Skip to content

Reduced-dosed Rivaroxaban in the Long-term Prevention of Recurrent Symptomatic VTE(Venous Thromboembolism)

Reduced-dosed Rivaroxaban and Standard-dosed Rivaroxaban Versus ASA in the Long-term Prevention of Recurrent Symptomatic Venous Thromboembolism in Patients With Symptomatic Deep-vein Thrombosis and/or Pulmonary Embolism

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02064439
Acronym
EinsteinChoice
Enrollment
3365
Registered
2014-02-17
Start date
2014-03-05
Completion date
2016-11-04
Last updated
2017-12-19

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Pulmonary Embolism, Thromboembolism, Thrombosis, Venous Thromboembolism, Venous Thrombosis

Keywords

deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolism, long-term prevention of recurrent symptomatic VTE

Brief summary

This is a multicenter, randomized, double-blind, event-driven, superiority study for efficacy. Patients with confirmed symptomatic DVT (Deep Vein Thrombosis) or PE (Pulmonary embolism) who completed 6 or 12 months of treatment of anticoagulation are eligible for this trial

Interventions

DRUGBAY 59-7939

10 mg tablet once daily for 12 months

DRUGASA

100 mg tablet once daily for 12 months

Sponsors

Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Bayer
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
PREVENTION
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patients with confirmed symptomatic PE and/or DVT who have been treated for 6 to 12 months and did not interrupt anticoagulation for longer than 1 week

Exclusion criteria

* Legal lower age limitations (country specific) Indication for therapeutic-dosed anticoagulants Indication for antiplatelet therapy or a conventional non-steroid anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID) Hepatic disease which is associated with coagulopathy leading to a clinically relevant bleeding risk Calculated creatinine clearance \< 30 mL/min

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismUp to 12 months, at least 6 monthsThe primary efficacy outcomes (i.e., recurrent venous thromboembolism \[VTE\] defined as composite of fatal or non-fatal symptomatic recurrent VTE, including unexplained death for which pulmonary embolism \[PE\] could not be ruled out) as confirmed by the central independent adjudication committee (CIAC) were considered up to the end of the individual intended duration of treatment. Incidence of the composite of the primary and secondary efficacy outcome and its components are based on the first occurrence to participant.
Number of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingUp to 12 months, at least 6 monthsThe principal safety outcome was major bleeding which was defined according to the criteria of the International Society on Thrombosis and Hemostasis (ISTH) as clinically overt bleeding and associated with a fall in hemoglobin of 2 gram per deciliter (g/dL) or more, or leading to a transfusion of 2 or more units of packed red blood cells or whole blood, or occurring in a critical site, e.g. intracranial, intraspinal, intraocular, pericardial, intra articular, intramuscular with compartment syndrome, retroperitoneal, or contributing to death. Incidence of the composite of the primary and secondary efficacy outcome and its components are based on the first occurrence to participant.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismUp to 12 months, at least 6 monthsThe secondary efficacy outcome is the composite of the primary efficacy outcome, myocardial infarction (MI), ischemic stroke or non-central nervous system (CNS) systemic embolism. Incidence of the composite of the primary and secondary efficacy outcome and its components are based on the first occurrence to participant.
Number of Participants With Non-major Bleeding Associated With Study Drug Interruption for > 14 DaysUp to 12 months, at least 6 monthsThe secondary safety outcome was clinically relevant non-major (CRNM) bleeding, which was adjudicated by the CIAC using the ASA criteria: the bleeding was non-major and the bleeding was associated with a study medication interruption of more than 14 days.

Countries

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Czechia, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Russia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey (Türkiye), United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Participant flow

Recruitment details

In total 3439 participants were screened at 244 sites in 31 countries from 05-Mar-2014 (First Patient First Visit) to 15-Mar-2016 (Last Patient First Visit).

