Skip to content

Dose-Escalation Trial of Carfilzomib With and Without Romidepsin in Cutaneous T-Cell Lymphoma

A Randomized Phase I Dose-Escalation Trial of Carfilzomib With and Without Romidepsin in Cutaneous T-Cell Lymphoma

Status
Terminated
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT01738594
Enrollment
7
Registered
2012-11-30
Start date
2013-03-22
Completion date
2016-10-11
Last updated
2019-08-29

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Recurrent Cutaneous T-cell Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma, Recurrent Mycosis Fungoides/Sezary Syndrome, Stage IA Mycosis Fungoides/Sezary Syndrome, Stage IB Mycosis Fungoides/Sezary Syndrome, Stage I Cutaneous T-cell Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma, Stage IIA Mycosis Fungoides/Sezary Syndrome, Stage IIB Mycosis Fungoides/Sezary Syndrome, Stage II Cutaneous T-cell Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma, Stage IIIA Mycosis Fungoides/Sezary Syndrome, Stage IIIB Mycosis Fungoides/Sezary Syndrome, Stage III Cutaneous T-cell Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma, Stage IVA Mycosis Fungoides/Sezary Syndrome, Stage IVB Mycosis Fungoides/Sezary Syndrome, Stage IV Cutaneous T-cell Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma

Brief summary

This randomized phase I trial studies the side effects and the best dose of carfilzomib when given together with or without romidepsin in treating patients with stage IA-IVB cutaneous T-cell lymphoma. Carfilzomib and romidepsin may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. It is not yet known whether giving carfilzomib alone is more effective than when given together with romidepsin.

Detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES: I. To determine the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) of carfilzomib, both as a single agent as well as in combination with romidepsin, in patients with cutaneous T-cell lymphoma (CTCL). SECONDARY OBJECTIVES: I. Overall response rate (ORR). II. Duration of response. III. Time to progression (TTP). TERTIARY OBJECTIVES: I. Measure proteasome activity concurrently in peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMCs) and tumor tissue biopsy specimens in order to gather pilot data on proteasome inhibition in CTCL patients treated with carfilzomib alone as well as carfilzomib with romidepsin. OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study of carfilzomib. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. ARM A: Patients receive carfilzomib intravenously (IV) over 30 minutes on days 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16. ARM B: Patients receive carfilzomib as in Arm A and romidepsin IV over 4 hours on days 1, 8, and 15. In both arms, treatment repeats every 28 days for at least 2-4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 3 months for up to 1 year.

Interventions

DRUGcarfilzomib

Given IV

DRUGromidepsin

Given IV

OTHERlaboratory biomarker analysis

Correlative studies

Sponsors

Amgen
CollaboratorINDUSTRY
Northwestern University
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Intervention model
PARALLEL
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
18 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

* Patients must have histological confirmation of a cutaneous T-cell lymphoma (CTCL) of any histology; confirmation of histological diagnosis must be completed prior to enrollment by the lead site (Northwestern) * Patients will be stratified by mycosis fungoides (MF) and Sezary syndrome (SS) (report diagnostic or consistent with MF/SS), stage IA-IVB according to TNM blood (TNMB) classification versus other CTCL histologies * Patients must have measurable disease (using modified Severity-Weighted Assessment Tool \[mSWAT\]) and/or use of indicator lesions must be designated prior to study enrollment (from imaging); measurable disease upon physical exam with a negative scan is acceptable * Patients must exhibit an Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of =\< 2 * Patients must have a life expectancy of \>= 3 months * Patients with MF/SS must have failed at least 1 prior topical therapy (including steroids, nitrogen mustard, retinoids, phototherapy, photochemotherapy, radiation, and total skin electron beam); there is no upper limit for prior therapies * Serum creatinine =\< 2.0 mg/dL * Total bilirubin =\< 2.2 mg/dL * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) (serum glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase \[SGOT\]) and alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (serum glutamic pyruvate transaminase \[SGPT\]) =\< 2 x upper limit of normal (ULN) * Leukocytes \>= 3,000/mm\^3 * Absolute neutrophils \>= 1,500/mm\^3 * Platelets \>= 100,000/mm\^3 * Patients must have an electrocardiogram (EKG) demonstrating QTc =\< 500 ms within 28 days prior to registration * Females of child-bearing potential and sexually active males must agree to use effective methods of contraception: * Child-bearing potential is defined as any woman (regardless of sexual orientation, having undergone a tubal ligation, or remaining celibate by choice) who meets the following criteria: * Has NOT undergone a hysterectomy or bilateral oophorectomy; OR * Has NOT been naturally menopausal for at least 12 consecutive months (i.e. has had menses at any time in the preceding 12 consecutive months) * The effectiveness of hormonal contraceptives may be reduced by romidepsin, thus effective methods should include at least 1 form of barrier contraception * Females of child-bearing potential must have a negative pregnancy test within 7 days prior to registration * Patients must be disease free of any prior malignancies for \>= 3 years * The exception to this would be currently treated squamous cell and basal cell carcinoma of the skin, carcinoma in situ of the cervix, breast, or bladder, or surgically removed melanoma in situ of the skin (stage 0) with histologically confirmed free margins of excision * Patients must give written informed consent prior to registration on the study

