Skip to content

Brentuximab Vedotin or Crizotinib and Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Newly Diagnosed Stage II-IV Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma

A Randomized Phase 2 Trial of Brentuximab Vedotin (SGN35, NSC# 749710), or Crizotinib (NSC#749005, Commercially Labeled) in Combination With Chemotherapy for Newly Diagnosed Patients With Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma (ALCL)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01979536
Enrollment
137
Registered
2013-11-08
Start date
2013-11-13
Completion date
2024-03-31
Last updated
2024-04-30

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma, ALK-Positive, Ann Arbor Stage III Noncutaneous Childhood Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma, Ann Arbor Stage II Noncutaneous Childhood Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma, Ann Arbor Stage IV Noncutaneous Childhood Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma

Brief summary

This partially randomized phase II trial studies how well brentuximab vedotin or crizotinib and combination chemotherapy works in treating patients with newly diagnosed stage II-IV anaplastic large cell lymphoma. Brentuximab vedotin is a monoclonal antibody, called brentuximab, linked to a toxic agent called vedotin. Brentuximab attaches to CD30 positive cancer cells in targeted way and delivers vedotin to kill them. Crizotinib and methotrexate may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. It is not yet known whether brentuximab vedotin and combination chemotherapy is more effective than crizotinib and combination chemotherapy in treating anaplastic large cell lymphoma.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To determine the tolerability of brentuximab vedotin given in combination with standard chemotherapy (anaplastic large cell lymphoma \[ALCL\]99) and to determine the tolerability of crizotinib given in combination with chemotherapy (ALCL99). II. To estimate the event free survival (EFS) of Arm brentuximab vedotin (BV) and Arm crizotinib (CZ) and contrast these to historical control data. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To determine the prognostic significance of minimal disseminated disease (MDD) at diagnosis and minimal residual disease (MRD) as measured by real-time (RT)-polymerase chain reaction (PCR) in peripheral blood. OUTLINE: Patients with body surface area (BSA) \< 0.9 m\^2 were non-randomly assigned to Arm BV while it was open and were not eligible for the trial while Arm BV was closed. Patients with BSA \>= 0.9 m\^2 were randomly assigned 1:1 to Arm BV or Arm CZ while both were open and were non-randomly assigned to the open arm while only one of the two arms was open. ARM BV: COURSE A (CYCLES 1, 3, AND 5): Patients receive brentuximab vedotin (1.8 mg/dg/dose - Max dose 180 mg) intravenously (IV) over 30 minutes on day 1, dexamethasone orally (PO) twice daily (BID) or IV on days 1-5, ifosfamide IV over 60 minutes on days 1-5, methotrexate IV over 3 hours on day 1, cytarabine IV over 1-30 minutes every 12 hours for 4 doses on days 4 and 5, and etoposide IV over 2 hours on days 4 and 5. COURSE B (CYCLES 2, 4, AND 6): Patients receive brentuximab vedotin (1.8 mg/dg/dose - Max dose 180 mg), dexamethasone, and methotrexate as in Arm BV, Course A. Patients also receive cyclophosphamide IV over 15-30 minutes on days 1-5 and doxorubicin hydrochloride IV over 1-15 minutes on days 4 and 5. ARM CZ: COURSE A (CYCLES 1, 3, AND 5): Patients receive crizotinib (165 mg/m\^2) PO BID on days 1-21 and dexamethasone, ifosfamide, methotrexate, cytarabine, and etoposide as in Arm BV, Course A. COURSE B (CYCLES 2, 4, AND 6): Patients receive crizotinib (165 mg/m\^2) PO BID as in Arm CZ, Course A and dexamethasone, cyclophosphamide, methotrexate, and doxorubicin hydrochloride as in Arm BV, Course B. In all arms, treatment repeats every 21 days for 6 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 3, 6, 9, 12, 18, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months.

Interventions

DRUGBrentuximab Vedotin

Given IV

DRUGCrizotinib

Given PO

DRUGCyclophosphamide

Given IV

DRUGCytarabine

Given IT and IV

DRUGDexamethasone

Given PO or IV

DRUGDoxorubicin Hydrochloride

Given IV

DRUGEtoposide

Given IV

DRUGIfosfamide

Given IV

DRUGMethotrexate

Given IT and IV

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Lead SponsorNIH

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
No minimum to 21 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Newly diagnosed patients with histologically proven ALCL (International Classification of Diseases for Oncology \[ICD-0\] code: 9714/3) * Disease must be cluster of differentiation (CD)30 positive * Disease must be anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) positive (defined by local institutional standards) * Patients must have stage II, III, or IV disease * Patients must have a life expectancy of \>= 8 weeks * Adequate Liver Function Defined As: * Total bilirubin =\< 1.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN) for age (within 7 days prior to enrollment) * Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase \[SGPT\]) \< 2.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN) for age; for the purpose of this study, the ULN for ALT is 45 U/L (within 7 days prior to enrollment) * If the lab abnormality is thought to be due to the lymphoma the patient is eligible and dose adjustments should be made * Adequate Cardiac Function Defined As: * Shortening fraction of \>= 27% by echocardiogram, or * Ejection fraction of \>= 50% by radionuclide angiogram * Adequate Pulmonary Function Defined As: * Patients with a history of pulmonary dysfunction must have no evidence of dyspnea at rest, no exercise intolerance due to pulmonary insufficiency, and a pulse oximetry \> 92% while breathing room air unless current dysfunction is due to the lymphoma in which case the patient is eligible

