Skip to content

The Study of Nasal Insulin in the Fight Against Forgetfulness (SNIFF)

Therapeutic Effects of Intranasally-Administered Insulin in Adults With Amnestic Mild Cognitive Impairment (aMCI) or Mild Alzheimer's Disease (AD)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 2Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01767909
Enrollment
240
Registered
2013-01-15
Start date
2014-01-08
Completion date
2018-12-11
Last updated
2024-11-20

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Alzheimer's Disease, Amnestic Mild Cognitive Impairment

Keywords

Intranasal insulin, Alzheimer's disease, Amnestic mild cognitive impairment, Dementia, Brain diseases, Memory problems, Mental disorders, Cognitive disorders

Brief summary

An urgent need exists to find effective treatments for Alzheimer's disease (AD) that can arrest or reverse the disease at its earliest stages. The emotional and financial burden of AD to patients, family members, and society is enormous, and is predicted to grow exponentially as the median population age increases. Current FDA-approved therapies are modestly effective at best. This study will examine a novel therapeutic approach using intranasal insulin (INI) that has shown promise in short-term clinical trials. If successful, information gained from the study has the potential to move INI forward rapidly as a therapy for AD. The study will also provide evidence for the mechanisms through which INI may produce benefits by examining key cerebral spinal fluid (CSF) biomarkers and hippocampal/entorhinal atrophy. These results will have considerable clinical and scientific significance, and provide therapeutically-relevant knowledge about insulin's effects on AD pathophysiology. Growing evidence has shown that insulin carries out multiple functions in the brain, and that insulin dysregulation may contribute to AD pathogenesis. This study will examine the effects of intranasally-administered insulin on cognition, entorhinal cortex and hippocampal atrophy, and cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) biomarkers in amnestic mild cognitive impairment (aMCI) or mild AD. It is hypothesized that after 12 months of treatment with INI compared to placebo, subjects will improve performance on a global measure of cognition, on a memory composite and on daily function. In addition to the examination of CSF biomarkers and hippocampal and entorhinal atrophy, the study aims to examine whether baseline AD biomarker profile, gender, or Apolipoprotein epsilon 4 (APOE-ε4) allele carriage predict treatment response. In this study, 240 people with aMCI or AD will be given either INI or placebo for 12 months, following an open-label period of 6 months where all participants will be given active drug. The study uses insulin as a therapeutic agent and intranasal administration focusing on nose to brain transport as a mode of delivery.

Interventions

20 IU bid taken twice daily (approximately 30 minutes after breakfast and dinner) for a total of 40 IU daily, which will be administered intranasally. The device used to administer insulin releases a metered dose into a chamber covering the participant's nose. The insulin is then inhaled by breathing evenly over a specified period.

DRUGPlacebo

Placebo taken twice daily (approximately 30 minutes after breakfast and dinner), which will be administered intranasally. The device used to administer placebo releases a metered dose into a chamber covering the participant's nose. The placebo is then inhaled by breathing evenly over a specified period.

Sponsors

National Institute on Aging (NIA)
CollaboratorNIH
Alzheimer's Therapeutic Research Institute
CollaboratorOTHER
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
CollaboratorOTHER
University of Southern California
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
55 Years to 85 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Fluent in English or Spanish * Diagnosis of aMCI by Petersen criteria or probable AD by National Institute of Neurological and Communicative Diseases and Stroke/Alzheimer's Disease and Related Disorders Association (NINCDS-ADRDA) criteria * Mini Mental State Examination (MMSE) score at screening is greater than or equal to 20 * Clinical Dementia Rating is 0.5-1 at screening * Logical Memory is less than or equal to 8 for 16 or more years of education, less than or equal to 4 for 8-15 years of education, less than or equal to 2 for 0-7 years of education. Scores measured at screening on Delayed Paragraph Recall (Paragraph A only) from the Wechsler Memory Scale-Revised * Able to complete baseline assessments * Modified Hachinski score of less than or equal to 4 * A study partner able to accompany the participant to most visits and answer questions about the participant * The study partner must have direct contact with the participant more than 2 days per week (minimum of 10 hours per week) and provide supervision of drug administration as needed * Stable medical condition for 3 months prior to screening visit * Stable medications for 4 weeks prior to the screening and baseline visits * Stable use of permitted medications * At least six years of education or work history * Clinical laboratory values must be within normal limits or, if abnormal, must be judged to be clinically insignificant by the investigator * Visual and auditory acuity adequate for neuropsychological testing

