Skip to content

Transoral Surgery Followed By Low-Dose or Standard-Dose Radiation Therapy With or Without Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With HPV Positive Stage III-IVA Oropharyngeal Cancer

Phase II Randomized Trial of Transoral Surgical Resection Followed by Low-Dose or Standard-Dose IMRT in Resectable p16+ Locally Advanced Oropharynx Cancer

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01898494
Enrollment
519
Registered
2013-07-12
Start date
2014-01-22
Completion date
2026-12-01
Last updated
2026-04-01

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Human Papilloma Virus Infection, Stage III Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Oropharynx, Stage IVA Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Oropharynx, Stage IVB Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Oropharynx

Keywords

oropharynx cancer, HPV+

Brief summary

This randomized phase II trial studies how well transoral surgery followed by low-dose or standard-dose radiation therapy works in treating patients with human papilloma virus (HPV) positive stage III-IVA oropharyngeal cancer. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving radiation therapy with chemotherapy may kill any tumor cells that remain after surgery. It is not yet known how much extra treatment needs to be given after surgery.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. Accrual, risk distribution, and surgical quality will be used to determine the feasibility of a prospective multi-institutional study of transoral surgery for HPV positive (+) oropharynx cancer followed by risk-adjusted adjuvant therapy. II. To assess the oncologic efficacy following transoral resection and adjuvant therapy in patients determined to be at "intermediate risk" after surgical excision, the 2-year progression free survival (PFS) rate will be examined. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To estimate the patient distribution with various histologic risk features. II. To assess and compare early and late toxicities associated with transoral surgery (TOS) and the different doses of adjuvant postoperative radiotherapy (PORT). III. To evaluate swallowing function before and after TOS and risk-adjusted adjuvant therapy. IV. To evaluate quality of life (QOL), swallowing perception and performance, voice outcomes, and head and neck symptoms. TERTIARY OBJECTIVES: I. To correlate tumor TP53 mutation and other associated mutation profile with pathologic findings, with PFS and other outcome parameters in patients with resectable HPV-associated oropharyngeal squamous cell carcinoma (OPSCC) after the above treatments. II. To evaluate radiation resistance markers, including excision repair cross complementing 1 (ERCC1) single nucleotide polymorphism and protein expression, and correlate them with treatment efficacy. III. To investigate the usefulness of biomarkers in predicting progression-free survival and biomarkers, including tumor ERCC1, epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR), plasma cytokine/chemokines, cellular immunity to HPV, and oral HPV deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA). OUTLINE: All patients undergo transoral surgery (TOS) in Step 1. ARM S: Patients undergo transoral resection of the oropharyngeal tumor. Then patients are classified by risk status (low risk, intermediate risk, or high risk) in Step 2 and assigned to the appropriate treatment group. Patients classified as intermediate risk are randomized to arms B or C. ARM A (low risk; observation): Patients receive observation. ARM B (intermediate risk): Patients undergo low-dose (50Gy) intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) once daily (QD) over 25 fractions. ARM C (intermediate risk): Patients undergo standard-dose (60Gy) IMRT QD over 30 fractions. ARM D (high risk): Patients receive IMRT at 66 Gy QD for 33 fractions. Patients also receive cisplatin intravenously (IV) over 60 minutes on days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, 36, and 43 during radiation therapy. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 3 months for 2 years and then every 6 months for 3 year.

