Skip to content

Safety and Efficacy of KPI-121 in Subjects With Postsurgical Inflammation

A Phase III, Double-Masked, Randomized, Controlled Trial of KPI-121 in Postsurgical Inflammation

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02163824
Acronym
Hawaii-1
Enrollment
380
Registered
2014-06-16
Start date
2014-05-31
Completion date
2014-12-31
Last updated
2021-01-29

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Ocular Infections, Irritations and Inflammations

Keywords

postsurgical, postoperative, ocular, cataract, inflammation, pain, corticosteroid

Brief summary

The primary purpose of this study is to determine the efficacy and safety of KPI-121 ophthalmic suspension compared to placebo in subjects who have undergone cataract surgery. The efficacy and safety of two different concentrations and two different dosing regimens of KPI-121 are also being assessed.

Detailed description

This is a Phase III, multicenter, double-masked, randomized, placebo-controlled, parallel-group study designed to evaluate the efficacy and safety of two doses and two dosing regimens of KPI-121 ophthalmic suspension versus placebo in subjects who require treatment of postoperative anterior ocular inflammation. Approximately 500 subjects will be screened and up to 402 subjects with one study eye each will be randomized in this study at approximately 25 centers located in the United States. Subjects who experience postoperative inflammation on the first day following routine, uncomplicated, cataract surgery and who meet all other eligibility criteria will be randomized to one of four study groups (0.25% four times daily or 1.0% two times daily) or Placebo A four times daily or Placebo B two times daily. Drug product or placebo will be initiated on the day following surgery and instilled as one to two drops in the study eye according to the assigned dosing regimen for 14 days. This study will include up to 7 clinic visits (including the surgery day) over 18 to 33 days total study duration. Visit 1 (Screening) will occur between 14 to 1 day(s) prior to surgery, and subjects who meet preoperative screening inclusion/exclusion criteria will be entered into the study. At Visit 2 (Surgery/Day 0) subjects will undergo routine cataract surgery according to the Investigator's normal procedures. Visit 3 (Randomization/Day 1) will occur on the day following surgery. Following randomization, subjects will be instructed to return to the clinic to be evaluated at Visit 4 (Day 3 +2 day), Visit 5 (Day 8 ±1 day), and Visit 6 (Day 15 ±1 day). The last dose of study product will be administered upon completion of 14 days of evaluation. Following the End of Study Product Use Visit (Visit 6; Day 15 ±1 day), subjects will be asked to return to the clinic on Day 17-19 for Visit 7 (Follow-Up) and will be released from the study.

Interventions

DRUGKPI-121 0.25%

KPI-121 drug product will be supplied as 0.25% as a suspension in identically packaged opaque dropper bottles. KPI-121 drug product is a sterile, aqueous, submicron suspension of loteprednol etabonate.

DRUGKPI-121 1.0%

KPI-121 drug product will be supplied as 1.0% as a suspension in identically packaged opaque dropper bottles. KPI-121 drug product is a sterile, aqueous, submicron suspension of loteprednol etabonate.

DRUGVehicle of KPI-121 0.25%

Placebo control arms will receive the same bottles containing vehicle of KPI-121 including all components at the concentrations used in the KPI-121 drug product with the exception of the active component, loteprednol etabonate.

DRUGVehicle of KPI-121 1.0%

Placebo control arms will receive the same bottles containing vehicle of KPI-121 including all components at the concentrations used in the KPI-121 drug product with the exception of the active component, loteprednol etabonate.

Sponsors

Kala Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

FURTHER STUDY DETAILS PROVIDED BY KALA PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. Inclusion Criteria: * Candidates for routine, uncomplicated cataract surgery * In Investigator's opinion, potential postoperative Snellen Distance VA by pinhole method of at least 20/200 in study eye.

