Skip to content

Study of DA-9801 to Treat Diabetic Neuropathy

A Phase II Randomized, Double-Blind, Parallel Group, Dose-Ranging, Placebo-Controlled Study to Assess the Safety And Effectiveness Of DA-9801 in the Treatment of Subjects With Diabetic Neuropathy

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01822925
Enrollment
128
Registered
2013-04-04
Start date
2013-11-30
Completion date
2015-01-31
Last updated
2020-03-20

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Diabetic Neuropathy

Keywords

Diabetes, Pain, Neuropathy

Brief summary

To evaluate the effectiveness of DA-9801 at 300mg, 600mg, 900mg and placebo, in reducing pain in subjects with diabetic neuropathic pain compared to their baseline values.

Detailed description

This is a double-blind, randomized, parallel group, dose ranging, placebo-controlled study where eligible subjects (age 18 to 75 years) will have an average pain score ≥ 4 on an 11-point Likert numerical rating scale (NRS) for at least four days each week prior to randomization as assessed by daily pain diaries. Eligible subjects will be randomized to a 1:1:1:1 ratio to receive 300mg, 600mg, 900mg of DA-9801, or placebo three times a day for 12 weeks. During and at the end of the 12-week treatment period subjects will be evaluated for safety and efficacy parameters. A follow-up visit for safety will occur two weeks after the last treatment visit (TV). The Screening Phase (2 weeks) is designed to determine whether subjects are eligible to proceed to the Treatment Phase of the study and consists of a series of screening assessments designed to determine eligibility. Eligible subjects will undergo a two-week washout period for medications and therapies administered for pain management. At or up to 21 days before the Screening Visit, written informed consent from (ICF) the subject will be obtained by the Investigator or a suitably qualified designee before the performance of any protocol specific procedure. At the Screening Visit, the subject will be issued a daily diary in order to record daily pain level during the screening phase. The Treatment Phase (TV0 to TV12) begins with a series of assessments designed to confirm the subjects' continued eligibility. The site will collect the daily diary and the subject's pain score will be determined. Only subjects whose average pain score is ≥ 4 for at least four days each week will be randomized to any of the four treatment groups. DA-9801 administration schedule is three times per day, starting from TV0 to TV12. During this study phase subjects will be evaluated on a weekly basis. Efficacy evaluations each week will include the subject's global impression of improvement and CGI of pain. Safety evaluations during the Treatment Phase will consist of adverse event assessments at each visit. The Follow-up Visit (two weeks after last TV) The Follow-up Visit is designed to assess safety and will occur 14 days after the last TV. If the subject is withdrawn from the study prior to TV12, the subject should be exited from the study AFTER completing the specified assessments for that visit.

Interventions

300 mg of DA-9801 in tablet form, 100 mg to be taken 3 times daily for 12 weeks.

600 mg of DA-9801 in tablet form, 200 mg to be taken 3 times daily for 12 weeks.

900 mg of DA-9801 in tablet form, to be taken 300 mg to be taken 3 times daily for 12 weeks.

DRUGPlacebo

Placebo, in tablet form, to be taken 3 times daily for 12 weeks. The placebo is the same formulation as DA-9801 except that it does not contain the active pharmaceutical ingredient.

Sponsors

Dong-A ST Co., Ltd.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
NeuroBo Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 75 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Must be 18 to 75 years of age * Diagnosed with Type I or Type II diabetes * HbA1c ≤ 12% at the time of screening * Has diabetic neuropathic pain (numbness, soreness, shooting or poking pain) in the lower extremities for more than 3 months prior to screening and with no adequate relief from other treatments * Has an average pain score of ≥ 4 for 24 hours at least 4 days out of the week prior to randomization as assessed by the 11-point Likert NRS. * If female of childbearing potential, subject must have a negative serum pregnancy test at screening * Understands and is willing to participate in the clinical study and can comply with study procedures and visits. * Normal cognitive and communicative ability as judged by clinical assessment and ability to complete self-reported questionnaires * Subject is willing and able to give informed consent

