Skip to content

Acid Lipase Replacement Investigating Safety and Efficacy (ARISE) in Participants With Lysosomal Acid Lipase Deficiency

A Multicenter, Randomized, Placebo-controlled Study of SBC-102 in Patients With Lysosomal Acid Lipase Deficiency

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01757184
Acronym
ARISE
Enrollment
66
Registered
2012-12-28
Start date
2013-01-22
Completion date
2018-12-11
Last updated
2020-12-29

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Lysosomal Acid Lipase Deficiency

Keywords

Enzyme replacement therapy (ERT), Lysosomal storage disease, Late-onset lysosomal acid lipase deficiency (LAL-D), Acid cholesteryl ester hydrolase deficiency, type 2, Acid lipase disease, Cholesterol ester hydrolase deficiency, LAL-D, LIPA deficiency, Wolman disease, Cholesterol ester storage disease (CESD)

Brief summary

This Phase 3 study evaluated the efficacy and safety of 1 milligram/kilogram (mg/kg) intravenous (IV) infusions of SBC-102 (sebelipase alfa) administered every other week (qow) in participants with late onset lysosomal acid lipase deficiency (LAL-D) (cholesteryl ester storage disease \[CESD\]). Late-onset LAL-D is an underappreciated cause of cirrhosis, liver failure and dyslipidemia. There is currently no standard treatment for LAL-D other than supportive care. Enzyme replacement therapy may be a potential new treatment option for LAL-D participants.

Detailed description

Lysosomal acid lipase deficiency (LAL-D) is a genetic disease characterized by abnormal lipid accumulation in many parts of the body due to a marked decrease in activity of the enzyme lysosomal acid lipase (LAL). The LAL-D disease spectrum ranges from a presentation in infants that is rapidly progressive to a presentation that occurs in childhood, adolescence, or less frequently, in adulthood in which the rate of disease progression is more variable. Irrespective of where a patient is on the disease spectrum, LAL-D is associated with significant burden of disease and a shortened life expectancy in some patients. The non-infantile onset form of the disease, also known as CESD, occurs in both children and adults and is an under-appreciated cause of fatty liver with prominent microvesicular steatosis, fibrosis, and cirrhosis. Although the natural history of the disease has not been well studied, serious complications are frequently described, including early death, liver transplantation, or cardiovascular accidents. Other complications include premature atherosclerosis (hardening of arteries) associated with high levels of total cholesterol and low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol, often called the bad cholesterol. The levels of triglycerides can also be high and the levels of high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol (the good cholesterol) are typically low. In the past, treatments mainly focused on control of the lipid abnormalities through diet and the use of lipid-lowering medications, which only address some aspects of the disease, while progression to fibrosis and cirrhosis may still occur. In preclinical studies and clinical studies in participants with LAL-D, treatment with SBC-102 (sebelipase alfa, Kanuma®) has been shown to produce improvements in markers of liver damage and in the lipid abnormalities. The purpose of this study was to examine the effects of using SBC-102 to treat LAL-D through a placebo-controlled, randomized, double-blinded study in children and adults. This multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study involving 66 participants evaluated the safety and efficacy of enzyme-replacement therapy with sebelipase alfa (administered intravenously at a dose of 1 mg/kg of body weight qow). The study included a 20-week placebo-controlled period followed by open-label treatment periods for all participants. The primary end-point was normalization of the alanine aminotransferase level. Secondary end-points included additional disease-related efficacy and safety assessments. Final study results have not been published in a peer-reviewed journal.

Interventions

IV infusions of sebelipase alfa

DRUGPlacebo

IV infusions of matched placebo

Sponsors

Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Lead SponsorINDUSTRY

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
QUADRUPLE (Subject, Caregiver, Investigator, Outcomes Assessor)

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
4 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Participant and/or participant's parent or legal guardian provided informed consent. * Participant was ≥ 4 years of age on the date of informed consent. * Deficiency of LAL enzyme activity confirmed by dried blood spot testing at screening. * Alanine aminotransferase ≥ 1.5x upper limit of normal on 2 consecutive screening measurements obtained at least 1 week apart. * Female participants of childbearing potential must not have been pregnant or breastfeeding and must have agreed to use a medically acceptable method of preventing contraception from screening until 4 weeks after the last dose of study drug. * Participant receiving lipid-lowering therapies must have been on a stable dose of the medication for at least 6 weeks prior to randomization and was willing to remain on a stable dose for at least the first 32 weeks of treatment in the study. * Participant receiving medications for the treatment of nonalcoholic fatty liver disease must have been on a stable dose for at least 16 weeks prior to randomization and was willing to remain on a stable dose for at least the first 32 weeks of treatment in the study.

