Skip to content

A Study of VEGF Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (Pazopanib) in Men With High-Risk Prostate Cancer Followed by Radical Prostatectomy and Pelvic Lymph Node Dissection

A Neoadjuvant, Randomized, Phase II Study of Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (Pazopanib) in Men With High-Risk Prostate Cancer Followed by Radical Prostatectomy and Pelvic Lymph Node Dissection

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01832259
Enrollment
30
Registered
2013-04-16
Start date
2013-08-31
Completion date
2018-08-09
Last updated
2018-12-12

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Adenocarcinoma of the Prostate

Brief summary

The area around a tumor (pre-metastatic niche) may be an area to which cancer cells are attracted. The study doctor will take blood and tumor samples to look for certain features linked with response to treatment so that they can predict which future patients may benefit from this therapy. The purpose of this study is to see if the drug pazopanib can be used to reduce the amount of pre-metastatic niche in the patient's lymph nodes (a common site for prostate cancer to spread). Down the line, this may help to prevent prostate cancer from coming back after surgery.

Interventions

DRUGPazopanib

Pazopanib, 800 mg, orally daily for 28 days prior to radical prostatectomy.

OTHERPlacebo

Placebo tablet orally, daily for 28 days prior to radical prostatectomy.

Sponsors

Novartis
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
University of Utah
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
TRIPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
MALE
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Men ≥ 18 years of age * Histological documentation of adenocarcinoma of the prostate, with available biopsy pathology. Biopsy material must be available for pathologic review. * All patients must meet one or more of the following disease features: clinical stage greater than or equal to T3; Primary Gleason score of 4 OR Gleason score of 8, 9 or 10; serum prostate-specific antigen (PSA) ≥ 20 ng/mL; Prostate MRI findings consistent with T3 disease; Any clinical stage and PSA (prostate-specific antigen) \>10 and Gleason score 7; A Kattan nomogram predicted probability of being free from biochemical progression at 5 years after surgery of \< 60%. * Patients must have a PSA (prostate-specific antigen) ≥ 2 ng/mL at the time of diagnosis of prostate cancer or later. * No prior radiation or chemotherapy for prostate cancer treatment. * Scheduled for radical prostatectomy surgery. * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status of 0 or 1. * Patients may have been treated with up to 4 months of androgen deprivation therapy. * No clinical evidence of metastatic prostate cancer, or enlarged pelvic lymph nodes in the imaging studies. * Resected lymph nodes must be provided for all subjects for biomarker analysis immediately (same day) after surgery (radical prostatectomy). * Adequate organ system function as defined by study Protocol 1. Subjects may not have had a transfusion within 7 days of screening assessment. 2. Concomitant elevations in bilirubin and aspartate aminotransferase (AST)/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) above 1.0 x upper limit of normal (ULN) are not permitted. 3. If urine protein count (UPC) =\>1, then a 24-hour urine protein must be assessed. Subjects must have a 24-hour urine protein value \<1 to be eligible. * Subjects must provide written informed consent within one month prior to performance of study-specific procedures or assessments and must be willing to comply with treatment and follow up.

