06
Start date
2014-07-31
Completion date
2021-12-15
Last updated
2023-03-02

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Pancreatic Cancer (Unresectable)

Keywords

locally, advanced, pancreatic, cancer, unresectable, pancreatic cancer

Brief summary

This is a Phase 1/2 trial to evaluate the safety, tolerability, and efficacy of FG-3019 administered with gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel in the treatment of locally advanced, unresectable pancreatic cancer.

Interventions

FG-3019 will be administered per dose and schedule specified in the arm group description.

DRUGGemcitabine

Gemcitabine will be administered per dose and schedule specified in the arm group description.

DRUGNab-paclitaxel

Nab-paclitaxel will be administered per dose and schedule specified in the arm group description.

Sponsors

Kyntra Bio
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Key Inclusion Criteria: * Male, or non-pregnant and, non-lactating female * Histologically proven diagnosis of pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma (PDAC) * Radiographic and pathologic staging consistent with pancreatic cancer, locally advanced, unresectable (per National Comprehensive Cancer Network® \[NCCN®\] criteria) * Laparoscopic confirmation that PDAC is locally advanced. Biliary stents are permitted. * Measurable disease as defined by RECIST 1.1 * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0 or 1 * Adequate liver, bone marrow, and renal function * Agree to use contraception per protocol * Less than Grade 2 pre-existing peripheral neuropathy Key

Exclusion criteria

* Prior chemotherapy or radiation for pancreatic cancer * Solid tumor contact with superior mesenteric artery (SMA) \>180° * Previous (within the past 5 years) or concurrent malignancy diagnosis (expect non-melanoma skin cancer and in situ carcinomas) * Major surgery, within 4 weeks prior to Day 1 on study * History of allergy or hypersensitivity to human, humanized or chimeric monoclonal antibodies * Exposure to another investigational drug within 42 days of first dosing visit, or 5 half-lives of the study product (whichever is longer) * Uncontrolled intercurrent illness * Any medical condition that, in the opinion of the Investigator, may pose a safety risk to a participant in this trial, may confound the assessment of safety and efficacy, or may interfere with study participation. * Current abuse of alcohol or drugs

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)From first infusion of any study drug (Day 1) up to 28 days after last infusion of study drug or the day before surgery (up to Day 196)An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that develops or worsens in severity during the conduct of a clinical study and does not necessarily have a causal relationship to the study drug. SAEs included death, a life-threatening adverse event, inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, persistent or significant disability or incapacity, a congenital anomaly or birth defect, or an important medical event that jeopardized the participant and required medical intervention to prevent 1 of the outcomes listed in this definition. A TEAE was defined as a new or worsening AE that occurred in the window of first infusion of any study drug (Day 1) and within 28 days of the last infusion of study drug or the day before surgery, whichever occurred first. A summary of serious and non-serious AEs regardless of causality is located in 'Reported Adverse Events module'.
Number of Participants Who Had Surgical Complications Post-Resection30 days following discharge after surgery (up to Day 198)Number of participants who had surgical complications (for example; surgical site infection, intra-abdominal abscess, or perioperative leak during surgery) has been reported

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants in Whom R0 Resection Was AchievedAfter completion of 24 weeks of treatment with study drugR0 resection was determined by pathological examination of the surgical specimen after resection.
Number of Participants With Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST 1.1)From randomization up to Week 52CR was defined as disappearance of all target lesions and any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduced in short axis to \<10 millimeters (mm). PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.
Number of Participants in Whom R0 or R1 Resection Was AchievedAfter completion of 24 weeks of treatment with study drugR0 or R1 resection was determined by pathological examination of the surgical specimen after resection.
Median Progression-Free SurvivalFrom randomization until objective tumor progression or death, assessed up to 4 yearsProgression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization until objective tumor progression or death. Progression was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions was also considered progression.
Median Overall SurvivalFrom randomization until death from any cause, assessed up to 4 yearsOverall survival was defined as the time from randomization until death from any cause.
Number of Participants Who Became Eligible for SurgeryAfter completion of 24 weeks of treatment with study drug

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm A: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel + Pamrevlumab (G/NP+P)
Participants received gemcitabine at 1000 mg/m\^2 plus nab-paclitaxel at 125 mg/m\^2 by IV infusion on Days 1, 8, and 15 of each cycle. Participants received pamrevlumab at 35 mg/kg by IV infusion on Days 1 and 15 of each cycle. An additional dose of pamrevlumab was given on Day 8 of the first cycle. Participants received a total of up to six 28-day cycles of treatment.
24
Arm B: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel (G/NP)
Participants received gemcitabine at 1000 mg/ m\^2 plus nab-paclitaxel at 125 mg/m\^2 by IV infusion on Days 1, 8, and 15 of each cycle. Participants received a total of up to six 28-day cycles of treatment.
13
Total37

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyAdverse Event22
Overall StudyOther than specified01
Overall StudyPhysician Decision10
Overall StudyProgressive Disease32
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject01

