Skip to content

Sorafenib Tosylate, Combination Chemotherapy, Radiation Therapy, and Surgery in Treating Patients With High-Risk Stage IIB-IV Soft Tissue Sarcoma

A Phase II Study of Sorafenib With Chemotherapy, Radiation, and Surgery for High-Risk Soft Tissue Sarcomas

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02050919
Enrollment
20
Registered
2014-01-31
Start date
2013-12-03
Completion date
2020-12-31
Last updated
2022-03-21

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Pleomorphic Rhabdomyosarcoma, Stage IIB Adult Soft Tissue Sarcoma AJCC v7, Stage III Adult Soft Tissue Sarcoma AJCC v7, Stage IV Adult Soft Tissue Sarcoma AJCC v7

Brief summary

This phase II trial studies how well sorafenib tosylate, combination chemotherapy, radiation therapy, and surgery work in treating patients with high-risk stage IIB-IV soft tissue sarcoma. Sorafenib tosylate may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as epirubicin hydrochloride and ifosfamide, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Radiation therapy uses high energy x rays to kill tumor cells. Giving sorafenib tosylate, combination chemotherapy, radiation therapy, and surgery may be an effective treatment for soft tissue sarcoma.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To determine the pathologic response rate (\>= 95% necrosis) after preoperative treatment with sorafenib (sorafenib tosylate), epirubicin (epirubicin hydrochloride), ifosfamide, and hypofractionated radiation for high risk soft tissue sarcomas of the extremities or body wall. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To further characterize the safety of sorafenib plus chemoradiotherapy, including wound complication rate. II. To estimate time-to-event rates, including overall survival, overall disease-free survival, distant disease-free survival, and local disease-free survival in patients with high risk soft tissue sarcomas of the extremities or body wall treated with preoperative sorafenib plus chemoradiotherapy and postoperative sorafenib plus chemotherapy. OUTLINE: Patients receive sorafenib tosylate orally (PO) once daily (QD) on days 1-71 and 85-155, epirubicin hydrochloride intravenously (IV) over 3-5 minutes, and ifosfamide IV over 90 minutes on days 15-17, 36-38 (ifosfamide only), 57-59, 99-101, 120-122, and 141-143. Patients undergo external beam radiation therapy (EBRT) on days 36-45 and surgical resection on day 78. Patients with positive margins, undergo EBRT boost on days 91-98. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 4 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 1 year, and then yearly for 2 years.

Interventions

DRUGEpirubicin Hydrochloride

Given IV

RADIATIONExternal Beam Radiation Therapy

Undergo EBRT

DRUGIfosfamide

Given IV

OTHERLaboratory Biomarker Analysis

Correlative studies

DRUGSorafenib Tosylate

Given PO

PROCEDURETherapeutic Conventional Surgery

Undergo surgical resection

Sponsors

Bayer
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Oregon Health and Science University
CollaboratorOTHER
OHSU Knight Cancer Institute
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Histologically confirmed, soft-tissue sarcoma: excluding rhabdomyosarcoma (pleomorphic rhabdomyosarcoma patients are eligible), Ewing's, primitive neuroectodermal tumor (PNET), osteosarcoma, or gastrointestinal stromal tumor * American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) (7th edition) stage IIb, III, or IV patients planned for resection of the primary tumor * \> 5 cm in greatest dimension * Intermediate or high-grade * Superficial or deep * Sarcoma located on upper (includes shoulder) or lower (includes hip) extremities or on body wall * Intermediate or high-grade: grades 2 or 3 on scale of 1-3 * Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) \>= 50% * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>= 1500/uL * Hemoglobin (Hgb) \>= 9.0 g/dL * Platelets \>= 100,000/uL * Creatinine =\< 1.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN) * Bilirubin =\< 1.5 mg/dL * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST)/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) =\< 1.5 x ULN * International normalized ratio (INR) \< 1.5 or a prothrombin time (PT)/partial thromboplastin time (PTT) within normal limits; patients receiving anti-coagulation treatment with an agent such as warfarin or heparin may be allowed to participate; for patients on warfarin, the INR should be measured prior to initiation of sorafenib and monitored at least weekly, or as defined by the local standard of care, until INR is stable * No prior chemotherapy, radiation, or biotherapy * No major surgery within 4 weeks prior to study entry * No contraindications to limb-sparing surgery; patient should be evaluated by a surgeon who specializes in sarcoma resections prior to study enrollment to ensure patient (pt) is a candidate for limb-sparing surgery * No severe peripheral vascular disease * Adequate contraception must be used and patients must not be pregnant or breastfeeding; women of childbearing potential and men must agree to use adequate contraception (barrier method of birth control) prior to study entry and for the duration of study participation; men and women should use adequate birth control for at least thirty days after the last administration of sorafenib * Women of childbearing potential must have negative serum pregnancy test performed within 7-days prior to registration * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status (PS) 0-1 * Patient must sign a study-specific consent form prior to registration * Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent; a signed informed consent must be obtained prior to any study specific procedures