Exclusion criteria

* Known hypersensitivity/contraindication to study product(s) or components. * History of glaucoma, IOP \>21 mmHg at the screening or randomization visits, or being treated for glaucoma in either eye. * Diagnosis of: ongoing ocular infection; severe/serious ocular condition that in judgment of Investigator could confound study assessments or limit compliance; severe/serious systemic disease or uncontrolled medical condition that in judgment of Investigator could confound study assessments or limit compliance; or have been exposed to an investigational drug within the 30 days prior to screening or 19 days following surgery. * In the opinion of Investigator or study coordinator, be unwilling or unable to comply with study protocol or unable to successfully instill eye drops.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Resolution of Anterior Chamber CellsVisit 5 (postoperative day 8) and Visit 6 (postoperative day 15)Subjects with complete resolution of anterior chamber cells (cell score = 0) without rescue medication at Day 8/Visit 5 and Day 15/Visit 6. 0= No cells seen 1. 1 to 5 cells 2. 6 to 15 cells 3. 16 to 30 cells 4. greater than 30 cells
Resolution of Ocular PainVisit 5 (postoperative day 8) and Visit 6 (postoperative day 15)Subjects with complete resolution of pain (grade = 0) without rescue medication at Day 8/Visit 5 and Day 15/Visit 6.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Anterior Chamber Cell Grade at Visit 5.Visit 5 (postoperative day 8)Mean Grade of Anterior Chamber Cells (Scale 0-4) at Visit 5/Day 8. The difference in mean grade of AC cell count grade at Day 8 for KPI-121 1% dosed twice daily (BID) or 0.25% dosed four times daily (QID) compared with vehicle (either dosed BID or QID). Investigators were asked to grade AC cell based on the following scale wherein higher scores indicate a higher degree of cells present and a decrease across time indicates the condition is getting better. Anterior Chamber Cells 0 = No cells seen 1. 1 - 5 cells 2. 6 - 15 cells 3. 16 - 30 cells 4 = greater than 30 cells
Anterior Chamber Cell Grade at Visit 6.Visit 6 (postoperative day 15)Mean Grade of Anterior Chamber Cells (Scale 0-4) at Visit 6/Day 15. The difference in mean grade of AC cell count grade at Day 15 for KPI-121 1% dosed twice daily (BID) or 0.25% dosed four times daily (QID) compared with vehicle (either dosed BID or QID). Investigators were asked to grade AC cell based on the following scale wherein higher scores indicate a higher degree of cells present and a decrease across time indicates the condition is getting better. Anterior Chamber Cells 0 = No cells seen 1. 1 - 5 cells 2. 6 - 15 cells 3. 16 - 30 cells 4 = greater than 30 cells
Ocular Pain Grades at Day 8.Visit 5 (postoperative day 8)Mean Grade of Ocular Pain (Scale 0-5) at Visit 5/Day 8. The difference in mean grade of ocular pain grade at Day 8 for KPI-121 1% dosed twice daily (BID) or 0.25% dosed four times daily (QID) compared with vehicle (either dosed BID or QID). Subjects were given the Subject-Rated Ocular Pain Assessment to subjectively rate their pain. Higher scores were worse outcomes. The following scoring scale was used for ocular pain: 0 = None 1. Minimal 2. Mild 3. Moderate 4. Moderately Severe 5. Severe
Ocular Pain Grades at Day 15.Visit 6 (postoperative day 15)Mean Grade of Ocular Pain (Scale 0-5) at Visit 6/Day 15. The difference in mean grade of ocular pain grade at Day 15 for KPI-121 1% dosed twice daily (BID) or 0.25% dosed four times daily (QID) compared with vehicle (either dosed BID or QID). Subjects were given the Subject-Rated Ocular Pain Assessment to subjectively rate their pain. Higher scores were worse outcomes. The following scoring scale was used for ocular pain: 0 = None 1. Minimal 2. Mild 3. Moderate 4. Moderately Severe 5. Severe

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
KPI-121 0.25% QID
KPI-121 0.25% Ophthalmic Suspension dosed 4 times daily for 14 days after routine, uncomplicated surgery for cataract removal and intraocular lens implant. KPI-121 0.25%: KPI-121 drug product will be supplied as 0.25% as a suspension in identically packaged opaque dropper bottles. KPI-121 drug product is a sterile, aqueous, submicron suspension of loteprednol etabonate.
129
KPI-121 1.0% BID
KPI-121 1.0% Ophthalmic Suspension dosed 2 times daily for 14 days after routine, uncomplicated surgery for cataract removal and intraocular lens implant. KPI-121 1.0%: KPI-121 drug product will be supplied as 1.0% as a suspension in identically packaged opaque dropper bottles. KPI-121 drug product is a sterile, aqueous, submicron suspension of loteprednol etabonate.
125
Vehicle of KPI-121
Vehicle of KPI-121 0.25% Ophthalmic Suspension dosed 4 times daily or 1.0% Ophthalmic Suspension dose 2 times daily for 14 days after routine, uncomplicated surgery for cataract removal and intraocular lens implant. Vehicle of KPI-121: Placebo control arms will receive the same bottles containing vehicle of KPI-121 including all components at the concentrations used in the KPI-121 drug product with the exception of the active component, loteprednol etabonate.
126
Total380

