Skip to content

Comparison of Processed Nerve Allograft and Collagen Nerve Cuffs for Peripheral Nerve Repair

A Multicenter, Prospective, Randomized, Subject and Evaluator Blinded Comparative Study of Nerve Cuffs and Avance® Nerve Graft Evaluating Recovery Outcomes for the Repair of Nerve Discontinuities

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01809002
Acronym
RECON
Enrollment
220
Registered
2013-03-12
Start date
2015-06-30
Completion date
2021-08-30
Last updated
2023-07-12

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Peripheral Nerve Discontinuities

Brief summary

Processed Nerve Allograft and Collagen Nerve Cuffs will be compared to assess safety and functional outcomes for the repair of nerve injuries in the hand.

Interventions

BIOLOGICALProcessed Nerve Allograft (human)
DEVICECollagen Nerve Cuff

Bovine collagen based nerve cuff

Sponsors

Axogen Corporation
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
DOUBLE (Subject, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to 65 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Peripheral Nerve Injury

Exclusion criteria

* Peripheral Neuropathy * Allergic to Bovine products such as Bovine Collagen Nerve Cuff

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Static Two-Point Discrimination (Data As-reported)Up to Month 12s2PD is measured by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm (best case scenario value possible) and 15mm. The failure to respond to stimulus was pre-defined as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). Missing or incomplete assessments were not imputed. This analysis was completed on the Per Protocol population, defined as subjects with at least 6 months follow-up and no major protocol violations. Data used for this analysis was from 6 months post-surgical follow-up to the date of each subject's latest completed s2PD assessment, whichever came last, assessed up to 12 months.
Static Two-Point Discrimination (Pre-defined Mixed Modeling Approach)Month 12Static two-point discrimination (s2PD) is measured by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm (best case scenario value possible) and 15mm. The failure to respond to stimulus was pre-defined as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). Missing or incomplete assessments were imputed as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). Missing or incomplete data was extrapolated using a pre-defined repeated measures mixed modeling approach for calculations in this analysis. This analysis was completed on the Per Protocol population, defined as subjects with at least 6 months follow-up and no major protocol violations.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percent Recovery to Pre-Injury Baseline (Contralateral Control Value) s2PD at Month 12 (Pre-defined Modeling Approach)Month 12This is the ratio of sensibility at Month 12 relative to sensibility at baseline for which the contralateral control value at Month 12 was used, expressed as a percentage. Pre-injury baseline was defined as s2PD at Month 12 in the contralateral digit associated with the target digit. Percent recovery to Pre-Injury Baseline was defined as: change from Pre-Injury Baseline (Contralateral control value) divided by the Pre-Injury Baseline Value \*100. s2PD is measured by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm and 15mm. The failure to respond to stimulus was pre-defined as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). Missing or incomplete assessments were imputed as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). This analysis was completed on the Intent-to-Treat population, defined as all subjects who were randomized.
Time to Recovery of s2PD (Data As-reported)Assessed at Month 3, Month 6, Month 9, Month 12 (some patients were seen for their 12-month visit up to 15 calendar months post-op)Time to recovery of s2PD was defined as the number of months from Operative day to the return of sensory function (defined as Medical Research Council sensory function score of S3+ or greater) at Month 3, Month 6, Month 9, or Month 12. s2PD is measured by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm and 15mm. S4 is s2PD of 2-6mm and S3+ is s2PD of 7-15mm. Those without S3+ and absent values were considered not recovered. This is the Intent To Treat population which includes all subjects that were randomized. Any subject with a value of s2PD of absent was considered not recovered and was therefore not included in this analysis.
Change in Pain Visual Analogue Scale (VAS) Scores at Month 12 (Pre-defined Modeling Approach)Month 12The Visual Analog Scale (VAS) For Pain is a patient reported outcomes scale whereby the patient indicated their current pain level by making a mark on a continuous horizontal 10 centimeter (100 millimeter) line. The distance from the 0 millimeter to the patient's mark corresponds to the amount of pain the subject is currently experiencing. VAS for Pain data were recorded as the number of millimeters from the left of the line to the patients mark across the range of 0-100 millimeters, with 0 millimeter representing no pain and 100 millimeters representing the worst pain imaginable. This is the Intent To Treat population which includes all subjects that were randomized. The analysis was performed using a standard statistical analysis on Month 12 data. Missing or incomplete data was extrapolated using a pre-defined repeated measures modeling approach for calculations in this analysis.
Medical Research Council (MRC) Classification for Sensory Function Scores at Month 12 (Data As-reported)Month 12MRC classification score is a functional recovery classification. For nerves with sensory targets, outcomes resulting from static two-point discrimination and Semmes-Weinstein Monofilament pressure threshold testing are used to determine the classification score. Sensibility testing for the target repair was performed by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool and Semmes-Weinstein monofilaments. Upper bound response for static two-point discrimination was 15mm. This is the Intent To Treat population which includes all subjects that were randomized and have a reported value at Month 12. Scale range: Minimum S0 = 0 (no sensibility), S1=1, S2=2, S3=3, S3+=4, maximum S4 = 5 (normative levels of sensibility). Higher values represented better outcomes.
Response Rate for Recovery of s2PD at Month 12 (Data As-Reported)Month 12This is the percentage of subjects who achieved sensibility as defined by s2PD 2mm-15mm at Month 12. s2PD is measured by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm and 15mm. The failure to respond to stimulus was pre-defined as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). Missing or incomplete assessments were imputed as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). This analysis was completed on the Intent-to-Treat population, defined as all subjects who were randomized.

