Skip to content

Erlotinib Hydrochloride or Crizotinib and Chemoradiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Stage III Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

A Randomized Phase II Study of Individualized Combined Modality Therapy for Stage III Non-small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01822496
Enrollment
59
Registered
2013-04-02
Start date
2013-11-04
Completion date
2018-06-04
Last updated
2019-08-05

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Stage IIIA Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer AJCC v7, Stage IIIB Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer AJCC v7, Stage III Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer AJCC v7

Brief summary

This randomized phase II trial studies how well erlotinib hydrochloride or crizotinib with chemoradiation therapy works in treating patients with stage III non-small cell lung cancer. Radiation therapy uses high energy x rays to kill tumor cells. Specialized radiation therapy that delivers a high dose of radiation directly to the tumor may kill more tumor cells and cause less damage to normal tissue. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cisplatin, etoposide, paclitaxel, and carboplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. It is not yet known whether giving erlotinib hydrochloride is more effective than crizotinib with chemoradiation therapy in treating patients with non-small cell lung cancer.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To assess whether patients with unresectable local-regionally advanced non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) treated with targeted agents based on molecular characteristics have a longer progression-free survival than those treated with standard care therapy alone. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To evaluate response rate. II. To assess toxicity. III. To assess overall survival. IV. To correlate clinical outcomes with tumor molecular aberrations identified from deep sequencing of selected kinomes in patients from whom adequate baseline tissue is available. OUTLINE: Eligible patients are assigned to one of two cohorts based on pre-enrollment screening by the enrolling institution for two biomarkers: EGFR TK mutation and EML4-ALK fusion arrangement. Within each cohort, patients are randomized to either an experimental or control arm, resulting in a total of four treatment arms overall. Patients with both the EGFR mutation and ALK arrangement are placed in the ALK Cohort. Planned Sample Size: 156 for the EGFR mutation cohort and 78 for the ALK translocation cohort After completion of study treatment, patients are followed at 1 and 2 months, 4-6 weeks, every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually for 5 years.

Interventions

RADIATIONRadiation Therapy

30 once-daily 2 Gy fractions over 6 weeks totaling 60 Gy of intensity-modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) or 3-dimensional conformal radiation therapy (3D-CRT).

DRUGCarboplatin

Concurrent: AUC=2, IV, days 1, 8, 14, 22, 29, and 36 of radiation therapy. For patients receiving either erlotinib or crizotinib, carboplatin will begin 2 weeks after erlotinib or crizotinib, as applicable. Consolidation: 4-6 weeks after completion of RT, AUC=6, IV, days 1 and 22.

DRUGCisplatin

50 mg/m2, IV (intravenous), on days 1 and 8 of two 4-week cycles concurrent with radiation therapy. For patients receiving either erlotinib or crizotinib, cisplatin will begin 2 weeks after the completion of erlotinib or crizotinib, as applicable.

DRUGCrizotinib

250 mg, orally, twice daily for four 3-week cycles (12 weeks in total)

DRUGErlotinib

150 mg, orally, once daily for four 3-week cycles (12 weeks in total)

DRUGEtoposide

50 mg/m2, IV, on days 1 and 8 of two 4-week cycles concurrent with radiation therapy. For patients receiving either erlotinib or crizotinib, etoposide will begin 2 weeks after the completion of erlotinib or crizotinib, as applicable.

DRUGPaclitaxel

Concurrent: 45 mg/m2, IV, days 1, 8, 14, 22, 29, and 36 of radiation therapy. For patients receiving either erlotinib or crizotinib, carboplatin will begin 2 weeks after erlotinib or crizotinib, as applicable. Consolidation: 4-6 weeks after completion of RT, 200 mg/m2, IV, days 1 and 22.