Exclusion criteria

* Patients with central nervous system (CNS) disease are not eligible * Patients with disease limited to the skin are not eligible, regardless of how wide-spread * Patients with stage I disease are not eligible * Patients who have received any prior cytotoxic chemotherapy for the current diagnosis of ALCL or any cancer diagnosed previously are not eligible * Previous steroid treatment and/or radiation treatment is not allowed unless it is for the emergent management of a mediastinal mass; emergent steroid treatment and/or radiation treatment should stop once protocol therapy is initiated * Intrathecal chemotherapy prior to enrollment is allowed for the current diagnosis of ALCL as long as adequate cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) is obtained prior to administration of the intrathecal chemotherapy and subsequently demonstrated to be negative for ALCL * Female patients who are pregnant are not eligible; pregnancy tests must be obtained in girls who are post menarchal * Lactating females are not eligible unless they have agreed not to breastfeed their infants * Sexually active patients of reproductive potential are not eligible unless they agree to use an effective contraceptive method for the duration of treatment and for 3 months after stopping treatment * Patients with Down syndrome are not eligible due to the amount of methotrexate and potential for side effects * Patients with an immunodeficiency that existed prior to diagnosis such as primary immunodeficiency syndromes or organ transplant recipients are not eligible * Cytochrome P450, family 3, subfamily A, polypeptide 4 (CYP3A4) substrates with narrow therapeutic indices: Patients chronically receiving medications known to be metabolized by CYP3A4 and with narrow therapeutic indices including pimozide, aripiprazole, triazolam, ergotamine and halofantrine are not eligible; the topical use of these medications (if applicable) is allowed * CYP3A4 inhibitors: patients chronically receiving drugs that are known potent CYP3A4 inhibitors within 7 days prior to study enrollment, including but not limited to ketoconazole, itraconazole, clarithromycin, erythromycin, ritonavir, indinavir, nelfinavir, saquinavir, delavirdine, nefazodone, diltiazem, verapamil, and grapefruit juice are not eligible; the topical use of these medications (if applicable), e.g. 2% ketoconazole cream, is allowed * CYP3A4 inducers: patients chronically receiving drugs that are known potent CYP3A4 inducers within 12 days prior to study enrollment, including but not limited to carbamazepine, phenobarbital, phenytoin, rifabutin, rifampin, ritonavir, and St. John's wort are not eligible; the topical use of these medications (if applicable) is allowed * Patients that are known to be positive for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) are not eligible; note: inclusion of HIV positive patients will be considered at a later date * Patients who weigh \< 10 kg are not eligible

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Occurrence of Grade 3+ Non-hematologic Adverse EventsUp to 60 monthsWill be assessed using the National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0. Toxicities will be summarized by individual toxicity counts separated by arm.
Event Free Survival (EFS)Time from study entry until progressive disease, relapse, or death, assessed up to 2 yearsThe Kaplan-Meier method will be used to estimate the 2-year EFS for each of the treatment regimens.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Prognostic Significance of Minimal Residual DiseaseBaseline up to progressive disease, relapse, or death, assessed up to 2 yearsAnalyzed by estimating the 2-year EFS of negative MRD and positive MRD by arm. Minimal disease was performed using serial assessments of the t(2;5)(p23;q35) NPM-ALK fusion transcript using quantitative RT-PCR. Quantitative RT-PCR was performed by extracting total RNA from peripheral blood specimens. Peripheral blood samples were obtained at baseline, on day 1 of cycle 1, and on day 1 of cycle 2. The normalized copy numbers (NCN) were expressed as copy numbers of NPM-ALK per 104 copies of ABL. Minimal disease (MDD) was defined as \>10 NCN at baseline.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm BV (Brentuximab Vedotin, Combination Chemotherapy)
COURSE A (CYCLES 1, 3, AND 5): Patients receive brentuximab vedotin IV over 30 minutes on day 1, dexamethasone PO BID or IV on days 1-5, ifosfamide IV over 60 minutes on days 1-5, methotrexate IV over 3 hours on day 1, cytarabine IV over 1-30 minutes every 12 hours for 4 doses on days 4 and 5, and etoposide IV over 2 hours on days 4 and 5. COURSE B (CYCLES 2, 4, AND 6): Patients receive brentuximab vedotin, dexamethasone, and methotrexate as in Arm BV, Course A. Patients also receive cyclophosphamide IV over 15-30 minutes on days 1-5 and doxorubicin hydrochloride IV over 1-15 minutes on days 4 and 5. Brentuximab Vedotin: Given IV Cyclophosphamide: Given IV Cytarabine: Given IT and IV Dexamethasone: Given PO or IV Doxorubicin Hydrochloride: Given IV Etoposide: Given IV Ifosfamide: Given IV Methotrexate: Given IT and IV
68
Arm CZ (Crizotinib, Combination Chemotherapy)
COURSE A (CYCLES 1, 3, AND 5): Patients receive crizotinib PO BID on days 1-21 and dexamethasone, ifosfamide, methotrexate, cytarabine, and etoposide as in Arm BV, Course A. COURSE B (CYCLES 2, 4, AND 6): Patients receive crizotinib as in Arm CZ, Course A and dexamethasone, cyclophosphamide, methotrexate, and doxorubicin hydrochloride as in Arm BV, Course B. Crizotinib: Given PO Cyclophosphamide: Given IV Cytarabine: Given IT and IV Dexamethasone: Given PO or IV Doxorubicin Hydrochloride: Given IV Etoposide: Given IV Ifosfamide: Given IV Methotrexate: Given IT and IV
69
Total137

