Skip to content

Brentuximab Vedotin and Gemcitabine Hydrochloride in Treating Younger Patients With Relapsed or Refractory Hodgkin Lymphoma

A Phase 1/2 Study of Brentuximab Vedotin (SGN35) in Combination With Gemcitabine for Pediatric and Young Adult Patients With Relapsed or Refractory Hodgkin Lymphoma

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01780662
Enrollment
46
Registered
2013-01-31
Start date
2013-01-31
Completion date
2021-09-30
Last updated
2021-10-28

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Recurrent Adult Hodgkin Lymphoma, Recurrent Childhood Hodgkin Lymphoma, Refractory Childhood Hodgkin Lymphoma

Brief summary

This phase I/II trial studies the side effects and the best dose of brentuximab vedotin when given together with gemcitabine hydrochloride and to see how well they work in treating younger patients with Hodgkin lymphoma that has returned or does not respond to treatment. Monoclonal antibodies, such as brentuximab vedotin, may find cancer cells and help kill them. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as gemcitabine hydrochloride, work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving brentuximab vedotin together with gemcitabine hydrochloride may kill more cancer cells.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To estimate the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) and/or recommended Phase 2 dose of brentuximab vedotin in combination with gemcitabine administered every three weeks to children with relapsed or primary refractory Hodgkin lymphoma (HL). II. To define and describe the toxicities of brentuximab vedotin in combination with gemcitabine administered on this schedule. III. To determine the complete response (CR) rate after treatment with four cycles of gemcitabine with brentuximab vedotin among patients with relapsed or refractory HL. SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. To preliminarily define the antitumor activity of brentuximab vedotin in combination with gemcitabine within the confines of a Phase 1 study. II. To describe the overall response rate (ORR) after 4 cycles of therapy among patients with relapsed or refractory HL. III. To describe the proportion of patients with HL able to mobilize an adequate yield of cluster of differentiation (CD) 34+ stem cells after gemcitabine with brentuximab vedotin. IV. To describe the relationship between disease response among patients with HL and changes in thymus and activation-regulated chemokine (TARC) during treatment, and to determine if specific micro ribonucleic acid (miRNA) profiles correlate with response to treatment. V. To describe the frequency of the Fc gamma receptor IIIa (FcγRIIIa)-158 valine (V)/phenylalanine (F) polymorphism among patients who experience pulmonary toxicity on this protocol. OUTLINE: This is a phase I, dose-escalation study of brentuximab vedotin followed by a phase II study. (Phase I completed as of amendment 4) Patients receive brentuximab vedotin intravenously (IV) over 30 minutes on day 1 and gemcitabine hydrochloride IV over 100 minutes on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 15 more courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with CR after any course may go off protocol therapy for stem cell transplant. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 3, 6, 9, 12, 18, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months.