Sponsors

NRG Oncology
CollaboratorOTHER
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Lead SponsorNIH

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Histologically or cytologically confirmed, newly diagnosed non-squamous NSCLC * Unresectable stage IIIA or IIIB disease; patients must be surgically staged to confirm N2 or N3 disease; patients may have invasive mediastinal staging by mediastinoscopy, mediastinotomy, endobronchial ultrasound transbronchial aspiration (EBUS-TBNA), endoscopic ultrasound (EUS), or video-assisted thoracoscopic surgery (VATS) * Patients with any tumor (T) with node (N)2 or N3 are eligible; patients with T3, N1-N3 disease are eligible if deemed unresectable; patients with T4, any N are eligible * Patients must have measurable disease, i.e., lesions that can be accurately measured in at least 1 dimension (longest dimension in the plane of measurement is to be recorded) with a minimum size of 10 mm by computed tomography (CT) scan (CT scan slice thickness no greater than 5 mm) * Patients with a pleural effusion, which is a transudate, cytologically negative and non-bloody, are eligible if the radiation oncologist feels the tumor can be encompassed within a reasonable field of radiotherapy * If a pleural effusion can be seen on the chest CT but not on chest x-ray and is too small to tap, the patient will be eligible; patients who develop a new pleural effusion after thoracotomy or other invasive thoracic procedure will be eligible * The institution's pre-enrollment biomarker screening at a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) certified lab documents presence of known sensitive mutations in epidermal growth factor receptor tyrosine kinase (EGFR TK) domain (exon 19 deletion, L858) and/or EML4-anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) fusion arrangement; either the primary tumor or the metastatic lymph node tissue may be used for testing of mutations * The institution's pre-enrollment biomarker screening at a CLIA certified lab documents absence of T790M mutation in the EGFR TK domain * Appropriate stage for protocol entry, including no distant metastases, based upon the following minimum diagnostic workup: * History/physical examination, including recording of pulse, blood pressure (BP), weight, and body surface area, within 45 days prior to registration * Whole body fludeoxyglucose-positron emission tomography (FDG-PET)/CT (orbits to mid-thighs) within 30 days prior to registration; PET/CT must be negative for distant metastasis * CT scan with contrast of the chest and upper abdomen to include liver and adrenals (unless medically contraindicated) within 30 days prior to registration * Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of the brain with contrast (or CT scan with contrast, if MRI medically contraindicated) within 30 days prior to registration * Zubrod performance status 0-1 within 14 days prior to registration * Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>= 1,000 cells/mm\^3 * Platelets \>= 100,000 cells/mm\^3 * Hemoglobin \>= 8.0 g/dl (Note: the use of transfusion or other intervention to achieve hemoglobin \[Hgb\] \>= 8.0 g/dl is acceptable) * Serum creatinine \< 1.5 mg/dL or calculated creatinine clearance \>= 50 ml/min (by Cockcroft-Gault formula) within 14 days prior to registration * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST)/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) =\< 2.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN) within 14 days prior to registration * Bilirubin within normal institutional limits within 14 days prior to registration * Negative serum pregnancy test within 14 days prior to registration for women of childbearing potential * Patient must provide study specific informed consent prior to study entry, including consent for mandatory screening of tissue

Exclusion criteria

* Prior invasive malignancy (except non-melanomatous skin cancer) unless disease free for a minimum of 730 days (2 years) (for example, carcinoma in situ of the breast, oral cavity, or cervix are all permissible) * Prior systemic chemotherapy for the study cancer; note that prior chemotherapy for a different cancer is allowable * Prior radiotherapy to the region of the study cancer that would result in overlap of radiation therapy fields * Atelectasis of the entire lung * Contralateral hilar node involvement * Exudative, bloody, or cytologically malignant effusions * Severe, active co-morbidity, defined as follows: * Unstable angina and/or congestive heart failure requiring hospitalization within the last 6 months * Transmural myocardial infarction within the last 6 months * Acute bacterial or fungal infection requiring intravenous antibiotics at the time of registration * Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease exacerbation or other respiratory illness requiring hospitalization or precluding study therapy at the time of registration; hepatic insufficiency resulting in clinical jaundice and/or coagulation defects * Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) based upon current Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) definition; note, however, that human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) testing is not required for entry into this protocol; protocol-specific requirements may also exclude immuno-compromised patients * Pregnancy or women of childbearing potential and men who are sexually active and not willing/able to use medically acceptable forms of contraception * Prior allergic reaction to the study drug(s) involved in this protocol