Exclusion criteria

* Severe hepatic dysfunction (Child-Pugh Class C). * Other medical conditions or comorbidities, which, in the opinion of the Investigator, would have interfered with study compliance or data interpretation. * Previous hematopoietic or liver transplant procedure. * Received treatment with high-dose corticosteroids (acute or chronic) within 26 weeks. (Note: Participants receiving maintenance therapy with low-dose oral, intranasal, topical, or inhaled corticosteroids were considered eligible for the study). * Known hypersensitivity to eggs. * Participated in a study employing an investigational medicinal product within 4 weeks prior to randomization.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percentage Of Participants Achieving Alanine Aminotransferase NormalizationDouble-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256)Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) normalization was defined as an abnormal baseline value (ALT \> the age- and gender-specific upper limit of normal \[ULN\] provided by the central laboratory performing the assay) that becomes normal (\< ULN). Alanine aminotransferase normalization was evaluated at the end of the Double-blind Period (the last double-blind assessment) and at the end of the Open-label Period (last open-label assessment). Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Percent Change From Baseline In Non-high Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (Non-HDL-C)Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).Relative reduction (percent change from baseline) in non-HDL-C, as assessed by laboratory measurements, was evaluated at the end of the Double-blind Period and the Open-label Period. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.
Percentage Of Participants Achieving Aspartate Aminotransferase NormalizationDouble-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) normalization was defined as an abnormal baseline value (AST \> the age- and gender-specific ULN provided by the central laboratory performing the assay) that becomes normal (\< ULN). AST normalization was evaluated at the end of the Double-blind Period (the last Double-blind assessment) and at the end of the Open-label Period (last open-label assessment). Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.
Percent Change From Baseline In TriglyceridesDouble-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).Relative reduction (percent change from baseline) in triglycerides, as assessed by laboratory measurements, was evaluated at the end of the Double-blind Period and the Open-label Period. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.
Percent Change From Baseline In Low-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).Relative reduction (percentage change from baseline) in LDL-C, as assessed by laboratory measurements was evaluated at the end of the Double-blind Period and at the end of the Open-label Period. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.
Percent Change From Baseline In Liver Fat ContentDouble-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).Decrease in liver fat content, as assessed by magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), was evaluated in participants for whom imaging was performed. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.
Participants With Improvement In Liver Histopathology (Decrease Of > 5% In Hepatic Steatosis Score)Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline up to Week 52.The number of participants who had an improvement in hepatic histopathology (defined as a decrease of \> 5% in hepatic steatosis score, assessed by morphometry), as determined by blinded central pathologist review, in the participants for whom liver biopsy was performed. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group.
Percent Change From Baseline In Liver VolumeDouble-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).Relative reduction (percent change from baseline) in liver volume, as assessed by MRI, was evaluated in participants for whom imaging was performed. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.
Percent Change From Baseline In High-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (HDL-C)Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).Relative increase (percent change from baseline) in HDL-C, assessed by laboratory measurements, was evaluated at the end of the Double-blind Period and the Open-label Period. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.

Countries

Argentina, Australia, Croatia, Czechia, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Russia, Spain, Turkey (Türkiye), United Kingdom, United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

A total of 56 study centers located in 17 countries were initiated in this study. Participants were enrolled and treated at 41 centers in 15 countries, including 35 primary centers where participants initiated treatment and 6 qualified local medical centers where participants who were medically stable were transferred for long-term treatment.

Pre-assignment details

To assess eligibility, participants were screened for a period of up to 6 weeks prior to enrollment in the study. A total of 86 participants were screened. Six of these participants underwent rescreening (of which 2 were eligible for the study). In total, 66 participants were eligible for the study and 20 participants were screen failures.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Double-Blind Sebelipase Alfa
Double-blind Period: IV infusions of sebelipase alfa at a dose of 1 mg/kg administered qow.
36
Double-Blind Placebo
Double-blind Period: IV infusions of placebo administered qow.
30
Total66

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003
Double-blind PeriodAdverse Event1000
Open-label PeriodDiscontinued by Sponsor0012
Open-label PeriodLost to Follow-up0020
Open-label PeriodWithdrawal by Subject0011

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicDouble-Blind Sebelipase AlfaDouble-Blind PlaceboTotal
Age, Continuous17.39 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 11.529
15.70 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.283
16.62 years
STANDARD_DEVIATION 10.93
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
6 Participants4 Participants10 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
30 Participants26 Participants56 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
3 Participants0 Participants3 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
5 Participants2 Participants7 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
27 Participants28 Participants55 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
18 Participants15 Participants33 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
18 Participants15 Participants33 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 360 / 300 / 360 / 30
other
Total, other adverse events
31 / 3628 / 3035 / 3629 / 30
serious
Total, serious adverse events
2 / 361 / 306 / 365 / 30

Outcome results

Primary

Percentage Of Participants Achieving Alanine Aminotransferase Normalization

Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) normalization was defined as an abnormal baseline value (ALT \> the age- and gender-specific upper limit of normal \[ULN\] provided by the central laboratory performing the assay) that becomes normal (\< ULN). Alanine aminotransferase normalization was evaluated at the end of the Double-blind Period (the last double-blind assessment) and at the end of the Open-label Period (last open-label assessment). Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.