Pre-assignment details

Of the 3439 participants screened 43 did not complete screening. Thus, 3396 participants were randomly assigned to treatment, 31 of the randomized participants never received study medication because either withdrew consent or were withdrawn from the study based on protocol violations.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, OD
Participants were randomized, stratified by country and by index event, to receive rivaroxaban 10 mg tablet or matching placebo once daily (OD) with food for 12, or 9 to less than 12, or 6 months depending on the date of randomization. Treatment of all participants stopped 6 months after the last participant was randomized.
1,127
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, OD
Participants were randomized, stratified by country and by index event, to receive rivaroxaban 20 mg tablet or matching placebo OD with food for 12, or 9 to less than 12, or 6 months depending on the date of randomization. Treatment of all participants stopped 6 months after the last participant was randomized.
1,107
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, OD
Participants were randomized, stratified by country and by index event, to receive ASA 100 mg tablet or matching placebo OD with food for 12, or 9 to less than 12, or 6 months depending on the date of randomization. Treatment of all participants stopped 6 months after the last participant was randomized.
1,131
Total3,365

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyAdverse Event514746
Overall StudyDeath023
Overall StudyEfficacy outcome reached181657
Overall StudyLogistical difficulties652
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up134
Overall StudyNon-compliance with study medication211923
Overall StudyOther227
Overall StudyPhysician Decision011
Overall StudyProtocol Violation353
Overall StudySafety outcome reached122010
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject291826

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicRivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODRivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODAcetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODTotal
Age, Continuous58.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.7
57.9 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.7
58.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.7
58.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.7
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
31 Participants31 Participants30 Participants92 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
892 Participants899 Participants889 Participants2680 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
204 Participants177 Participants212 Participants593 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
2 Participants0 Participants2 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
161 Participants159 Participants159 Participants479 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
41 Participants49 Participants36 Participants126 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants0 Participants5 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
135 Participants126 Participants141 Participants402 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
786 Participants772 Participants786 Participants2344 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
507 Participants505 Participants488 Participants1500 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
620 Participants602 Participants643 Participants1865 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
40 / 1,12735 / 1,10738 / 1,131
serious
Total, serious adverse events
78 / 1,12782 / 1,10779 / 1,131

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major Bleeding

The principal safety outcome was major bleeding which was defined according to the criteria of the International Society on Thrombosis and Hemostasis (ISTH) as clinically overt bleeding and associated with a fall in hemoglobin of 2 gram per deciliter (g/dL) or more, or leading to a transfusion of 2 or more units of packed red blood cells or whole blood, or occurring in a critical site, e.g. intracranial, intraspinal, intraocular, pericardial, intra articular, intramuscular with compartment syndrome, retroperitoneal, or contributing to death. Incidence of the composite of the primary and secondary efficacy outcome and its components are based on the first occurrence to participant.

Time frame: Up to 12 months, at least 6 months

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingAny major bleeding5 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingFatal bleeding0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingNon-fatal critical organ bleed2 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingNon-fatal non-critical organ bleeding3 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingNon-fatal non-critical organ bleeding1 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingAny major bleeding6 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingNon-fatal critical organ bleed4 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingFatal bleeding1 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingNon-fatal non-critical organ bleeding1 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingFatal bleeding1 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingNon-fatal critical organ bleed1 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With First Treatment-emergent Major BleedingAny major bleeding3 participants
Comparison: Statistical analysis was performed on the first occurrence of the composite outcome.p-value: 0.323595% CI: [0.5, 8.04]Wald test
Comparison: Statistical analysis was performed on the first occurrence of the composite outcome.p-value: 0.500595% CI: [0.39, 6.84]Wald test
Comparison: Statistical analysis was performed on the first occurrence of the composite outcome.p-value: 0.733795% CI: [0.37, 4.03]Wald test
Primary

Number of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous Thromboembolism

The primary efficacy outcomes (i.e., recurrent venous thromboembolism \[VTE\] defined as composite of fatal or non-fatal symptomatic recurrent VTE, including unexplained death for which pulmonary embolism \[PE\] could not be ruled out) as confirmed by the central independent adjudication committee (CIAC) were considered up to the end of the individual intended duration of treatment. Incidence of the composite of the primary and secondary efficacy outcome and its components are based on the first occurrence to participant.

