Skip to content

A Phase II Study of Pulse Reduced Dose Rate Radiation Therapy With Bevacizumab

A Phase II Study of Pulse Reduced Dose Rate Radiation Therapy With Bevacizumab

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01743950
Enrollment
49
Registered
2012-12-06
Start date
2012-12-03
Completion date
2024-12-24
Last updated
2026-03-25

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Glioma

Keywords

Glioblastoma, anaplastic glioma

Brief summary

To determine the efficacy of Pulse Reduced Dose Rate (PRDR) radiation when given in 27 fraction over 5.5 weeks with concurrent bevacizumab followed by adjuvant bevacizumab until time of progression in patients with recurrent high grade gliomas (grade III and grade IV). Patients will be placed in 1 of 4 groups based on their histologic diagnosis and prior exposure to bevacizumab.

Interventions

DRUGBevacizumab

10mg/kg every 2weeks.

RADIATIONPRDR

Daily dose of 2.0gy delivered in .2gy pulses for a total of 54gy over 5.5 weeks and 27 fractions. In the rare instance of the presence of extensive disease requiring essentially whole brain radiation, a total daily dose of 1.8 Gy delivered in .2 Gy pulses for 23 fractions to a total dose of 41.4 Gy will be utilized.

Sponsors

University of Wisconsin, Madison
Lead SponsorOTHER
Genentech, Inc.
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH

Study design

Allocation
NON_RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Histologically or molecularly confirmed Grade 3 or 4 glioma, IDH mutant or wildtype, as defined by the 2021 WHO guidelines * Recurrent disease based on combination of clinical, imaging or histologic confirmation * Must have previously received radiation and temozolomide to treat their glioma * Bevacizumab naive patients must be \> 5 months post completion of initial radiation therapy * Bevacizumab exposed patients must be \> 3 months post completion of initial radiation therapy * Age must be \>18years, KPS must be greater than 60 * Hematology, chemistry and a urinalysis must meet protocol specified criteria

Exclusion criteria

* Pregnant or breastfeeding * Uncontrolled hypertension (\>160/90mmHg) * Prior malignancy unless treated \>1 year prior to study and have been without treatment and disease free for 1 yr * active second malignancy unless non-melanoma skin cancer or cervical cancer in situ

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Survivalestimated to be an average of 12 months (the estimated mean follow-up time)time of first dose of PRDR+ Bevacizumab until time of death

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Incidence of Adverse Eventsdata collected up to 18 monthstime of first dose of PDRD+ Bevacizumab until time of death. All changes from baseline assessment will be recorded until 30 days post last dose of bevacizumab, assessed using the NCI CTCAE version 4.0 criteria.
Incidence of Late Toxicitiesdata collected up to 18 monthsLate toxicity that is likely attributable to re-irradiation or bevacizumab will be recorded.
Progression Free Survivalestimated to be an average of 12 months (the estimated mean follow-up time)Progression free survival (PFS) will be defined as the time from the first study treatment to the first occurrence of disease progression or death.
Change in Mini Mental State Exam (MMSE) Scoredata collected baseline and then approximately every 2 months for 8 months (participants did not provide data after 8 months)The MMSE survey is a clinician facilitated instrument scored on a scale of 0-30 where scores of 0-17 indicate severe cognitive impairment, 18-23 indicate mild cognitive impairment, and 24-30 indicate no cognitive impairment.
Change in Participant Reported FACT-BR Scoredata collected baseline and then approximately every 2 months for 8 months (participants did not provide data after 8 months)The Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Brain (FACT-BR) instrument is a 50-item survey with each item scored on a 5 point likert scale where 0 is 'not at all' and 4 is 'very much'. The total possible range of scores is 0-200 where higher scores indicate higher quality of life.
Change in Participant Reported FACIT-F Scoredata collected baseline and then approximately every 2 months for 8 months (participants did not provide data after 8 months)The Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy - Fatigue (FACIT-F) instrument is a 13-item survey with each item scored on a 5 point likert scale where 0 is 'not at all' and 4 is 'very much'. The total possible range of scores is from 0-52 where higher scores indicate better quality of life. A score of less than 30 indicates severe fatigue.
Change in Karnofsky Performance Statusbaseline and then approximately every 2 months for up to 10 months (data was not collected from participants after 10 months)The Karnofsky Performance Status measures a cancer patient's ability to perform ordinary tasks. It is score from 0-100 where 0 means a person has died, less than 40 is various degrees of unable to care for oneself, 50-70 is unable to work but can care for personal needs with variable assistance, and 80-100 is able to carry on normal activity with variable symptoms of disease.

Countries

United States

Contacts

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORSteve Howard, MD

University of Wisconsin, Madison

PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATORH. Ian Robins, MD, Ph.D

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Participant flow

Recruitment details

Participants were enrolled from July 2013 to May 2023.

Baseline characteristics

Characteristic
Age, Customized
20-29 years
1 Participants
Age, Customized
30-39 years
6 Participants
Age, Customized
40-49 years
7 Participants
Age, Customized
50-59 years
18 Participants
Age, Customized
60-69 years
14 Participants
Age, Customized
70-79 years
3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
36 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
49 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
2 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
0 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
5 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
EG003
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
7 / 934 / 371 / 12 / 2
other
Total, other adverse events
5 / 931 / 370 / 11 / 2
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 92 / 370 / 11 / 2

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 26, 2026