Exclusion criteria

* Patients who have received topical therapy, systemic chemotherapy, or biological therapy within 4 weeks prior to registration are NOT eligible for participation * Patients who have undergone major surgery within 21 days prior to registration are NOT eligible for participation * Patients who have an acute active infection requiring treatment (systemic antibiotics, antivirals, or antifungals) within 14 days prior to registration are NOT eligible for participation * Patients in whom IV fluid hydration is contraindicated (e.g. due to pre-existing pulmonary, cardiac, or renal impairment) will NOT be eligible for participation * Patients who are pregnant and/or lactating are NOT eligible for participation * Patients who have had a prior stem cell transplantation are NOT eligible for participation * Patients who have had any of the following cardiac conditions are NOT eligible for participation (unless otherwise noted): * Unstable angina or myocardial infarction within 4 months prior to registration * New York Heart Association (NYHA) class II or IV heart failure * Uncontrolled angina * A history of severe coronary artery disease * Severe, uncontrolled ventricular arrhythmias * Sick sinus syndrome * Electrocardiographic evidence of acute ischemia or Grade 3 conduction system abnormalities UNLESS the patient has a pacemaker * Patients who exhibit uncontrolled hypertension (\>= 140/90 mmHg) or uncontrolled diabetes within 14 days prior to registration are NOT eligible for participation * Patients who have experienced significant neuropathy (grades 3-4 or grade 2 with pain) within 14 days prior to registration are NOT eligible for participation * Patients who have a known history of allergy to Captisol (a cyclodextrin derivative used to stabilize carfilzomib) are NOT eligible for participation * Patients who have a contraindication to any of the required concomitant drugs or supportive treatments (including hypersensitivity to all anticoagulation and antiplatelet options, antiviral drugs, or intolerance to hydration due to preexisting pulmonary or cardiac impairment) are NOT eligible for participation * Patients with pleural effusions requiring thoracentesis or ascites requiring paracentesis within 14 days prior to registration are NOT eligible for participation * Patients who have any serious condition, laboratory abnormality, or psychiatric illness that would prevent them from singing the informed consent form are NOT eligible for participation * Patients who have had prior exposure to romidepsin or any proteasome inhibitor are NOT eligible for participation * Patients with a known human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection are NOT eligible for participation * Patients who test positive for infectious hepatitis types A, B, or C within 14 days of registration are NOT eligible for participation

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Number of Patients With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)During the first 28 days (1 cycle=28 days) of treatment.To determine the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) by assessing the adverse events experienced by patients of both carfilzomib alone and when taken with romidepsin for dose limiting toxicities (DLT) on days 1 and 15 of the first 28 days of treatment. Toxicities will be assessed according to the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v 4.0. DLT is defined as any of the following: Grade ≥ 2 neuropathy with pain Grade ≥ 3 non-hematologic toxicity Grade ≥ 3 nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea not controlled Grade ≥ 4 fatigue persisting for \> 7 days Grade 4 neutropenia (ANC \< 500/mm3) occurring for \>7 days Febrile neutropenia \[ANC \< 1000/mm3 with fever Grade ≥ 3 thrombocytopenia persisting for \> 7 days Grade ≥ 3 thrombocytopenia associated with bleeding Any toxicity requiring a dose reduction within Cycle 1 Inability to receive Cycle 2, Day 1 dose due to drug related toxicity persisting from Cycle 1 or drug-related toxicity newly encountered on Cycle 2, Day 1