Time frame: Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256)

Population: Double-blind Period: All participants in the Full Analysis Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa or placebo).~Open-Label Period: All participants in the Extension Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Double-blind Sebelipase AlfaPercentage Of Participants Achieving Alanine Aminotransferase Normalization31 percentage of participants
Double-blind PlaceboPercentage Of Participants Achieving Alanine Aminotransferase Normalization7 percentage of participants
Open-label Sebelipase Alfa/Sebelipase AlfaPercentage Of Participants Achieving Alanine Aminotransferase Normalization56 percentage of participants
Open-label Placebo/Sebelipase AlfaPercentage Of Participants Achieving Alanine Aminotransferase Normalization37 percentage of participants
Comparison: A sample size of 50 randomized participants (approximately 25 participants per treatment group) provided 97% power to detect a statistically significant difference between sebelipase alfa and placebo, using Fisher's exact test at α=0.05.p-value: 0.0271Fisher Exact
Secondary

Participants With Improvement In Liver Histopathology (Decrease Of > 5% In Hepatic Steatosis Score)

The number of participants who had an improvement in hepatic histopathology (defined as a decrease of \> 5% in hepatic steatosis score, assessed by morphometry), as determined by blinded central pathologist review, in the participants for whom liver biopsy was performed. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group.

Time frame: Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline up to Week 52.

Population: Double-blind Period: All participants in the Full Analysis Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa or placebo).~Open-Label Period: All participants in the Extension Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Double-blind Sebelipase AlfaParticipants With Improvement In Liver Histopathology (Decrease Of > 5% In Hepatic Steatosis Score)10 participants
Double-blind PlaceboParticipants With Improvement In Liver Histopathology (Decrease Of > 5% In Hepatic Steatosis Score)4 participants
Open-label Sebelipase Alfa/Sebelipase AlfaParticipants With Improvement In Liver Histopathology (Decrease Of > 5% In Hepatic Steatosis Score)7 participants
Open-label Placebo/Sebelipase AlfaParticipants With Improvement In Liver Histopathology (Decrease Of > 5% In Hepatic Steatosis Score)4 participants
p-value: 0.4216Fisher Exact
Secondary

Percentage Of Participants Achieving Aspartate Aminotransferase Normalization

Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) normalization was defined as an abnormal baseline value (AST \> the age- and gender-specific ULN provided by the central laboratory performing the assay) that becomes normal (\< ULN). AST normalization was evaluated at the end of the Double-blind Period (the last Double-blind assessment) and at the end of the Open-label Period (last open-label assessment). Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.

Time frame: Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).

Population: Double-blind Period: All participants in the Full Analysis Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa or placebo).~Open-Label Period: All participants in the Extension Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa).

ArmMeasureValue (NUMBER)
Double-blind Sebelipase AlfaPercentage Of Participants Achieving Aspartate Aminotransferase Normalization42 percentage of participants
Double-blind PlaceboPercentage Of Participants Achieving Aspartate Aminotransferase Normalization3 percentage of participants
Open-label Sebelipase Alfa/Sebelipase AlfaPercentage Of Participants Achieving Aspartate Aminotransferase Normalization69 percentage of participants
Open-label Placebo/Sebelipase AlfaPercentage Of Participants Achieving Aspartate Aminotransferase Normalization62 percentage of participants
p-value: 0.0003Fisher Exact
Secondary

Percent Change From Baseline In High-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (HDL-C)

Relative increase (percent change from baseline) in HDL-C, assessed by laboratory measurements, was evaluated at the end of the Double-blind Period and the Open-label Period. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.

Time frame: Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).

Population: Double-blind Period: All participants in the Full Analysis Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa or placebo).~Open-Label Period: All participants in the Extension Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa).

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Double-blind Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In High-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (HDL-C)19.57 percent changeStandard Deviation 16.833
Double-blind PlaceboPercent Change From Baseline In High-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (HDL-C)-0.29 percent changeStandard Deviation 12.36
Open-label Sebelipase Alfa/Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In High-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (HDL-C)31.65 percent changeStandard Deviation 28.971
Open-label Placebo/Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In High-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (HDL-C)34.78 percent changeStandard Deviation 29.927
p-value: <0.0001Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Secondary

Percent Change From Baseline In Liver Fat Content

Decrease in liver fat content, as assessed by magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), was evaluated in participants for whom imaging was performed. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.