Exclusion criteria

* Evidence of another type of neuropathic pain caused by a condition other than diabetes * Pain from another source as severe or greater than the pain under study * BMI (Body Mass Index) \> 37 kg/m2 * Clinical signs of infection related to sores of any type on the legs * Subjects on any investigational drug(s) or therapeutic device(s) within 30 days preceding screening; or subject or physician anticipates use of any of these therapies by the subject during the course of the study * Previous participation in the Treatment Phase of this Protocol * History of drug or alcohol abuse, within the past 6 months * Malignant disease not in remission for 5 years or more that has been medically or surgically treated without evidence of metastases * Presence of one or more medical conditions, as determined by medical history, which seriously compromises the subject's ability to complete the study, including history of poor adherence with medical treatment, renal, hepatic, hematologic, active auto-immune or immune diseases that, in the opinion of the Investigator, would make the subject an inappropriate candidate for this study: c) One or more abnormal blood biochemistry analyte result that is ≥ 3 times that of the upper limit of the normal range; d) For laboratory results that are significantly lower than the normal range, specific criteria will be used to judge subject eligibility for randomization for Total protein, Albumin, and Hemoglobin or Platelets. * Known history of having Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS) or with a history known to be infected with Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) * New York Heart Association (NYHA) Class III and IV congestive heart failure (CHF), as defined by the following criteria: a)Class III: Symptoms with moderate exertion b)Class IV: Symptoms at rest * Pregnant or breast feeding * Women of child-bearing potential not using an effective birth control method. Women of child-bearing potential are defined as women physiologically capable of becoming pregnant, UNLESS they meet the following criteria: d) Post-menopausal: 12 months of natural (spontaneous) amenorrhea or 6 months of spontaneous amenorrhea with serum Follicle Stimulating Hormone (FSH) levels \> 40mIU/m, OR; e) 6 weeks post surgical bilateral oophorectomy with or without hysterectomy, OR; f) Are using one or more of the following acceptable methods of contraception: surgical sterilization, hormonal contraception, and double-barrier methods. Reliable contraception should be maintained throughout the study and for 7 days after study discontinuation. * Subjects with a diagnosis of psychiatric disorders such as major depressive disorder, bipolar disorder, obsessive compulsive disorder, generalized anxiety, dysthymia or suicidality/suicide ideation * Administration of local anesthetic shot or systemic steroids within two months of screening * Subjects not willing to undergo a two-week washout period for pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic pain management techniques