Interventions

DRUGBrentuximab Vedotin

Given IV

DRUGGemcitabine Hydrochloride

Given IV

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Lead SponsorNIH

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
13 Months to 30 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patients must have had histologic verification of the malignancy at original diagnosis; patients must have histologic verification of recurrent Hodgkin disease at the time of relapse; no additional biopsy is required for patients with primary refractory disease (i.e. no prior CR) * PARTS A AND B: Patients with Hodgkin lymphoma (HL) are eligible for both the phase 1 and 2 portions, if they are in one of the following categories: * Primary refractory disease (i.e. no prior CR) * Very early relapse (\< 6 months from the end of initial therapy, including chemotherapy ± radiation) * Advanced stage (III or IV) at diagnosis who relapse less than one year from the end of initial therapy * Note that patients with low-stage disease (IA or IIA) at initial diagnosis, who were treated with radiation alone or fewer than four cycles of chemotherapy will NOT be eligible * Patients must have measurable disease, documented by clinical and radiographic criteria * Patients must have a life expectancy of \>= 8 weeks (\>= 56 days) * Karnofsky \>= 50% for patients \> 16 years of age and Lansky \>= 50 for patients =\< 16 years of age; patients who are unable to walk because of paralysis, but who are up in a wheelchair, will be considered ambulatory for the purpose of assessing the performance score * Patients must have fully recovered from the acute toxic effects of all prior anti-cancer chemotherapy * At least 14 days after the last dose of myelosuppressive chemotherapy (28 days if prior nitrosourea); Note: cytoreduction with hydroxyurea can be initiated and continued for up to 24 hours prior to the start of therapy * At least 14 days after the last dose of a long-acting growth factor (e.g. Neulasta) or 7 days for short-acting growth factor; for agents that have known adverse events occurring beyond 7 days after administration, this period must be extended beyond the time during which adverse events are known to occur; the duration of this interval must be discussed with the study chair * At least 7 days after the last dose of a biologic agent; for agents that have known adverse events occurring beyond 7 days after administration, this period must be extended beyond the time during which adverse events are known to occur; the duration of this interval must be discussed with the study chair * At least 42 days after the completion of any type of immunotherapy, e.g. tumor vaccines * At least 3 half-lives of the antibody after the last dose of a monoclonal antibody * At least 14 days after local palliative radiation therapy (XRT) (small port); at least 150 days must have elapsed if prior total body irradiation (TBI), craniospinal XRT or if \>= 50% radiation of pelvis; at least 42 days must have elapsed if other substantial bone marrow (BM) radiation * Patients with prior autologous or allogeneic stem cell transplant (SCT) are excluded from this study * At least 28 days must have elapsed since the most recent dose of bleomycin, to allow adequate time to detect evidence of bleomycin-related pulmonary toxicity * PART A: FOR PATIENTS WITH KNOWN BONE MARROW INVOLVEMENT (Completed as of Amendment 4) * Peripheral absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>= 1000/uL * Platelet count \>= 100,000/uL (transfusion independent, defined as not receiving platelet transfusions for at least 7 days prior to enrollment) * PART B: FOR PATIENTS WITHOUT KNOWN BONE MARROW INVOLVEMENT * Peripheral absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>= 750/uL * Platelet count \>= 75,000/uL (transfusion independent, defined as not receiving platelet transfusions for at least 7 days prior to enrollment) * Patients with lymphoma metastatic to bone marrow who have granulocytopenia, anemia, and/or thrombocytopenia will be eligible for study but not evaluable for hematologic toxicity (in Part A, there will be a maximum of one per cohort); such patients must meet the blood counts as in Part A (may receive transfusions provided they are not known to be refractory to red cell or platelet transfusions); if dose-limiting hematologic toxicity is observed, all subsequent patients enrolled in Part A must be evaluable for hematologic toxicity * Creatinine clearance or radioisotope glomerular filtration rate (GFR) \>= 70 ml/min/1.73 m\^2 OR * A serum creatinine based on age/gender as follows: * =\< 0.6 mg/dL (for 1 to \< 2 years of age) * =\< 0.8 mg/dL (for 2 to \< 6 years of age) * =\< 1.0 mg/dL (for 6 to \< 10 years of age) * =\< 1.2 mg/dL (for 10 to \< 13 years of age) * =\< 1.4 mg/dL (for females \>= 13 years of age) * =\< 1.5 mg/dL (for males 13 to \< 16 years of age) * =\< 1.7 mg/dL (for males \>= 16 years of age) * Bilirubin (sum of conjugated + unconjugated) =\< 1.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN) for age * Serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase (SGPT) (alanine aminotransferase \[ALT\]) \< 2.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN) for age; for the purpose of this study, the ULN for SGPT is 45 U/L * Serum albumin \>= 2 g/dL * No evidence of dyspnea at rest, no exercise intolerance due to pulmonary insufficiency, and a pulse oximetry \> 92% while breathing room air * Forced expiratory volume in one second (FEV1)/forced vital capacity (FVC) \> 60% by pulmonary function test (PFT), unless due to large mediastinal mass from HL; carbon monoxide diffusion capacity (DLCO), FEV1, and forced vital capacity all \> 50% predicted value; Note: pulmonary function testing is not required for children \< 8 years old, or for any child who is developmentally unable to comply with pulmonary function testing * Patients with seizure disorder may be enrolled if on anticonvulsants and well controlled * Nervous system disorders (Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events \[CTCAE\] version \[v\] 4) resulting from prior therapy must be \< grade 2