Time frame: Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).

Population: Double-blind Period: All participants in the Full Analysis Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa or placebo).~Open-Label Period: All participants in the Extension Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa).

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Double-blind Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Liver Fat Content-31.98 percent changeStandard Deviation 26.763
Double-blind PlaceboPercent Change From Baseline In Liver Fat Content-4.21 percent changeStandard Deviation 15.559
Open-label Sebelipase Alfa/Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Liver Fat Content-9.89 percent changeStandard Deviation 32.892
Open-label Placebo/Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Liver Fat Content-0.93 percent changeStandard Deviation 37.233
p-value: <0.0001Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Secondary

Percent Change From Baseline In Liver Volume

Relative reduction (percent change from baseline) in liver volume, as assessed by MRI, was evaluated in participants for whom imaging was performed. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.

Time frame: Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).

Population: Double-blind Period: All participants in the Full Analysis Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa or placebo).~Open-Label Period: All participants in the Extension Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa).

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Double-blind Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Liver Volume-10.28 percent changeStandard Deviation 10.51
Double-blind PlaceboPercent Change From Baseline In Liver Volume-2.66 percent changeStandard Deviation 10.107
Open-label Sebelipase Alfa/Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Liver Volume-24.04 percent changeStandard Deviation 15.792
Open-label Placebo/Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Liver Volume-21.55 percent changeStandard Deviation 11.727
p-value: 0.0068Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Secondary

Percent Change From Baseline In Low-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)

Relative reduction (percentage change from baseline) in LDL-C, as assessed by laboratory measurements was evaluated at the end of the Double-blind Period and at the end of the Open-label Period. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.

Time frame: Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).

Population: Double-blind Period: All participants in the Full Analysis Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa or placebo).~Open-Label Period: All participants in the Extension Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa).

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Double-blind Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Low-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)-28.42 percent changeStandard Deviation 22.304
Double-blind PlaceboPercent Change From Baseline In Low-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)-6.25 percent changeStandard Deviation 13.015
Open-label Sebelipase Alfa/Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Low-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)-19.74 percent changeStandard Deviation 33.262
Open-label Placebo/Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Low-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (LDL-C)-18.09 percent changeStandard Deviation 33.685
p-value: <0.0001Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Secondary

Percent Change From Baseline In Non-high Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (Non-HDL-C)

Relative reduction (percent change from baseline) in non-HDL-C, as assessed by laboratory measurements, was evaluated at the end of the Double-blind Period and the Open-label Period. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.

Time frame: Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).

Population: Double-blind Period: All participants in the Full Analysis Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa or placebo).~Open-Label Period: All participants in the Extension Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa).

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Double-blind Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Non-high Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (Non-HDL-C)-27.97 percent changeStandard Deviation 18.612
Double-blind PlaceboPercent Change From Baseline In Non-high Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (Non-HDL-C)-6.94 percent changeStandard Deviation 10.922
Open-label Sebelipase Alfa/Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Non-high Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (Non-HDL-C)-19.75 percent changeStandard Deviation 26.875
Open-label Placebo/Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Non-high Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (Non-HDL-C)-18.34 percent changeStandard Deviation 29.177
p-value: <0.0001Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)
Secondary

Percent Change From Baseline In Triglycerides

Relative reduction (percent change from baseline) in triglycerides, as assessed by laboratory measurements, was evaluated at the end of the Double-blind Period and the Open-label Period. Baseline for the Open-label Period was defined relative to the first infusion of sebelipase alfa, which occurred at Week 0 for participants in the sebelipase alfa/sebelipase alfa group and Week 22 for participants in the placebo/sebelipase alfa group. The last open-label assessment varied by participant, depending on whether a participant completed treatment through Week 256 or discontinued prior to this timepoint to transition out of clinical study settings.

Time frame: Double-blind Period: Baseline to the end of the Double-blind Period (Week 20). Open-label Period: Baseline to the last Open-label assessment (up to Week 256).

Population: Double-blind Period: All participants in the Full Analysis Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa or placebo).~Open-Label Period: All participants in the Extension Set (defined as participants who received at least 1 dose \[or any portion of a dose\] of sebelipase alfa).

ArmMeasureValue (MEAN)Dispersion
Double-blind Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Triglycerides-25.45 percent changeStandard Deviation 29.411
Double-blind PlaceboPercent Change From Baseline In Triglycerides-11.14 percent changeStandard Deviation 28.827
Open-label Sebelipase Alfa/Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Triglycerides-11.87 percent changeStandard Deviation 34.58
Open-label Placebo/Sebelipase AlfaPercent Change From Baseline In Triglycerides-19.63 percent changeStandard Deviation 27.066
p-value: 0.0375Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney)

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 20, 2026