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12 Week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)Baseline to 12 weeks of treatmentPain score was assessed by the subject using the 11-point Likert rating scale for pain (0=no pain to 10=worst possible pain) prior to conduct of any other study assessment. The change in clinic visit pain score at the 12-week visit was compared to baseline.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With at Least 30% Improvement Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11- Point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) at the Week 12 Clinic VisitBaseline to 12 week treatment periodPain intensity was assessed by the subject before any other protocol procedures at baseline and week 12 based on 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). The number of participants who had achieved ≥ a 30% reduction in pain from the baseline was to be compared between the treatment groups and placebo.
Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline to 12 week treatment periodAverage 24-hour pain intensity was assessed daily based on the 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Average weekly pain scores are defined as 7\* \[(Pain Day 1 + Pain Day 2 + …+ Pain Day n)\]/n where n is the number of available diary entries for the week. The minimum pain score for a week would be 0 and the maximum would be 70. Difference in the average weekly pain score at Week 12 is the score for each week minus the baseline .
Difference in Average Weekly Most Severe Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline to 12 week treatment periodMost severe 24-hour pain intensity was assessed daily based on the 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Average weekly most severe pain scores are defined as 7\* \[(Pain Day 1 + Pain Day 2 + …+ Pain Day n)\]/n where n is the number of available diary entries for the week. The minimum possible pain score for a week would be 0 and the maximum possible would be 70. Difference in the average weekly pain score at Week 12 is the score at each week minus baseline .
Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline to 12 week treatment periodOvernight pain intensity was assessed daily based on the 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Average weekly overnight pain scores are defined as 7\* \[(Pain Day 1 + Pain Day 2 + …+ Pain Day n)\]/n where n is the number of available diary entries for the week. The minimum possible pain score for a week would be 0 and the maximum possible would be 70. Difference in the average weekly overnight pain score at Week 12 is the score at each week minus baseline
Percentage Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12-week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)Baseline and over 12 week treatment periodPain intensity was assessed by the subject before any other protocol procedures at baseline and at the 12- week visit using an 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain) (Negative values indicate percentage reductions).
Change From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline to 12 week treatment periodOvernight pain intensity was assessed daily based on the 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Average weekly overnight pain scores are defined as 7\* \[(Pain Day 1 + Pain Day 2 + …+ Pain Day n)\]/n where n is the number of available diary entries for the week. The minimum possible pain score for a week would be 0 and the maximum possible would be 70. Difference in the average weekly overnight pain score at Week 12 is the score at each week minus baseline
Number of Participants Considered to be Responders on Global Impression of Improvement (PGI-I) at Week 12Week 12PGI measures the subject's overall improvement in pain. The assessment was to be completed each week during the Treatment Phase. Global impression of improvement was assessed by the subject based on a 7 point scale (1-very much improved, 2-much improved, 3-minimally improved, 4-no change, 5-minimally worse, 6-much worse, 7-very much worse. Responders are defined as subjects with response of very much improved, much improved or minimally improved
Number of Participants Number of Participants Considered to be Responders in Clinical Global Impression (CGI) at Week 12Week 12CGI measures global severity of illness at a given point of time and the improvement from baseline. The assessment was to be completed by the Investigator at baseline and each week during the treatment phase. CGI responders were defined as subjects achieving a score of: (1): Very much improved or (2): Much improved or (3): Minimally improved on the clinician-rated CGI global improvement item.
Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 1 to Week 12During the Treatment Periods, subjects taking 500 mg acetaminophen or Tylenol® for severe pain recorded the frequency and dosage in the daily diary. The use of 500 mg acetaminophen or Tylenol® was recorded for Morning, Afternoon or Evening time. For each subject, the total weekly rescue medication was calculated, and it was used to assess average weekly rescue medication use.
Change From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline to 12 week treatment periodAverage weekly pain intensity was assessed daily based on the 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Average weekly pain scores are defined as 7\* \[(Pain Day 1 + Pain Day 2 + …+ Pain Day n)\]/n where n is the number of available diary entries for the week. The minimum possible pain score for a week would be 0 and the maximum possible would be 70. Difference in the average weekly pain score at Week 12 is the score at each week minus baseline.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

A total of 185 subjects were screened in this study from which, 128 subjects were randomized to the treatment groups, and 57 subjects were categorized as screen failure. Thirty-two (32) subjects were randomized to each of the four (4) study treatment groups: 900 mg DA-9801, 600 mg DA9801, 300 mg DA-9801 and placebo.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Placebo
Placebo oral tablets three (3) times per day.
32
300 mg DA-9801
Oral tablets three (3) times per day for total daily doses of 300 mg
32
600 mg DA-9801
Oral tablets three (3) times per day for total daily doses of 600 mg
32
900 mg DA-9801
Oral tablets three (3) times per day for total daily doses of 900 mg
32
Total128

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003
Overall StudyAdverse Event1111
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up0100
Overall StudyProtocol Violation1001
Overall StudyTaking prohibited medication2001
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject2022