Interventions

Undergo transoral surgical resection

RADIATIONintensity-modulated radiation therapy

Undergo standard-dose or low-dose IMRT

DRUGcisplatin

Given IV

DRUGcarboplatin

Given IV

Sponsors

ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group
Lead SponsorNETWORK
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Registration to Surgery (Arm S) * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or 1 * Patients must have newly diagnosed, histologically or cytologically confirmed squamous cell carcinoma or undifferentiated carcinoma of the oropharynx; patients must have been determined to have resectable oropharyngeal disease; patients with primary tumor or nodal metastasis fixed to the carotid artery, skull base or cervical spine are not eligible * Patients must have American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) TNM tumor stage III, IV a, or IV b (with no evidence of distant metastases) as determined by imaging studies (performed \< 30 days prior to pre-registration) and complete head and neck exam; the following imaging is required: computed tomography (CT) scan with IV contrast or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) * Patients must have biopsy-proven p16+ oropharynx cancer; the histologic evidence of invasive squamous cell carcinoma may have been obtained from the primary tumor or metastatic lymph node. It is required that patients have a positive p16 IHC (as surrogate for HPV) status from either the primary tumor or metastatic lymph node. * Carcinoma of the oropharynx associated with HPV as determined by p16 protein expression using immunohistochemistry (IHC) performed by a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) approved laboratory; using p16 antibody obtained from Roche mtm laboratories AG (CINtec, clone E6H4) is recommended * Patients with a history of a curatively treated malignancy must be disease-free for at least two years except for carcinoma in situ of cervix and/or non-melanomatous skin cancer * Patients with the following within the last 6 months prior to pre-registration must be evaluated by a cardiologist and/or neurologist prior to entry into the study * Congestive heart failure \> NYHA Class II * Cerebrovascular accident (CVA)/transient ischaemic attack (TIA) * Unstable angina * Myocardial infarction * Absolute neutrophil count \>= 1,500/mm\^3 * Platelets \>= 100,000/mm\^3 * Total bilirubin =\< the upper limit of normal (ULN) * Calculated creatinine clearance must be \> 60 ml/min using the Cockcroft-Gault formula Registration/Randomization to Step2 - Arms A, B, C and D * Histopathologic assessment of surgical pathology must include examination for perineural invasion (PNI) and lymphovascular invasion (LVI) and reported as absent or present; the absence or presence of extracapsular extension (ECE) requires gross and microscopic assessment and is defined to be: * Absent (negative or nodal metastasis with smooth/rounded leading edge confined to thickened capsule/pseudocapsule), * Present - minimal (tumor extends =\< 1 mm beyond the lymph node capsule), or * Present - extensive (gross, tumor extends \> 1 mm beyond the lymph node capsule (includes soft tissue metastasis) * Patient must be stratified/classified into one of the following risk categories (the highest risk feature assessed pathologically will determine the patient's category/treatment arm assignment): * Low Risk: T1-T2, N0-N1 AND clear (≥ 3mm) margins, AND no ECE or PNI/LVI * High Risk: Any of the following features: one or more positive margin(s) with any T stage, OR "Extensive" (\> 1mm) ECE, OR ≥ 5 metastatic lymph nodes (regardless of primary tumor margin status) * Intermediate Risk: Any of the following features: one or more "close" (\< 3mm) margin(s), OR "Minimal" (≤ 1mm) ECE, OR N2a (1 or more lymph node \> 3cm in diameter), OR N2b (2-4 lymph nodes positive, any diameter ≤ 6cm), OR with perineural invasion or lymphovascular invasion. * Unknown Risk: Patients found to have N2C or N3 disease on final pathologic analysis are at unknown risk for recurrence, but are not candidates for deintensified adjuvant therapy in this trial. These patients will be treated on Arm C. * Patients not categorized into the appropriate risk category will be considered ineligible for the study * Patient must be registered/randomized to Step 2 within a maximum of 7 weeks following surgery * Women of childbearing potential and sexually active males are strongly advised to use an accepted and effective method of contraception

Exclusion criteria

Registration to Surgery (Arm S) * Prior radiation above the clavicles * Evidence of extensive or "matted/fixed" pathologic adenopathy on preoperative imaging * Women must not be pregnant or breast-feeding due to the teratogenicity of chemotherapy; all females of childbearing potential must have a blood test or urine study within 2 weeks prior to registration to rule out pregnancy; a female of childbearing potential is any woman, regardless of sexual orientation or whether they have undergone tubal ligation, who meets the following criteria: has not undergone a hysterectomy or bilateral oophorectomy; or has not been naturally postmenopausal for at least 24 consecutive months (i.e., has had menses at any time in the preceding 24 consecutive months) * Any intercurrent illness likely to interfere with protocol therapy or prevent surgical resection * Uncontrolled diabetes, uncontrolled infection despite antibiotics or uncontrolled hypertension within 30 days prior to pre-registration