Exclusion criteria

* A diagnosis of dementia other than probable AD * Probable AD with Down syndrome * History of clinically significant stroke * Current evidence or history in past two years of epilepsy, focal brain lesion, head injury with loss of consciousness or Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition (DSM IV) criteria for any major psychiatric disorder including psychosis, major depression, bipolar disorder, alcohol or substance abuse * Sensory impairment that would preclude the participant from participating in or cooperating with the protocol * Diabetes (type 1 or type II) requiring pharmacologic treatment (including both insulin dependent and non-insulin dependent diabetes mellitus) * Current or past use of insulin or any other anti-diabetic medication * Evidence of any significant clinical disorder or laboratory finding that renders the participant unsuitable for receiving investigational drug including clinically significant or unstable hematologic, hepatic, cardiovascular, pulmonary, endocrine, metabolic, renal or other systemic disease or laboratory abnormality. * Active neoplastic disease, history of cancer five years prior to screening (history of skin melanoma or stable prostate cancer are not excluded) * History of seizure within the past five years * Pregnancy or possible pregnancy * Contraindications to Lumbar Puncture (LP) procedure: prior lumbosacral spine surgery, severe degenerative joint disease or deformity of the spine, platelets is less than 100,000 or history of bleeding disorder * Use of anticoagulants warfarin (Coumadin) and dabigatran (Pradaxa) due to LP requirement * Contraindications for MRI (claustrophobia, craniofacial metal implants of any kind, pacemakers) * Residence in a skilled nursing facility at screening * Use of an investigational agent within two months or screening visit * Regular use of narcotics, anticonvulsants, medications with significant anticholinergic activity, antiparkinsonian medications or any other exclusionary medications

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Global Measure of Cognition as Measured by the Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive 12 (ADAS-Cog12)12 months (blinded phase) followed by 6 months (open label phase)The ADAS-Cog is a psychometric instrument that evaluates memory, attention, reasoning, language, orientation, and praxis. The ADAS-Cog12 version was used in this study which includes Delayed Word Recall - a measure of episodic memory. Scores from the original portion of the test range from 0 (best) to 70 (worse) and then number of items not recalled ranging from 0-10 is added for a maximum score of 80. A positive change indicates cognitive worsening.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Change in Memory Composite as Measured by Story Recall (Immediate Paragraph Recall and Delayed Paragraph Recall) and Free and Cued Selective Reminding Test (FCSRT)12 months (blinded phase) followed by 6 months (open label phase)Memory Composite is composed from Story Recall (both Immediate Paragraph Recall and Delayed Paragraph Recall) and the Free and Cued Selective Reminding Test (FCSRT). Each of the three component scores were normalized by subtracting the baseline sample mean, and dividing by the baseline sample standard deviation, to form three separately standardized z-scores with mean 0 and standard deviation 1. The three Z-scores were summed to form the memory composite. No other standardization was performed on the sum. If any of Immediate Paragraph Recall, Delayed Paragraph Recall and FCSRT is missing, the memory composite is missing. Higher scores indicate better performance. In this study the scores ranged from about -4.74 to 9.15 at baseline, and about -5.10 to 9.43 across all visits over 12 months.
Change in Daily Functioning as Measured by the ADCS-MCI Activities of Daily Living (ADCS-ADL-MCI)12 months (blinded phase) and 6 months (open label phase)The Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study - Activities of Daily Living Scale (ADCS-ADL) is an activities of daily living questionnaire aimed at detecting functional decline in people with Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI). In a structured interview format, informants are queried as to whether participants attempted each item in the inventory during the prior 4 weeks and their level of performance. The questions focus predominantly on instrumental activities of daily living scales (e.g. shopping, preparing meals, using household appliances, keeping appointments, reading). The total score can range from 0-54. A higher score indicates greater functional ability.
Change in Cognitive Deficit as Measured by Clinical Dementia Rating - Sum of Boxes (CDR-SB)12 months (blinded phase) followed by 6 months (open label phase)The Clinical Dementia Rating - Sum of Boxes (CDR-SB) is administered as a structured interview with the participant and study partner, where impairment is scored in each of categories: memory, orientation, judgment and problem solving, community affairs, home and hobbies and personal care. Impairment is scored on a scale in which none = 0, questionable = 0.5, mild = 1, moderate = 2 and severe = 3. The 6 individual category ratings, or box scores, are added together to give the CDR-Sum of Boxes which ranges from 0-18 with higher scores indicated more impairment.
Change in Hippocampal and Entorhinal Atrophy as Measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)Screen and Month 12MRI will be used to assess the effect of treatment on rate of hippocampal and entorhinal atrophy, and conduct exploratory analyses of other brain regions. Volume change was normalized to the participant's own intracranial volume to account for each participant's brain size.
Change in CSF Biomarkers of ADBaseline and Month 12Quantify Abeta and Tau biomarkers in CSF