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic600 mg DA-9801900 mg DA-9801TotalPlacebo300 mg DA-9801
Age, Continuous60 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.6
61.6 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.2
60.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 9.8
61.8 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.8
59.7 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.6
Body Mass Index (BMI)31.8 kg/m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.5
31.2 kg/m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.9
31 kg/m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.9
30.2 kg/m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 3.9
30.8 kg/m^2
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.3
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
6 Participants7 Participants21 Participants3 Participants5 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
26 Participants25 Participants107 Participants29 Participants27 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Height68.9 Inches
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4
69.4 Inches
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.5
69 Inches
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.4
68.9 Inches
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.6
69 Inches
STANDARD_DEVIATION 4.5
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
1 Participants0 Participants4 Participants3 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
7 Participants4 Participants22 Participants5 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
24 Participants28 Participants101 Participants24 Participants25 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
32 participants32 participants128 participants32 participants32 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
8 Participants10 Participants37 Participants10 Participants9 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
24 Participants22 Participants91 Participants22 Participants23 Participants
Weight217 lbs
STANDARD_DEVIATION 31.3
215 lbs
STANDARD_DEVIATION 41.2
211 lbs
STANDARD_DEVIATION 37.6
205 lbs
STANDARD_DEVIATION 41.9
207 lbs
STANDARD_DEVIATION 35.4

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
— / —— / —— / —— / —
other
Total, other adverse events
14 / 3221 / 3216 / 328 / 32
serious
Total, serious adverse events
3 / 320 / 322 / 320 / 32

Outcome results

Primary

Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12 Week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)

Pain score was assessed by the subject using the 11-point Likert rating scale for pain (0=no pain to 10=worst possible pain) prior to conduct of any other study assessment. The change in clinic visit pain score at the 12-week visit was compared to baseline.

Time frame: Baseline to 12 weeks of treatment

Population: Intent-to-Treat (ITT) population - defined as all subjects who were randomized and had an ICF. The ITT population was the primary population for the analysis of primary and secondary endpoints.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboChange in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12 Week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)TV 124 Scores on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.58
PlaceboChange in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12 Week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)TV 0 (Baseline)6.2 Scores on a scaleStandard Deviation 1.93
300 mg DA-9801Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12 Week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)TV 0 (Baseline)6.6 Scores on a scaleStandard Deviation 1.43
300 mg DA-9801Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12 Week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)TV 123.4 Scores on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.49
600 mg DA-9801Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12 Week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)TV 123.5 Scores on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.63
600 mg DA-9801Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12 Week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)TV 0 (Baseline)6.6 Scores on a scaleStandard Deviation 1.54
900 mg DA-9801Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12 Week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)TV 0 (Baseline)6.5 Scores on a scaleStandard Deviation 1.54
900 mg DA-9801Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12 Week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)TV 123.8 Scores on a scaleStandard Deviation 2.69
Secondary

Average Weekly Rescue Medication Use

During the Treatment Periods, subjects taking 500 mg acetaminophen or Tylenol® for severe pain recorded the frequency and dosage in the daily diary. The use of 500 mg acetaminophen or Tylenol® was recorded for Morning, Afternoon or Evening time. For each subject, the total weekly rescue medication was calculated, and it was used to assess average weekly rescue medication use.