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm B: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel (G/NP)TotalArm A: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel + Pamrevlumab (G/NP+P)
Age, Continuous60.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.18
64.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.6
66.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.75
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
13 Participants36 Participants23 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
3 Participants4 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
10 Participants32 Participants22 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
7 Participants23 Participants16 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
6 Participants14 Participants8 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
17 / 247 / 13
other
Total, other adverse events
24 / 2412 / 13
serious
Total, serious adverse events
9 / 246 / 13

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants Who Had Surgical Complications Post-Resection

Number of participants who had surgical complications (for example; surgical site infection, intra-abdominal abscess, or perioperative leak during surgery) has been reported

Time frame: 30 days following discharge after surgery (up to Day 198)

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants who received any amount of study drugs including pamrevlumab, or gemcitabine, or nab-paclitaxel.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm A: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel + Pamrevlumab (G/NP+P)Number of Participants Who Had Surgical Complications Post-Resection0 Participants
Arm B: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel (G/NP)Number of Participants Who Had Surgical Complications Post-Resection0 Participants
Primary

Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that develops or worsens in severity during the conduct of a clinical study and does not necessarily have a causal relationship to the study drug. SAEs included death, a life-threatening adverse event, inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, persistent or significant disability or incapacity, a congenital anomaly or birth defect, or an important medical event that jeopardized the participant and required medical intervention to prevent 1 of the outcomes listed in this definition. A TEAE was defined as a new or worsening AE that occurred in the window of first infusion of any study drug (Day 1) and within 28 days of the last infusion of study drug or the day before surgery, whichever occurred first. A summary of serious and non-serious AEs regardless of causality is located in 'Reported Adverse Events module'.

Time frame: From first infusion of any study drug (Day 1) up to 28 days after last infusion of study drug or the day before surgery (up to Day 196)

Population: Safety population included all participants who had received any dose of study drug.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm A: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel + Pamrevlumab (G/NP+P)Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)TEAEs24 Participants
Arm A: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel + Pamrevlumab (G/NP+P)Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)SAEs9 Participants
Arm B: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel (G/NP)Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)TEAEs12 Participants
Arm B: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel (G/NP)Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)SAEs6 Participants
Secondary

Median Overall Survival

Overall survival was defined as the time from randomization until death from any cause.

Time frame: From randomization until death from any cause, assessed up to 4 years

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants who received any amount of study drugs including pamrevlumab, or gemcitabine, or nab-paclitaxel.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel + Pamrevlumab (G/NP+P)Median Overall Survival19.38 months
Arm B: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel (G/NP)Median Overall Survival23.47 months
Secondary

Median Progression-Free Survival

Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization until objective tumor progression or death. Progression was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions was also considered progression.

Time frame: From randomization until objective tumor progression or death, assessed up to 4 years

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants who received any amount of study drugs including pamrevlumab, or gemcitabine, or nab-paclitaxel.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Arm A: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel + Pamrevlumab (G/NP+P)Median Progression-Free Survival14.11 months
Arm B: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel (G/NP)Median Progression-Free Survival11.63 months
Secondary

Number of Participants in Whom R0 or R1 Resection Was Achieved

R0 or R1 resection was determined by pathological examination of the surgical specimen after resection.

Time frame: After completion of 24 weeks of treatment with study drug

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants who received any amount of study drugs including pamrevlumab, or gemcitabine, or nab-paclitaxel.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm A: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel + Pamrevlumab (G/NP+P)Number of Participants in Whom R0 or R1 Resection Was Achieved8 Participants
Arm B: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel (G/NP)Number of Participants in Whom R0 or R1 Resection Was Achieved1 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants in Whom R0 Resection Was Achieved

R0 resection was determined by pathological examination of the surgical specimen after resection.

Time frame: After completion of 24 weeks of treatment with study drug

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants who received any amount of study drugs including pamrevlumab, or gemcitabine, or nab-paclitaxel.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm A: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel + Pamrevlumab (G/NP+P)Number of Participants in Whom R0 Resection Was Achieved4 Participants
Arm B: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel (G/NP)Number of Participants in Whom R0 Resection Was Achieved1 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants Who Became Eligible for Surgery

Time frame: After completion of 24 weeks of treatment with study drug

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants who received any amount of study drugs including pamrevlumab, or gemcitabine, or nab-paclitaxel.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm A: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel + Pamrevlumab (G/NP+P)Number of Participants Who Became Eligible for Surgery17 Participants
Arm B: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel (G/NP)Number of Participants Who Became Eligible for Surgery2 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST 1.1)

CR was defined as disappearance of all target lesions and any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduced in short axis to \<10 millimeters (mm). PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.

Time frame: From randomization up to Week 52

Population: ITT population included all randomized participants who received any amount of study drugs including pamrevlumab, or gemcitabine, or nab-paclitaxel.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm A: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel + Pamrevlumab (G/NP+P)Number of Participants With Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST 1.1)5 Participants
Arm B: Gemcitabine Plus Nab-paclitaxel (G/NP)Number of Participants With Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST 1.1)3 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 5, 2026