Exclusion criteria

* Pregnant or breast-feeding women will not be entered on this study; pregnancy tests must be obtained in girls who are post-menarchal; males or females of reproductive potential may not participate unless they have agreed to use an effective contraceptive method during protocol therapy and for at least 30 days after the last dose of brentuximab vedotin; abstinence is an acceptable method of birth control * Concomitant medications * Patients receiving stable or decreasing corticosteroids are not eligible for other concurrent conditions (e.g. asthma, autoimmune diseases, rash, documented adrenal insufficiency) are eligible for this study * Patients who are currently receiving another investigational drug are not eligible * Patients who are currently receiving other anti-cancer agents are not eligible * Patients who have an uncontrolled infection are not eligible * Patients with an immunodeficiency that existed prior to diagnosis, such as primary immunodeficiency syndromes, organ transplant recipients and children on current systemic immunosuppressive agents are not eligible * Patients known to be positive for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) are not eligible * Prior therapy * Patients with prior exposure to brentuximab vedotin are not eligible; NOTE: prior exposure to gemcitabine is NOT an exclusion criterion * Patients who have undergone prior autologous or allogeneic SCT are not eligible * Patients with HL who were stage IA or IIA at initial diagnosis and treated with either radiation alone or \< 4 cycles of chemotherapy are not eligible * Patients who have received a prior solid organ transplantation are not eligible * Patients with known hypersensitivity to Escherichia coli (E.coli)-derived proteins, filgrastim, or any component of filgrastim are not eligible * Patients who in the opinion of the investigator may not be able to comply with the safety monitoring requirements of the study are not eligible * All patients and/or their parents or legal guardians must sign a written informed consent * All institutional, Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and National Cancer Institute (NCI) requirements for human studies must be met

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) for Brentuximab VedotinDuring cycle 1 of protocol therapy (21 days)MTD was determined as the maximum dose at which fewer than one-third of patients experience Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) as assessed by National Cancer Institute (NCI) CTCAE v 4.0 during Cycle 1 of therapy. Gemcitabine was administered on days 1 and 8 of a 21 day cycle at a fixed dose. Brentuximab vedotin was investigated at a starting dose of 1.4 mg/kg administered on day 1 and escalated if tolerated.
Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.013 months from first doseThe number of eligible patients assigned to receive brentuximab vedotin in combination with gemcitabine that experienced CTC Version 4, grade 3 or higher adverse events during Phase 1 and Phase 2.
The Number of Patients With Relapsed or Refractory HL Who Achieved Complete Response (CR)After 4 cycles (21 days per cycle) of protocol therapyThe number of patients who experienced complete Response (CR) within the first four cycles. By modern response criteria, those with partial response (PR) or stable disease with all target lesions with Deauville scores \<=3 after cycle 4 are also considered as CR. Patients were assessed after treatment with four cycles of gemcitabine with brentuximab vedotin. CR was only reported for Dose level 2 across both phases of study.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Plasma Level of Thymus and Activation-Regulated Chemokine (TARC)From baseline to time prior to cycle 2Limit to 41 evaluable patients who received dose 1.8 mg/kg
The Number of Patients Who Had Disease Response Assessed by Deauville Scales Among Those in Phase I With Dose Level 2.Up to 13 months from first doseThe Deauville five-point scale was used to assess the number of participants with complete response (CR) and partial response (PR). A lower score indicates a better outcome. Scores of 1-3 represent CR and 4-5 represent PR.
Number of Patients With FcyRIIIa-158 V/F (Valine/Phenylalanine) PolymorphismFrom the end of first dose to the end of last dose (Up to 13 Months)Among patients who received 1.8mg/kg dose, the frequency of the FcγRIIIa-158 V/F polymorphism are described.
Correlation Between Micro Ribonucleic Acid (miRNA) and Disease Response to Protocol TreatmentFrom the end of first dose to the end of last dose (Up to 13 Months)Limit to 41 evaluable patients who received dose 1.8 mg/kg
Percentage of Patients Who Achieved Overall Response (OR) as Measured by Complete Response (CR) and Partial Response (PR)After 4 cycles (21 days per cycle) of protocol therapyThe percentage of patients who experienced complete Response (CR) within the first four cycles.By modern response criteria, those with partial response (PR) or stable disease with all target lesions with Deauville scores \<=3 after cycle 4 are also considered as CR. Patients were assessed after treatment with four cycles of gemcitabine with brentuximab vedotin. CR was only reported for Dose level 2 across both phases of study.
The Number of Patients Who Had Successful Peripheral Blood Stem Cell (PBSC) CollectionFrom 1 to 5 cyclesSuccessful PBSC collection was defined as a collection of more than 2x10\^6 CD34 positive cells.

