Skip to content

A Randomized Study in Children Ages Birth Through Three Years Undergoing Unilateral Cataract Extraction With or Without Lens Replacement

A Randomized, Double-Masked, Parallel-Group, Phenylephrine-Controlled Study of the Effect of OMS302 Added to Standard Irrigation Solution on Intraoperative Pupil Diameter and Acute Postoperative Pain in Children Ages Birth Through Three Years Undergoing Unilateral Cataract Extraction With or Without Lens Replacement

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02132312
Acronym
ILR7
Enrollment
78
Registered
2014-05-07
Start date
2014-07-31
Completion date
2016-09-12
Last updated
2021-07-22

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Congenital Cataract, Unilateral Cataract Extraction

Keywords

Cataract, Lens replacement, pediatric

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the effect of OMS302 compared to phenylephrine when administered in irrigation solution during cataract extraction on intraoperative pupil diameter, acute postoperative pain, and safety in children birth through 3 years.

Detailed description

This study is a randomized, parallel-group, double-masked, phenylephrine-controlled study of OMS302 in young children ages birth through three years undergoing unilateral cataract extraction with or without lens replacement. Administration of test irrigation solutions will take place in a double-masked fashion. Intraoperative pupil size will be determined by measurement of pupil diameter from still photos captured from video recordings of the procedure. Pupil diameter measurements will be performed immediately prior to the initial incision and at one-minute intervals until the end of the procedure (wound closure). Pain will be assessed by the Alder Hey Triage Pain Score.

Interventions

Sponsors

Omeros Corporation
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
1 Days to 47 Months
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Are 0 through three years of age at the time of surgery. 2. Are to undergo unilateral primary cataract extraction with or without lens replacement. 3. Have informed consent and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) Authorization provided by a parent or legal guardian in accordance with local regulations and governing IRB/IEC requirements prior to any procedures or evaluations performed specifically for the sole purpose of this study. 4. A parent or legal guardian has indicated that they understand and are able, willing, and likely to fully comply with study procedures and restrictions.

Exclusion criteria

1. Corneal diameter less than nine millimeters in the study eye. 2. Hypersensitivity to phenylephrine, ketorolac, or other NSAIDs, including aspirin, or latex. 3. Surgeon's expectation that the protocol-specified mydriatic regimen will not be adequate to perform the procedure and that additional mydriatic treatment (pharmacological or mechanical) will be required. 4. Presence of clinically significant gastrointestinal, cardiovascular, hepatic, renal, hematological, endocrine, neurological, psychiatric, respiratory, or other medical condition that could increase the risk to the subject as determined by the Investigator. 5. Presence of active or suspected viral, bacterial, or fungal disease in the study eye. 6. Use of any topical medication in the study eye within seven days prior to surgery, except for medications needed to examine the eye or prepare for surgery. 7. Have a post-traumatic cataract. 8. History of uveitis or evidence of past uveitis such as synechiae or keratic precipitates in the study eye. 9. Have an ocular neoplasm in the study eye. 10. Have a clinically significant infection. 11. Have suspected permanent or low vision in the fellow non-study eye, unless caused by a cataract. The study eye must not be the subject's only good eye. 12. Use of systemic corticosteroids or NSAIDs in the seven days prior to surgery. 13. Have a history of clinically significant corticosteroid-induced intraocular pressure increase. 14. Use of any medication for ocular hypertension or glaucoma in the study eye. 15. Use of monoamine oxidase inhibitors for 21 days preoperatively. 16. Prior participation in a clinical study of OMS302. 17. Participating in any investigational drug or device trial within the 30 days prior to the day of surgery. 18. History of intraocular non-laser surgery in the study eye within the three months prior to the day of surgery, or intraocular laser surgery in the study eye within 30 days prior to the day of surgery. 19. Presence of any condition that the Investigator believes would put the subject at risk or confound the interpretation of the study data. 20. Be a member of the immediate family of the Investigator or employees of the investigative site. Immediate family is defined as the Investigator's or employees' natural or legally adopted child (including a stepchild living in the Investigator's household), or grandchild.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Intraoperative Pupil DiameterFrom surgery baseline (pre-incision) through surgery end (time of cortical clean-up/wound closure), the mean time of surgery duration is 35.46 minutes with a standard deviation of 19.98.Mean Area-under-the-Curve (AUC) Analysis of Change From Baseline in Pupil Diameter (mm/min) During Surgery Excluding Subjects with In-evaluable Videos.
Acute Postoperative Pain24 hoursMean AUC Analysis of Postoperative pain as measured using the Alder Hey Triage Pain Score at 3, 6, 9, and 24 hours after surgery. The primary analysis of Alder Hey Triage Pain Score was similar to the primary analysis of the change in pupil diameter using AUC. The Alder Hey Triage Pain Score identifies five categories of observations: voice/cry, facial expression, posture, movement, and color. Each of these has a possible score of 0, 1, or 2, resulting in a total score ranging between 0 and 10. A total score of zero means the subject experienced no pain, as the 5 categories added up totals zero. A total score of 10 means the subject experienced a lot of pain and is the worst possible outcome, as the 5 categories added up totals 10. Parent responses in a diary with a score of 0, 1, or 2. 1. Cry or voice, 0=no compliant/cry, 1=Consolable, 2=Inconsolable 2. Facial Expression, 0=Normal, 1=Short grimace \<50% of time, 2=Long grimace \>50% of time 3. Posture, 0=Normal, 1=Touching/rub
Safety as Measured by Treatment-emergent Adverse Events, the Number of Affected Patients/at Risk (%) and the Number of Events.90 daysSafety as assessed by the incidence of adverse events and serious adverse events up until the last visit at Day 90.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