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)
50% of participants received 20 IU BID intranasal insulin (Humulin® R U-100) twice daily for a total of 40 IU daily for 12 months, followed by a 6-month open label period.
121
Placebo
50% of participants received placebo treatment twice daily for 12 months followed by a 6-month open label period where all participants received 20 IU BID intranasal insulin (Humulin® R U-100) twice daily (total of 40 IU daily).
119
Total240

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001
Overall StudyAdverse Event31
Overall StudyInvestigator Recommendation01
Overall StudyLost to Follow-up01
Overall StudyLP uncessessful01
Overall StudyNon-Compliance20
Overall StudyPerceived Lack of Efficacy10
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Study Partner31
Overall StudyWithdrawal by Subject47

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicPlaceboInsulin (Humulin® R U-100)Total
Age, Continuous71.06 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 6.79
70.46 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.38
70.76 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.09
Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive 12 (ADAS-Cog12)24.73 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.56
25.91 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 8.28
25.33 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 7.94
ApoE-e4 carrier status (Positive vs Negative)
Negative
42 Participants42 Participants84 Participants
ApoE-e4 carrier status (Positive vs Negative)
Positive
77 Participants79 Participants156 Participants
Clinical Dementia Rating Scale - Sum of Boxes (CDR-SB)3.35 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.51
3.59 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.51
3.47 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 1.51
Education16.31 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.92
16.07 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.64
16.19 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.78
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
5 Participants5 Participants10 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
113 Participants116 Participants229 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Memory Composite (Story Recall and the Free and Cued Selective Reminding Test)0.25 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.59
-0.16 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.47
0.04 units on a scale
STANDARD_DEVIATION 2.53
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
4 Participants1 Participants5 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
6 Participants3 Participants9 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
108 Participants117 Participants225 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
58 Participants59 Participants117 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
61 Participants62 Participants123 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
1 / 1210 / 119
other
Total, other adverse events
98 / 12191 / 119
serious
Total, serious adverse events
18 / 12110 / 119

Outcome results

Primary

Change in Global Measure of Cognition as Measured by the Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive 12 (ADAS-Cog12)

The ADAS-Cog is a psychometric instrument that evaluates memory, attention, reasoning, language, orientation, and praxis. The ADAS-Cog12 version was used in this study which includes Delayed Word Recall - a measure of episodic memory. Scores from the original portion of the test range from 0 (best) to 70 (worse) and then number of items not recalled ranging from 0-10 is added for a maximum score of 80. A positive change indicates cognitive worsening.

Time frame: 12 months (blinded phase) followed by 6 months (open label phase)

Population: Modified intent-To-Treat \[mITT\] population: All randomized participants in Impel Device with ADAS-Cog12 observed at baseline and at least one follow-up.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in Global Measure of Cognition as Measured by the Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive 12 (ADAS-Cog12)Blinded Phase (M12 change from Baseline)3.893 Modeled change score on a scaleStandard Error 0.643
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in Global Measure of Cognition as Measured by the Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive 12 (ADAS-Cog12)Open Label Phase (M18 change from Baseline)7.091 Modeled change score on a scaleStandard Error 0.937
PlaceboChange in Global Measure of Cognition as Measured by the Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive 12 (ADAS-Cog12)Blinded Phase (M12 change from Baseline)3.867 Modeled change score on a scaleStandard Error 0.65
PlaceboChange in Global Measure of Cognition as Measured by the Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive 12 (ADAS-Cog12)Open Label Phase (M18 change from Baseline)6.164 Modeled change score on a scaleStandard Error 0.942
Secondary