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyDid not start treatment01
Overall StudyPhysician Decision23
Overall StudyRefusal01
Overall StudyRelapse01
Overall StudyStudy terminated by Sponsor01
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject01

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm BV (Brentuximab Vedotin, Combination Chemotherapy)Arm CZ (Crizotinib, Combination Chemotherapy)Total
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
64 Participants65 Participants129 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
4 Participants4 Participants8 Participants
Age, Continuous10.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.9
13.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.3
12.2 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.4
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
5 Participants10 Participants15 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
60 Participants56 Participants116 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants3 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
5 Participants4 Participants9 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
8 Participants14 Participants22 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
5 Participants5 Participants10 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
48 Participants46 Participants94 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
68 participants69 participants137 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
25 Participants22 Participants47 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
43 Participants47 Participants90 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
3 / 683 / 68
other
Total, other adverse events
57 / 6855 / 68
serious
Total, serious adverse events
24 / 6841 / 68

Outcome results

Primary

Event Free Survival (EFS)

The Kaplan-Meier method will be used to estimate the 2-year EFS for each of the treatment regimens.

Time frame: Time from study entry until progressive disease, relapse, or death, assessed up to 2 years

Population: 1 Arm CZ patient who did not start treatment is excluded from analyses of EFS.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm BV (Brentuximab Vedotin, Combination Chemotherapy)Event Free Survival (EFS)78.8 Percentage of patients
Arm CZ (Crizotinib, Combination Chemotherapy)Event Free Survival (EFS)76.8 Percentage of patients
Primary

Occurrence of Grade 3+ Non-hematologic Adverse Events

Will be assessed using the National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0. Toxicities will be summarized by individual toxicity counts separated by arm.

Time frame: Up to 60 months

Population: 1 Arm BV patient who did not receive at least one dose of brentuximab vedotin and 3 Arm CZ patients who did not receive at least one dose of crizotinib are excluded from these analyses.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm BV (Brentuximab Vedotin, Combination Chemotherapy)Occurrence of Grade 3+ Non-hematologic Adverse Events80.6 Percentage of patients
Arm CZ (Crizotinib, Combination Chemotherapy)Occurrence of Grade 3+ Non-hematologic Adverse Events87.9 Percentage of patients
Secondary

Prognostic Significance of Minimal Residual Disease

Analyzed by estimating the 2-year EFS of negative MRD and positive MRD by arm. Minimal disease was performed using serial assessments of the t(2;5)(p23;q35) NPM-ALK fusion transcript using quantitative RT-PCR. Quantitative RT-PCR was performed by extracting total RNA from peripheral blood specimens. Peripheral blood samples were obtained at baseline, on day 1 of cycle 1, and on day 1 of cycle 2. The normalized copy numbers (NCN) were expressed as copy numbers of NPM-ALK per 104 copies of ABL. Minimal disease (MDD) was defined as \>10 NCN at baseline.

Time frame: Baseline up to progressive disease, relapse, or death, assessed up to 2 years

Population: 11 Arm BV patients without adequate MDD baseline data, 1 Arm CZ patient who did not start treatment, and 11 Arm CZ patients without adequate MDD baseline data are excluded from these analyses.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm BV (Brentuximab Vedotin, Combination Chemotherapy)Prognostic Significance of Minimal Residual Disease89 Percentage of patients
Arm CZ (Crizotinib, Combination Chemotherapy)Prognostic Significance of Minimal Residual Disease52.6 Percentage of patients
MRD Negative Arm CZ (Crizotinib, Combination Chemotherapy)Prognostic Significance of Minimal Residual Disease85.6 Percentage of patients
MRD Positive Arm CZ (Crizotinib, Combination Chemotherapy)Prognostic Significance of Minimal Residual Disease58.1 Percentage of patients

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 23, 2026