Exclusion criteria

* Patients with known brain metastases; patients with neurological symptoms must undergo a computed tomography (CT) scan/magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of the brain to exclude brain metastases * Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active serious infection \> Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) grade 2, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac ventricular arrhythmia requiring anti-arrhythmic therapy, or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements; patients must not have unstable angina (angina symptoms at rest) or new onset angina (began within the last 3 months) or myocardial infarction within the past 6 months * Uncontrolled hypertension defined as systolic blood pressure \> 150 mmHg or diastolic pressure \> 90 mmHg, despite optimal medical management * Known human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection or chronic hepatitis B or C * Thrombolic or embolic events such as a cerebrovascular accident including transient ischemic attacks within the past 6 months * Pulmonary hemorrhage/bleeding event \>= CTCAE grade 2 within 4 weeks of first dose of study drug * Any other hemorrhage/bleeding event \>= CTCAE grade 3 within 4 weeks of first dose of study drug * Serious non-healing wound, ulcer, or bone fracture * Evidence or history of bleeding diathesis or coagulopathy * Major surgery or significant traumatic injury within 4 weeks of first study drug * Use of strong cytochrome P450, family 3, subfamily A, polypeptide 4 (CYP3A4) inducers * Known or suspected allergy to sorafenib or any agent given in the course of this trial * Any condition that impairs patient's ability to swallow whole pills * Any malabsorption problem * Pregnant or lactating women are excluded from this study * Patients with a currently active second malignancy other than non-melanoma skin cancers are not to be registered; patients are not considered to have a currently active malignancy if they have completed therapy and considered by their physician to be at less than 30% risk of relapse * Any uncontrolled thyroid disease * Requirement for hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Pathologic Response Rate, Defined as the Percentage of Participants With Greater Than or Equal to 95% Necrosis.Assessed at surgical resectionDescriptive statistical analysis will be conducted. The proportion with 95% confidence interval will be summarized.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Wound ComplicationsAt least 120 daysWound complication rate, including 1) any secondary operation for wound repair, or 2) wound management without secondary operation including invasive procedures without general or regional anesthesia, readmission for wound care, or persistent deep packing for 120 days or longer.
Overall Survival at 2 YearsTime from registration until death from any causePercentage of patients alive at 2 years, Method of Kaplan-Meier used.
Number of Grade 3-4 Adverse EventsUp to 5 yearsMeasured as the number of Grade 3-4 Adverse Events, graded according to National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI CTCAE) version 4.0
Distant Disease-free Survival (Stage IIB-III Patients)Time from registration until development of distant metastatic disease or death, whichever occurs first, assessed up to 2 yearsTime from registration to development of distant metastatic disease or death, subjects with stage IV disease excluded. Method of Kaplan-Meier used.
Number of Participants With Local RecurrenceTime from surgical resection until primary analysis ( Median follow-up for local recurrence 17.11 months, range 6.18 - 42.8 months)Number of patients with local recurrence after surgical resection of the primary tumor
Overall Disease-free Survival (Stage IIB-III Patients)Time from surgical resection to local recurrence, distant metastatic disease, or death, whichever occurs first, assessed up to 2 yearsTime from surgical resection to local recurrence, distant metastatic disease or death, subjects with stage IV disease excluded. Method of Kaplan-Meier \\used.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Treatment (Sorafenib, Chemotherapy, Radiation, Surgery)
Patients receive sorafenib tosylate PO QD on days 1-71 and 85-155, epirubicin hydrochloride IV over 3-5 minutes, and ifosfamide IV over 90 minutes on days 15-17, 36-38 (ifosfamide only), 57-59, 99-101, 120-122, and 141-143. Patients undergo EBRT on days 36-45 and surgical resection on day 78. Patients with positive margins, undergo EBRT boost on days 91-98. Epirubicin Hydrochloride: Given IV External Beam Radiation Therapy: Undergo EBRT Ifosfamide: Given IV Laboratory Biomarker Analysis: Correlative studies Sorafenib Tosylate: Given PO Therapeutic Conventional Surgery: Undergo surgical resection
20
Total20