Secondary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Overall Response Rate (ORR) of the Disease When Treated With Carfilzomib Alone and When Taken With RomidepsinBaseline and every 56 days (2 cycles) while on treatment and up to 4 cyclesOverall Response Rate (ORR) is defined as number of patients who's best response is complete response or partial response. Response will be categorized as complete response (CR), partial response (PR), stable disease (SD), or progressive disease (PD). The overall response rate of the study treatment will be evaluated based on skin biopsy, CT scans, and blood tests at the beginning of the study as well as every 56 days (2 cycles).
Duration of Response of the Disease When Treated With Carfilzomib Alone and When Taken With RomidepsinBaseline and every 56 days (2 cylces) until disease progressionDuration of response will be defined as the time from the point at which response is achieved until the point of disease progression. The duration of response of the study treatment will be evaluated based on skin biopsy, CT scans, and blood tests at the beginning of the study as well as every 56 days (2 cycles).
Time to Progression (TTP) of the Disease When Treated With Carfilzomib Alone and When Taken With RomidepsinBaseline and every 56 days (2 cycles) until disease progression or toxicity call for discontinuation of treatmentThe time to progression (TTP) will be measured as the time from the first dose of study therapy until the point at which disease is determined to have progressed or patients discontinue therapy for toxicity. To measure time to progression, the study treatment will be evaluated based on skin biopsy, CT scans, and blood tests at the beginning of the study as well as every 56 days (2 cycles).

Other

MeasureTime frameDescription
Proteasome Activity Will be Measured in Peripheral Blood and Tumor Tissue Samples to Observe Proteasome Inhibition While on TreatmentBlood is collected before & after carfilzomib dosing during cycle 1 (days 1, 2, & 8) & cycle 2 (day 1) & Tumor tissue samples obtained at baseline, 1-4 hours post-first dose of carfilzomib (cycle 1 day 1) & 1-4 hours post-carfilzomib on cycle 1 day 8Proteasome inhibition will be measured by evaluating proteasome activity in blood and tumor tissue biopsy specimens while on treatment of carfilzomib alone as well as carfilzomib with romidepsin.

Countries

United States

Participant flow

Recruitment details

The study opened for accrual on December 19, 2012 with the first patient being enrolled on March 22, 2013 and an accrual goal of up to 48 patients. The study was designed as a dose escalation with 3+3 cohorts and two arms. The study was closed to further accrual of patients on September 13, 2016 due to slow accrual.

Participants by arm

ArmCount
Arm A, Cohort 1 (Carfilzomib)
Patients receive carfilzomib IV over 2-10 minutes on days 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16 of each 28 day cycle. Cycle 1 day 1 dose will be 20 mg/m2, all subsequent doses (of cycle 1 and future cycles) will be stepped up to 36 mg/m2. carfilzomib: Given IV laboratory biomarker analysis: Correlative studies
3
Arm B Cohort 1 (Carfilzomib + Romidepsin)
Patients receive carfilzomib IV over 2-10 minutes on days 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16 of each 28 day cycle. Cycle 1 day 1 dose will be 20 mg/m2, all subsequent doses (of cycle 1 and future cycles) will be stepped up to 36 mg/m2. and romidepsin IV over 4 hours on days 1, 8, and 15 of each 28 day cycle. carfilzomib: Given IV romidepsin: Given IV laboratory biomarker analysis: Correlative studies
1
Arm B Cohort 2 (Carfilzomib + Romidepsin)
Patients receive carfilzomib IV over 2-10 minutes on days 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16 of each 28 day cycle. Cycle 1 day 1 dose will be 20 mg/m2, all subsequent doses (of cycle 1 and future cycles) will be stepped up to 45 mg/m2. and romidepsin IV over 4 hours on days 1, 8, and 15 of each 28 day cycle. carfilzomib: Given IV romidepsin: Given IV laboratory biomarker analysis: Correlative studies
3
Total7

Withdrawals & dropouts

PeriodReasonFG000FG001FG002FG003FG004FG005FG006FG007
Completed 2 Cycles/Reached 1st ResponsePhysician Decision00000100
Completed 4 Cycles of TreatmentNo response/patient benefit00000100
Completed 4 Cycles of TreatmentProgressive disease02000000
Follow up for 1 YearDeath00000100
Follow up for 1 YearOther00000200
Registration and Treatment StartAdverse Event01000000
Went on to Continue Treatment Cycle 5Progressive Disease00000100
Went on to Continue Treatment Cycle 5Withdrawal by Subject00001000

Baseline characteristics

CharacteristicTotalArm A, Cohort 1 (Carfilzomib)Arm B Cohort 1 (Carfilzomib + Romidepsin)Arm B Cohort 2 (Carfilzomib + Romidepsin)
Age, Categorical
<=18 years
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Age, Categorical
>=65 years
3 Participants1 Participants0 Participants2 Participants
Age, Categorical
Between 18 and 65 years
4 Participants2 Participants1 Participants1 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Hispanic or Latino
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Not Hispanic or Latino
7 Participants3 Participants1 Participants3 Participants
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
American Indian or Alaska Native
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Asian
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Black or African American
3 Participants2 Participants0 Participants1 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
More than one race
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
Unknown or Not Reported
0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants0 Participants
Race (NIH/OMB)
White
4 Participants1 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Region of Enrollment
United States
7 participants3 participants1 participants3 participants
Sex: Female, Male
Female
5 Participants2 Participants1 Participants2 Participants
Sex: Female, Male
Male
2 Participants1 Participants0 Participants1 Participants

