Skip to content

Prevention of Macular Edema In Patients With Diabetic Retinopathy Undergoing Cataract Surgery

Prevention of Macular Edema In Patients With Diabetic Retinopathy Undergoing Cataract Surgery

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01988246
Acronym
PROMISE
Enrollment
30
Registered
2013-11-20
Start date
2013-12-31
Completion date
2020-01-14
Last updated
2020-05-22

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Diabetic Retinopathy

Keywords

Diabetes, Diabetic Retinopathy

Brief summary

To determine the safety and efficacy of intravitreal Aflibercept (Eylea) injection in patients with diabetic retinopathy in the prevention of macular edema following cataract surgery.

Detailed description

Diabetic retinopathy patients who are at risk of developing macular edema (defined as ≥ 30 % increase from pre-operative baseline in central subfield macular thickness) within 90 days following cataract surgery. Diabetic patients are defined as those who have either Type 1 or Type 2 diabetes. The patients must have either mild, moderate, or severe non proliferative retinopathy or treated proliferative retinopathy. Patients must be 18 years of age and older, of any race and either sex, requiring cataract extraction with planned implantation of a posterior chamber intraocular lens into the lens capsule.

Interventions

DRUGAflibercept

Patients will be assigned to treatment with 2 mg intravitreal Aflibercept injection (0.05 mL or 50 microliters) administered at the time of surgery (post cataract excision) or sham injection.

DRUGSham

Sham injection. No actual injection. No medication is used.

Sponsors

Regeneron Pharmaceuticals
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Rishi Singh
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
PREVENTION
Masking
SINGLE (Subject)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* A patient must meet the following criteria to be eligible for inclusion in the study: 1. Must be 18 years of age and older, of any race and either sex, who have a cataract, and are planning to undergo cataract extraction by phacoemulsification with the implantation of a posterior chamber intraocular lens into the lens capsule 2. History of Type I or Type II diabetes 3. NPDR: non-proliferative diabetic retinopathy (mild, moderate, or severe) or inactive proliferative disease in the study eye as defined by the International Clinical Diabetic Retinopathy Disease Severity Scale 4. Willing and able to comply with clinic visits and study-related procedures 5. Patients must be able to understand and sign an informed consent that has been approved by an Institutional Review Board (IRB) 6. Central subfield macular thickness ≤ 320 μm in the study eye prior to cataract surgery as determined by SD-OCT and confirmed by the reading center 7. Absence of clinically significant macular edema (CSME) in the study eye as detected by clinical exam 8. Patients must have visual acuity of 20/20-20/200

Exclusion criteria

A patient who meets any of the following criteria will be excluded from the study: 1. Signs of vitreomacular traction or epiretinal membrane in the study eye as detected by reading center or investigator 2. Current or previous ocular disease in the study eye that in the opinion of the investigator may confound assessment of the macula, the retina, or central vision other that diabetic retinopathy 3. Active proliferative diabetic retinopathy in the study eye 4. Planned multiple procedures for study eye during the cataract/IOL implantation surgery (e.g., trabeculectomy, corneal transplant) 5. Patients who have received corneal transplants in the study eye 6. Patients with current or history of chronic or recurrent ocular infections or inflammation in the study eye 7. Patients with a visually nonfunctional fellow eye based upon the assessment by the investigator 8. Patients who are immunocompromised (e.g., patients receiving chemotherapy irradiation therapy, patients with AIDS, leukemia, or cachexia) or patients receiving dialysis 9. Use of medications known to affect the macula, including hydroxychloroquinine (Plaquenil) and phenothiozines (e.g., thioridazine \[Mellaril\], chloropromazine \[Thorazine\]) or supplemental niacin ≥3 grams/day 10. Use of systemic steroids, NSAIDS (non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs), anti-VEGF agents within 7 days prior to surgery (through study exit). Daily doses of aspirin, up to 325 mg, will be permitted. 11. Use of topical ocular NSAIDS and steroids, in the study eye, within 7 days prior to surgery 12. Treatment with intraocular or periocular steroids in the study eye within 3 months prior to surgery 13. Focal photocoagulation for the treatment of diabetic macular edema in the study eye within 6 months of the pre-operative baseline visit (Note: peripheral retina treatment for retinal tear or lattice degeneration is permitted) 14. Intravitreal anti-VEGF (vascular endothelial growth factor) treatment in the study eye within 6 months of the pre-operative baseline visit 15. Patients with a known hypersensitivity to NSAIDs or steroids or any component of the study medication. 16. Use of a topical ophthalmic prostaglandin (e.g., TRAVATAN, XALATAN) within 4 days of surgery through study exit 17. Any concurrent intraocular condition in the study eye that, in the opinion of the investigator, could require either medical or surgical intervention during the 90 day study period. 18. Any concurrent ocular condition in the study eye which, in the opinion of the investigator, could either increase the risk to the patient beyond what is to be expected from standard procedures of intraocular injection, or which otherwise may interfere with the injection procedure or with evaluation of efficacy or safety. 19. Pregnant or breast-feeding women -

