Skip to content

Liposomal Cytarabine-Daunorubicin CPX-351 in Treating Patients With Untreated Myelodysplastic Syndrome or Acute Myeloid Leukemia

Liposomal Cytarabine and Daunorubicin (CPX-351) for Adults With Untreated High-Risk MDS and Non-APL AML at High Risk of Treatment-Related Mortality

Status
Completed
Phases
NA
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01804101
Enrollment
48
Registered
2013-03-05
Start date
2013-05-07
Completion date
2017-01-10
Last updated
2018-05-25

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Acute Biphenotypic Leukemia, Acute Myeloid Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndrome, Untreated Adult Acute Myeloid Leukemia

Brief summary

This randomized clinical trial studies liposomal cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351 in treating patients with untreated myelodysplastic syndrome or acute myeloid leukemia. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as liposomal cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. Estimate whether the 32 units/m\^2 or the 64 units/m\^2 or both dose levels of CPX-351 (liposomal cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351) are likely to improve treatment-related mortality (TRM) rate while keeping the complete remission (CR) rate constant in patients with untreated high-risk myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) or non-acute promyelocytic leukemia (APL) acute myeloid leukemia (AML) at high risk of TRM. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. Describe the CR/CR with incomplete platelet count recovery (CRp) rate after up to 4 cycles of induction/re-induction therapy. II. Describe the event-free survival, disease-free survival, and overall survival of patients who achieve CR/CRp. III. Estimate the frequency and severity of regimen-associated toxicities. OUTLINE: Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. ARM I: INDUCTION/RE-INDUCTION: Patients receive lower-dose liposomal cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351 intravenously (IV) over 90 minutes on days 1, 3, and 5. Treatment repeats every 40 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients achieving CR or CRp continue on to consolidation. CONSOLIDATION: Patients receive lower-dose liposomal cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351 IV over 90 minutes on days 1 and 3. Treatment repeats every 40 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. ARM II: (closed to accrual effective 4/21/14) INDUCTION/RE-INDUCTION: Patients receive higher-dose liposomal cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351 IV over 90 minutes on days 1, 3, and 5. Treatment repeats every 40 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients achieving CR or CRp continue on to consolidation. CONSOLIDATION: Patients receive higher-dose liposomal cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351 IV over 90 minutes on days 1 and 3. Treatment repeats every 40 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up for 1 month.

Interventions

OTHERLaboratory Biomarker Analysis

Correlative studies

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Diagnosis of untreated high-risk MDS (\>= 10% blasts) or AML other than acute promyelocytic leukemia (APL) with t(15;17)(q22;q12) or variants according to the 2008 World Health Organization (WHO) classification; patients with biphenotypic AML are eligible; outside diagnostic material is acceptable as long as peripheral blood and/or bone marrow slides are reviewed at the study institution and cytogenetic/molecular information is available * Prior hydroxyurea for AML is permitted but should be discontinued prior to start of CPX-351 treatment * Azacitidine, decitabine, lenalidomide, and growth factors are permitted for low-risk MDS (\< 10% blasts); all treatments for MDS should be discontinued prior to start of CPX-351 treatment * Treatment-related mortality (TRM) score \>= 13.1 as calculated with simplified model * Bilirubin \< 2.0 mg/mL x upper limit of normal; this requirement reflects the excretion of CPX-351 by the liver * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST)/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) \< 4.0 x upper limit of normal; this requirement reflects the excretion of CPX-351 by the liver * Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) \>= 40%, assessed within 28 days prior to registration, e.g. by multi gated acquisition (MUGA) scan or echocardiography, or other appropriate diagnostic modality * Patients with symptoms/signs of hyperleukocytosis or white blood cell (WBC) \> 100,000/uL can be treated with leukapheresis prior to enrollment * Provide signed written informed consent

Exclusion criteria

* Refractory/relapsing blast crisis of chronic myelogenous leukemia (CML) * Concomitant illness associated with a likely survival of \< 1 year * Active systemic fungal, bacterial, viral, or other infection, unless under treatment with anti-microbials and controlled/stable, as defined as being afebrile and hemodynamically stable for 24-48 hours

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Treatment-related Mortality Rate. (TRM)Up to 1 month after completion of study treatmentEstimate whether the 32 units/m2 or the 64 units/m2 or both dose levels of CPX-351 are likely to improve treatment-related mortality (TRM) rate while keeping the CR rate constant in patients with untreated high-risk MDS or non-APL AML at high risk of TRM.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Remission Rate (CR+CRp)Up to day 28Overall Remission Rate for the CR/CR with incomplete platelet count recovery (CRp) rate after up to 4 cycles of induction/re-induction therapy.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm I (Lower-dose Liposomal Cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351)
INDUCTION/RE-INDUCTION: Patients receive lower-dose liposomal cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351 IV over 90 minutes on days 1, 3, and 5. Treatment repeats every 40 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients achieving CR or CRp continue on to consolidation. CONSOLIDATION: Patients receive lower-dose liposomal cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351 IV over 90 minutes on days 1 and 3. Treatment repeats every 40 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Laboratory Biomarker Analysis: Correlative studies Liposomal Cytarabine-Daunorubicin CPX-351: Given IV
38
Arm II (Closed to Accrual Effective 4/21/14)
INDUCTION/RE-INDUCTION: Patients receive higher-dose liposomal cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351 IV over 90 minutes on days 1, 3, and 5. Treatment repeats every 40 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients achieving CR or CRp continue on to consolidation. CONSOLIDATION: Patients receive higher-dose liposomal cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351 IV over 90 minutes on days 1 and 3. Treatment repeats every 40 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Laboratory Biomarker Analysis: Correlative studies Liposomal Cytarabine-Daunorubicin CPX-351: Given IV
10
Total48

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicArm I (Lower-dose Liposomal Cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351)Arm II (Closed to Accrual Effective 4/21/14)Total
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
28 Participants8 Participants36 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
10 Participants2 Participants12 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
38 Participants10 Participants48 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
3 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
35 Participants10 Participants45 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
38 Participants10 Participants48 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
13 Participants3 Participants16 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
25 Participants7 Participants32 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
10 / 385 / 10
other
Total, other adverse events
38 / 3810 / 10
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 380 / 10

Outcome results

Primary

Treatment-related Mortality Rate. (TRM)

Estimate whether the 32 units/m2 or the 64 units/m2 or both dose levels of CPX-351 are likely to improve treatment-related mortality (TRM) rate while keeping the CR rate constant in patients with untreated high-risk MDS or non-APL AML at high risk of TRM.

Time frame: Up to 1 month after completion of study treatment

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm I (Lower-dose Liposomal Cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351)Treatment-related Mortality Rate. (TRM)6 Participants
Arm II (Closed to Accrual Effective 4/21/14)Treatment-related Mortality Rate. (TRM)2 Participants
Secondary

Overall Remission Rate (CR+CRp)

Overall Remission Rate for the CR/CR with incomplete platelet count recovery (CRp) rate after up to 4 cycles of induction/re-induction therapy.

Time frame: Up to day 28

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm I (Lower-dose Liposomal Cytarabine-daunorubicin CPX-351)Overall Remission Rate (CR+CRp)10 Participants
Arm II (Closed to Accrual Effective 4/21/14)Overall Remission Rate (CR+CRp)1 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026