Skip to content

Safety and Efficacy of Preoperative Antithrombin Supplementation in Patients Undergoing High-Risk Cardiopulmonary Bypass

A Prospective, Multicenter, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study to Evaluate the Safety and Efficacy of Preoperative Antithrombin Supplementation in Patients Undergoing High-Risk Cardiac Surgery With Cardiopulmonary Bypass

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT02037555
Enrollment
425
Registered
2014-01-16
Start date
2014-06-26
Completion date
2018-01-25
Last updated
2019-03-15

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Cardiac Surgery, Cardiopulmonary Bypass

Keywords

Antithrombin, Cardiopulmonary bypass

Brief summary

This is a prospective, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. The purpose of this study is to determine the safety and effectiveness of human-derived antithrombin III (AT-III \[Human\]) supplementation prior to high-risk, non-emergency, cardiac surgery with cardiopulmonary bypass (CPB). A total of 404 adult subjects undergoing CPB who meet the study eligibility criteria were planned to be randomized to receive either AT-III (Human) or placebo.

Detailed description

The primary objective of this clinical study was to compare the percentage of subjects with any component of a 7 item major morbidity composite (postoperative mortality, stroke, acute kidney injury (\[AKI\]), surgical re-exploration, arterial or venous thromboembolic event, prolonged mechanical ventilation, or infection) between 2 groups of subjects randomly allocated to receive preoperative supplementation of AT-III (Human) (Antithrombin-III (\[Human \]) or Placebo. The secondary objectives of this clinical study were the following: * To compare postoperative antithrombin III (AT) levels at the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) admission between the AT-III (Human) treatment group and Placebo control group * To compare the following perioperative outcomes between the AT-III (Human) treatment group and Placebo control group: * Postoperative chest-drain blood loss in the first 12 and 24 hours after surgery * Transfusion requirements * Need for surgical re-exploration * Low cardiac output syndrome * Myocardial Infarction (MI) * Stroke * AKI * Arterial or venous thromboembolic events * Infections * Prolonged mechanical ventilation (\>24 hours) * All-cause postoperative mortality * ICU stay duration * Prolonged ICU stay (\>6 days) * Length of hospital stay Additionally, safety objectives included the evaluation of AT III (Human) for clinical safety including adverse events (AEs), risks for bleeding, clinical laboratory testing, physical exam, and vital signs.

Interventions

BIOLOGICALAT-III (Human)

AT-III (Human) is an antithrombin concentrate prepared from pooled human plasma. AT-III (Human) is provided as a freeze-dried preparation for intravenous use. The AT-III (Human) preparation is reconstituted in 10 or 20 mL of sterile water for injection prior to intravenous administration.

OTHERPlacebo

0.9% Sodium Chloride for Injection, United States Pharmacopeia

Sponsors

Covance
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Clinipace Worldwide
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Grifols Therapeutics LLC
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1. Male or female. 2. At least 18 years of age. 3. Subject needed non-emergency cardiac surgery with CPB. 4. Types of cardiac operations permitted: complex/combined procedures (CABG+valve), double/triple valve repair/replacement, ascending aorta/aortic arch surgeries. Isolated CABG or single valve repair/replacements were allowed only if subject had received preoperative heparin \>2 days. \- Following the incorporation of Protocol Version 4.0 (Amendment 3 dated 02 Apr 2015), this criterion was revised to include complex/combined procedures (CABG+valve), double/triple valve repair/replacements, ascending aorta/aortic arch surgeries (without baseline AT level restriction or preoperative heparin requirement). OR isolated CABG or single valve repair/replacements were allowed only if either (a) AT level was less than 80% OR (b) preoperative heparin was received (\[UFH for at least 12 hours; LMWH for more than 5 days). 5. Subject had a baseline AT level of less than 80%. * Following incorporation of Protocol Version 3.0 (Amendment 2 dated 02 Sep 2014) this was changed to Subject had a Prescreening/Screening and baseline local lab AT level of less than 80%. * Following the incorporation of Protocol Version 4.0 (Amendment 3 dated 02 Apr 2015) this criterion was deleted and noted as Not applicable - intentionally left blank for data management purposes (consistency in eCRF capture of eligibility criteria historically). 6. Subject had signed informed consent form. 7. Subject was willing to comply with all aspects of the protocol, including blood sampling, for the total duration of the study.