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTreatment (Sorafenib, Chemotherapy, Radiation, Surgery)
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
3 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
17 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
18 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
18 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
20 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
11 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
9 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
5 / 20
other
Total, other adverse events
20 / 20
serious
Total, serious adverse events
18 / 20

Outcome results

Primary

Pathologic Response Rate, Defined as the Percentage of Participants With Greater Than or Equal to 95% Necrosis.

Descriptive statistical analysis will be conducted. The proportion with 95% confidence interval will be summarized.

Time frame: Assessed at surgical resection

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Sorafenib, Chemotherapy, Radiation, Surgery)Pathologic Response Rate, Defined as the Percentage of Participants With Greater Than or Equal to 95% Necrosis.20 % of participants
Secondary

Distant Disease-free Survival (Stage IIB-III Patients)

Time from registration to development of distant metastatic disease or death, subjects with stage IV disease excluded. Method of Kaplan-Meier used.

Time frame: Time from registration until development of distant metastatic disease or death, whichever occurs first, assessed up to 2 years

Population: Four patients were metastatic at baseline, and thus excluded from the distant disease-free survival evaluation.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Treatment (Sorafenib, Chemotherapy, Radiation, Surgery)Distant Disease-free Survival (Stage IIB-III Patients)16.4 Months
Secondary

Number of Grade 3-4 Adverse Events

Measured as the number of Grade 3-4 Adverse Events, graded according to National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI CTCAE) version 4.0

Time frame: Up to 5 years

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Sorafenib, Chemotherapy, Radiation, Surgery)Number of Grade 3-4 Adverse Events86 Grade 3-4 Adverse Events
Secondary

Number of Participants With Local Recurrence

Number of patients with local recurrence after surgical resection of the primary tumor

Time frame: Time from surgical resection until primary analysis ( Median follow-up for local recurrence 17.11 months, range 6.18 - 42.8 months)

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (Sorafenib, Chemotherapy, Radiation, Surgery)Number of Participants With Local Recurrence0 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With Wound Complications

Wound complication rate, including 1) any secondary operation for wound repair, or 2) wound management without secondary operation including invasive procedures without general or regional anesthesia, readmission for wound care, or persistent deep packing for 120 days or longer.

Time frame: At least 120 days

Population: Patients who had surgery.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (Sorafenib, Chemotherapy, Radiation, Surgery)Number of Participants With Wound Complications10 Participants
Secondary

Overall Disease-free Survival (Stage IIB-III Patients)

Time from surgical resection to local recurrence, distant metastatic disease or death, subjects with stage IV disease excluded. Method of Kaplan-Meier \\used.

Time frame: Time from surgical resection to local recurrence, distant metastatic disease, or death, whichever occurs first, assessed up to 2 years

Population: 15 of the 20 patients enrolled on the trial were evaluable for DFS. Four patients were metastatic at baseline, and 1 developed metastatic disease during preoperative treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Treatment (Sorafenib, Chemotherapy, Radiation, Surgery)Overall Disease-free Survival (Stage IIB-III Patients)13.3 Months
Secondary

Overall Survival at 2 Years

Percentage of patients alive at 2 years, Method of Kaplan-Meier used.

Time frame: Time from registration until death from any cause

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Sorafenib, Chemotherapy, Radiation, Surgery)Overall Survival at 2 Years82 percentage of patients

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 23, 2026