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicKPI-121 0.25% QIDTotalVehicle of KPI-121KPI-121 1.0% BID
Age, Continuous68.4 years68.7 years69.8 years67.9 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
8 Participants36 Participants13 Participants15 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
121 Participants344 Participants113 Participants110 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
21 Participants61 Participants21 Participants19 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
7 Participants30 Participants14 Participants9 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
2 Participants5 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants8 Participants2 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
96 Participants274 Participants87 Participants91 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
129 participants380 participants126 participants125 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
73 Participants226 Participants78 Participants75 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
56 Participants154 Participants48 Participants50 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 1290 / 1250 / 126
other
Total, other adverse events
13 / 1296 / 12520 / 126
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 1291 / 1252 / 126

Outcome results

Primary

Resolution of Anterior Chamber Cells

Subjects with complete resolution of anterior chamber cells (cell score = 0) without rescue medication at Day 8/Visit 5 and Day 15/Visit 6. 0= No cells seen 1. 1 to 5 cells 2. 6 to 15 cells 3. 16 to 30 cells 4. greater than 30 cells

Time frame: Visit 5 (postoperative day 8) and Visit 6 (postoperative day 15)

Population: Intent to treat- all subjects randomized

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
KPI-121 0.25% QIDResolution of Anterior Chamber Cells48 Participants
KPI-121 1.0% BIDResolution of Anterior Chamber Cells39 Participants
Vehicle of KPI-121Resolution of Anterior Chamber Cells19 Participants
Comparison: All statistical tests of hypotheses performed for the pairwise comparison of means were two-sided.~All statistical tests employed a level of significance of alpha = 0.05.p-value: 0.002495% CI: [5.9, 26.4]Chi-squared
Comparison: All statistical tests of hypotheses performed for the pairwise comparison of means were two-sided.~All statistical tests employed a level of significance of alpha = 0.05.p-value: <0.000195% CI: [11.7, 32.6]Chi-squared
Primary

Resolution of Ocular Pain

Subjects with complete resolution of pain (grade = 0) without rescue medication at Day 8/Visit 5 and Day 15/Visit 6.

Time frame: Visit 5 (postoperative day 8) and Visit 6 (postoperative day 15)

Population: Intent to Treat- all subjects randomized.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
KPI-121 0.25% QIDResolution of Ocular Pain73 Participants
KPI-121 1.0% BIDResolution of Ocular Pain67 Participants
Vehicle of KPI-121Resolution of Ocular Pain43 Participants
Comparison: All statistical tests of hypotheses performed for the pairwise comparison of means were two-sided.~All statistical tests employed a level of significance of alpha = 0.05.p-value: 0.001995% CI: [7.4, 31.5]Chi-squared
Comparison: All statistical tests of hypotheses performed for the pairwise comparison of means were two-sided.~All statistical tests employed a level of significance of alpha = 0.05.p-value: 0.000395% CI: [10.6, 34.4]Chi-squared
Secondary

Anterior Chamber Cell Grade at Visit 5.

