Skip to content

Phase I Trial of Afatinib (BIBW 2992) and Dasatinib in Non-small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)

Phase I Trial Evaluating Safety and Tolerability of the Irreversible Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor Inhibitor Afatinib (BIBW 2992) in Combination With the SRC Kinase Inhibitor Dasatinib for Patients With Non-small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01999985
Enrollment
25
Registered
2013-12-03
Start date
2013-12-31
Completion date
2019-05-30
Last updated
2020-11-27

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Lung Cancer, Non-small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)

Keywords

Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR), Tyrosine kinase inhibitors, Neoplasms, Lung Diseases, Respiratory Tract Diseases, Pleural Diseases, Pleural Neoplasms, Lung Neoplasms, Pleural Effusion, Pleural Effusion, Malignant, Respiratory Tract Neoplasms, Thoracic Neoplasms, Neoplasms by Site, EGFR mutation, Afatinib, Dasatinib, Carcinoma, Bronchogenic, Gene Mutation, T790M mutation., Non-small cell lung cancer

Brief summary

The purpose of this study is to: * Find out if the study drugs Afatinib and Dasatinib can be safely given together to patients with lung cancer * Learn how these two drugs work in cancer cells when they are combined * Learn more about the side effects of these two drugs when combined * Find the highest doses of the study drugs Afatinib and Dasatinib that can be given safely without causing serious side effects

Interventions

DRUGDasatinib - 1A

1A: Begins Day 8. Level 1 - 100 mg, Level 2 - 100 mg, Level 3 - 140 mg.

DRUGAfatinib - 1A

1A: Begins Day 1. Level 1 - 30 mg, Level 2 - 40 mg, Level 3 - 40 mg.

DRUGDasatinib - 1B

In Phase 1B, a mutationally selected 20 participants (total) will be treated at the recommended dose to confirm tolerability and evaluate for early response signal.

DRUGAfatinib - 1B

In Phase 1B, a mutationally selected 20 participants (total) will be treated at the recommended dose to confirm tolerability and evaluate for early response signal.

Sponsors

Boehringer Ingelheim
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Bristol-Myers Squibb
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SEQUENTIAL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Pathologically or cytologically documented Stage IIIB/IV non-small cell lung cancer, or unresectable recurrent disease following locoregional treatment. * For Phase 1B Extension Only: * Either or both of the following: A tumor which harbors an activating Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) - mutation; History of objective response, or stable disease for at least 6 months, after treatment with erlotinib, afatinib, or gefitinib. * Either or both of the following: Progression or recurrence of disease after receiving prior continuous gefitinib, afatinib, or erlotinib; A tumor known to harbor a de novo T790M mutation, which is known to confer EGFR TKI resistance. * Participants are allowed to have received systemic chemotherapy or investigational therapy in the intervening period prior to trial enrollment * Capable of giving written informed consent. * Evaluable disease, as follows: For Phase 1A Dose Escalation: Have the presence of any evaluable disease, including bone metastases, effusion, or cystic metastases. For Phase 1B Extension Only: Have progressive and measurable disease as defined by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST v 1.1). * Reproductive potential must be either terminated (by surgery, radiation, or menopause) or attenuated by the use of an approved contraceptive method during and for 3 to 6 months following the study. * Participant agrees that IV bisphosphonates will be withheld during the first 8 weeks of dasatinib therapy due to risk of hypocalcemia. * Have recovered from prior drug-related toxicity to Grade ≤ 1 Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v4, within 21 days of initiation of on-study treatment. * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or 1 at initial enrollment, as assessed by clinician or investigator.