Change in Cognitive Deficit as Measured by Clinical Dementia Rating - Sum of Boxes (CDR-SB)

The Clinical Dementia Rating - Sum of Boxes (CDR-SB) is administered as a structured interview with the participant and study partner, where impairment is scored in each of categories: memory, orientation, judgment and problem solving, community affairs, home and hobbies and personal care. Impairment is scored on a scale in which none = 0, questionable = 0.5, mild = 1, moderate = 2 and severe = 3. The 6 individual category ratings, or box scores, are added together to give the CDR-Sum of Boxes which ranges from 0-18 with higher scores indicated more impairment.

Time frame: 12 months (blinded phase) followed by 6 months (open label phase)

Population: Modified intent-To-Treat \[mITT\] population: All randomized participants in Impel Device with CDR-SB observed at screening and at least one follow-up.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in Cognitive Deficit as Measured by Clinical Dementia Rating - Sum of Boxes (CDR-SB)Blinded Phase (M12 change from Baseline)1.682 Modeled change in test scoreStandard Error 0.195
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in Cognitive Deficit as Measured by Clinical Dementia Rating - Sum of Boxes (CDR-SB)Open Label Phase (M18 change from Baseline)2.361 Modeled change in test scoreStandard Error 0.247
PlaceboChange in Cognitive Deficit as Measured by Clinical Dementia Rating - Sum of Boxes (CDR-SB)Blinded Phase (M12 change from Baseline)1.402 Modeled change in test scoreStandard Error 0.196
PlaceboChange in Cognitive Deficit as Measured by Clinical Dementia Rating - Sum of Boxes (CDR-SB)Open Label Phase (M18 change from Baseline)2.122 Modeled change in test scoreStandard Error 0.249
Secondary

Change in CSF Biomarkers of AD

Quantify Abeta and Tau biomarkers in CSF

Time frame: Baseline and Month 12

Population: CSF collection was optional; only a subset of participants underwent the LP procedure

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in CSF Biomarkers of ADTotal Tau-4.717 pg/mlStandard Deviation 263.81
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in CSF Biomarkers of ADAbeta 42-15.552 pg/mlStandard Deviation 61.884
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in CSF Biomarkers of ADAbeta 40-264.851 pg/mlStandard Deviation 1168.995
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in CSF Biomarkers of ADp-Tau-2.764 pg/mlStandard Deviation 18.729
PlaceboChange in CSF Biomarkers of ADAbeta 40-127.539 pg/mlStandard Deviation 1600.604
PlaceboChange in CSF Biomarkers of ADTotal Tau1.937 pg/mlStandard Deviation 291.16
PlaceboChange in CSF Biomarkers of ADp-Tau-0.567 pg/mlStandard Deviation 25.293
PlaceboChange in CSF Biomarkers of ADAbeta 42-4.456 pg/mlStandard Deviation 82.156
Secondary

Change in Daily Functioning as Measured by the ADCS-MCI Activities of Daily Living (ADCS-ADL-MCI)

The Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study - Activities of Daily Living Scale (ADCS-ADL) is an activities of daily living questionnaire aimed at detecting functional decline in people with Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI). In a structured interview format, informants are queried as to whether participants attempted each item in the inventory during the prior 4 weeks and their level of performance. The questions focus predominantly on instrumental activities of daily living scales (e.g. shopping, preparing meals, using household appliances, keeping appointments, reading). The total score can range from 0-54. A higher score indicates greater functional ability.

Time frame: 12 months (blinded phase) and 6 months (open label phase)

Population: Modified intent-To-Treat \[mITT\] population: All randomized participants in Impel Device with ADCS-ADL-MCI observed at baseline and at least one follow-up.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in Daily Functioning as Measured by the ADCS-MCI Activities of Daily Living (ADCS-ADL-MCI)Blinded Phase (M12 change from Baseline)-3.63 modeled change score on a scaleStandard Error 0.769
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in Daily Functioning as Measured by the ADCS-MCI Activities of Daily Living (ADCS-ADL-MCI)Open Label Phase (M18 change from baseline)-7.35 modeled change score on a scaleStandard Error 0.925
PlaceboChange in Daily Functioning as Measured by the ADCS-MCI Activities of Daily Living (ADCS-ADL-MCI)Blinded Phase (M12 change from Baseline)-4.26 modeled change score on a scaleStandard Error 0.779
PlaceboChange in Daily Functioning as Measured by the ADCS-MCI Activities of Daily Living (ADCS-ADL-MCI)Open Label Phase (M18 change from baseline)-6.56 modeled change score on a scaleStandard Error 0.934
Secondary