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Progression-free SurvivalFrom randomization to study termination. Maximum follow-up was 39.0 monthsProgression is defined using the Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST) guideline v1.1 as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions at any location. Progression-free survival time is measured from the date of randomization to the date of first progression, death, or last known follow-up (censored). No statistical testing was done due to early study termination.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Patients With Grade 3-5 Adverse EventsFrom randomization to study termination. Maximum follow-up was 39.0 monthsAdverse events (AE) are graded using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v4.0. Grade refers to the severity of the AE. The CTCAE v4.0 assigns Grades 1 through 5 with unique clinical descriptions of severity for each AE based on this general guideline: Grade 1 Mild AE, Grade 2 Moderate AE, Grade 3 Severe AE, Grade 4 Life-threatening or disabling AE, Grade 5 Death related to AE.
Overall SurvivalFrom randomization to study termination. Maximum follow-up was 39.0 monthsOverall survival time is defined as time from randomization to the date of death from any cause. Overall survival rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Patients last known to be alive are censored at the date of last contact.
Percentage of Patients With Complete or Partial ResponseFrom randomization to study termination. Maximum follow-up was 39.0 monthsPer the RECIST guideline v1.1 complete response is defined as the disappearance of all target lesions; any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. Partial response is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of the diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. No statistical testing was done due to early study termination.
Distant Progression-free SurvivalFrom randomization to study termination. Maximum follow-up was 39.0 monthsDistant progression is defined as the first occurrence of distant metastasis. Distant progression-free survival time is measured from the date of randomization to the date of first distant progression, death, or last known follow-up (censored). Distant progression-free survival rates are estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. No testing was done due to early study termination.
Correlation Between Clinical Outcomes and Tumor Molecular AberrationsBaseline
Local-regional Progression-free SurvivalFrom randomization to study termination. Maximum follow-up was 39.0 monthsProgression is defined using the RECIST guideline v1.1 as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new regional lesions. Local progression is defined as progression within the planning target volume (PTV). Regional progression is defined as progression outside of the PTV but within the same lobe of the lung as the primary tumor or in regional lymph nodes as defined by the American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) 7th edition nodal stations. Local-regional progression-free survival time is measured from the date of randomization to the date of first local-regional progression, death, or last known follow-up (censored). Local-regional progression-free survival rates are estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. No testing was done due to early study termination.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
EGFR: Erlotinib
Induction erlotinib for 12 weeks followed by chemotherapy (either cisplatin/etoposide or paclitaxel/carboplatin) and radiation therapy. Patients who have had no response (partial or complete) after 6 weeks of induction therapy start chemoradiation therapy immediately.
14
EGFR: No Erlotinib
Chemotherapy (either cisplatin/etoposide or paclitaxel/carboplatin) and radiation therapy.
21
ALK: Crizotinib
Induction crizotinib for 12 weeks followed by chemotherapy (either cisplatin/etoposide or paclitaxel/carboplatin) and radiation therapy. Patients who have had no response (partial or complete) after 6 weeks of induction therapy start chemoradiation therapy immediately.
9
ALK: No Crizotinib
Chemotherapy (either cisplatin/etoposide or paclitaxel/carboplatin) and radiation therapy.
7
Total51

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003
Overall StudyProtocol Violation2201
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject0003

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicEGFR: ErlotinibEGFR: No ErlotinibALK: CrizotinibALK: No CrizotinibTotal
Age, Customized
Age (years)
≤ 49
2 Participants3 Participants3 Participants0 Participants8 Participants
Age, Customized
Age (years)
50 - 59
4 Participants5 Participants4 Participants2 Participants15 Participants
Age, Customized
Age (years)
60 -69
4 Participants9 Participants2 Participants1 Participants16 Participants
Age, Customized
Age (years)
≥ 70
4 Participants4 Participants0 Participants4 Participants12 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
1 Participants2 Participants0 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
13 Participants19 Participants9 Participants6 Participants47 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants3 Participants1 Participants1 Participants7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants2 Participants0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
12 Participants15 Participants7 Participants5 Participants39 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
4 Participants6 Participants4 Participants5 Participants19 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
10 Participants15 Participants5 Participants2 Participants32 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 143 / 202 / 91 / 7
other
Total, other adverse events
14 / 1420 / 208 / 97 / 7
serious
Total, serious adverse events
1 / 147 / 204 / 92 / 7

Outcome results

Primary

Progression-free Survival

Progression is defined using the Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST) guideline v1.1 as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions at any location. Progression-free survival time is measured from the date of randomization to the date of first progression, death, or last known follow-up (censored). No statistical testing was done due to early study termination.