Exclusion criteria

* Clinical evidence of metastatic prostate cancer. * Prior malignancy. No other prior malignancy is allowed except for the following: adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, adequately treated Stage I or II cancer from which the patient is currently in complete remission, or any other cancer from which the patient has been disease-free for 5 years. * Clinically significant gastrointestinal abnormalities that may increase the risk for gastrointestinal bleeding including, but not limited to: Active peptic ulcer disease Known intraluminal metastatic lesion/s with risk of bleeding Inflammatory bowel disease (e.g. ulcerative colitis, Crohn's disease), or other gastrointestinal conditions with increased risk of perforation History of abdominal fistula, gastrointestinal perforation, or intra-abdominal abscess within 28 days prior to beginning study treatment. * Clinically significant gastrointestinal abnormalities that may affect absorption of investigational product including, but not limited to: * Malabsorption syndrome or * Major resection of the stomach or small bowel. * Corrected QT interval (QTc) \> 480 msecs Note: Correction method should be reported * History of any one or more of the following cardiovascular conditions within the past 6 months: * Cardiac angioplasty or stenting * Myocardial infarction * Unstable angina * Coronary artery bypass graft surgery * Symptomatic peripheral vascular disease * Class III or IV congestive heart failure, as defined by the New York Heart Association (NYHA) * No evidence of preexisting uncontrolled hypertension. If the patient has a history of elevated blood pressure at baseline then they must have controlled hypertension documented and confirmed by 2 consecutive blood pressure readings taken within 1 hour. The baseline systolic blood pressure readings must be =\<140 mm Hg, and the baseline diastolic blood pressure readings must be =\<90 mm Hg. Note: Initiation or adjustment of antihypertensive medication(s) is permitted prior to study entry. Following antihypertensive medication initiation or adjustment, blood pressure (BP) must be re-assessed three times at approximately 2-minute intervals. At least 24 hours must have elapsed between anti-hypertensive medication initiation or adjustment and Blood Pressure measurement. These three values should be averaged to obtain the mean diastolic blood pressure (DBP) and the mean systolic blood pressure (SBP). The mean SBP / DBP ratio must be \<140/90 mm Hg (OR 150/90 mm Hg, if this criterion is approved by the Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI) Data Safety and Monitoring Committee (DSMC) Chair or Co-chair) in order for a subject to be eligible for the study (see protocol for details on Blood Pressure control and re-assessment prior to study enrollment). * History of cerebrovascular accident including transient ischemic attack (TIA), pulmonary embolism or untreated deep venous thrombosis (DVT) within the past 6 months. * Major surgery or trauma within 28 days prior to first dose of investigational product and/or presence of any non-healing wound, fracture, or ulcer (procedures such as catheter placement not considered to be major surgery). * Evidence of active bleeding or bleeding diathesis. * Known endobronchial lesions and/or lesions infiltrating major pulmonary vessels that increase the risk of pulmonary hemorrhage Note: Lesions infiltrating major pulmonary vessels (contiguous tumour and vessels) are excluded; however, the presence of a tumor that is touching, but not infiltrating (abutting) the vessels is acceptable (CT (computed tomography) with contrast is strongly recommended to evaluate such lesions). * Large protruding endobronchial lesions in the main or lobar bronchi are excluded; however, endobronchial lesions in the segmented bronchi are allowed. * Lesions extensively infiltrating the main or lobar bronchi are excluded; however, minor infiltrations in the wall of the bronchi are allowed. * Recent hemoptysis (=\> ½ teaspoon of red blood within 8 weeks before first dose of study drug). * Any serious and/or unstable pre-existing medical, psychiatric, or other condition that could interfere with subject's safety, provision of informed consent, or compliance to study procedures. * Unable or unwilling to discontinue use of prohibited medications listed in the protocol for at least 14 days or five half-lives of a drug (whichever is longer) prior to the first dose of study drug and for the duration of the study. * Treatment with any of the following anti-cancer therapies: * radiation therapy, chemotherapy, immunotherapy, biologic therapy, investigational therapy * surgery or tumor embolization within 14 days prior to the first dose of pazopanib OR hormonal therapy within 14 days or five half-lives of a drug (whichever is longer) prior to the first dose of Pazopanib * Administration of any non-oncologic investigational drug within 30 days or 5 half lives whichever is longer prior to receiving the first * Any ongoing toxicity from prior hormonal therapy that is \>Grade 1 and/or that is progressing in severity.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Receptor 1 (VEGFR1)-Positive Clusters1 monthPatients with high-risk, localized prostate cancer were treated with 28 days of Pazopanib or placebo, after which they underwent radical prostatectomy. During prostatectomy, benign pelvic lymph node tissue was collected and subsequently analyzed for the average number of VEGFR1-positive clusters in 8 distinct 40x microscopic fields as an indicator of pre-metastatic niche formation.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Participants Experiencing Adverse EventsFrom first dose of study treatment to one month post-prostatectomy (approximately 2 months)Adverse events were assessed using the Common Terminology for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4. Each event was assigned a grade (1-5), with lower grades indicating milder events. All adverse events were recorded, regardless of attribution to study treatment. For a full listing of Adverse Events, please see the Adverse Events section of the Results for this study.
Biochemical Recurrence Progression Free Survival Rate2 yearsFollowing prostatectomy, patients' Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) lab values were collected for up to two years. Biochemical recurrence was defined as the first PSA lab value of greater than or equal to 0.2 ng/mL following prostatectomy. Biochemical recurrence progression free survival rate was defined as the percent chance of 1 year survival with no biochemical recurrence.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Placebo Arm
Participants receiving placebo Placebo: Placebo tablet orally, daily for 28 days prior to radical prostatectomy.
15
Pazopanib Arm
Participants receiving Pazopanib Pazopanib: Pazopanib, 800 mg, orally daily for 28 days prior to radical prostatectomy.
15
Total30