Exclusion criteria

* Have previously completed or withdrawn from this study or any other study investigating dasatinib. Prior treatment with other tyrosine kinases, including afatinib, is acceptable. * Prior recent systemic or investigational therapy within 21 days of initiation of study treatment. An exception is that epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) inhibitor may be continued up until 3 days of initiation of study treatment. * Women who are pregnant or breastfeeding. Women of childbearing potential must have a negative pregnancy test (β-HCG test in urine or serum) prior to commencing study treatment. * Patients with documented central nervous system or leptomeningeal metastasis (brain metastasis) at the time of study entry. Patients with prior brain metastasis may be considered if they have completed their treatment for brain metastasis and no longer require corticosteroids. * Patients with disease progression in the central nervous system (CNS) only. * Serious concomitant disorder, including active bacterial, fungal, or viral infection, incompatible with the study (at the discretion of the principal investigator). * Uncorrected severe electrolyte disorder, including severe potassium (\<3.0 mEq/L) or magnesium ( \< 1.0 mEq/L) deficiency. * Any gastrointestinal disorder with diarrhea as a major symptom, such as Crohn's, or pre-existing chronic diarrhea Common Toxicity Criteria (CTC) Grade ≥ 2 of any etiology. Included are malabsorption disorders that in the opinion of the study physician may affect absorption of either afatinib or dasatinib. * Prior major surgery or radiation therapy within 14 days of initiation of treatment. * Electrocardiogram (ECG) abnormalities indicative of arrhythmia (at the discretion of the investigator). * History or presence of clinically relevant cardiovascular abnormalities such as uncontrolled hypertension, congestive heart failure New York Heart Association (NYHA) classification of 3, unstable angina or poorly controlled arrhythmia. Myocardial infarction within 6 months prior to enrollment. * Baseline (\< 1 month before treatment) cardiac left ventricular function with resting ejection fraction of less than 50% measured by multigated blood pool imaging of the heart (MUGA scan) or echocardiogram. * Any history of clinically significant ventricular arrhythmias (such as ventricular tachycardia, ventricular fibrillation, congenital long QT syndrome, or Torsades de pointes). * Prolonged QTc interval on pre-entry electrocardiogram (\> 470 msec for men and \>480 msec for women per American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association \[AHA/ACC\] 2011 scientific statement). * History of significant bleeding disorder unrelated to cancer, including diagnosed congenital bleeding disorders (e.g., von Willebrand's disease). * Patients currently taking drugs that are generally accepted to have a high risk of causing Torsades de Pointes. * Patients with pre-existing interstitial lung disease (ILD), or pericardial / pleural effusion of grade 2 or higher. Trace pericardial or pleural effusion is acceptable. * Patients who require chronic oxygen therapy for chronic obstructive pulmonary disease or pleural effusions (malignant or benign). * Patients requiring comedication with potent P-gp inhibitors (including cyclosporin, azithromycin, erythromycin, ketoconazole, itraconazole, quinidine, phenobarbital salt with quinidine, ritonavir, valspodar, verapamil) or inducers (including rifampicin). * Known active hepatitis B infection, known active hepatitis C infection, or known HIV carrier. * Known or suspected active drug or alcohol abuse. * Known hypersensitivity to afatinib, dasatinib, or the excipients of any of the trial drugs. * Laboratory

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) of Afatinib (BIBW 2992) in Combination With DasatinibUp to 6 MonthsThe MTD for this combined treatment will be defined as either: 1. The highest dosage cohort in which six patients had been treated and there were less than two dose limiting toxicities (DLTs) or, 2. Afatinib at the highest tolerated dose investigated (40 mg by mouth \[PO\] daily) plus dasatinib at the highest tolerated dose investigated (cohort 3, 140 mg PO daily).

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Objective ResponseUp to 6 MonthsEstimates objective response rate (complete response \[CR\] and partial response \[PR\]) in participants with acquired EGFR resistance
Median Progression Free SurvivalUp to 6 MonthsEstimate the 6-month progression free survival (PFS) rate in participants with acquired EGFR resistance. Response Criteria for Phase 1B will follow RECIST v.1.1: Progressive Disease (PD) is defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of LD of target lesions taking as references the smallest sum LD recorded since the treatment started or the appearance of one or more new lesions.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

25 participants were enrolled at Moffitt Cancer Center from December 2013 to March 2016.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
All Participants
All Participants Who Received Study Treatment
25
Total25

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicAll Participants
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
14 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
11 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
23 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
4 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
19 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
25 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
17 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
8 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
4 / 81 / 33 / 14
other
Total, other adverse events
8 / 83 / 314 / 14
serious
Total, serious adverse events
5 / 82 / 39 / 14

Outcome results

Primary

Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) of Afatinib (BIBW 2992) in Combination With Dasatinib

The MTD for this combined treatment will be defined as either: 1. The highest dosage cohort in which six patients had been treated and there were less than two dose limiting toxicities (DLTs) or, 2. Afatinib at the highest tolerated dose investigated (40 mg by mouth \[PO\] daily) plus dasatinib at the highest tolerated dose investigated (cohort 3, 140 mg PO daily).

Time frame: Up to 6 Months

Population: All participants who received at least one dose of Afatinib and Dasatinib.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (NUMBER)
Dose Escalation and ExpansionMaximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) of Afatinib (BIBW 2992) in Combination With DasatinibAfatinib30 mg
Dose Escalation and ExpansionMaximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) of Afatinib (BIBW 2992) in Combination With DasatinibDasatinib daily100 mg
Secondary

Median Progression Free Survival

Estimate the 6-month progression free survival (PFS) rate in participants with acquired EGFR resistance. Response Criteria for Phase 1B will follow RECIST v.1.1: Progressive Disease (PD) is defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of LD of target lesions taking as references the smallest sum LD recorded since the treatment started or the appearance of one or more new lesions.

Time frame: Up to 6 Months

Population: All Participants who received treatment

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Dose Escalation and ExpansionMedian Progression Free Survival5.5 months
Secondary

Number of Participants With Objective Response

Estimates objective response rate (complete response \[CR\] and partial response \[PR\]) in participants with acquired EGFR resistance

Time frame: Up to 6 Months

Population: All Participants who received treatment.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Dose Escalation and ExpansionNumber of Participants With Objective Response0 participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 3, 2026