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Participants With Persistent and Unresolved Pain (Data As-reported)Operative Day+1, Month 1, Month 3, Month 6, Month 9, Month 12No interpolated data or modeling was used for this analysis. This analysis was completed for Adverse Event (AE) criteria related to pain and hypersensitivity (Pain, Pain in Extremity, Hypersensitivity, Hypersensitivity at implant site, Neuroma, and derivations of these descriptors) beginning after Operative Day (Operative Day+1). Revision surgeries for Pain-Related conditions documented as Ongoing were also included. Recovered/Resolved AEs were not included in the analysis unless the resolution was surgical revision. Unrelated AEs were also not included in this analysis. This is the Safety population which includes all subjects that received a nerve repair.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Processed Nerve Allograft
Processed Nerve Allograft Processed Nerve Allograft (human)
112
Collagen Nerve Cuff
Collagen Nerve Cuff: Bovine collagen based nerve cuff
108
Total220

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicProcessed Nerve AllograftTotalCollagen Nerve Cuff
Age, Continuous37.2 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.6
38.5 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 13.8
39.8 Years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 14.1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
10 Participants26 Participants16 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
102 Participants192 Participants90 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
2 Participants2 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
17 Participants33 Participants16 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
1 Participants2 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
3 Participants9 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
89 Participants174 Participants85 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
112 participants220 participants108 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
34 Participants65 Participants31 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
78 Participants155 Participants77 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 1121 / 108
other
Total, other adverse events
12 / 11215 / 108
serious
Total, serious adverse events
6 / 1122 / 108

Outcome results

Primary

Static Two-Point Discrimination (Data As-reported)

s2PD is measured by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm (best case scenario value possible) and 15mm. The failure to respond to stimulus was pre-defined as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). Missing or incomplete assessments were not imputed. This analysis was completed on the Per Protocol population, defined as subjects with at least 6 months follow-up and no major protocol violations. Data used for this analysis was from 6 months post-surgical follow-up to the date of each subject's latest completed s2PD assessment, whichever came last, assessed up to 12 months.

Time frame: Up to Month 12

Population: No interpolated data or modeling was used for this analysis. Results by length of nerve gap (gap 5-14mm vs. gap 15-25mm). As there is no pre-defined numerical value for absent response/failure in as-reported data, 'absent' results were not included in this analysis. This is the Per Protocol population which includes all patients in baseline population who have completed a minimum of 6 months follow-up and have no major protocol violations.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Processed Nerve Allograft (PNA)Static Two-Point Discrimination (Data As-reported)7.3 Millimeters
Collagen Nerve CuffStatic Two-Point Discrimination (Data As-reported)7.5 Millimeters
Processed Nerve Allograft (PNA) (Gap 15-25mm)Static Two-Point Discrimination (Data As-reported)6.1 Millimeters
Collagen Nerve Cuff (Gap 15-25mm)Static Two-Point Discrimination (Data As-reported)7.5 Millimeters
p-value: 0.035Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
p-value: 0.365Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Primary

Static Two-Point Discrimination (Pre-defined Mixed Modeling Approach)

Static two-point discrimination (s2PD) is measured by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm (best case scenario value possible) and 15mm. The failure to respond to stimulus was pre-defined as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). Missing or incomplete assessments were imputed as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). Missing or incomplete data was extrapolated using a pre-defined repeated measures mixed modeling approach for calculations in this analysis. This analysis was completed on the Per Protocol population, defined as subjects with at least 6 months follow-up and no major protocol violations.