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPlacebo ArmPazopanib ArmTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
7 Participants9 Participants16 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
8 Participants6 Participants14 Participants
Age, Continuous63.33 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.71
64.13 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.26
63.73 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 5.56
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
14 Participants14 Participants28 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
15 Participants15 Participants30 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
15 Participants15 Participants30 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 150 / 15
other
Total, other adverse events
15 / 1515 / 15
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 150 / 15

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Receptor 1 (VEGFR1)-Positive Clusters

Patients with high-risk, localized prostate cancer were treated with 28 days of Pazopanib or placebo, after which they underwent radical prostatectomy. During prostatectomy, benign pelvic lymph node tissue was collected and subsequently analyzed for the average number of VEGFR1-positive clusters in 8 distinct 40x microscopic fields as an indicator of pre-metastatic niche formation.

Time frame: 1 month

Population: The tissue of one patient on the Pazopanib arm and two patients on the Placebo arm was not able to be analyzed. Another patient on the Pazopanib arm had surgery delayed by a few weeks following stopping study medication and was determined to be unevaluable, resulting in 13 patients analyzed on each arm.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Placebo ArmNumber of Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Receptor 1 (VEGFR1)-Positive Clusters0.251560 VEGFR1+ clusters per hpfStandard Deviation 0.093458902
Pazopanib ArmNumber of Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Receptor 1 (VEGFR1)-Positive Clusters0.269518 VEGFR1+ clusters per hpfStandard Deviation 0.120773334
p-value: 0.345t-test, 1 sided
Secondary

Biochemical Recurrence Progression Free Survival Rate

Following prostatectomy, patients' Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) lab values were collected for up to two years. Biochemical recurrence was defined as the first PSA lab value of greater than or equal to 0.2 ng/mL following prostatectomy. Biochemical recurrence progression free survival rate was defined as the percent chance of 1 year survival with no biochemical recurrence.

Time frame: 2 years

Population: Two patients on the Pazopanib arm were not evaluable, one due to prostatectomy not being completed, and one due to prostatectomy being delayed outside of protocol windows.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Placebo ArmBiochemical Recurrence Progression Free Survival Rate73.3 percent chance of survival
Pazopanib ArmBiochemical Recurrence Progression Free Survival Rate92.3 percent chance of survival
p-value: 0.46Log Rank
Secondary

Participants Experiencing Adverse Events

Adverse events were assessed using the Common Terminology for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4. Each event was assigned a grade (1-5), with lower grades indicating milder events. All adverse events were recorded, regardless of attribution to study treatment. For a full listing of Adverse Events, please see the Adverse Events section of the Results for this study.

Time frame: From first dose of study treatment to one month post-prostatectomy (approximately 2 months)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Placebo ArmParticipants Experiencing Adverse EventsParticipants experiencing Grade 1-2 Adverse Events15 Participants
Placebo ArmParticipants Experiencing Adverse EventsParticipants experiencing Grade 3-4 Adverse Events0 Participants
Pazopanib ArmParticipants Experiencing Adverse EventsParticipants experiencing Grade 1-2 Adverse Events15 Participants
Pazopanib ArmParticipants Experiencing Adverse EventsParticipants experiencing Grade 3-4 Adverse Events4 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 23, 2026