Skip to content

RTA 408 Ophthalmic Suspension for the Treatment of Ocular Inflammation and Pain Following Ocular Surgery

A Multicenter, Randomized, Dose-Ranging, Double-Masked, Placebo-Controlled Phase 2 Study Evaluating the Safety and Efficacy of RTA 408 Ophthalmic Suspension for the Treatment of Ocular Inflammation and Pain Following Ocular Surgery

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02065375
Enrollment
109
Registered
2014-02-19
Start date
2014-02-28
Completion date
2014-09-30
Last updated
2025-06-03

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Inflammation and Pain Following Ocular Surgery

Keywords

RTA 408, Ocular surgery, Cataract surgery, Ocular inflammation, Ocular pain, Eye inflammation, omaveloxolone

Brief summary

This study assesses the efficacy and safety of two concentrations of RTA 408 Ophthalmic Suspension in the treatment of patients who have inflammation and pain following ocular surgery.

Detailed description

Following ophthalmic surgery, the current standard of care includes a topical ophthalmic corticosteroid or other anti-inflammatory agent to treat ocular inflammation and improve patient comfort. If left untreated, inflammation of the eye may result in further ocular complications including scarring, vision loss, or blindness. Although the exact dosing regimen is physician-dependent, patients are typically prescribed a topical corticosteroid for a period of 2-4 weeks following surgery, being tapered over the course of delivery as the inflammation subsides. Topical anti-inflammatory agents are usually administered multiple times per day, particularly in the early period following ophthalmic surgery. Continuing efforts in drug development aim to identify alternatives to ophthalmic corticosteroid use, due to their well-known local and systemic negative side effects.

Interventions

DRUGOmaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 1.0%
DRUGOmaveloxolone Opthalmic Suspension 0.5%
DRUGPlacebo

Sponsors

AbbVie
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Biogen
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Be greater than or equal to 18 years of age of either sex or any race; 2. Have undergone unilateral cataract extraction via phacoemulsification on the day prior to study enrollment/randomization; 3. Have a grade of ≥2 in anterior chamber cell score on day after surgery (Day 1); 4. Have a potential post-operative pin-hole visual acuity (VA) of greater than 1.0 logarithm of the minimum angle of resolution (logMAR) in the operative eye and fellow eye as measured using an Early Treatment for Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) chart;

Exclusion criteria

1. Have any intraocular inflammation present in the study eye during the screening slit lamp examination; 2. Have a score greater than 0 on the Ocular Pain Assessment at Screening in the study eye; 3. Have an immunosuppressive disease or an autoimmune disease that in the opinion of the Investigator could affect the quality of the ocular surface; 4. Have active or chronic/recurrent ocular or systemic disease that is uncontrolled and will likely affect wound healing; 5. Have an intraocular pressure (IOP) ≤ 5 mmHg in either eye; 6. Require the use of a contact lens or a collagen shield within 72 hours of investigational drug treatment or during the study period in the study eye; be unwilling to discontinue use of contact lenses during study period in the study eye; 7. Require use of non-diagnostic topical ophthalmic solutions (other than perioperative mydriatics, anesthetics and antiseptics, prophylactic antibiotics, lid scrubs for mild blepharitis, or artificial tears for the management of dry eye) in the study eye for the duration of the study;

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Absence of Anterior Chamber Cells at Day 15 (Visit 5)15 days after the participant receives the first doseCount of participants who had absence of anterior chamber cells at Day 15. White blood cells were counted. In a healthy eye, the anterior chamber should not have any blood cells present. Yes indicates an absence of anterior chamber cells. Data for visits after a patient was discontinued for lack of efficacy were imputed as failures and missing data were imputed using last observation carried forward.
Absence of Ocular Pain at Day 4 (Visit 3)4 days after the participant receives the first doseParticipants were asked to report their pain on Day 4 using the Numerical Pain Rating Scale (NPRS) for patients receiving active drug compared to patients receiving placebo. The NPRS is an 11-point numeric scale, which ranges from 0 representing no pain to 10 representing the worst pain imaginable. Lower scores indicate less pain. Participants reporting '0' were recorded as Yes while patients reporting any other pain score were recorded as No. Data for visits after a patient was discontinued for lack of efficacy were imputed as failures and missing data were imputed using last observation carried forward.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 1.0%
Patients received a single drop of Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic suspension 1.0% instilled into the study eye twice daily (approximately 12 hours apart) for 14 days, beginning 24 ± 6 hours after surgery Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 1.0%
37
Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 0.5%
Patients received a single drop of Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic suspension 0.5% instilled into the study eye twice daily (approximately 12 hours apart) for 14 days, beginning 24 ± 6 hours after surgery Omaveloxolone Opthalmic Suspension 0.5%
33
Placebo
Patients received a single drop of vehicle for Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic suspension instilled into the study eye twice daily (approximately 12 hours apart) for 14 days, beginning 24 ± 6 hours after surgery Placebo
39
Total109