Exclusion criteria

1. Subject needed emergency surgery. 2. Subject needed heart transplantation. 3. Subject needed the use of minimally invasive surgery. 4. Subject had previous cardiac operation. 5. Subject had infective endocarditis. 6. Subject had thromboembolic events, stroke, or ST-elevated MI within 7 days of surgery. 7. Subject had cardiogenic shock at the time of surgery. 8. Subject had renal dysfunction: creatinine levels \>2 mg/dL or chronic dialysis. 9. Subject had liver dysfunction: aspartate aminotransferase (AST), alanine aminotransferase (ALT) increase ≥2-fold above the upper-limit of local lab normal ranges. 10. Subject had treatment with Clopidogrel® and Ticagrelor® within 5 days before surgery, Prasugrel® within 7 days before surgery, glycoprotein IIb/IIIa receptor blockers within 24 hours of surgery. 11. Subject had treatment with new oral anticoagulants (Apixaban®, Rivaroxaban®, Dabigatran®) within 48 hours before surgery. 12. Subject had Vitamin K antagonist therapy and an international normalized ratio (INR) \>1.3 on the day of surgery. 13. Subject had platelet count \<120,000/μL. 14. Subject had history or suspicion of a congenital or acquired coagulation disorder. 15. Subject had history of anaphylactic reaction(s) to blood or blood components. 16. Subject had allergies to excipients in the study drug. 17. Subject had refused to receive allogenic transfusion of blood-derived products. 18. Subject had received AT treatment within the last 3 months prior to Screening Visit. 19. Subject was pregnant. Subject had participated in any another investigational study within the last 3 months prior to Screening Visit.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage of Subjects With Any Component of a Major Morbidity CompositeUp to Day 30 +/- 4 daysMajor morbidity composite defined as a composite of any one or more of the following: 1. Postoperative mortality (deaths occurring within 30 days of the operation or occurring during the primary hospitalization). 2. Stroke (clinical diagnosis of focal or global neurological deficit of abrupt onset caused by disturbance in cerebral blood supply). 3. Acute kidney injury (increase of serum creatinine levels to \>2.0 mg/dL and twice the baseline level or a new requirement for dialysis postoperatively). 4. Surgical reexploration (return to operating room because of bleeding, tamponade, graft occlusion or other cardiac reason). 5. Arterial or venous thromboembolic event (perioperative myocardial or mesenteric infarction, peripheral thromboembolism, acute coronary graft thrombosis, intracardiac thrombosis, deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolism). 6. Prolonged mechanical ventilation (\>24 hours). 7. Infection (deep sternal-wound infection and/or bloodstream infections).

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
AT-III (Human)
Single intravenous dose of AT-III (Human) sufficient to achieve an absolute increase of 20% (percentage points) above pretreatment AT levels according the following formula: AT-III (Human) dose (IU) required = (20) × (subject weight in kg) / 1.4
201
Placebo
Single intravenous administration of placebo at a volume equivalent to the volume for the calculated AT-III (Human) dose. Placebo: 0.9% Sodium Chloride for Injection, United States Pharmacopeia
198
Total399

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicAT-III (Human)PlaceboTotal
Age, Continuous66.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.4
65.5 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 12.8
66.1 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.66
Age, Customized
Age Category
<65 years
78 Participants76 Participants154 Participants
Age, Customized
Age Category
≥65 years
123 Participants122 Participants245 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
9 Participants8 Participants17 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
192 Participants190 Participants382 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants2 Participants4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
4 Participants5 Participants9 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
194 Participants189 Participants383 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
51 Participants48 Participants99 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
150 Participants150 Participants300 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
7 / 1994 / 196
other
Total, other adverse events
185 / 199179 / 196
serious
Total, serious adverse events
57 / 19957 / 196

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage of Subjects With Any Component of a Major Morbidity Composite

Major morbidity composite defined as a composite of any one or more of the following: 1. Postoperative mortality (deaths occurring within 30 days of the operation or occurring during the primary hospitalization). 2. Stroke (clinical diagnosis of focal or global neurological deficit of abrupt onset caused by disturbance in cerebral blood supply). 3. Acute kidney injury (increase of serum creatinine levels to \>2.0 mg/dL and twice the baseline level or a new requirement for dialysis postoperatively). 4. Surgical reexploration (return to operating room because of bleeding, tamponade, graft occlusion or other cardiac reason). 5. Arterial or venous thromboembolic event (perioperative myocardial or mesenteric infarction, peripheral thromboembolism, acute coronary graft thrombosis, intracardiac thrombosis, deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolism). 6. Prolonged mechanical ventilation (\>24 hours). 7. Infection (deep sternal-wound infection and/or bloodstream infections).

Time frame: Up to Day 30 +/- 4 days

Population: All subjects Treated and Operated On Excluding 4 Subjects with Non-verifiable Data

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
AT-III (Human)Percentage of Subjects With Any Component of a Major Morbidity Composite68 Participants
PlaceboPercentage of Subjects With Any Component of a Major Morbidity Composite58 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026