Adverse events

Event typeEG000
affected / at risk
EG001
affected / at risk
EG002
affected / at risk
deaths
Total, all-cause mortality
0 / 20 / 11 / 3
other
Total, other adverse events
2 / 21 / 13 / 3
serious
Total, serious adverse events
0 / 20 / 12 / 3

Outcome results

Primary

Number of Patients With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)

To determine the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) by assessing the adverse events experienced by patients of both carfilzomib alone and when taken with romidepsin for dose limiting toxicities (DLT) on days 1 and 15 of the first 28 days of treatment. Toxicities will be assessed according to the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v 4.0. DLT is defined as any of the following: Grade ≥ 2 neuropathy with pain Grade ≥ 3 non-hematologic toxicity Grade ≥ 3 nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea not controlled Grade ≥ 4 fatigue persisting for \> 7 days Grade 4 neutropenia (ANC \< 500/mm3) occurring for \>7 days Febrile neutropenia \[ANC \< 1000/mm3 with fever Grade ≥ 3 thrombocytopenia persisting for \> 7 days Grade ≥ 3 thrombocytopenia associated with bleeding Any toxicity requiring a dose reduction within Cycle 1 Inability to receive Cycle 2, Day 1 dose due to drug related toxicity persisting from Cycle 1 or drug-related toxicity newly encountered on Cycle 2, Day 1

Time frame: During the first 28 days (1 cycle=28 days) of treatment.

Population: Study terminated early due to slow accrual and not all cohorts enrolled patients. Only number of patients that experienced DLTs are shown below for arms and cohorts that enrolled as data could not be collected regarding MTD

ArmMeasureValue (COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS)
Arm A, Cohort 1 (Carfilzomib)Number of Patients With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)0 Participants
Arm B Cohort -1 (Carfilzomib + Romidepsin)Number of Patients With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)0 Participants
Arm B Cohort 1 (Carfilzomib + RomidepsinNumber of Patients With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)2 Participants
Secondary

Duration of Response of the Disease When Treated With Carfilzomib Alone and When Taken With Romidepsin

Duration of response will be defined as the time from the point at which response is achieved until the point of disease progression. The duration of response of the study treatment will be evaluated based on skin biopsy, CT scans, and blood tests at the beginning of the study as well as every 56 days (2 cycles).

Time frame: Baseline and every 56 days (2 cylces) until disease progression

Population: Data was not collected for this outcome measure due to the study terminating early due to slow accrual.

Secondary

Overall Response Rate (ORR) of the Disease When Treated With Carfilzomib Alone and When Taken With Romidepsin

Overall Response Rate (ORR) is defined as number of patients who's best response is complete response or partial response. Response will be categorized as complete response (CR), partial response (PR), stable disease (SD), or progressive disease (PD). The overall response rate of the study treatment will be evaluated based on skin biopsy, CT scans, and blood tests at the beginning of the study as well as every 56 days (2 cycles).

Time frame: Baseline and every 56 days (2 cycles) while on treatment and up to 4 cycles

Population: Data was not collected for this outcome measure due to study terminating early due to slow accrual.

Secondary

Time to Progression (TTP) of the Disease When Treated With Carfilzomib Alone and When Taken With Romidepsin

The time to progression (TTP) will be measured as the time from the first dose of study therapy until the point at which disease is determined to have progressed or patients discontinue therapy for toxicity. To measure time to progression, the study treatment will be evaluated based on skin biopsy, CT scans, and blood tests at the beginning of the study as well as every 56 days (2 cycles).

Time frame: Baseline and every 56 days (2 cycles) until disease progression or toxicity call for discontinuation of treatment

Population: Data was not collected for this outcome measure due to the study terminating early due to slow accrual.

Other Pre-specified

Proteasome Activity Will be Measured in Peripheral Blood and Tumor Tissue Samples to Observe Proteasome Inhibition While on Treatment

Proteasome inhibition will be measured by evaluating proteasome activity in blood and tumor tissue biopsy specimens while on treatment of carfilzomib alone as well as carfilzomib with romidepsin.

Time frame: Blood is collected before & after carfilzomib dosing during cycle 1 (days 1, 2, & 8) & cycle 2 (day 1) & Tumor tissue samples obtained at baseline, 1-4 hours post-first dose of carfilzomib (cycle 1 day 1) & 1-4 hours post-carfilzomib on cycle 1 day 8

Population: Data was not collected for this outcome measure due to the study terminating early due to slow accrual.

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Mar 13, 2026