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicOmaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 1.0%TotalPlaceboOmaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 0.5%
Age, Continuous67.9 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.7
68.3 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.42
68.9 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.47
68.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.31
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
6 Participants13 Participants2 Participants5 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
30 Participants95 Participants37 Participants28 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
3 Participants7 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
6 Participants15 Participants3 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
27 Participants85 Participants34 Participants24 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
37 participants109 participants39 participants33 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
23 Participants61 Participants20 Participants18 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
14 Participants48 Participants19 Participants15 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
EG005
affected / at risk
EG006
affected / at risk
EG007
affected / at risk
EG008
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 370 / 370 / 330 / 330 / 390 / 390 / 370 / 330 / 39
other
Total, other adverse events
18 / 370 / 3715 / 332 / 3313 / 391 / 392 / 372 / 331 / 39
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 370 / 370 / 330 / 330 / 390 / 390 / 370 / 330 / 39

Outcome results

Primary

Absence of Anterior Chamber Cells at Day 15 (Visit 5)

Count of participants who had absence of anterior chamber cells at Day 15. White blood cells were counted. In a healthy eye, the anterior chamber should not have any blood cells present. Yes indicates an absence of anterior chamber cells. Data for visits after a patient was discontinued for lack of efficacy were imputed as failures and missing data were imputed using last observation carried forward.

Time frame: 15 days after the participant receives the first dose

Population: Intent-to-treat population (all randomized patients with available data). Data for visits after a patient was discontinued for lack of efficacy were imputed as failures and missing data were imputed using last observation carried forward.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 1.0%Absence of Anterior Chamber Cells at Day 15 (Visit 5)Yes10 Participants
Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 1.0%Absence of Anterior Chamber Cells at Day 15 (Visit 5)No27 Participants
Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 0.5%Absence of Anterior Chamber Cells at Day 15 (Visit 5)Yes12 Participants
Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 0.5%Absence of Anterior Chamber Cells at Day 15 (Visit 5)No21 Participants
PlaceboAbsence of Anterior Chamber Cells at Day 15 (Visit 5)Yes11 Participants
PlaceboAbsence of Anterior Chamber Cells at Day 15 (Visit 5)No28 Participants
p-value: 0.454395% CI: [-21.3, 18.9]Chi-squared
p-value: 0.229795% CI: [-13.5, 29.8]Chi-squared
Primary

Absence of Ocular Pain at Day 4 (Visit 3)

Participants were asked to report their pain on Day 4 using the Numerical Pain Rating Scale (NPRS) for patients receiving active drug compared to patients receiving placebo. The NPRS is an 11-point numeric scale, which ranges from 0 representing no pain to 10 representing the worst pain imaginable. Lower scores indicate less pain. Participants reporting '0' were recorded as Yes while patients reporting any other pain score were recorded as No. Data for visits after a patient was discontinued for lack of efficacy were imputed as failures and missing data were imputed using last observation carried forward.

Time frame: 4 days after the participant receives the first dose

Population: Intent-to-treat population (all randomized patients with available data).

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 1.0%Absence of Ocular Pain at Day 4 (Visit 3)Yes11 Participants
Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 1.0%Absence of Ocular Pain at Day 4 (Visit 3)No26 Participants
Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 0.5%Absence of Ocular Pain at Day 4 (Visit 3)Yes9 Participants
Omaveloxolone Ophthalmic Suspension 0.5%Absence of Ocular Pain at Day 4 (Visit 3)No24 Participants
PlaceboAbsence of Ocular Pain at Day 4 (Visit 3)Yes20 Participants
PlaceboAbsence of Ocular Pain at Day 4 (Visit 3)No19 Participants
p-value: 0.02895% CI: [-43.1, 0]Chi-squared
p-value: 0.019295% CI: [-45.8, -2.2]Chi-squared

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026