Time frame: Month 12

Population: This is the Per Protocol population which includes all patients in baseline population who have completed a minimum of 6 months follow-up and have no major protocol violations. The analysis was performed using a pre-defined statistical analysis with a non-response/failure assigned a worst-case scenario value of 16mm.

ArmMeasureValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)
Processed Nerve Allograft (PNA)Static Two-Point Discrimination (Pre-defined Mixed Modeling Approach)9.1 Millimeters
Collagen Nerve CuffStatic Two-Point Discrimination (Pre-defined Mixed Modeling Approach)9.3 Millimeters
Comparison: The analysis was performed using a pre-defined standard statistical analysis with a non-response/failure assigned a worst-case scenario value of 16mm.95% CI: [-1.087, 1.574]ANCOVA
Secondary

Change in Pain Visual Analogue Scale (VAS) Scores at Month 12 (Pre-defined Modeling Approach)

The Visual Analog Scale (VAS) For Pain is a patient reported outcomes scale whereby the patient indicated their current pain level by making a mark on a continuous horizontal 10 centimeter (100 millimeter) line. The distance from the 0 millimeter to the patient's mark corresponds to the amount of pain the subject is currently experiencing. VAS for Pain data were recorded as the number of millimeters from the left of the line to the patients mark across the range of 0-100 millimeters, with 0 millimeter representing no pain and 100 millimeters representing the worst pain imaginable. This is the Intent To Treat population which includes all subjects that were randomized. The analysis was performed using a standard statistical analysis on Month 12 data. Missing or incomplete data was extrapolated using a pre-defined repeated measures modeling approach for calculations in this analysis.

Time frame: Month 12

Population: This is the Intent To Treat population which includes all subjects that were randomized. The analysis was performed using a standard statistical analysis on Month 12 data. The analysis compared Month 12 VAS to Baseline VAS within-group. No between-group analyses were conducted.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Processed Nerve Allograft (PNA)Change in Pain Visual Analogue Scale (VAS) Scores at Month 12 (Pre-defined Modeling Approach)-24.09 Units on a scale
Collagen Nerve CuffChange in Pain Visual Analogue Scale (VAS) Scores at Month 12 (Pre-defined Modeling Approach)-24.94 Units on a scale
Comparison: This analysis compares the change in 12 Month Pain VAS scores from Baseline. Missing or incomplete data was extrapolated using a pre-defined repeated measures modeling approach for calculations in this analysis.~This analysis assesses each treatment group for clinically meaningful improvement in VAS from Baseline assuming a Meaningful Clinically Important Difference delta of 20 points (mm).
Secondary

Medical Research Council (MRC) Classification for Sensory Function Scores at Month 12 (Data As-reported)

MRC classification score is a functional recovery classification. For nerves with sensory targets, outcomes resulting from static two-point discrimination and Semmes-Weinstein Monofilament pressure threshold testing are used to determine the classification score. Sensibility testing for the target repair was performed by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool and Semmes-Weinstein monofilaments. Upper bound response for static two-point discrimination was 15mm. This is the Intent To Treat population which includes all subjects that were randomized and have a reported value at Month 12. Scale range: Minimum S0 = 0 (no sensibility), S1=1, S2=2, S3=3, S3+=4, maximum S4 = 5 (normative levels of sensibility). Higher values represented better outcomes.

Time frame: Month 12

Population: This is the Intent To Treat population which includes all subjects that were randomized and have a reported value at Month 12. In this analysis of Month 12 data, MRCC scores are assigned numeric values: S0=0, S1=1, S2=2, S3=3, S3+=4, S4=5.

ArmMeasureValue (MEDIAN)
Processed Nerve Allograft (PNA)Medical Research Council (MRC) Classification for Sensory Function Scores at Month 12 (Data As-reported)4.0 Score on a scale
Collagen Nerve CuffMedical Research Council (MRC) Classification for Sensory Function Scores at Month 12 (Data As-reported)4.0 Score on a scale
p-value: 0.526Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Secondary

Percent Recovery to Pre-Injury Baseline (Contralateral Control Value) s2PD at Month 12 (Pre-defined Modeling Approach)

This is the ratio of sensibility at Month 12 relative to sensibility at baseline for which the contralateral control value at Month 12 was used, expressed as a percentage. Pre-injury baseline was defined as s2PD at Month 12 in the contralateral digit associated with the target digit. Percent recovery to Pre-Injury Baseline was defined as: change from Pre-Injury Baseline (Contralateral control value) divided by the Pre-Injury Baseline Value \*100. s2PD is measured by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm and 15mm. The failure to respond to stimulus was pre-defined as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). Missing or incomplete assessments were imputed as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). This analysis was completed on the Intent-to-Treat population, defined as all subjects who were randomized.