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-free Survival Rate at 2 YearsAssessed every 3 months for 2 yearsProgression-free survival is defined as the time from randomization/assignment of post-surgical treatment to the appearance of lesions, including primary, nodal or new site, or death, whichever occurs first. These patients are considered disease-free after surgery so the appearance of any lesions is counted as progression. Kaplan-Meier estimate was used to characterize progression-free survival rate at 2 years.
Proportion of Patients With Grade III or IV Oropharyngeal Bleeding or Positive MarginsAssessed during surgery and directly after surgerySurgery quality was evaluated based on grade 3-4 bleeding events per Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v5.0 during surgery and positive margins after surgery. Per CTCAE v5.0, grade 3 = severe and grade 4 = life-threatening. Having grade 3-4 bleeding or positive margins indicates worse outcomes.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Distribution of Histologic Risk StatusAssessed after directly surgeryLow Risk: T1-T2, N0-N1 AND clear (\> 3mm) margins, AND no extranodal extension (ENE) or PNI/LVI. Intermediate Risk: Any of the following features: one or more "close" (\< 3mm) margin(s), OR "Minimal" (\< 1mm) ENE, OR N2a (1 or more lymph node \>3cm in diameter), OR N2b (2-4 lymph nodes positive, any diameter \< 6cm), OR with perineural invastion or lymphovascular invasion. High Risk: Any of the following features: one or more positive margin(s) with any T stage, OR "Extensive" (\> 1mm) ENE, OR \> 5 metastatic lymph nodes (regardless of primary tumor margin status).
Swallowing Function Before Surgery Assessed Using MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI)Assessed at baselineThe MDADI measures swallowing-related quality of life (QOL) in patients with swallowing dysfunction in a 20-item written questionnaire. It evaluates the patient's physical (P), emotional (E) and functional (F) perceptions of swallowing dysfunction. This instrument has been psychometrically validated in head and neck cancer patients. Two summary scores can be obtained from the MDADI: 1) global and 2) composite. The global scale is a single question, scored individually, to assess the overall impact that swallowing abilities have on quality of life ("my swallowing impacts my day-to-day life"). The composite MDADI score summarizes overall performance on remaining 19-items of the MDADI, as a weighted average of the physical, emotional, and functional subscale questions. This study reports the composite MDADI score. The summary MDADI scores are normalized to range from 20 (extremely low functioning) to 100 (high functioning).
Swallowing Function After Surgery Assessed Using MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI)Assessed 4-6 weeks after surgeryThe MDADI measures swallowing-related quality of life (QOL) in patients with swallowing dysfunction in a 20-item written questionnaire. It evaluates the patient's physical (P), emotional (E) and functional (F) perceptions of swallowing dysfunction. This instrument has been psychometrically validated in head and neck cancer patients. Two summary scores can be obtained from the MDADI: 1) global and 2) composite. The global scale is a single question, scored individually, to assess the overall impact that swallowing abilities have on quality of life ("my swallowing impacts my day-to-day life"). The composite MDADI score summarizes overall performance on remaining 19-items of the MDADI, as a weighted average of the physical, emotional, and functional subscale questions. This study reports the composite MDADI score. The summary MDADI scores are normalized to range from 20 (extremely low functioning) to 100 (high functioning).
Quality of Life (QOL) at 6 Months After Treatment Assessed by Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Head and Neck Cancer (FACT-HN) Total ScoreAssessed at 6 months after treatmentThe FACT-H\&N (version 4) consists of a cancer-specific questionnaire, FACT-G, in addition to 12 H\&N cancer-specific items (the HN subscale). FACT-G is a 27-item measure that assesses general cancer quality of life. FACT-HN total score ranges between 0 and 148. The higher the score, the better the QOL.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORRobert Ferris

ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group

Participant flow

Recruitment details

The study was activated on July 9, 2013, accrued its first patient on January 22, 2014, and closed to accrual on July 7, 2017 for a total of 519 patients.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm A (Low Risk, Observation)
Patients undergo transoral surgical resection of the oropharyngeal tumor. After transoral surgical resection of the oropharyngeal tumor, low risk patients are under observation. Transoral surgery: Undergo transoral surgical resection
38
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm B (Intermediate Risk, Low-dose IMRT)
Patients undergo transoral surgical resection of the oropharyngeal tumor. After transoral surgical resection of the oropharyngeal tumor, intermediate risk patients receive low-dose IMRT (50 Gy) QD five days a week for 5 weeks. Transoral surgery: Undergo transoral surgical resection intensity-modulated radiation therapy: Undergo standard-dose or low-dose IMRT
100
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm C (Intermediate Risk, Standard-dose IMRT)
Patients undergo transoral surgical resection of the oropharyngeal tumor. After transoral surgical resection of the oropharyngeal tumor, intermediate risk patients receive standard-dose IMRT (60 Gy) QD five days a week for 6 weeks. Transoral surgery: Undergo transoral surgical resection intensity-modulated radiation therapy: Undergo standard-dose or low-dose IMRT
108
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm D (High Risk, IMRT, Chemotherapy)
Patients undergo transoral surgical resection of the oropharyngeal tumor. After transoral surgical resection of the oropharyngeal tumor, high risk patients then receive IMRT (66Gy) QD five days a week for 6-7 weeks. Patients also receive cisplatin IV over 60 minutes or carboplatin over 30 minutes on days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, 36, and 43 during radiation therapy. Transoral surgery: Undergo transoral surgical resection intensity-modulated radiation therapy: Undergo standard-dose or low-dose IMRT cisplatin: Given IV carboplatin: Given IV
113
Total359