Time frame: Week 1 to Week 12

Population: Intent-to-Treat (ITT) population - defined as all subjects who were randomized and had an ICF. The ITT population was the primary population for the analysis of primary and secondary endpoints.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboAverage Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 51047 mgStandard Deviation 3817
PlaceboAverage Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 71156 mgStandard Deviation 3775
PlaceboAverage Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 91297 mgStandard Deviation 4275
PlaceboAverage Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 111266 mgStandard Deviation 4076
PlaceboAverage Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 31438 mgStandard Deviation 3656
PlaceboAverage Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 81156 mgStandard Deviation 3971
PlaceboAverage Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 41313 mgStandard Deviation 4484
PlaceboAverage Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 61078 mgStandard Deviation 3612
PlaceboAverage Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 21844 mgStandard Deviation 4683
PlaceboAverage Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 121641 mgStandard Deviation 5448
PlaceboAverage Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 11688 mgStandard Deviation 3941
PlaceboAverage Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 101438 mgStandard Deviation 4499
300 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 5844 mgStandard Deviation 2807
300 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 31391 mgStandard Deviation 4666
300 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 4563 mgStandard Deviation 1384
300 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 7906 mgStandard Deviation 3254
300 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 101281 mgStandard Deviation 4447
300 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 11891 mgStandard Deviation 3184
300 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 8719 mgStandard Deviation 3976
300 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 11469 mgStandard Deviation 3617
300 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 21547 mgStandard Deviation 3927
300 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 6859 mgStandard Deviation 3114
300 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 9625 mgStandard Deviation 2362
300 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 121109 mgStandard Deviation 3638
600 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 1093.8 mgStandard Deviation 530
600 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 778.1 mgStandard Deviation 314
600 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 9125 mgStandard Deviation 707
600 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 11625 mgStandard Deviation 4849
600 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 4531 mgStandard Deviation 1905
600 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 31188 mgStandard Deviation 3963
600 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 893.8 mgStandard Deviation 390
600 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 5375 mgStandard Deviation 1621
600 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 22156 mgStandard Deviation 5566
600 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 6172 mgStandard Deviation 577
600 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 1293.8 mgStandard Deviation 390
600 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 11109 mgStandard Deviation 619
900 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 12344 mgStandard Deviation 1125
900 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 5578 mgStandard Deviation 2703
900 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 7891 mgStandard Deviation 2999
900 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 11516 mgStandard Deviation 2256
900 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 12141 mgStandard Deviation 5008
900 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 10531 mgStandard Deviation 2359
900 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 9500 mgStandard Deviation 1827
900 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 22375 mgStandard Deviation 5414
900 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 31063 mgStandard Deviation 2602
900 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 4625 mgStandard Deviation 1535
900 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 6578 mgStandard Deviation 2254
900 mg DA-9801Average Weekly Rescue Medication UseWeek 8578 mgStandard Deviation 1627
Secondary

Change From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily Diary

Overnight pain intensity was assessed daily based on the 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Average weekly overnight pain scores are defined as 7\* \[(Pain Day 1 + Pain Day 2 + …+ Pain Day n)\]/n where n is the number of available diary entries for the week. The minimum possible pain score for a week would be 0 and the maximum possible would be 70. Difference in the average weekly overnight pain score at Week 12 is the score at each week minus baseline

Time frame: Baseline to 12 week treatment period

Population: Intent-to-Treat (ITT) population - defined as all subjects who were randomized and had an ICF. The ITT population was the primary population for the analysis of primary and secondary endpoints.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboChange From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline43.7 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 11
PlaceboChange From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryWeek 1229.4 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 17
PlaceboChange From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryChange14.3 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 14
300 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryChange19.9 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 16.4
300 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryWeek 1224.5 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 15.6
300 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline44.4 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 11.8
600 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryWeek 1227.5 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 19
600 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline46.5 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 9.38
600 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryChange19 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 18.1
900 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryChange16.9 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 15.5
900 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryWeek 1229.5 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 19.4
900 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group-Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline46.4 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 12.6
Secondary

Change From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily Diary

Average weekly pain intensity was assessed daily based on the 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Average weekly pain scores are defined as 7\* \[(Pain Day 1 + Pain Day 2 + …+ Pain Day n)\]/n where n is the number of available diary entries for the week. The minimum possible pain score for a week would be 0 and the maximum possible would be 70. Difference in the average weekly pain score at Week 12 is the score at each week minus baseline.

Time frame: Baseline to 12 week treatment period

Population: Intent-to-Treat (ITT) population - defined as all subjects who were randomized and had an ICF. The ITT population was the primary population for the analysis of primary and secondary endpoints.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboChange From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryWeek 1228.3 average weekly pain scoreStandard Deviation 16.8
PlaceboChange From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryChange14.3 average weekly pain scoreStandard Deviation 13
PlaceboChange From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline42.7 average weekly pain scoreStandard Deviation 10.7
300 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryChange19.8 average weekly pain scoreStandard Deviation 16.3
300 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline45.9 average weekly pain scoreStandard Deviation 9.1
300 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryWeek 1226.1 average weekly pain scoreStandard Deviation 17.1
600 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryChange17.9 average weekly pain scoreStandard Deviation 18.1
600 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline46.3 average weekly pain scoreStandard Deviation 10
600 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryWeek 1228.4 average weekly pain scoreStandard Deviation 18.1
900 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryChange15.9 average weekly pain scoreStandard Deviation 14.4
900 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryBaseline44.2 average weekly pain scoreStandard Deviation 11.3
900 mg DA-9801Change From Baseline Within Group- Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Compared to Baseline as Assessed by Daily DiaryWeek 1228.3 average weekly pain scoreStandard Deviation 18.5
Secondary