Time frame: From randomization to study termination. Maximum follow-up was 39.0 months

Population: Eligible patients

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
EGFR: ErlotinibProgression-free Survival21.1 months
EGFR: No ErlotinibProgression-free Survival9.2 months
ALK: CrizotinibProgression-free Survival14.7 months
ALK: No CrizotinibProgression-free SurvivalNA months
Secondary

Correlation Between Clinical Outcomes and Tumor Molecular Aberrations

Time frame: Baseline

Population: The data required for this analysis was not obtained and will not be obtained.

Secondary

Distant Progression-free Survival

Distant progression is defined as the first occurrence of distant metastasis. Distant progression-free survival time is measured from the date of randomization to the date of first distant progression, death, or last known follow-up (censored). Distant progression-free survival rates are estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. No testing was done due to early study termination.

Time frame: From randomization to study termination. Maximum follow-up was 39.0 months

Population: Eligible patients

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
EGFR: ErlotinibDistant Progression-free SurvivalNA Months
EGFR: No ErlotinibDistant Progression-free Survival35.9 Months
ALK: CrizotinibDistant Progression-free SurvivalNA Months
ALK: No CrizotinibDistant Progression-free Survival20.1 Months
Secondary

Local-regional Progression-free Survival

Progression is defined using the RECIST guideline v1.1 as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new regional lesions. Local progression is defined as progression within the planning target volume (PTV). Regional progression is defined as progression outside of the PTV but within the same lobe of the lung as the primary tumor or in regional lymph nodes as defined by the American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) 7th edition nodal stations. Local-regional progression-free survival time is measured from the date of randomization to the date of first local-regional progression, death, or last known follow-up (censored). Local-regional progression-free survival rates are estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. No testing was done due to early study termination.

Time frame: From randomization to study termination. Maximum follow-up was 39.0 months

Population: Eligible patients

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
EGFR: ErlotinibLocal-regional Progression-free Survival25.7 Months
EGFR: No ErlotinibLocal-regional Progression-free SurvivalNA Months
ALK: CrizotinibLocal-regional Progression-free Survival14.7 Months
ALK: No CrizotinibLocal-regional Progression-free SurvivalNA Months
Secondary

Number of Patients With Grade 3-5 Adverse Events

Adverse events (AE) are graded using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v4.0. Grade refers to the severity of the AE. The CTCAE v4.0 assigns Grades 1 through 5 with unique clinical descriptions of severity for each AE based on this general guideline: Grade 1 Mild AE, Grade 2 Moderate AE, Grade 3 Severe AE, Grade 4 Life-threatening or disabling AE, Grade 5 Death related to AE.

Time frame: From randomization to study termination. Maximum follow-up was 39.0 months

Population: Eligible patients who started study treatment

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
EGFR: ErlotinibNumber of Patients With Grade 3-5 Adverse Events0 Participants
EGFR: No ErlotinibNumber of Patients With Grade 3-5 Adverse Events0 Participants
ALK: CrizotinibNumber of Patients With Grade 3-5 Adverse Events0 Participants
ALK: No CrizotinibNumber of Patients With Grade 3-5 Adverse Events0 Participants
Secondary

Overall Survival

Overall survival time is defined as time from randomization to the date of death from any cause. Overall survival rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Patients last known to be alive are censored at the date of last contact.

Time frame: From randomization to study termination. Maximum follow-up was 39.0 months

Population: Eligible patients

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
EGFR: ErlotinibOverall SurvivalNA Months
EGFR: No ErlotinibOverall Survival35.9 Months
ALK: CrizotinibOverall SurvivalNA Months
ALK: No CrizotinibOverall SurvivalNA Months
Secondary

Percentage of Patients With Complete or Partial Response

Per the RECIST guideline v1.1 complete response is defined as the disappearance of all target lesions; any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. Partial response is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of the diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. No statistical testing was done due to early study termination.

Time frame: From randomization to study termination. Maximum follow-up was 39.0 months

Population: Eligible patients with disease assessment

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
EGFR: ErlotinibPercentage of Patients With Complete or Partial Response50.0 percentage of participants
EGFR: No ErlotinibPercentage of Patients With Complete or Partial Response26.7 percentage of participants
ALK: CrizotinibPercentage of Patients With Complete or Partial Response66.7 percentage of participants
ALK: No CrizotinibPercentage of Patients With Complete or Partial Response75.0 percentage of participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 6, 2026