Time frame: Up to 12 months, at least 6 months

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismDeath (PE)0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismSymptomatic recurrent PE5 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismComposite13 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismSymptomatic recurrent Deep vein thrombosis (DVT)8 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismDeath (unexplained and PE cannot be ruled out)0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismSymptomatic recurrent PE6 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismComposite17 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismSymptomatic recurrent Deep vein thrombosis (DVT)9 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismDeath (PE)0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismDeath (unexplained and PE cannot be ruled out)2 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismDeath (unexplained and PE cannot be ruled out)1 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismDeath (PE)1 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismComposite50 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismSymptomatic recurrent PE19 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of Fatal or Non-fatal Symptomatic Recurrent Venous ThromboembolismSymptomatic recurrent Deep vein thrombosis (DVT)29 participants
Comparison: Statistical analysis was performed on the first occurrence of the composite outcome.p-value: 0.000195% CI: [0.2, 0.59]Wald test
Comparison: Statistical analysis was performed on the first occurrence of the composite outcome.p-value: <0.000198% CI: [0.14, 0.47]Wald test
Comparison: Statistical analysis was performed on the first occurrence of the composite outcome.p-value: 0.432895% CI: [0.65, 2.75]Wald test
Secondary

Number of Participants With Non-major Bleeding Associated With Study Drug Interruption for > 14 Days

The secondary safety outcome was clinically relevant non-major (CRNM) bleeding, which was adjudicated by the CIAC using the ASA criteria: the bleeding was non-major and the bleeding was associated with a study medication interruption of more than 14 days.

Time frame: Up to 12 months, at least 6 months

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With Non-major Bleeding Associated With Study Drug Interruption for > 14 Days12 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With Non-major Bleeding Associated With Study Drug Interruption for > 14 Days17 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With Non-major Bleeding Associated With Study Drug Interruption for > 14 Days12 participants
p-value: 0.331895% CI: [0.69, 3.02]Wald test
p-value: 0.972695% CI: [0.44, 2.2]Wald test
p-value: 0.313795% CI: [0.7, 3.06]Wald test
Secondary

Number of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS Embolism

The secondary efficacy outcome is the composite of the primary efficacy outcome, myocardial infarction (MI), ischemic stroke or non-central nervous system (CNS) systemic embolism. Incidence of the composite of the primary and secondary efficacy outcome and its components are based on the first occurrence to participant.

Time frame: Up to 12 months, at least 6 months

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismComposite18 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismIschemic stroke4 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismNon-CNS systemic embolism1 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismMyocardial infarction0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismSymptomatic recurrent DVT8 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismSymptomatic recurrent PE5 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismDeath (PE)0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismDeath (unexplained and PE cannot be ruled out)0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismDeath (cardiovascular: myocardial infarction)0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 10 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismDeath (cardiovascular: ischemic stroke)0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismDeath (cardiovascular: myocardial infarction)0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismComposite19 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismSymptomatic recurrent PE6 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismSymptomatic recurrent DVT9 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismIschemic stroke2 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismDeath (cardiovascular: ischemic stroke)0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismDeath (unexplained and PE cannot be ruled out)1 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismNon-CNS systemic embolism0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismDeath (PE)0 participants
Rivaroxaban (Xarelto, BAY59-7939) 20 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismMyocardial infarction1 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismDeath (unexplained and PE cannot be ruled out)1 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismMyocardial infarction4 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismSymptomatic recurrent DVT29 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismSymptomatic recurrent PE18 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismDeath (cardiovascular: myocardial infarction)0 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismDeath (PE)1 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismComposite56 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismDeath (cardiovascular: ischemic stroke)0 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismIschemic stroke2 participants
Acetylsalicylic (ASA) 100 mg, ODNumber of Participants With the Composite of the Primary Efficacy Outcome, Myocardial Infarction, Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Non-CNS EmbolismNon-CNS systemic embolism1 participants
Comparison: Statistical analysis was performed on the first occurrence of the composite outcome.p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.2, 0.57]Wald test
Comparison: Statistical analysis was performed on the first occurrence of the composite outcome.p-value: <0.000195% CI: [0.19, 0.54]Wald test
Comparison: Statistical analysis was performed on the first occurrence of the composite outcome.p-value: 0.817295% CI: [0.57, 2.06]Wald test

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 5, 2026