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm S (Surgery) Then Arm A (Low Risk, Observation)Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm B (Intermediate Risk, Low-dose IMRT)Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm C (Intermediate Risk, Standard-dose IMRT)Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm D (High Risk, IMRT, Chemotherapy)Total
Age, Continuous61 years59 years57 years58 years58 years
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
2 Participants2 Participants3 Participants4 Participants11 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
36 Participants90 Participants98 Participants100 Participants324 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants8 Participants7 Participants9 Participants24 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants3 Participants3 Participants2 Participants9 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
2 Participants4 Participants7 Participants5 Participants18 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
35 Participants93 Participants97 Participants106 Participants331 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
8 Participants5 Participants16 Participants11 Participants40 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
30 Participants95 Participants92 Participants102 Participants319 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
EG004
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
24 / 5191 / 494 / 1267 / 1329 / 138
other
Total, other adverse events
110 / 4951 / 4957 / 12071 / 12796 / 134
serious
Total, serious adverse events
85 / 4950 / 4917 / 12031 / 12781 / 134

Outcome results

Primary

Progression-free Survival Rate at 2 Years

Progression-free survival is defined as the time from randomization/assignment of post-surgical treatment to the appearance of lesions, including primary, nodal or new site, or death, whichever occurs first. These patients are considered disease-free after surgery so the appearance of any lesions is counted as progression. Kaplan-Meier estimate was used to characterize progression-free survival rate at 2 years.

Time frame: Assessed every 3 months for 2 years

Population: Eligible and treated patients

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm A (Low Risk, Observation)Progression-free Survival Rate at 2 Years0.969 proportion of participants
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm B (Intermediate Risk, Low-dose IMRT)Progression-free Survival Rate at 2 Years0.949 proportion of participants
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm C (Intermediate Risk, Standard-dose IMRT)Progression-free Survival Rate at 2 Years0.96 proportion of participants
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm D (High Risk, IMRT, Chemotherapy)Progression-free Survival Rate at 2 Years0.907 proportion of participants
Primary

Proportion of Patients With Grade III or IV Oropharyngeal Bleeding or Positive Margins

Surgery quality was evaluated based on grade 3-4 bleeding events per Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v5.0 during surgery and positive margins after surgery. Per CTCAE v5.0, grade 3 = severe and grade 4 = life-threatening. Having grade 3-4 bleeding or positive margins indicates worse outcomes.

Time frame: Assessed during surgery and directly after surgery

Population: Patients who received surgery

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm A (Low Risk, Observation)Proportion of Patients With Grade III or IV Oropharyngeal Bleeding or Positive Margins0.091 proportion of participants
Secondary

Distribution of Histologic Risk Status

Low Risk: T1-T2, N0-N1 AND clear (\> 3mm) margins, AND no extranodal extension (ENE) or PNI/LVI. Intermediate Risk: Any of the following features: one or more close (\< 3mm) margin(s), OR Minimal (\< 1mm) ENE, OR N2a (1 or more lymph node \>3cm in diameter), OR N2b (2-4 lymph nodes positive, any diameter \< 6cm), OR with perineural invastion or lymphovascular invasion. High Risk: Any of the following features: one or more positive margin(s) with any T stage, OR Extensive (\> 1mm) ENE, OR \> 5 metastatic lymph nodes (regardless of primary tumor margin status).

Time frame: Assessed after directly surgery

Population: Patients who received surgery

ArmMeasureCategoryValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm A (Low Risk, Observation)Distribution of Histologic Risk StatusLow Risk38 Participants
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm A (Low Risk, Observation)Distribution of Histologic Risk StatusIntermediate Risk208 Participants
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm A (Low Risk, Observation)Distribution of Histologic Risk StatusHigh Risk113 Participants
Secondary

Quality of Life (QOL) at 6 Months After Treatment Assessed by Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Head and Neck Cancer (FACT-HN) Total Score

The FACT-H&N (version 4) consists of a cancer-specific questionnaire, FACT-G, in addition to 12 H&N cancer-specific items (the HN subscale). FACT-G is a 27-item measure that assesses general cancer quality of life. FACT-HN total score ranges between 0 and 148. The higher the score, the better the QOL.