Difference in Average Weekly Most Severe Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary

Most severe 24-hour pain intensity was assessed daily based on the 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Average weekly most severe pain scores are defined as 7\* \[(Pain Day 1 + Pain Day 2 + …+ Pain Day n)\]/n where n is the number of available diary entries for the week. The minimum possible pain score for a week would be 0 and the maximum possible would be 70. Difference in the average weekly pain score at Week 12 is the score at each week minus baseline .

Time frame: Baseline to 12 week treatment period

Population: Intent-to-Treat (ITT) population - defined as all subjects who were randomized and had an ICF. The ITT population was the primary population for the analysis of primary and secondary endpoints.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboDifference in Average Weekly Most Severe Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary16 weekly most severe pain scoreStandard Deviation 14.7
300 mg DA-9801Difference in Average Weekly Most Severe Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary23.2 weekly most severe pain scoreStandard Deviation 17.3
600 mg DA-9801Difference in Average Weekly Most Severe Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary19.7 weekly most severe pain scoreStandard Deviation 19.6
900 mg DA-9801Difference in Average Weekly Most Severe Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary18.9 weekly most severe pain scoreStandard Deviation 15.9
Secondary

Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary

Overnight pain intensity was assessed daily based on the 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Average weekly overnight pain scores are defined as 7\* \[(Pain Day 1 + Pain Day 2 + …+ Pain Day n)\]/n where n is the number of available diary entries for the week. The minimum possible pain score for a week would be 0 and the maximum possible would be 70. Difference in the average weekly overnight pain score at Week 12 is the score at each week minus baseline

Time frame: Baseline to 12 week treatment period

Population: Intent-to-Treat (ITT) population - defined as all subjects who were randomized and had an ICF. The ITT population was the primary population for the analysis of primary and secondary endpoints.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboDifference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary14.3 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 14
300 mg DA-9801Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary19.9 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 16.4
600 mg DA-9801Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary19 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 18.1
900 mg DA-9801Difference in Average Weekly Overnight Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary16.9 average weekly overnight pain scoreStandard Deviation 15.5
Secondary

Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary

Average 24-hour pain intensity was assessed daily based on the 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). Average weekly pain scores are defined as 7\* \[(Pain Day 1 + Pain Day 2 + …+ Pain Day n)\]/n where n is the number of available diary entries for the week. The minimum pain score for a week would be 0 and the maximum would be 70. Difference in the average weekly pain score at Week 12 is the score for each week minus the baseline .

Time frame: Baseline to 12 week treatment period

Population: Intent-to-Treat (ITT) population - defined as all subjects who were randomized and had an ICF. The ITT population was the primary population for the analysis of primary and secondary endpoints.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboDifference in Average Weekly Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary14.3 Average weekly group pain scoreStandard Deviation 13
300 mg DA-9801Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary19.8 Average weekly group pain scoreStandard Deviation 16.3
600 mg DA-9801Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary17.9 Average weekly group pain scoreStandard Deviation 18.1
900 mg DA-9801Difference in Average Weekly Pain Score Between Dose Groups as Assessed by Daily Diary15.9 Average weekly group pain scoreStandard Deviation 14.4
Secondary

Number of Participants Considered to be Responders on Global Impression of Improvement (PGI-I) at Week 12

PGI measures the subject's overall improvement in pain. The assessment was to be completed each week during the Treatment Phase. Global impression of improvement was assessed by the subject based on a 7 point scale (1-very much improved, 2-much improved, 3-minimally improved, 4-no change, 5-minimally worse, 6-much worse, 7-very much worse. Responders are defined as subjects with response of very much improved, much improved or minimally improved