Countries

Canada, United States

Participant flow

Pre-assignment details

This is a Phase I /II study. Phase I determined the Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) between the first 2 treatment arms; 16 patients enrolled and 9 patients completed therapy. The study was closed and reopened to accrual for Phase II which enrolled an additional 30 patients. Overall, 46 patients were enrolled but only 29 patients completed therapy.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Phase I Dose 1.4 mg/kg
Patients who were enrolled in Phase I and took dose 1.4mg/kg
3
Phase I Dose 1.8 mg/kg
Patients who were enrolled in Phase I and took dose 1.8mg/kg
13
Phase 2 Dose 1.8 mg/kg
Patients who were enrolled in Phase lI and took dose 1.8mg/kg
30
Total46

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002
Overall StudyAdverse Event102
Overall StudyIneligible001
Overall StudyPhysician Decision057
Overall StudyProtocol Violation010

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPhase I Dose 1.4 mg/kgPhase I Dose 1.8 mg/kgPhase 2 Dose 1.8 mg/kgTotal
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
3 Participants10 Participants24 Participants37 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
0 Participants3 Participants6 Participants9 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants2 Participants9 Participants11 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
3 Participants11 Participants20 Participants34 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants2 Participants6 Participants8 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants1 Participants5 Participants6 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
3 Participants10 Participants19 Participants32 Participants
Region of Enrollment
Canada
0 Participants0 Participants2 Participants2 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
3 Participants13 Participants28 Participants44 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
1 Participants8 Participants16 Participants25 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
2 Participants5 Participants14 Participants21 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
2 / 32 / 42
other
Total, other adverse events
3 / 328 / 42
serious
Total, serious adverse events
3 / 337 / 42

Outcome results

Primary

Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0

The number of eligible patients assigned to receive brentuximab vedotin in combination with gemcitabine that experienced CTC Version 4, grade 3 or higher adverse events during Phase 1 and Phase 2.

Time frame: 13 months from first dose

Population: All eligible patients (N=45). One patient was ineligible due to exceeding the prescribed interval between disease evaluation and study entry.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Myositis0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Abdominal pain0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Adrenal insufficiency0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Alanine aminotransferase increased1 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Anemia1 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Anorexia0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Aspartate aminotransferase increased1 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Dehydration0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Dental caries0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Diarrhea0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Febrile neutropenia0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0GGT increased0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Hemolytic uremic syndrome0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Hypophosphatemia0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Hypotension0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Infections and infestations - Other- Specify0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Investigations - Other- Specify0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Lung infection0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Lymphocyte count decreased3 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Nausea0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Neutrophil count decreased3 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Non-cardiac chest pain0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Pain in extremity0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Pericardial effusion0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Platelet count decreased0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Pneumonitis1 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Pruritus1 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Rash maculo-papular0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Skin infection0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Urinary tract infection0 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0White blood cell decreased3 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Pericardial effusion1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Investigations - Other- Specify1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Abdominal pain1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Rash maculo-papular3 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Adrenal insufficiency1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Lung infection2 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Alanine aminotransferase increased13 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Platelet count decreased13 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Anemia4 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Lymphocyte count decreased8 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Anorexia1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Myositis1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Aspartate aminotransferase increased10 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Urinary tract infection1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Dehydration1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Nausea2 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Dental caries1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Pneumonitis0 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Diarrhea3 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Neutrophil count decreased28 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Febrile neutropenia2 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Skin infection1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0GGT increased1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Non-cardiac chest pain1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Hemolytic uremic syndrome1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Pruritus0 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Hypophosphatemia2 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Pain in extremity1 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Hypotension4 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0White blood cell decreased15 Participants
Dose 1.8mg/kg (Phase I + Phase II)Adverse Events Graded According to National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0Infections and infestations - Other- Specify1 Participants
Primary

Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) for Brentuximab Vedotin

MTD was determined as the maximum dose at which fewer than one-third of patients experience Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) as assessed by National Cancer Institute (NCI) CTCAE v 4.0 during Cycle 1 of therapy. Gemcitabine was administered on days 1 and 8 of a 21 day cycle at a fixed dose. Brentuximab vedotin was investigated at a starting dose of 1.4 mg/kg administered on day 1 and escalated if tolerated.

Time frame: During cycle 1 of protocol therapy (21 days)

Population: The first 9 out of 16 patients enrolled with relapsed/refractory HL in a phase 1 dose finding study of brentuximab vedotin in combination with gemcitabine, were used in determining MTD

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) for Brentuximab Vedotin1.8 mg/kg
Primary

The Number of Patients With Relapsed or Refractory HL Who Achieved Complete Response (CR)

The number of patients who experienced complete Response (CR) within the first four cycles. By modern response criteria, those with partial response (PR) or stable disease with all target lesions with Deauville scores \<=3 after cycle 4 are also considered as CR. Patients were assessed after treatment with four cycles of gemcitabine with brentuximab vedotin. CR was only reported for Dose level 2 across both phases of study.