Change in Hippocampal and Entorhinal Atrophy as Measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)

MRI will be used to assess the effect of treatment on rate of hippocampal and entorhinal atrophy, and conduct exploratory analyses of other brain regions. Volume change was normalized to the participant's own intracranial volume to account for each participant's brain size.

Time frame: Screen and Month 12

Population: Intent-To-Treat \[ITT\] population: All randomized participants in Impel Device. Follow-up visits include month 12 and early termination 1 (et1) visits. Percent change data is available for 3 subjects with et1 visit and 187 subjects with month 12 as follow-up.

ArmMeasureGroupValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in Hippocampal and Entorhinal Atrophy as Measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)Normalized hippocampal volume change-0.01 % change in volumeStandard Deviation 0.02
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in Hippocampal and Entorhinal Atrophy as Measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)Normalized entorhinal volume change-0.01 % change in volumeStandard Deviation 0.03
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in Hippocampal and Entorhinal Atrophy as Measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)Normalized whole brain volume change-1.35 % change in volumeStandard Deviation 1.09
PlaceboChange in Hippocampal and Entorhinal Atrophy as Measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)Normalized hippocampal volume change-0.02 % change in volumeStandard Deviation 0.02
PlaceboChange in Hippocampal and Entorhinal Atrophy as Measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)Normalized entorhinal volume change-0.01 % change in volumeStandard Deviation 0.03
PlaceboChange in Hippocampal and Entorhinal Atrophy as Measured by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)Normalized whole brain volume change-1.41 % change in volumeStandard Deviation 1.18
Secondary

Change in Memory Composite as Measured by Story Recall (Immediate Paragraph Recall and Delayed Paragraph Recall) and Free and Cued Selective Reminding Test (FCSRT)

Memory Composite is composed from Story Recall (both Immediate Paragraph Recall and Delayed Paragraph Recall) and the Free and Cued Selective Reminding Test (FCSRT). Each of the three component scores were normalized by subtracting the baseline sample mean, and dividing by the baseline sample standard deviation, to form three separately standardized z-scores with mean 0 and standard deviation 1. The three Z-scores were summed to form the memory composite. No other standardization was performed on the sum. If any of Immediate Paragraph Recall, Delayed Paragraph Recall and FCSRT is missing, the memory composite is missing. Higher scores indicate better performance. In this study the scores ranged from about -4.74 to 9.15 at baseline, and about -5.10 to 9.43 across all visits over 12 months.

Time frame: 12 months (blinded phase) followed by 6 months (open label phase)

ArmMeasureGroupValue (LEAST_SQUARES_MEAN)Dispersion
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in Memory Composite as Measured by Story Recall (Immediate Paragraph Recall and Delayed Paragraph Recall) and Free and Cued Selective Reminding Test (FCSRT)Open Label Phase (M18 change from Baseline)-0.594 modeled change score on a scaleStandard Error 0.183
Insulin (Humulin® R U-100)Change in Memory Composite as Measured by Story Recall (Immediate Paragraph Recall and Delayed Paragraph Recall) and Free and Cued Selective Reminding Test (FCSRT)Blinded Phase (M12 change from Baseline)-0.496 modeled change score on a scaleStandard Error 0.163
PlaceboChange in Memory Composite as Measured by Story Recall (Immediate Paragraph Recall and Delayed Paragraph Recall) and Free and Cued Selective Reminding Test (FCSRT)Open Label Phase (M18 change from Baseline)-0.802 modeled change score on a scaleStandard Error 0.184
PlaceboChange in Memory Composite as Measured by Story Recall (Immediate Paragraph Recall and Delayed Paragraph Recall) and Free and Cued Selective Reminding Test (FCSRT)Blinded Phase (M12 change from Baseline)-0.433 modeled change score on a scaleStandard Error 0.162

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 24, 2026