78 participants enrolled in the study. 6 participants were consented and randomized but did not receive OMS302 or Phenylephrine HCl. Out of the 72 participants who received OMS302 or Phenylephrine HCl, 3 participants did not complete the study. One participant was randomized to OMS302, but received Phenylephrine HCl. This participant was included in the OMS302 group in baseline analyses and in the Phenylephrine HCl group in safety analyses.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
OMS302
OMS302 diluted in balanced salt solution (BSS) and administered as irrigation solution OMS302
33
Phenylephrine HCl
Phenylephrine diluted in balanced salt solution (BSS) and administered as irrigation solution Phenylephrine HCl
39
Total72

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyAdverse Event20
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up21
Overall StudyPhysician Decision11
Overall StudyProtocol Violation01
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject10

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPhenylephrine HClTotalOMS302
Age, Continuous1.4 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.2
1.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.2
1.0 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
10 Participants10 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
29 Participants62 Participants33 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
3 Participants8 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
6 Participants7 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
30 Participants56 Participants26 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
19 Participants35 Participants16 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
20 Participants37 Participants17 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 320 / 40
other
Total, other adverse events
15 / 3218 / 40
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 320 / 40

Outcome results

Primary

Acute Postoperative Pain

Mean AUC Analysis of Postoperative pain as measured using the Alder Hey Triage Pain Score at 3, 6, 9, and 24 hours after surgery. The primary analysis of Alder Hey Triage Pain Score was similar to the primary analysis of the change in pupil diameter using AUC. The Alder Hey Triage Pain Score identifies five categories of observations: voice/cry, facial expression, posture, movement, and color. Each of these has a possible score of 0, 1, or 2, resulting in a total score ranging between 0 and 10. A total score of zero means the subject experienced no pain, as the 5 categories added up totals zero. A total score of 10 means the subject experienced a lot of pain and is the worst possible outcome, as the 5 categories added up totals 10. Parent responses in a diary with a score of 0, 1, or 2. 1. Cry or voice, 0=no compliant/cry, 1=Consolable, 2=Inconsolable 2. Facial Expression, 0=Normal, 1=Short grimace \<50% of time, 2=Long grimace \>50% of time 3. Posture, 0=Normal, 1=Touching/rub

Time frame: 24 hours

Population: There were 71 participants with evaluable postoperative pain scores.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
OMS302Acute Postoperative Pain0.44 score*hoursStandard Deviation 0.742
Phenylephrine HClAcute Postoperative Pain0.65 score*hoursStandard Deviation 0.943
Primary

Intraoperative Pupil Diameter

Mean Area-under-the-Curve (AUC) Analysis of Change From Baseline in Pupil Diameter (mm/min) During Surgery Excluding Subjects with In-evaluable Videos.

Time frame: From surgery baseline (pre-incision) through surgery end (time of cortical clean-up/wound closure), the mean time of surgery duration is 35.46 minutes with a standard deviation of 19.98.

Population: There were 61 evaluable videos, one for each subject.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
OMS302Intraoperative Pupil Diameter0.14 millimeters*minutesStandard Deviation 0.474
Phenylephrine HClIntraoperative Pupil Diameter0.20 millimeters*minutesStandard Deviation 0.6
Primary

Safety as Measured by Treatment-emergent Adverse Events, the Number of Affected Patients/at Risk (%) and the Number of Events.

Safety as assessed by the incidence of adverse events and serious adverse events up until the last visit at Day 90.

Time frame: 90 days

Population: 78 participants enrolled in the study. 6 participants were consented and randomized but did not receive OMS302 or Phenylephrine HCl. Safety analyses were based on the safety population. Out of the 72 participants, one participant was randomized to OMS302 but received Phenylephrine HCl. This participant was included in the Phenylephrine HCl group for safety analyses.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
OMS302Safety as Measured by Treatment-emergent Adverse Events, the Number of Affected Patients/at Risk (%) and the Number of Events.15 Participants
Phenylephrine HClSafety as Measured by Treatment-emergent Adverse Events, the Number of Affected Patients/at Risk (%) and the Number of Events.18 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026