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Ocular and Non-Ocular Adverse EventsDay 90Number of participants with ocular and non-ocular adverse events (AEs) in both treatment arms.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change From Baseline in Best-Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) ScoreDay 90Change from baseline in best-corrected visual acuity (BCVA) score and BCVA score at Day 90 as measured by ETDRS (early treatment diabetic retinopathy study) There were no sub scales used. These are common methods for ophthalmology studies to report their findings. The scale provided is the Electronic-Early Treatment in Diabetic Retinopathy Scale (E-ETDRS) best corrected visual acuity scale. Values that are higher are considered better and values that are lower are considered worse. Minimum E-ETDRS was 24 E-ETDRS letters and maximum E-ETDRS was 80 E-ETDRS letters.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change From Baseline in Retinal ThicknessDay 90The change in macular edema as measured by SD-OCT (spectral domain ocular coherence tomography)at 90 days

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Sham Injection
Patients will be sequentially randomized to treatment with a sham injection at the time of surgery. The sham injection is accomplished by pressing an empty syringe against the eye wall without penetration. This will be administered post cataract excision by the Prinicipal Investigator. The patient will be masked as to which Arm they are assigned. Sham: Sham injection. No actual injection. No medication is used.
15
Intravitreal Aflibercept Injection
Patients will be sequentially randomized to treatment with Aflibercept 2 mg via intravitreal injection (0.05 mL or 50 microliters) at the time of surgery. This will be administered post cataract excision by the Principal Investigator. The patient will be masked as to which Arm they are assigned. Aflibercept: Patients will be assigned to treatment with 2 mg intravitreal Aflibercept injection (0.05 mL or 50 microliters) administered at the time of surgery (post cataract excision) or sham injection.
15
Total30

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicSham InjectionTotalIntravitreal Aflibercept Injection
Age, Customized66 years66 years66 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants5 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
13 Participants25 Participants12 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
6 Participants9 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants5 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
6 Participants16 Participants10 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
15 participants30 participants15 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
10 Participants16 Participants6 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
5 Participants14 Participants9 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 150 / 15
other
Total, other adverse events
14 / 1510 / 15
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 153 / 15

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Participants With Ocular and Non-Ocular Adverse Events

Number of participants with ocular and non-ocular adverse events (AEs) in both treatment arms.

Time frame: Day 90

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Sham InjectionNumber of Participants With Ocular and Non-Ocular Adverse EventsAt least 1 Ocular Adverse Event11 Participants
Sham InjectionNumber of Participants With Ocular and Non-Ocular Adverse EventsAt least 1 Non-Ocular Adverse Event5 Participants
Intravitreal Aflibercept InjectionNumber of Participants With Ocular and Non-Ocular Adverse EventsAt least 1 Ocular Adverse Event10 Participants
Intravitreal Aflibercept InjectionNumber of Participants With Ocular and Non-Ocular Adverse EventsAt least 1 Non-Ocular Adverse Event3 Participants
Secondary

Change From Baseline in Best-Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) Score

Change from baseline in best-corrected visual acuity (BCVA) score and BCVA score at Day 90 as measured by ETDRS (early treatment diabetic retinopathy study) There were no sub scales used. These are common methods for ophthalmology studies to report their findings. The scale provided is the Electronic-Early Treatment in Diabetic Retinopathy Scale (E-ETDRS) best corrected visual acuity scale. Values that are higher are considered better and values that are lower are considered worse. Minimum E-ETDRS was 24 E-ETDRS letters and maximum E-ETDRS was 80 E-ETDRS letters.

Time frame: Day 90

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Sham InjectionChange From Baseline in Best-Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) Score8.52 Number of Letters Read Correctly
Intravitreal Aflibercept InjectionChange From Baseline in Best-Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) Score9.88 Number of Letters Read Correctly
Other Pre-specified

Change From Baseline in Retinal Thickness

The change in macular edema as measured by SD-OCT (spectral domain ocular coherence tomography)at 90 days

Time frame: Day 90

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Sham InjectionChange From Baseline in Retinal Thickness50.32 Microns
Intravitreal Aflibercept InjectionChange From Baseline in Retinal Thickness18.48 Microns

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026