Mean Grade of Anterior Chamber Cells (Scale 0-4) at Visit 5/Day 8. The difference in mean grade of AC cell count grade at Day 8 for KPI-121 1% dosed twice daily (BID) or 0.25% dosed four times daily (QID) compared with vehicle (either dosed BID or QID). Investigators were asked to grade AC cell based on the following scale wherein higher scores indicate a higher degree of cells present and a decrease across time indicates the condition is getting better. Anterior Chamber Cells 0 = No cells seen 1. 1 - 5 cells 2. 6 - 15 cells 3. 16 - 30 cells 4 = greater than 30 cells

Time frame: Visit 5 (postoperative day 8)

Population: Intent to Treat population minus subjects in each treatment group that discontinued the study by this time point or otherwise did not have this assessment completed.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
KPI-121 0.25% QIDAnterior Chamber Cell Grade at Visit 5.0.7 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.73
KPI-121 1.0% BIDAnterior Chamber Cell Grade at Visit 5.0.9 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.74
Vehicle of KPI-121Anterior Chamber Cell Grade at Visit 5.1.0 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.86
p-value: 0.0007ANCOVA
p-value: 0.044ANCOVA
Secondary

Anterior Chamber Cell Grade at Visit 6.

Mean Grade of Anterior Chamber Cells (Scale 0-4) at Visit 6/Day 15. The difference in mean grade of AC cell count grade at Day 15 for KPI-121 1% dosed twice daily (BID) or 0.25% dosed four times daily (QID) compared with vehicle (either dosed BID or QID). Investigators were asked to grade AC cell based on the following scale wherein higher scores indicate a higher degree of cells present and a decrease across time indicates the condition is getting better. Anterior Chamber Cells 0 = No cells seen 1. 1 - 5 cells 2. 6 - 15 cells 3. 16 - 30 cells 4 = greater than 30 cells

Time frame: Visit 6 (postoperative day 15)

Population: Intent to Treat population minus subjects in each treatment group that discontinued the study by this time point or otherwise did not have this assessment completed.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
KPI-121 0.25% QIDAnterior Chamber Cell Grade at Visit 6.0.4 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.65
KPI-121 1.0% BIDAnterior Chamber Cell Grade at Visit 6.0.5 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.69
Vehicle of KPI-121Anterior Chamber Cell Grade at Visit 6.0.6 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.75
p-value: 0.0391ANCOVA
p-value: 0.1811ANCOVA
Secondary

Ocular Pain Grades at Day 15.

Mean Grade of Ocular Pain (Scale 0-5) at Visit 6/Day 15. The difference in mean grade of ocular pain grade at Day 15 for KPI-121 1% dosed twice daily (BID) or 0.25% dosed four times daily (QID) compared with vehicle (either dosed BID or QID). Subjects were given the Subject-Rated Ocular Pain Assessment to subjectively rate their pain. Higher scores were worse outcomes. The following scoring scale was used for ocular pain: 0 = None 1. Minimal 2. Mild 3. Moderate 4. Moderately Severe 5. Severe

Time frame: Visit 6 (postoperative day 15)

Population: Intent to Treat population minus subjects in each treatment group that discontinued the study by this time point or otherwise did not have this assessment completed.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
KPI-121 0.25% QIDOcular Pain Grades at Day 15.0.2 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.5
KPI-121 1.0% BIDOcular Pain Grades at Day 15.0.2 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.51
Vehicle of KPI-121Ocular Pain Grades at Day 15.0.3 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.73
p-value: 0.2589ANCOVA
p-value: 0.2132ANCOVA
Secondary

Ocular Pain Grades at Day 8.

Mean Grade of Ocular Pain (Scale 0-5) at Visit 5/Day 8. The difference in mean grade of ocular pain grade at Day 8 for KPI-121 1% dosed twice daily (BID) or 0.25% dosed four times daily (QID) compared with vehicle (either dosed BID or QID). Subjects were given the Subject-Rated Ocular Pain Assessment to subjectively rate their pain. Higher scores were worse outcomes. The following scoring scale was used for ocular pain: 0 = None 1. Minimal 2. Mild 3. Moderate 4. Moderately Severe 5. Severe

Time frame: Visit 5 (postoperative day 8)

Population: Intent to Treat population minus subjects in each treatment group that discontinued the study by this time point or otherwise did not have this assessment completed.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
KPI-121 0.25% QIDOcular Pain Grades at Day 8.0.4 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.74
KPI-121 1.0% BIDOcular Pain Grades at Day 8.0.4 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.64
Vehicle of KPI-121Ocular Pain Grades at Day 8.0.5 score on a scaleStandard Deviation 0.89
p-value: 0.1953ANCOVA
p-value: 0.0307ANCOVA

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026