Time frame: Week 12

Population: Intent-to-Treat (ITT) population - defined as all subjects who were randomized and had an ICF. The ITT population was the primary population for the analysis of primary and secondary endpoints.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
PlaceboNumber of Participants Considered to be Responders on Global Impression of Improvement (PGI-I) at Week 1218 Participants
300 mg DA-9801Number of Participants Considered to be Responders on Global Impression of Improvement (PGI-I) at Week 1220 Participants
600 mg DA-9801Number of Participants Considered to be Responders on Global Impression of Improvement (PGI-I) at Week 1222 Participants
900 mg DA-9801Number of Participants Considered to be Responders on Global Impression of Improvement (PGI-I) at Week 1216 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants Number of Participants Considered to be Responders in Clinical Global Impression (CGI) at Week 12

CGI measures global severity of illness at a given point of time and the improvement from baseline. The assessment was to be completed by the Investigator at baseline and each week during the treatment phase. CGI responders were defined as subjects achieving a score of: (1): Very much improved or (2): Much improved or (3): Minimally improved on the clinician-rated CGI global improvement item.

Time frame: Week 12

Population: Intent-to-Treat (ITT) population - defined as all subjects who were randomized and had an ICF. The ITT population was the primary population for the analysis of primary and secondary endpoints.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
PlaceboNumber of Participants Number of Participants Considered to be Responders in Clinical Global Impression (CGI) at Week 1219 Participants
300 mg DA-9801Number of Participants Number of Participants Considered to be Responders in Clinical Global Impression (CGI) at Week 1224 Participants
600 mg DA-9801Number of Participants Number of Participants Considered to be Responders in Clinical Global Impression (CGI) at Week 1224 Participants
900 mg DA-9801Number of Participants Number of Participants Considered to be Responders in Clinical Global Impression (CGI) at Week 1221 Participants
Secondary

Number of Participants With at Least 30% Improvement Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11- Point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) at the Week 12 Clinic Visit

Pain intensity was assessed by the subject before any other protocol procedures at baseline and week 12 based on 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain). The number of participants who had achieved ≥ a 30% reduction in pain from the baseline was to be compared between the treatment groups and placebo.

Time frame: Baseline to 12 week treatment period

Population: Intent-to-Treat (ITT) population - defined as all subjects who were randomized and had an ICF. The ITT population was the primary population for the analysis of primary and secondary endpoints.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
PlaceboNumber of Participants With at Least 30% Improvement Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11- Point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) at the Week 12 Clinic Visit16 Participants
300 mg DA-9801Number of Participants With at Least 30% Improvement Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11- Point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) at the Week 12 Clinic Visit20 Participants
600 mg DA-9801Number of Participants With at Least 30% Improvement Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11- Point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) at the Week 12 Clinic Visit21 Participants
900 mg DA-9801Number of Participants With at Least 30% Improvement Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11- Point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) at the Week 12 Clinic Visit17 Participants
Secondary

Percentage Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12-week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)

Pain intensity was assessed by the subject before any other protocol procedures at baseline and at the 12- week visit using an 11-point Likert-type numerical rating scale for pain (0=no pain, to 10=worst possible pain) (Negative values indicate percentage reductions).

Time frame: Baseline and over 12 week treatment period

Population: Intent-to-Treat (ITT) population - defined as all subjects who were randomized and had an ICF. The ITT population was the primary population for the analysis of primary and secondary endpoints.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
PlaceboPercentage Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12-week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)-35.6 Percentage changeStandard Deviation 35.3
300 mg DA-9801Percentage Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12-week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)-45 Percentage changeStandard Deviation 42
600 mg DA-9801Percentage Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12-week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)-47 Percentage changeStandard Deviation 36.5
900 mg DA-9801Percentage Change in Clinic Visit Pain Score at the 12-week Visit Compared to Baseline as Assessed by the 11-point Likert Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)-41.4 Percentage changeStandard Deviation 41.2

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026