Time frame: After 4 cycles (21 days per cycle) of protocol therapy

Population: All eligible patients (N=42) at Dose Level 2 (brentuximab vedotin 1.8 mg/kg with gemcitabine). 4 patients were excluded. 3 patients did not receive dose level 2 and 1 patient was ineligible due to exceeding the prescribed interval between disease evaluation and study entry.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)The Number of Patients With Relapsed or Refractory HL Who Achieved Complete Response (CR)28 Participants
Secondary

Correlation Between Micro Ribonucleic Acid (miRNA) and Disease Response to Protocol Treatment

Limit to 41 evaluable patients who received dose 1.8 mg/kg

Time frame: From the end of first dose to the end of last dose (Up to 13 Months)

Population: These samples were banked but not analyzed, due to a change in research priorities.

Secondary

Number of Patients With FcyRIIIa-158 V/F (Valine/Phenylalanine) Polymorphism

Among patients who received 1.8mg/kg dose, the frequency of the FcγRIIIa-158 V/F polymorphism are described.

Time frame: From the end of first dose to the end of last dose (Up to 13 Months)

Population: 4 eligible patients did not consent for genetic studies.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Number of Patients With FcyRIIIa-158 V/F (Valine/Phenylalanine) PolymorphismHomozygous FF- Phenylalanine22 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Number of Patients With FcyRIIIa-158 V/F (Valine/Phenylalanine) PolymorphismHeterozygous FV- Valine/Phenylalanine14 Participants
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Number of Patients With FcyRIIIa-158 V/F (Valine/Phenylalanine) PolymorphismHomozygous VV- Valine5 Participants
Secondary

Percentage of Patients Who Achieved Overall Response (OR) as Measured by Complete Response (CR) and Partial Response (PR)

The percentage of patients who experienced complete Response (CR) within the first four cycles.By modern response criteria, those with partial response (PR) or stable disease with all target lesions with Deauville scores \<=3 after cycle 4 are also considered as CR. Patients were assessed after treatment with four cycles of gemcitabine with brentuximab vedotin. CR was only reported for Dose level 2 across both phases of study.

Time frame: After 4 cycles (21 days per cycle) of protocol therapy

Population: All eligible patients (N=42) at Dose Level 2 (brentuximab vedotin 1.8 mg/kg with gemcitabine).4 patients were excluded. 3 patients did not receive dose level 2 and 1 patient was ineligible due to exceeding the prescribed interval between disease evaluation and study entry.

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Percentage of Patients Who Achieved Overall Response (OR) as Measured by Complete Response (CR) and Partial Response (PR)74 percentage of participants
Secondary

Plasma Level of Thymus and Activation-Regulated Chemokine (TARC)

Limit to 41 evaluable patients who received dose 1.8 mg/kg

Time frame: From baseline to time prior to cycle 2

Population: 4 eligible patients did not consent for genetic studies. 3 of the 41 did not have baseline TARC and 6 did not have TARC prior to cycle 2.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEDIAN)
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Plasma Level of Thymus and Activation-Regulated Chemokine (TARC)Baseline5700 pg/ml
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)Plasma Level of Thymus and Activation-Regulated Chemokine (TARC)Prior to Cycle 2668 pg/ml
Secondary

The Number of Patients Who Had Disease Response Assessed by Deauville Scales Among Those in Phase I With Dose Level 2.

The Deauville five-point scale was used to assess the number of participants with complete response (CR) and partial response (PR). A lower score indicates a better outcome. Scores of 1-3 represent CR and 4-5 represent PR.

Time frame: Up to 13 months from first dose

Population: All eligible patients in phase 1, dose level 2 (N=13). 3 patients in phase 1 were not given dose level 2.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)The Number of Patients Who Had Disease Response Assessed by Deauville Scales Among Those in Phase I With Dose Level 2.8 Participants
Secondary

The Number of Patients Who Had Successful Peripheral Blood Stem Cell (PBSC) Collection

Successful PBSC collection was defined as a collection of more than 2x10\^6 CD34 positive cells.

Time frame: From 1 to 5 cycles

Population: For 21 of the eligible 45 subjects, PBSC collection was not attempted during protocol therapy, either because stem cells had been collected prior to study enrollment, or no autologous stem cell transplant was planned. 1 patient was ineligible due to exceeding the prescribed interval between disease evaluation and study entry.

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Treatment (Brentuximab Vedotin, Gemcitabine Hydrochloride)The Number of Patients Who Had Successful Peripheral Blood Stem Cell (PBSC) Collection24 Participants

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 5, 2026