Time frame: Month 12

Population: This is the Intent To Treat population which includes all subjects that were randomized and have a reported value at Month 12. The analysis was performed using a pre-defined statistical analysis with a non-response/failure assigned a worst-case scenario value of 16mm. Missing or incomplete data was extrapolated using a pre-defined repeated mixed measures modeling approach for calculations in this analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Processed Nerve Allograft (PNA)Percent Recovery to Pre-Injury Baseline (Contralateral Control Value) s2PD at Month 12 (Pre-defined Modeling Approach)54.46 % recovery
Collagen Nerve CuffPercent Recovery to Pre-Injury Baseline (Contralateral Control Value) s2PD at Month 12 (Pre-defined Modeling Approach)51.67 % recovery
95% CI: [-11.6316, 5.9541]ANCOVA
Secondary

Response Rate for Recovery of s2PD at Month 12 (Data As-Reported)

This is the percentage of subjects who achieved sensibility as defined by s2PD 2mm-15mm at Month 12. s2PD is measured by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm and 15mm. The failure to respond to stimulus was pre-defined as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). Missing or incomplete assessments were imputed as the worst case scenario value possible (16mm). This analysis was completed on the Intent-to-Treat population, defined as all subjects who were randomized.

Time frame: Month 12

Population: This is the Intent To Treat population which includes all subjects that were randomized and have a reported value at Month 12. The analysis was performed using a pre-defined statistical analysis with a non-response/failure assigned a worst-case scenario value of 16mm. Missing or incomplete data was not included in this analysis of response rate.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Processed Nerve Allograft (PNA)Response Rate for Recovery of s2PD at Month 12 (Data As-Reported)77.5 % of subjects with recovery of s2PD
Collagen Nerve CuffResponse Rate for Recovery of s2PD at Month 12 (Data As-Reported)77.2 % of subjects with recovery of s2PD
Comparison: Responders were defined as subjects achieving s2PD of 2-15 mm on the target nerve repair.p-value: 0.915Regression, Logistic
Secondary

Time to Recovery of s2PD (Data As-reported)

Time to recovery of s2PD was defined as the number of months from Operative day to the return of sensory function (defined as Medical Research Council sensory function score of S3+ or greater) at Month 3, Month 6, Month 9, or Month 12. s2PD is measured by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm and 15mm. S4 is s2PD of 2-6mm and S3+ is s2PD of 7-15mm. Those without S3+ and absent values were considered not recovered. This is the Intent To Treat population which includes all subjects that were randomized. Any subject with a value of s2PD of absent was considered not recovered and was therefore not included in this analysis.

Time frame: Assessed at Month 3, Month 6, Month 9, Month 12 (some patients were seen for their 12-month visit up to 15 calendar months post-op)

Population: This is the Intent To Treat population which includes all subjects that were randomized. Any subject with a value of s2PD of absent was considered not recovered and was therefore not included in this analysis.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Processed Nerve Allograft (PNA)Time to Recovery of s2PD (Data As-reported)8.0 Months
Collagen Nerve CuffTime to Recovery of s2PD (Data As-reported)7.8 Months
p-value: 0.792Kaplan-Meier median and 95% CI
Post Hoc

Analysis of Recovered Sensibility Measured By Static Two-Point Discrimination by Nerve Gap Length (Gap Length 13-25mm) (Data As-reported)

A post-hoc analysis was performed to determine the gap length (in mm) at which a statistically significant difference in the recovery of sensibility between treatment groups could be detected. Data were grouped by gap length, starting with 15-25 and incrementally including additional gap lengths (i.e. 14, 13 and 12) when statistical significance was observed between groups. s2PD is measured by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm and 15mm. Patients with a result of 'absent' were not included in this analysis. This analysis was completed on the Per Protocol population, defined as subjects with at least 6 months follow-up and no major protocol violations. Data used for this analysis was from 6 months post-surgical follow-up to the date of each subject's latest completed s2PD assessment, whichever came last, assessed up to 12 months.