Time frame: Assessed at 6 months after treatment

Population: Eligible and treated patients with FACT-HN total scores 6 months after treatment available

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm A (Low Risk, Observation)Quality of Life (QOL) at 6 Months After Treatment Assessed by Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Head and Neck Cancer (FACT-HN) Total Score128.5 score on a scale
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm B (Intermediate Risk, Low-dose IMRT)Quality of Life (QOL) at 6 Months After Treatment Assessed by Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Head and Neck Cancer (FACT-HN) Total Score121.02 score on a scale
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm C (Intermediate Risk, Standard-dose IMRT)Quality of Life (QOL) at 6 Months After Treatment Assessed by Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Head and Neck Cancer (FACT-HN) Total Score117.8 score on a scale
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm D (High Risk, IMRT, Chemotherapy)Quality of Life (QOL) at 6 Months After Treatment Assessed by Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Head and Neck Cancer (FACT-HN) Total Score114.6 score on a scale
Secondary

Swallowing Function After Surgery Assessed Using MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI)

The MDADI measures swallowing-related quality of life (QOL) in patients with swallowing dysfunction in a 20-item written questionnaire. It evaluates the patient's physical (P), emotional (E) and functional (F) perceptions of swallowing dysfunction. This instrument has been psychometrically validated in head and neck cancer patients. Two summary scores can be obtained from the MDADI: 1) global and 2) composite. The global scale is a single question, scored individually, to assess the overall impact that swallowing abilities have on quality of life (my swallowing impacts my day-to-day life). The composite MDADI score summarizes overall performance on remaining 19-items of the MDADI, as a weighted average of the physical, emotional, and functional subscale questions. This study reports the composite MDADI score. The summary MDADI scores are normalized to range from 20 (extremely low functioning) to 100 (high functioning).

Time frame: Assessed 4-6 weeks after surgery

Population: Eligible and treated patients with MDADI scores after surgery available

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm A (Low Risk, Observation)Swallowing Function After Surgery Assessed Using MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI)75.5 score on a scale
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm B (Intermediate Risk, Low-dose IMRT)Swallowing Function After Surgery Assessed Using MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI)76.3 score on a scale
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm C (Intermediate Risk, Standard-dose IMRT)Swallowing Function After Surgery Assessed Using MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI)69.6 score on a scale
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm D (High Risk, IMRT, Chemotherapy)Swallowing Function After Surgery Assessed Using MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI)73.3 score on a scale
Secondary

Swallowing Function Before Surgery Assessed Using MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI)

The MDADI measures swallowing-related quality of life (QOL) in patients with swallowing dysfunction in a 20-item written questionnaire. It evaluates the patient's physical (P), emotional (E) and functional (F) perceptions of swallowing dysfunction. This instrument has been psychometrically validated in head and neck cancer patients. Two summary scores can be obtained from the MDADI: 1) global and 2) composite. The global scale is a single question, scored individually, to assess the overall impact that swallowing abilities have on quality of life (my swallowing impacts my day-to-day life). The composite MDADI score summarizes overall performance on remaining 19-items of the MDADI, as a weighted average of the physical, emotional, and functional subscale questions. This study reports the composite MDADI score. The summary MDADI scores are normalized to range from 20 (extremely low functioning) to 100 (high functioning).

Time frame: Assessed at baseline

Population: Eligible and treated patients with baseline MDADI scores available

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm A (Low Risk, Observation)Swallowing Function Before Surgery Assessed Using MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI)89.1 score on a scale
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm B (Intermediate Risk, Low-dose IMRT)Swallowing Function Before Surgery Assessed Using MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI)90.2 score on a scale
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm C (Intermediate Risk, Standard-dose IMRT)Swallowing Function Before Surgery Assessed Using MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI)87.4 score on a scale
Arm S (Surgery) Then Arm D (High Risk, IMRT, Chemotherapy)Swallowing Function Before Surgery Assessed Using MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI)88.2 score on a scale
Other Pre-specified

Association Between Radiation Resistance Markers and Progression-free Survival

Progression-free survival is defined as the time from registration to the appearance of new metastatic lesions or objective tumor progression or death, whichever occurs first. Kaplan-Meier estimate was used to characterize progression-free survival.

Time frame: Assessed every 3 months for 2 year, then every 6 months, up to 5 years

Other Pre-specified

Association Between TP53 Mutation and Progression-free Survival

Progression-free survival is defined as the time from registration to the appearance of new metastatic lesions or objective tumor progression or death, whichever occurs first. Kaplan-Meier estimate was used to characterize progression-free survival.

Time frame: Assessed every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months, up to 5 years

Other Pre-specified

Usefulness of Biomarkers in Predicting Progression-free Survival

Progression-free survival is defined as the time from registration to the appearance of new metastatic lesions or objective tumor progression or death, whichever occurs first. Kaplan-Meier estimate was used to characterize progression-free survival.

Time frame: Assessed every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months, up to 5 years

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Apr 2, 2026