Time frame: Up to Month 12

Population: No interpolated data or modeling was used for this analysis. As there is no pre-defined numerical value for absent response/failure in the data as-reported, patients with a result of 'absent' were not included in this analysis. This is the Per Protocol population which includes all subjects in baseline population who have completed a minimum of 6 months follow-up and have no major protocol violations.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Processed Nerve Allograft (PNA)Analysis of Recovered Sensibility Measured By Static Two-Point Discrimination by Nerve Gap Length (Gap Length 13-25mm) (Data As-reported)6.2 mm of s2PD
Collagen Nerve CuffAnalysis of Recovered Sensibility Measured By Static Two-Point Discrimination by Nerve Gap Length (Gap Length 13-25mm) (Data As-reported)7.6 mm of s2PD
p-value: 0.021Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Post Hoc

Analysis of Time to Recovery of Sensibility Measured By Static Two-Point Discrimination by Nerve Gap Length (Gap Length 11-25mm) (Data As-reported)

A post-hoc analysis was performed to determine the difference between treatment groups in the time from index surgery to the recovery of sensibility in the target nerve repair by gap length interval. Data were grouped by gap length, starting with 15-25 and incrementally including additional gap lengths (i.e. 14, 13, 12, 11, and 10) when statistical significance was observed between groups. s2PD is measured by blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm and 15mm. Time to Recovery of sensibility is defined as the month of the subject's visit where they achieved subject's achievement of s2PD of 2-15 mm and maintained s2PD through their last visit. This analysis was completed on the Per Protocol population, defined as subjects with at least 6 months follow-up and no major protocol violations.

Time frame: Assessed at Month 3, Month 6, Month 9, and Month 12

Population: The failure to respond to stimulus was not recorded, thus only subjects with recovered sensibility are included in this data set. No interpolated data or modeling was used for this analysis. This is the Per Protocol population which includes all subjects in baseline population who have completed a minimum of 6 months follow-up and have no major protocol violations.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Processed Nerve Allograft (PNA)Analysis of Time to Recovery of Sensibility Measured By Static Two-Point Discrimination by Nerve Gap Length (Gap Length 11-25mm) (Data As-reported)4.4 Months
Collagen Nerve CuffAnalysis of Time to Recovery of Sensibility Measured By Static Two-Point Discrimination by Nerve Gap Length (Gap Length 11-25mm) (Data As-reported)5.4 Months
p-value: 0.037Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Post Hoc

Analysis of Time to Recovery of Sensibility Measured By Static Two-Point Discrimination (Gaps 15-25 mm) (Data As-reported)

A post-hoc analysis was performed to determine the difference between treatment groups in the time from index surgery to the recovery of sensibility in the target nerve repair. s2PD is measured by a blinded assessor using a standardized discriminator tool that measures the innervation density and the subject's ability to discern between a single point and two distinct points between 2mm and 15mm. Time to Recovery of sensibility is defined as the month of the subject's visit where they achieved s2PD of 2-15 mm and maintained s2PD through their last visit. Missing or incomplete assessments were not imputed. This analysis was completed on the Per Protocol population, defined as subjects with at least 6 months follow-up and no major protocol violations.

Time frame: Assessed at Month 1, Month 3, Month 6, Month 9, Month 12

Population: No interpolated data or modeling was used for this analysis. This is the Per Protocol population which includes all subjects in baseline population who have completed a minimum of 6 months follow-up and have no major protocol violations. Results are a subset of the Per Protocol population by length of nerve gap for Month 1 to Month 12.

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)
Processed Nerve Allograft (PNA)Analysis of Time to Recovery of Sensibility Measured By Static Two-Point Discrimination (Gaps 15-25 mm) (Data As-reported)3.0 Months
Collagen Nerve CuffAnalysis of Time to Recovery of Sensibility Measured By Static Two-Point Discrimination (Gaps 15-25 mm) (Data As-reported)5.6 Months
p-value: 0.012Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Other Pre-specified

Number of Participants With Persistent and Unresolved Pain (Data As-reported)

No interpolated data or modeling was used for this analysis. This analysis was completed for Adverse Event (AE) criteria related to pain and hypersensitivity (Pain, Pain in Extremity, Hypersensitivity, Hypersensitivity at implant site, Neuroma, and derivations of these descriptors) beginning after Operative Day (Operative Day+1). Revision surgeries for Pain-Related conditions documented as Ongoing were also included. Recovered/Resolved AEs were not included in the analysis unless the resolution was surgical revision. Unrelated AEs were also not included in this analysis. This is the Safety population which includes all subjects that received a nerve repair.

Time frame: Operative Day+1, Month 1, Month 3, Month 6, Month 9, Month 12

Population: No interpolated data or modeling was used for this analysis. This is the Safety population which includes all subjects that received a nerve repair.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Processed Nerve Allograft (PNA)Number of Participants With Persistent and Unresolved Pain (Data As-reported)2 Participants
Collagen Nerve CuffNumber of Participants With Persistent and Unresolved Pain (Data As-reported)9 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026